2. Claims 11-30 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
4. Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim states “the first manner” and “the second manner”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the claimed limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14-20, and 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0174587) in view of Seger, Jr. et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0413596), herein after referred to as Seger, Jr.
Regarding independent claim 11, Park discloses a multifunctional operating device for a motor vehicle (Figures 1-2 reference AVN 100 and knob 200 described in paragraph [0030] to be comprised by an in-vehicle display system. Figure 4 depicts the flowchart method of the knob 200 performing control of a function as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0061]. Figures 5A-5C depict various examples of functions such as seat controls: temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation as described in paragraph [0065]. Figures 6A-6D and paragraphs [0075]-[0079] describes the following respective functions: media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting. The plurality of functions describes the dial 200 as a multifunctional operating device.), comprising:
a multifunctional operating element (200) for operating a plurality of different predefined functions (Temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation, media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting.), the plurality of different predefined functions comprising a volume setting function for setting a volume for an acoustic output via a loudspeaker device (volume control) and a driving experience setting function for setting a driving experience (any of Temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation, media player, play state, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting all affect the drier’s “experience”),
wherein the driving experience setting function comprises a driving operation mode setting function for setting a driving operation mode (Paragraph [0019] of the current application’s originally filed specification examples sports mode, comfort mode, and eco mode, as driving operation modes. Prior art Park discloses in paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as drive selector including sports/eco/normal mode.) and an ambience mode setting function for setting an ambience mode (Paragraph [0020] of the current application’s originally filed specification examples lighting, AC, media, and similar functions as ambience functions. Prior art Park discloses in paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as media player, play state, radio channel change, and lighting setting that are interpreted to directly correlate to the exampled ambience functions described above.),
wherein the driving operation mode is associated with parameter setting for vehicle systems affecting longitudinal and/or lateral driving dynamics of the motor vehicle (paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such Sports, eco, and normal modes inherently regard the vehicles throttle, transmission, steering, suspension, and/or brakes which affect the longitudinal and/or lateral driving dynamics.), and
wherein the ambience mode is associated with parameter settings for vehicle systems affecting a cabin atmosphere of the motor vehicle (Paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as media player, play state, radio channel change, temperature and lighting setting that are interpreted to directly correlate to in cabin atmosphere.),
wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level (Please note the first and second operating levels are not defined in hierarchy. This describes a scope of interpretation including that both the first and second operating level may be at the same level, the first level higher than the second, the second higher than the first, or one or more intervening levels therebetween. Prior art Park discloses in figure 5B exampling an operating level of temperature control, figure 5c operating level of moving temperature to air volume control.),
[ ].
Park does not specifically disclose wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level, wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level, wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function, each operable via the multifunctional operating element.
Seger, Jr. wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level (Please note the first and second operating levels are not defined in hierarchy. This describes a scope of interpretation including that both the first and second operating level may be at the same level, the first level higher than the second, the second higher than the first, or one or more intervening levels therebetween. Prior art Seger, Jr. discloses in figure 48A and paragraphs [0518]-[0519] a hierarchical menu structure applied to button interactions of predefined functions. The hierarchical structure is depicted with 4 tiers/levels including a base/root level 1510.),
wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level (Figure 48A third level/tier 1510.1.2 function: volume up/down/setting.),
wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level (Paragraphs [0428], [0502], [0518], and [0521] describes other settings and/or commands in the vehicle can be adjusted via a hierarchical option tree of figure 48A.),
wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function (Figure 48A depicts selecting a mirror in the second level/tier 1510.3) and the ambience mode setting function (Figure 48A depicts temperature up/down (ambience mode setting function) in the second level/tier 1510.2. same as the driving operation mode setting function 1510.3.), each operable via the multifunctional operating element (Paragraph [0518] describes to use the hierarchical menu structure with a plurality of various multifunctional operating elements including keypads, touchpads, virtual buttons of a GUI.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park’s wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level with the known technique of wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level, wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level, wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function, each operable via the multifunctional operating element yielding the predictable results of selecting functionality based on navigating through hierarchical plurality of ordered interactions as disclosed by Seger, Jr. (paragraph [0519]).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 11, wherein the multifunction operating element is actuable in a third manner (Paragraphs [0045] and [0060] describes a push button input) different from the first manner (Figure 5C and paragraph [0070] describes a flick touch command directed on the display 220 of the knob 200 is input to switch the function from temperature to a different function of seat air conditioning.) and the second manner (Figure 5B and paragraph [0068] describes rotating the dial to change the value/temperature of the current function/seat air conditioner.), and wherein the operating device is configured to cycle through predefined options or values of a respective currently selected function in response to an actuation of the multifunctional operating element in the third manner (paragraph [0060] describes push input to output a corresponding operation.).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 11, where the multifunctional operating element is configured as a rotary/push button controller (Paragraph [0060] describes knob 200 may receive push command input on the display 220. Paragraph [0044] describes the dial 210 may be configured to rotate about display 220.), wherein the first manner comprises a push actuation of the multifunctional operating element along a predefined axis (Paragraph [0072] describes push or flick operations may change the function of the knob 200. Figure 5C and depicts the functions at the same level 351-353.), wherein the second manner comprises a swiping actuation perpendicular to the predefined axis and/or (interpreted as or) contact with a touch-sensitive region of the multifunctional operating element (Paragraph [0060] describes knob 200 may receive touch command input on the display 220.), and wherein the third manner comprises a rotary actuation of the multifunctional operating element about the predefined axis (Paragraph [0044] describes the dial 210 may be configured to rotate about display 220.).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 11, further comprising an infotainment display (120) spaced apart from the operating element (Figure 5A reference detachable dial 200 spaced apart from display 120, paragraph [0086].) or, in the intended installation position in the motor vehicle, connected to an infotainment display of the motor vehicle (Figure 5B reference knob 200 attached to display 120 described in paragraphs [0067]-[0068].), wherein the operating device is configured to generate a control signal corresponding to each actuation of the operating element, and to transmit this to the infotainment display to activate the same for visualizing a selection or setting effectuated by the respective actuation of the operating element (Paragraphs [0084] describes to view the display 120 to confirm information of the controlled function of the knob 200.).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 16, wherein the infotainment display is embodied as a touch screen (Paragraph [0033] describes the display 120 may be a touch screen.), and the operating device is configured, in response to an actuation of the operating element, to activate the infotainment display for simultaneously displaying operating symbols (Figure 7A-7C reference detachable knob 200 attached to a particular region 330’-350’ respectively for a particular function control while the display 120 display three other functions in the none knob 200 attached area. Figure 5A and paragraph [0073] describes displaying of the four functions before attachment of the knob 200.) for more than three predefined functions (Figure 3B depicts, from top left to bottom right, media player, radio station, driver side seat temperature, and passenger side seat temperature as described in paragraph [0054].) at an operating level selected by the actuation and/or for displaying operating symbols (Figure 5A reference black dot 351 of each of the four functions depicting the current operating level of knob 200 (figure 5B). Each of the four regions respectively depicting the symbols of the functions including numbers and degrees for temperature and letters for song title and letters and numbers for radio station name and frequency.) for more than three predefined options or values of the respective currently selected function (The letters and numbers represent values of the functions.).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 11, wherein the operating element comprises a display region (Figures 1-2 220.), and the operating device is configured to activate the display region for visualizing a respective currently selected function (Figures 5B-5C and paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describes depicting on 220 the currently selected function.) and/or a respective current selection of an option or of a value of the currently selected function (Figures 5B-5C also depict the values/options of the function. For example 5B depicting numerical values for temperature and 5C 353 for options of fan directions.).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the operating device of claim 18, wherein the operating device is configured to visualize, via the display region (220), the respective function (Figures 5B-5C and paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describes depicting on 220 the currently selected function.) and/or the respective current selection of the option or of the value of the function (Figures 5B-5C also depict the values/options of the function. For example 5B depicting numerical values for temperature and 5C 353 for options of fan directions.) simultaneously in the form of symbols and in the form of words (Figure 6C depicts simultaneously KBS1, represents a call sign to a radio station with specific meanings and therefore considered a word, along with 91.9 numerical symbols representing the frequency of the station.).
