DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in this application on 1 September 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With Regards to Claim 5: Claim 5 recites --biphenyl-tetracarboxylic dianhydride and pyromellitic dianhydride-- in lines 4 to 5, which appears to be a typographical error; for consistency, it is recommended to correct this to read "biphenyl-tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA) and pyromellitic dianhydride (PMDA)".
With Regards to Claim 8: Claim 8 recites --the polyimide film-- in line 5, which appears to be a typographical error; for consistency, it is recommended to correct this to read "the multilayer polyimide film".
With Regards to Claim 8: Claim 8 recites --the polyimide film-- in line 7, which appears to be a typographical error; for consistency, it is recommended to correct this to read "the multilayer polyimide film".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With Regards to Claims 1-12: Instant claim 1 recites --wherein a dielectric dissipation factor is 0.003 or less, and an adhesive strength is 1,000 gf/cm or more-- in lines 4 to 5. The claim is rendered indefinite because it can have several conflicting interpretations: (1) the values pertain to the core; (2) the values pertain to one or more of the skins; or (3) the values pertain to the multilayered polyimide film. For the purposes of examination, the latter interpretation will be applied. As such, the claim will be treated to read as "wherein the multilayer polyimide film has a dielectric dissipation factor of[[is]] 0.003 or less, and an adhesive strength of[[is]] 1,000 gf/cm or more".
Claims 2-12, which depend on claim 1, are rejected for the same reasons as recited above.
With Regards to Claim 4: Instant claim 4 recites processes or reaction steps using the phrase "obtainable by" rather than "obtained by". This renders the claim indefinite as to the scope required by using the phrase "obtainable by" rather than "obtained by". The Federal Circuit has addressed this specific difference in claim wording as "ambiguous language" which is the epitome of indefiniteness. Abbott Laboratories v. Sandoz, Inc., 566 F. 3d 1282, 1295-1296 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (en banc).
With Regards to Claim 5: Instant claim 5 recites processes or reaction steps using the phrase "obtainable by" rather than "obtained by". This renders the claim indefinite as to the scope required by using the phrase "obtainable by" rather than "obtained by". The Federal Circuit has addressed this specific difference in claim wording as "ambiguous language" which is the epitome of indefiniteness. Abbott Laboratories v. Sandoz, Inc., 566 F. 3d 1282, 1295-1296 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (en banc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kil-Nam et al. (KR 10-2020-0120492 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Kil-Nam teaches a multilayer polyimide film comprising a core layer and one or more skin layers formed on one or more outer surfaces of the core layer, wherein the multilayer polyimide film has a dielectric loss rate (Df, 10GHz) of 0.0030 or less and an adhesion strength of 820 gf/cm or more ([0001] of Kil-Nam).
Regarding Claim 2: Kil-Nam teaches that the multilayer polyimide film comprises the skin layers formed respectively on first and second outer surfaces of the core layer, the second outer surface being a surface opposite to the first outer surface, to have a three-layer structure ([0001], [0024], [0036], and [0052] of Kil-Nam).
Regarding Claim 3: Kil-Nam teaches that the multilayer polyimide film can have a thickness of 25 µm (Table 1, [0223] of Kil-Nam); which anticipates the claimed range of --10 µm or larger and 100 µm or smaller--. See MPEP §2131.03(I). Kil-Nam also teaches that the ratio thickness of the core portion to the sum of the thicknesses of the first skin portion and the second skin portion is 2.5:1 to 5.5:1 (e.g., 5.25), and that the first skin portion can have the same thickness as the second skin portion, and that in one example the core has a thickness of 21 µm (e.g., 84% of the total thickness) and the skins have a thickness of 4 µm (e.g., 16% of the total thickness) (Table 1, [0029], [0069], [0074]-[0075], [0223] of Kil-Nam); which anticipates the claimed range of --70% or more and 95% or less-- and --5% or more and 30% or less--. See MPEP §2131.03(I).
Regarding Claim 4: Kil-Nam teaches the core layer is obtained by reacting a polyamic acid solution through an imidization reaction, the polyamic acid solution comprising: an acid dianhydride component comprising biphenyl-tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA) and pyromellitic dianhydride (PMDA); and a diamine component comprising para-phenylenediamine (PPD) and m-tolidine ([0024] and [0037]-[0038] of Kil-Nam).
