DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is based on the amended claims submitted on May 24, 2024. Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-15, 17-20 amended. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on May 24, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Speidel et al. (US 20240349047A1, hereinafter “Speidel”).
Regarding Claim 1, Speidel discloses, an asynchronous communication method of a communication system, comprising: “messages forwarded to the satellite may be buffered until the satellite re-establishes connectivity with the ground network later in its orbit via a ground station connection. In these instances, a message may be sent to the mobile device informing them of the anticipated delay in message delivery.” [0120], and further “Queued packets and messages may also be delivered to handsets during the time of overpass.” [0119]
a constellation (SAT) of communication satellites, with at least one satellite, “a satellite constellation connected to various ground stations.” [0110], and “The satellite network can comprise one, several, or a complete constellation of several hundreds, or thousands, of satellites providing coverage to terrestrial mobile devices” [0111].
a ground network (GN), comprising a ground station arranged on the earth's surface and a network core, wherein the ground network (GN) is configured to establish and control communication with the constellation (SAT) and with a mobile communication network comprising a core of a mobile communication network, “FIG. 42 illustrates the network architecture on the ground station, in an embodiment, that can include the core networks for GSM/GPRS and LTE technologies 4222 along with the NSA 4214, CBC 4202, SMS hub 4224, and databases 4204 and 4208. The core network components can interact with the access network hosted on the satellites and the external networks” [0286], and “Ground stations might be used to communicate with the satellite to provide commands, controls, authentication, and connectivity with the terrestrial network.” [0116], and “the satellite network may operate using the spectrum leased from a mobile network operator (“MNO”) in that area and act as a visiting public land mobile network (“VPLMN”) for all the MNOs” [0112]
a user equipment (UE), located on the earth's surface and configured to communicate with the ground network (GN) through the constellation (SAT), wherein the user equipment (UE) is registered in the mobile communication network, “the subscriber can be a regular subscriber to the terrestrial wireless network” [0104], and “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations,” [0122] – i.e., the UE communicates with the ground network through the satellite. FIG. 13A identifies the actor as “MS (Home MNO)” and recites the step “MS does location registration with Lynk Sat 1” together with “Map/D Update Location,” satisfying “registered in the mobile communication network”
wherein the method comprises the steps of: when the user equipment (UE) has connectivity with the constellation (SAT), sending, by the user equipment (UE), a data set to the constellation (SAT), storing, by the constellation (SAT), the data set; “During periods of coverage mobile devices might, for example, send SMS, or IP-based, messages/packets and any SMS, or IP-based, messages/packets …[which] may be forwarded to the satellite.” [0119] – the device sending data set to the satellite while it has connectivity. The satellite then stores the data set, as shown in FIG. 13A by the sequence “SMS_SUBMIT” (from MS) [Wingdings font/0xE0] “SMS_SUBMIT_IND” (to Sat 1) [Wingdings font/0xE0] “Buffers SMS.” The SMS/IP message/packet is the recited “data set,” and “Buffers SMS” satisfies “storing, by the constellation, the data set.”
when the constellation (SAT) has connectivity with the ground station of the ground network (GN), sending, by the constellation (SAT), the data set to the core of the ground network (GN), “the satellite may be buffered until the satellite re-establishes connectivity with the ground network later in its orbit via a ground station connection” [0120], and “When a satellite has a connection to a ground station, it can act as the gateway between satellites in the space network, and the ground station that connects to the terrestrial networks” [0123]. FIG. 13A shows this step as “GSL Established” [Wingdings font/0xE0] “MO Forward SM.”