Regarding independent claim 20, Park discloses a motor vehicle (Figures 1-2 reference AVN 100 and knob 200 described in paragraph [0030] to be comprised by an in-vehicle display system.), comprising:
a multifunctional operating device (Figures 1-2 reference AVN 100 and knob 200 described in paragraph [0030] to be comprised by an in-vehicle display system. Figure 4 depicts the flowchart method of the knob 200 performing control of a function as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0061]. Figures 5A-5C depict various examples of functions such as seat controls: temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation as described in paragraph [0065]. Figures 6A-6D and paragraphs [0075]-[0079] describes the following respective functions: media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting. The plurality of functions describes the dial 200 as a multifunctional operating device.), the operating device comprising:
a multifunctional operating element (200) for operating a plurality of different predefined functions (Temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation, media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting.), the plurality of different predefined functions comprising a volume setting function for setting a volume for an acoustic output via a loudspeaker device (volume control) and a driving experience setting function for setting a driving experience (any of Temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation, media player, play state, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting all affect the drier’s “experience”),
wherein the driving experience setting function comprises a driving operation mode setting function for setting a driving operation mode (Paragraph [0019] of the current application’s originally filed specification examples sports mode, comfort mode, and eco mode, as driving operation modes. Prior art Park discloses in paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as drive selector including sports/eco/normal mode.) and an ambience mode setting function for setting an ambience mode (Paragraph [0020] of the current application’s originally filed specification examples lighting, AC, media, and similar functions as ambience functions. Prior art Park discloses in paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as media player, play state, radio channel change, and lighting setting that are interpreted to directly correlate to the exampled ambience functions described above.),
wherein the driving operation mode is associated with parameter settings for vehicle systems affecting longitudinal and/or lateral driving dynamics of the motor vehicle (paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such Sports, eco, and normal modes inherently regard the vehicles throttle, transmission, steering, suspension, and/or brakes which affect the longitudinal and/or lateral driving dynamics.), and
wherein the ambience mode is associated with parameter settings for vehicle systems affecting a cabin atmosphere of the motor vehicle (Paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as media player, play state, radio channel change, temperature and lighting setting that are interpreted to directly correlate to in cabin atmosphere.),
wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level (Please note the first and second operating levels are not defined in hierarchy. This describes a scope of interpretation including that both the first and second operating level may be at the same level, the first level higher than the second, the second higher than the first, or one or more intervening levels therebetween. Prior art Park discloses in figure 5B exampling an operating level of temperature control, figure 5c operating level of moving temperature to air volume control.),
[ ],
wherein the operating device is configured to switch between predefined functions in response to an actuation of the operating element in a first manner (Paragraph [0060] touch or push input can change state information output and change the function type.), and
wherein the operating device is configured, while the second operating level is selected (Figure 5B or 5C operating level), to switch between the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function in response to a further actuation of the multifunctional operating element in a second manner different from the first manner (Figure 5C and paragraph [0070] describes a flick touch command directed on the display 220 of the knob 200 is input to switch the function from temperature to a different function of seat air conditioning. Different from push or touch tap input.).
Park does not specifically disclose wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level, wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level, wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function, each operable via the multifunctional operating element.
Seger, Jr. wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level (Please note the first and second operating levels are not defined in hierarchy. This describes a scope of interpretation including that both the first and second operating level may be at the same level, the first level higher than the second, the second higher than the first, or one or more intervening levels therebetween. Prior art Seger, Jr. discloses in figure 48A and paragraphs [0518]-[0519] a hierarchical menu structure applied to button interactions of predefined functions. The hierarchical structure is depicted with 4 tiers/levels including a base/root level 1510.),
wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level (Figure 48A third level/tier 1510.1.2 function: volume up/down/setting.),
wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level (Paragraphs [0428], [0502], [0518], and [0521] describes other settings and/or commands in the vehicle can be adjusted via a hierarchical option tree of figure 48A.),
wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function (Figure 48A depicts selecting a mirror in the second level/tier 1510.3) and the ambience mode setting function (Figure 48A depicts temperature up/down (ambience mode setting function) in the second level/tier 1510.2. same as the driving operation mode setting function 1510.3.), each operable via the multifunctional operating element (Paragraph [0518] describes to use the hierarchical menu structure with a plurality of various multifunctional operating elements including keypads, touchpads, virtual buttons of a GUI.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park’s wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level with the known technique of wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level, wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level, wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function, each operable via the multifunctional operating element yielding the predictable results of selecting functionality based on navigating through hierarchical plurality of ordered interactions as disclosed by Seger, Jr. (paragraph [0519]).