(The limitation is considered by the examiner to be a "product-by-process" limitation. As such, only the distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight. See MPEP §2113(I).)
Regarding Claim 5: Kil-Nam teaches the skin layer is obtained by reacting a polyamic acid solution through an imidization reaction, the polyamic acid solution comprising: an acid dianhydride component comprising biphenyl-tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BPDA) and pyromellitic dianhydride (PMDA); and a diamine component comprising para-phenylenediamine (PPD), m-Tolidine, and oxydianiline (ODA) ([0024] and [0037]-[0038] of Kil-Nam).
(The limitation is considered by the examiner to be a "product-by-process" limitation. As such, only the distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight. See MPEP §2113(I).)
Regarding Claims 7 and 8: Kil-Nam teaches the claimed multilayer polyimide film, but does not explicitly recite --the core layer comprises a block copolymer comprising two ore more blocks-- {instant claim 7} or --the block copolymer comprises: a first block comprising 50 mol% or more and 60 mol% or less of the BPDA based on 100 moles of the total content of the dianhydride component in the [multilayer] polyimide film; and a second block comprising 30 mol% or more and 40 mol% or less of the m-Tolidine based on 100 mol% of the total content of the diamine component in the [multilayer] polyimide film-- {instant claim 8}. However, Kil-Nam provides the same materials in the same process to produce the same product (i.e., the multilayer polyimide film comprising a core layer one or more skin layers formed on one or more outer surfaces of the core layer, wherein the multilayer polyimide film has a dielectric dissipation factor of 0.003 or less, and an adhesive strength of 1,000 gf/cm or more; see (Table 1, [0001], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0036]-[0038], [0069], [0074]-[0075], [0052], [0223]) of Kil-Nam and ([50], [53]-[55], [60], [96]-[100]) of the filed specification). Therefore, it is the decision of the examiner that Kil-Nam inherently possesses a block copolymer comprising two ore more blocks {instant claim 7}, and that the block copolymer comprises: a first block comprising 50 mol% or more and 60 mol% or less of the BPDA based on 100 moles of the total content of the dianhydride component in the [multilayer] polyimide film; and a second block comprising 30 mol% or more and 40 mol% or less of the m-Tolidine based on 100 mol% of the total content of the diamine component in the [multilayer] polyimide film {instant claim 8}
Regarding Claim 10: Kil-Nam teaches that the multilayer polyimide film is formed by one or more selected from the group consisting of co-extrusion ([0036] of Kil-Nam).
(The limitation is considered by the examiner to be a "product-by-process" limitation. As such, only the distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight. See MPEP §2113(I).)
Regarding Claim 11: Kil-Nam teaches a flexible metal-clad laminate comprising the multilayer polyimide film and an electrically conductive metal foil ([0039] of Kil-Nam).
Regarding Claim 12: Kil-Nam teaches an electronic component comprising the flexible metal-clad laminate ([0040] of Kil-Nam).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kil-Nam et al. (KR 10-2020-0120492 A) as applied to claims 4 and 5 above.
Kil-Nam is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claim 6: Kil-Nam discloses the BPDA has a content of 30 mol% or more and 70 mol% or less, and the PMDA has a content of 30 mol% or more and 70 mol% or less, based on 100 mol% of the total content of the acid dianhydride component, and the PPD has a content of 30 mol% or more and 70 mol% or less, and the m-Tolidine has a content of 30 mol% or more and 70 mol% or less, based on 100 mol% of the total content of the diamine component ([0025] of Kil-Nam); which overlaps the presently claimed ranges. Kil-Nam differs from the claims by failing to disclose an anticipatory example or a range that is sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed range. However, it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Kil-Nam, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 9: Kil-Nam discloses the BPDA has a content of 20 mol% or more and 80 mol% or less, and the PMDA has a content of 20 mol% or more and 80 mol% or less, based on 100 mol% of the total content of the acid dianhydride component, and the PPD has a content of 3 mol% or more and 30 mol% or less, and the m-Tolidine has a content of 50 mol% or more and 80 mol% or less, and the ODA has a content of 5 mol% or more and 30 mol% or less, based on 100 mol% of the total content of the diamine component ([0026] of Kil-Nam); which overlaps the presently claimed ranges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Kil-Nam, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP §2144.05.
Conclusion
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781