Regarding Claim 2, Speidel discloses the limitation of claim 2 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Speidel further discloses the ground station, after receiving the forwarded data set, transmitting it onward to the subscriber’s home MNO core, transmitting, by the ground network (GN), the data set to the core of the mobile communication network, “All the messages from the mobile station 5102 can be forwarded to the ground station 5110 and the mobile station 5102's home MNO network 5112 through hops on satellites 5106 and 5108 and all the messages from the mobile station 5102's home MNO network 5112 can be forwarded to the mobile station 5102 via the ground station 5110 and hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323], and “…the core networks for GSM/GPRS and LTE technologies 4222 along with the NSA 4214, CBC 4202, SMS hub 4224, and databases” [0286]. FIG. 13A confirms the step with the annotation “Ground Station sends SMS to MNO.” The home MNO network (with its SMSC/GMSC/HLR) is the recited “core of the mobile communication network”
Regarding Claim 3, Speidel discloses the limitation of claim 3 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1. Speidel discloses LEO (non-geostationary) satellites, wherein the constellation (SAT) comprises a first satellite (SAT1) and a second satellite (SAT2) in non-geostationary orbit, “Each of the LEO satellites carry a payload that comprises either just the base station radio or the cell site” [0113], and confirms they are non-stationary because “the cell site or network on the satellite keeps moving across geographies” [0114]. A first and second satellite are shown as “Sat 1” (1304) and “Sat 2” (1306) in FIG. 13A, and as satellites 5106 and 5108 in FIG. 51 [0323]
when the first satellite (SAT1) has received and stored the data set of the user equipment (UE), and when the first satellite (SAT1) has connectivity with the second satellite (SAT2), the method comprises the steps of: sending, by the first satellite (SAT1) the data set to the second satellite (SAT2), “relaying SMS messages to neighboring satellites when there is no direct GSL” [0285], and “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations” [0122], and “All the messages from the mobile station 5102 can be forwarded to the ground station 5110 and the mobile station 5102's home MNO network 5112 through hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323]
Regarding Claim 4, Speidel discloses the limitation of claim 4 as recited above in the rejection of claim 3. In addition, Speidel further discloses, when the second satellite (SAT2) has connectivity with the ground station of the ground network (GN), the step of: sending, by the second satellite (SAT2), the data set to the ground network (GN)., “All the messages from the mobile station 5102 can be forwarded to the ground station 5110 and the mobile station 5102's home MNO network 5112 through hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323], and “2 ISL hops between the originating satellite and the ground station. The number of ISL hops can vary based on the position of the satellite with respect to the ground station and may be zero in case the satellite is directly connected to the ground station.” [0320], and FIG. 13A: “GSL Established” [Wingdings font/0xE0] “MO Forward SM.”
Regarding Claim 5, Speidel teaches, an asynchronous communication method of a communication system, comprising: “messages forwarded to the satellite may be buffered until the satellite re-establishes connectivity with the ground network later in its orbit via a ground station connection. In these instances, a message may be sent to the mobile device informing them of the anticipated delay in message delivery.” [0120], and “the NSA on the satellite may remove the buffered SMS, and the delivery report sent by the MS 1602” [0189], and further “Queued packets and messages may also be delivered to handsets during the time of overpass.” [0119]
a constellation (SAT) of communication satellites, with at least one satellite, “a satellite constellation connected to various ground stations.” [0110], and “The satellite network can comprise one, several, or a complete constellation of several hundreds, or thousands, of satellites providing coverage to terrestrial mobile devices” [0111].
a ground network (GN), comprising a ground station arranged on the earth's surface and a network core, wherein the ground network (GN) is configured to establish and control communication with the constellation (SAT) and with a mobile communication network comprising a core of a mobile communication network, “FIG. 42 illustrates the network architecture on the ground station, in an embodiment, that can include the core networks for GSM/GPRS and LTE technologies 4222 along with the NSA 4214, CBC 4202, SMS hub 4224, and databases 4204 and 4208. The core network components can interact with the access network hosted on the satellites and the external networks” [0286], and “Ground stations might be used to communicate with the satellite to provide commands, controls, authentication, and connectivity with the terrestrial network.” [0116], and “the satellite network may operate using the spectrum leased from a mobile network operator (“MNO”) in that area and act as a visiting public land mobile network (“VPLMN”) for all the MNOs” [0112]
a user equipment (UE), located on the earth's surface and configured to communicate with the ground network (GN) through the constellation (SAT), wherein the user equipment (UE) is registered in the mobile communication network, “the subscriber can be a regular subscriber to the terrestrial wireless network” [0104], and “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations,” [0122] – i.e., the UE communicates with the ground network through the satellite. FIG. 13A identifies the actor as “MS (Home MNO)” and recites the step “MS does location registration with Lynk Sat 1” together with “Map/D Update Location,” satisfying “registered in the mobile communication network”