Regarding claim 23, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 20, wherein the multifunction operating element is actuable in a third manner (Paragraphs [0045] and [0060] describes a push button input) different from the first manner (Figure 5C and paragraph [0070] describes a flick touch command directed on the display 220 of the knob 200 is input to switch the function from temperature to a different function of seat air conditioning.) and the second manner (Figure 5B and paragraph [0068] describes rotating the dial to change the value/temperature of the current function/seat air conditioner.), and wherein the operating device is configured to cycle through predefined options or values of a respective currently selected function in response to an actuation of the multifunctional operating element in the third manner (paragraph [0060] describes push input to output a corresponding operation.).
Regarding claim 24, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 23, where the multifunctional operating element is configured as a rotary/push button controller (Paragraph [0060] describes knob 200 may receive push command input on the display 220. Paragraph [0044] describes the dial 210 may be configured to rotate about display 220.), wherein the first manner comprises a push actuation of the multifunctional operating element along a predefined axis (Paragraph [0072] describes push or flick operations may change the function of the knob 200. Figure 5C and depicts the functions at the same level 351-353.), wherein the second manner comprises a swiping actuation perpendicular to the predefined axis and/or (interpreted as or) contact with a touch-sensitive region of the multifunctional operating element (Paragraph [0060] describes knob 200 may receive touch command input on the display 220.), and wherein the third manner comprises a rotary actuation of the multifunctional operating element about the predefined axis (Paragraph [0044] describes the dial 210 may be configured to rotate about display 220.).
Regarding claim 25, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 20, further comprising an infotainment display (120) spaced apart from the multifunctional operating element (Figure 5A reference detachable dial 200 spaced apart from display 120, paragraph [0086].) or, in the intended installation position in the motor vehicle, connected to an infotainment display of the motor vehicle (Figure 5B reference knob 200 attached to display 120 described in paragraphs [0067]-[0068].), wherein the operating device is configured to generate a control signal corresponding to each actuation of the operating element, and to transmit this to the infotainment display to activate the same for visualizing a selection or setting effectuated by the respective actuation of the operating element (Paragraphs [0084] describes to view the display 120 to confirm information of the controlled function of the knob 200.).
Regarding claim 26, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 25, wherein the infotainment display is embodied as a touch screen (Paragraph [0033] describes the display 120 may be a touch screen.), and the operating device is configured, in response to an actuation of the operating element, to activate the infotainment display for simultaneously displaying operating symbols (Figure 7A-7C reference detachable knob 200 attached to a particular region 330’-350’ respectively for a particular function control while the display 120 display three other functions in the none knob 200 attached area. Figure 5A and paragraph [0073] describes displaying of the four functions before attachment of the knob 200.) for more than three predefined functions (Figure 3B depicts, from top left to bottom right, media player, radio station, driver side seat temperature, and passenger side seat temperature as described in paragraph [0054].) at an operating level selected by the actuation and/or for displaying operating symbols (Figure 5A reference black dot 351 of each of the four functions depicting the current operating level of knob 200 (figure 5B). Each of the four regions respectively depicting the symbols of the functions including numbers and degrees for temperature and letters for song title and letters and numbers for radio station name and frequency.) for more than three predefined options or values of the respective currently selected function (The letters and numbers represent values of the functions.).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 20, wherein the multifunctional operating element comprises a display region (Figures 1-2 220.), and the operating device is configured to activate the display region for visualizing a respective currently selected function (Figures 5B-5C and paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describes depicting on 220 the currently selected function.) and/or a respective current selection of an option or of a value of the currently selected function (Figures 5B-5C also depict the values/options of the function. For example 5B depicting numerical values for temperature and 5C 353 for options of fan directions.).