wherein the method comprises the steps of:
when the constellation (SAT) has connectivity with the ground station of the ground network (GN), receiving, by the constellation (SAT), a data set from the core of the mobile communication network through the ground network (GN); storing, by the constellation (SAT) the data set; and, “When a SMS is received for delivery from home network, the NSA 1624 on ground station may check for the MS location and determine if it is currently being served by a satellite, and if not, may determine the next upcoming satellite that can serve the MS 1602 best and may upload the message to the determined satellite for delivery to the MS 1602. The NSA on the satellite may store this until it reaches the location area of the MS 1602” [0189], and “When a SMS is sent from the home network to be delivered to the MS 1502, NSA 1526 on ground station may determine that the MS is currently being served by a satellite and may upload the message to that satellite.” [0187], and “All the messages from the mobile station 5102 can be forwarded to the ground station 5110 and the mobile station 5102's home MNO network 5112 through hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323]
when the constellation (SAT) has connectivity with the user equipment (UE), sending, by the constellation (SAT), the data set to the user equipment (UE), “The MS 1602 may see the network when satellite starts serving the location area, attach and may receive the message from the satellite network.” [0189], and “Queued packets and messages may also be delivered to handsets during the time of overpass.” [0119]
Regarding Claim 6, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 6 as recited above in the rejection of claim 5. In addition, Speidel further discloses, receiving, by the ground network (GN), the data set from the core of the mobile communication network, “When a SMS is received for delivery from home network, the NSA 1624 on ground station may check for the MS location and determine if it is currently being served by a satellite” [0189], and “When a SMS is sent from the home network to be delivered to the MS 1502, NSA 1526 on ground station may determine that the MS is currently being served by a satellite” [0187], and “all the messages from the mobile station 5102's home MNO network 5112 can be forwarded to the mobile station 5102 via the ground station 5110” [0323]
Regarding Claim 7, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 7 as recited above in the rejection of claim 5. In addition, Speidel further discloses, wherein the constellation (SAT) comprises a first satellite (SAT1) and a second satellite (SAT2) in non-geostationary orbit, “Each of the LEO satellites carry a payload that comprises either just the base station radio or the cell site” [0113], and “the cell site or network on the satellite keeps moving across geographies” [0114]
when the first satellite (SAT1) has received and stored the data set from the ground network (GN), and when the first satellite (SAT1) has connectivity with the second satellite (SAT2), the method comprises the steps of: sending, by the first satellite (SAT1) the data set to the second satellite (SAT2), “upload the message to the determined satellite for delivery to the MS 1602. The NSA on the satellite may store this until it reaches the location area of the MS 1602” [0189] (SAT1 received-from-ground and stored), and “relaying SMS messages to neighboring satellites when there is no direct GSL, relaying information/messages/commands etc. received from ground station to the satellite” [0285], and “…can be forwarded to the mobile station 5102 via the ground station 5110 and hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323]
Regarding Claim 8, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 8 as recited above in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Speidel further discloses, when the second satellite (SAT2) has connectivity with the user equipment (UE), the step of: sending, by the second satellite (SAT2), the data set to the user equipment (UE), “The MS 1602 may see the network when satellite starts serving the location area, attach and may receive the message from the satellite network.” [0189], and “…can be forwarded to the mobile station 5102 via the ground station 5110 and hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323] (final-hop satellite 5108/SAT2 delivers to the MS), and “Queued packets and messages may also be delivered to handsets during the time of overpass.” [0119]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Speidel et al. (US 20240349047A1, hereinafter “Speidel”), and further in view of Janakiraman et al. (US 20120159151 A1, hereinafter “Janakiraman”)
Regarding Claim 9, Speidel discloses, an asynchronous registration method, “messages forwarded to the satellite may be buffered until the satellite re-establishes connectivity with the ground network later in its orbit via a ground station connection. In these instances, a message may be sent to the mobile device informing them of the anticipated delay” [0120]
a constellation (SAT) of communication satellites, with at least one satellite, “a satellite constellation connected to various ground stations.” [0110], and “The satellite network can comprise one, several, or a complete constellation of several hundreds, or thousands, of satellites providing coverage to terrestrial mobile devices” [0111].
a ground network (GN), comprising a ground station arranged on the earth's surface and a network core, wherein the ground network (GN) is configured to establish and control communication with the constellation (SAT) and with a mobile communication network comprising a core of a mobile communication network, “FIG. 42 illustrates the network architecture on the ground station, in an embodiment, that can include the core networks for GSM/GPRS and LTE technologies 4222 along with the NSA 4214, CBC 4202, SMS hub 4224, and databases 4204 and 4208. The core network components can interact with the access network hosted on the satellites and the external networks” [0286], and “Ground stations might be used to communicate with the satellite to provide commands, controls, authentication, and connectivity with the terrestrial network.” [0116], and “the satellite network may operate using the spectrum leased from a mobile network operator (“MNO”) in that area and act as a visiting public land mobile network (“VPLMN”) for all the MNOs” [0112]
a user equipment (UE), located on the earth's surface and configured to communicate with the ground network (GN) through the constellation (SAT), wherein the user equipment (UE) is registered in the mobile communication network, “the subscriber can be a regular subscriber to the terrestrial wireless network” [0104], and “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations,” [0122] – i.e., the UE communicates with the ground network through the satellite. FIG. 13A identifies the actor as “MS (Home MNO)” and recites the step “MS does location registration with Lynk Sat 1” together with “Map/D Update Location,” satisfying “registered in the mobile communication network”
sending, by the user equipment (UE), a registration request, comprising an identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE), to the constellation (SAT), “When a MS enters a location area for the first time, it does a location registration to update its location to the network” [0172], and [FIG. 10/11] shows “DTAM-MM Location Update Req (IMSI…)”
storing, by the constellation (SAT), the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE), sending, by the constellation (SAT), a provisional authentication request rejection message to the user equipment (UE), “ buffering location update command when there is no ground station link” [0135], and “the P-HLR 110 database maintained on the satellite that hosts the data with all the IMSIs” [0142]
when the constellation (SAT) has connectivity with the ground station of the ground network (GN), sending, by the constellation (SAT), an authentication information request (AIR) generated with the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE) to the core of the mobile communication network through the ground network (GN), “When connected to the ground station, the network service application can forward the request to the ground station that can then be forwarded to the home MNO” [0174], and “the master ground station might launch a set of authentication requests 908 to the MNO network 904 when a roaming agreement is made to get the authentication vector sets for each subscribed IMSI” [0170]
However, Speidel does not expressly teach, sending a provisional authentication request rejection message to the user equipment (UE), and authentication information request (AIR) generated with the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE) to the core.
Janakiraman teaches, the authentication information request (AIR) generated with the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE) to the core (HSS), “The IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) is the permanent identity of the UE and it is included in the S6a “Authentication Information Request” message, while the authentication vectors are mandatory in the S6a “Authentication Information Response” message” [0030], and “Upon receiving the connection request from UE 104, MME 105 requests authentication information from HSS 107 in message 202 on S6a interface 108.” [0023]
an authentication rejection message sent back to the UE, “the MME sends an Authentication Reject message back to the UE.” [0032]
registration request carrying the UE identity, “The NAS message 201 may be, for example, an Attach Request or Service Request message. The initial connection request may occur when the UE 104 is powered-on or changes to an active state. NAS message 201 includes the user identity for UE 104, which is used in the AKA procedure.” [0023]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Speidel on include the authentication rejection handling taught by Janakiraman in order to provide authentication failure handling and standardized authentication management during delayed or asynchronous satellite registration procedures.
Regarding Claim 10, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 10 as recited above in the rejection of claim 9. In addition, Speidel further discloses, authenticating, by the core of the mobile communication network, the user equipment (UE)., “A method for authenticating and authorizing mobile devices on a satellite network using data onboard the satellite is described” [0105], and “the MNO network 904 when a roaming agreement is made to get the authentication vector sets for each subscribed IMSI” [0170]
Regarding Claim 11, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above in the rejection of claim 9. In addition, Speidel further discloses, when the authentication of the user equipment (UE) is valid, “the satellite network can query the home PLMN of a subscriber to get the authentication vectors to authenticate a subscriber.” [0170], and “comparing the received signed response received from the mobile user device with the stored signed response, if the received signed response and the stored signed response match, which can be deemed to be a successful authentication” [0016]
sending, by the core of the mobile communication network through the ground network (GN), an authentication vector (AV) from the user equipment (UE) to the constellation (SAT), “obtaining, in response to the authentication request, a set of authentication vectors related to the mobile user device”, and “he master ground station might launch a set of authentication requests 908 to the MNO network 904 when a roaming agreement is made to get the authentication vector sets for each subscribed IMSI and store them in a P-HLR (proxy/partial-HLR) 208” [0170], and “This data 914 may be uploaded to the satellite when it is connected to the ground station.” [0170], and “initiate an authentication (Auth) request to the MNO network's HLR and acquire authentication vector sets and store them on the P-HLR.” [0225], and “Ground stations might be used to communicate with the satellite to provide commands, controls, authentication, and connectivity with the terrestrial network” [0116]
Regarding Claim 12, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 12 as recited above in the rejection of claim 9. In addition, Speidel further discloses, wherein the constellation (SAT) comprises a first satellite (SAT1) and a second satellite (SAT2) in non-geostationary orbit, “The satellite network can comprise one, several, or a complete constellation of several hundreds, or thousands, of satellites providing coverage to terrestrial mobile devices. “ [0111], and [FIG. 13A] depicts “SAT1” (1034) and “SAT2” (1306)”and “Each of the LEO satellites carry a payload that comprises either just the base station radio or the cell site” [0113], and “the cell site or network on the satellite keeps moving across geographies.”