Regarding claim 28, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 27, wherein the operating device is configured to visualize, via the display region (220), the respective function (Figures 5B-5C and paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describes depicting on 220 the currently selected function.) and/or the respective current selection of the option or of the value of the function (Figures 5B-5C also depict the values/options of the function. For example 5B depicting numerical values for temperature and 5C 353 for options of fan directions.) simultaneously in the form of symbols and in the form of words (Figure 6C depicts simultaneously KBS1, represents a call sign to a radio station with specific meanings and therefore considered a word, along with 91.9 numerical symbols representing the frequency of the station.).
Regarding independent claim 29, Park discloses a multifunctional operating device for a motor vehicle (Figures 1-2 reference AVN 100 and knob 200 described in paragraph [0030] to be comprised by an in-vehicle display system. Figure 4 depicts the flowchart method of the knob 200 performing control of a function as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0061]. Figures 5A-5C depict various examples of functions such as seat controls: temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation as described in paragraph [0065]. Figures 6A-6D and paragraphs [0075]-[0079] describes the following respective functions: media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting. The plurality of functions describes the dial 200 as a multifunctional operating device.), comprising:
Regarding independent claim 20, Park discloses a motor vehicle (Figures 1-2 reference AVN 100 and knob 200 described in paragraph [0030] to be comprised by an in-vehicle display system.), comprising:
a multifunctional operating element (200) (Figures 1-2 reference AVN 100 and knob 200 described in paragraph [0030] to be comprised by an in-vehicle display system. Figure 4 depicts the flowchart method of the knob 200 performing control of a function as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0061]. Figures 5A-5C depict various examples of functions such as seat controls: temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation as described in paragraph [0065]. Figures 6A-6D and paragraphs [0075]-[0079] describes the following respective functions: media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting. The plurality of functions describes the dial 200 as a multifunctional operating device.) for operating a plurality of different predefined functions (Temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation, media player, play state, volume control, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting.), the plurality of different predefined functions comprising a volume setting function for setting a volume for an acoustic output via a loudspeaker device (volume control) and a driving experience setting function for setting a driving experience (any of Temperature setting, air volume, fan direction, hot wire ventilation, media player, play state, radio channel change, drive selector (sports/eco/normal mode), seat position, lighting setting, and transmission setting all affect the drier’s “experience”),
wherein the driving experience setting function comprises a driving operation mode setting function for setting a driving operation mode (Paragraph [0019] of the current application’s originally filed specification examples sports mode, comfort mode, and eco mode, as driving operation modes. Prior art Park discloses in paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as drive selector including sports/eco/normal mode.) and an ambience mode setting function for setting an ambience mode (Paragraph [0020] of the current application’s originally filed specification examples lighting, AC, media, and similar functions as ambience functions. Prior art Park discloses in paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as media player, play state, radio channel change, and lighting setting that are interpreted to directly correlate to the exampled ambience functions described above.),
wherein the driving operation mode is associated with parameter settings for vehicle systems affecting longitudinal and/or lateral driving dynamics of the motor vehicle (paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such Sports, eco, and normal modes inherently regard the vehicles throttle, transmission, steering, suspension, and/or brakes which affect the longitudinal and/or lateral driving dynamics.), and
wherein the ambience mode is associated with parameter settings for vehicle systems affecting a cabin atmosphere of the motor vehicle (Paragraphs [0075]-[0079] functions such as media player, play state, radio channel change, temperature and lighting setting that are interpreted to directly correlate to in cabin atmosphere.),
wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level (Please note the first and second operating levels are not defined in hierarchy. This describes a scope of interpretation including that both the first and second operating level may be at the same level, the first level higher than the second, the second higher than the first, or one or more intervening levels therebetween. Prior art Park discloses in figure 5B exampling an operating level of temperature control, figure 5c operating level of moving temperature to air volume control.),
[ ],
wherein the operating device is configured to switch between predefined functions in response to an actuation of the operating element in a first manner (Paragraph [0060] touch or push input can change state information output and change the function type.), and
wherein the operating device is configured, while the second operating level is selected (Figure 5B or 5C operating level), to switch between the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function in response to a further actuation of the multifunctional operating element in a second manner different from the first manner (Figure 5C and paragraph [0070] describes a flick touch command directed on the display 220 of the knob 200 is input to switch the function from temperature to a different function of seat air conditioning. Different from push or touch tap input.), and
wherein the multifunctional operating element comprises a display region (Figures 1-2 220.), and the operating device is configured to activate the display region for visualizing a respective currently selected function (Figures 5B-5C and paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describes depicting on 220 the currently selected function.) and/or a respective current selection of an option or of a value of the currently selected function (Figures 5B-5C also depict the values/options of the function. For example 5B depicting numerical values for temperature and 5C 353 for options of fan directions.).
Park does not specifically disclose wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level, wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level, wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function, each operable via the multifunctional operating element.
Seger, Jr. wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level (Please note the first and second operating levels are not defined in hierarchy. This describes a scope of interpretation including that both the first and second operating level may be at the same level, the first level higher than the second, the second higher than the first, or one or more intervening levels therebetween. Prior art Seger, Jr. discloses in figure 48A and paragraphs [0518]-[0519] a hierarchical menu structure applied to button interactions of predefined functions. The hierarchical structure is depicted with 4 tiers/levels including a base/root level 1510.),
wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level (Figure 48A third level/tier 1510.1.2 function: volume up/down/setting.),
wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level (Paragraphs [0428], [0502], [0518], and [0521] describes other settings and/or commands in the vehicle can be adjusted via a hierarchical option tree of figure 48A.),
wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function (Figure 48A depicts selecting a mirror in the second level/tier 1510.3) and the ambience mode setting function (Figure 48A depicts temperature up/down (ambience mode setting function) in the second level/tier 1510.2. same as the driving operation mode setting function 1510.3.), each operable via the multifunctional operating element (Paragraph [0518] describes to use the hierarchical menu structure with a plurality of various multifunctional operating elements including keypads, touchpads, virtual buttons of a GUI.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park’s wherein the plurality of different predefined functions are organized in a plurality of operating levels comprising a first operating level and a second operating level with the known technique of wherein the volume setting function is assigned to the first operating level, wherein the driving experience setting function is assigned to the second operating level, wherein the second operating level comprises the driving operation mode setting function and the ambience mode setting function, each operable via the multifunctional operating element yielding the predictable results of selecting functionality based on navigating through hierarchical plurality of ordered interactions as disclosed by Seger, Jr. (paragraph [0519]).
Regarding claim 30, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 29, wherein the operating device is configured to visualize, via the display region (220), the respective function (Figures 5B-5C and paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describes depicting on 220 the currently selected function.) and/or the respective current selection of the option or of the value of the function (Figures 5B-5C also depict the values/options of the function. For example 5B depicting numerical values for temperature and 5C 353 for options of fan directions.) simultaneously in the form of symbols and in the form of words (Figure 6C depicts simultaneously KBS1, represents a call sign to a radio station with specific meanings and therefore considered a word, along with 91.9 numerical symbols representing the frequency of the station.).
6. Claim(s) 12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Seger, Jr. in view of Liddell et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0240436), herein after referred to as Liddell.
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 11.
Park does not specifically disclose wherein the operating device is configured to return to the first operating level as a standard operating mode after a predefined time period has elapsed starting with the respective last operation of a function that differs from volume setting function, wherein the volume setting function can be operated directly if no further operation of the multifunctional operating element or a function that differs from the volume setting function is carried out within the time period.
Liddell discloses wherein the operating device is configured to return to the first operating level as a standard operating mode after a predefined time period has elapsed starting with the respective last operation of a function that differs from volume setting function, wherein the volume setting function can be operated directly if no further operation of the multifunctional operating element or a function that differs from the volume setting function is carried out within the time period (Paragraph [0078] describes an audio device 10 with control knob 114 that is in an adjustment mode, repeat toggle mode, shuffle toggle mode, or syn mode (functions different from volume) to return to the default mode of controlling the volume (which is at the first operating level as disclosed by Seger, Jr.) if a user fails to make a selection after a certain amount of time.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park-Seger, Jr. knob mode selection with known technique of the operating device is configured to return to a standard operating mode after a predefined time period has elapsed starting with the respective last operation of a function that differs from the setting of the volume, wherein the volume can be set directly, if no further operation of the operating element or of a function that differs from the setting of the volume is carried out within the time period yielding the predictable results of enabling a user to switch modes without manual interaction as disclosed by Liddell (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 20,
Park does not specifically disclose wherein the operating device is configured to return to the first operating level as a standard operating mode after a predefined time period has elapsed starting with the respective last operation of a function that differs from the volume setting function, wherein the volume setting function can be operated directly, if no further operation of the multifunctional operating element or of a function that differs from the volume setting function is carried out within the time period.
Liddell discloses wherein the operating device is configured to return to the first operating level as a standard operating mode after a predefined time period has elapsed starting with the respective last operation of a function that differs from the volume setting function, wherein the volume setting function can be operated directly, if no further operation of the multifunctional operating element or of a function that differs from the volume setting function is carried out within the time period (Paragraph [0078] describes an audio device 10 with control knob 114 that is in an adjustment mode, repeat toggle mode, shuffle toggle mode, or syn mode (functions different from volume) to return to the default mode of controlling the volume if a user fails to make a selection after a certain amount of time.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park-Seger, Jr. knob mode selection with known technique of wherein the operating device is configured to return to the first operating level as a standard operating mode after a predefined time period has elapsed starting with the respective last operation of a function that differs from the volume setting function, wherein the volume setting function can be operated directly, if no further operation of the multifunctional operating element or of a function that differs from the volume setting function is carried out within the time period yielding the predictable results of enabling a user to switch modes without manual interaction as disclosed by Liddell (paragraph [0078]).
7. Claim(s) 13 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Seger, Jr. in view of Pacsai et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0255280), herein after referred to as Pacsai.
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the multifunctional operating device of claim 11.
Park does not disclose a luminous element arranged at the multifunctional operating element, wherein a respective light color of the luminous element is assigned to the plurality of different predefined functions, and the operating device is configured to activate the luminous element, based on a respective function currently selected for operation, so as to be illuminated in the respective assigned light color.
Pacsai discloses a luminous element arranged at the multifunctional operating element, wherein a respective light color of the luminous element is assigned to the plurality of different predefined functions, and the operating device is configured to activate the luminous element, based on a respective function currently selected for operation, so as to be illuminated in the respective assigned light color (Paragraph [0039] describes the knobs to include halo light in which the colors change depending on the features controlled by the knobs.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park- Seger, Jr. multifunctional operating element with the known technique of a luminous element arranged at the multifunctional operating element, wherein a respective light color of the luminous element is assigned to the plurality of different predefined functions, and the operating device is configured to activate the luminous element, based on a respective function currently selected for operation, so as to be illuminated in the respective assigned light color yielding the predictable results of providing ease in function selection via color assist as disclosed by Pacsai (Published claim 2 of Pacsai.).
Regarding claim 22, Park discloses the motor vehicle of claim 20.
Park does not disclose a luminous element arranged at the multifunctional operating element, wherein a respective light color of the luminous element is assigned to the plurality of different predefined functions, and the operating device is configured to activate the luminous element, based on a respective function currently selected for operation, so as to be illuminated in the respective assigned light color.
Pacsai discloses a luminous element arranged at the multifunctional operating element, wherein a respective light color of the luminous element is assigned to the plurality of different predefined functions, and the operating device is configured to activate the luminous element, based on a respective function currently selected for operation, so as to be illuminated in the respective assigned light color (Paragraph [0039] describes the knobs to include halo light in which the colors change depending on the features controlled by the knobs.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Park- Seger, Jr. multifunctional operating element with the known technique of a luminous element arranged at the multifunctional operating element, wherein a respective light color of the luminous element is assigned to the plurality of different predefined functions, and the operating device is configured to activate the luminous element, based on a respective function currently selected for operation, so as to be illuminated in the respective assigned light color yielding the predictable results of providing ease in function selection via color assist as disclosed by Pacsai (Published claim 2 of Pacsai.).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered and relate to newly amended subject matter. Newly cited art Seger, Jr. is utilized to reject the subject matter in combination with previously cited art Park. Please refer to the above office action as rebuttal.
This action is non-final.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621