by the first satellite (SAT1), when the user equipment (UE) has connectivity with the first satellite (SAT1), “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations” [0122], and [FIG. 13A] shows “MS Acquires SAT1 and Registers”
receiving the registration request with the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE), , “When a MS enters a location area for the first time, it does a location registration to update its location to the network” [0172], and [FIG. 10/11] shows “DTAP-MM Location Update Req(IMSI…).”
storing the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE), sending the user equipment (UE) a provisional authentication rejection message (the serving satellite SAT1 receives it), and “buffering location update command when there is no ground station link” [0135], and “the P-HLR 110 database maintained on the satellite that hosts the data with all the IMSIs” [0142]
However, Speidel does not expressly teach, sending the user equipment (UE) a provisional authentication rejection message.
Janakiraman teaches, sending the user equipment (UE) a provisional authentication rejection message, “the MME sends an Authentication Reject message back to the UE.” [0032]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention do modify Speidel to include the authentication rejection handling taught by Janakiraman in order to provide authentication failure handling during asynchronous satellite registration/authentication operations.
Regarding Claim 13, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 13 as recited above in the rejection of claim 12. In addition, Speidel further discloses, by the first satellite (SAT1), when the ground station of the ground network (GN) has connectivity with the first satellite (SAT1), “When a satellite has a connection to a ground station, it can act as the gateway between satellites in the space network, and the ground station that connects to the terrestrial networks and the internet” [0123], and “When the NSA on the satellite realizes (from its location inputs from SSDB and location tracking) that a ground station is in vicinity” [0217]
sending to the core of the mobile communication network through the ground network (GN), “When connected to the ground station, the network service application can forward the request to the ground station that can then be forwarded to the home MNO” [0174]
However, Speidel does not expressly teach, an authentication information request (AIR) generated with the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE).
Janakiraman teaches, an authentication information request (AIR) generated with the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE), “The IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) is the permanent identity of the UE and it is included in the S6a “Authentication Information Request” message” [0030], and further “the IMSI is a mandatory parameter that has to be sent by the MME to the HSS to request the EPS Authentication vectors.” [0050]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Speidel to generate the AIR using the UE identifier as taught by Janakiraman in order to support standardized LTE/EPS authentication procedures during asynchronous satellite-based registration/authentication operations.
Regarding Claim 14, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 14 as recited above in the rejection of claim 13. In addition, Speidel further teaches, by the first satellite (SAT1), when the user equipment (UE) has connectivity with the first satellite (SAT1), “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations” [0122], and [FIG. 13A] shows “MS Acquires SAT1 and Registers”
receiving a connection request from the user equipment (UE), “When a MS enters a location area for the first time, it does a location registration to update its location to the network” [0172], and [FIG. 10/11] shows “DTAM-MM Location Update Req (IMSI…)”
verifying if there is an authentication vector (AV) for the identifier of the user equipment (UE), “The proxy HLR database 1008 on satellite can be used to authenticate the mobile station 1002 as required. The MCC+MNC value in the mobile station's IMSI can be used to determine the HLR 1008 to query for a faster lookup of the subscriber record” [0174], and “the network on the satellite can run the algorithm for choosing the RAND set to use for authentication” [0170]
sending the updated location answer (ULA) to the user equipment (UE), “an authentication procedure with a mobile station can be completed within the satellite network without the need to communicate with the home network of the mobile station 1002.” [0173], and “After the location update on the satellite, a cancel location request can be queued along with the current timestamp in the satellite to be sent to the ground station” [0174]
Regarding Claim 15, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 15 as recited above in the rejection of claim 14. In addition, Speidel further discloses, receiving an authentication vector (AV) and an updated location answer (ULA) for the user equipment (UE) from the core of the mobile communication network through the ground network (GN), “to get the authentication vector sets for each subscribed IMSI and This data 914 may be uploaded to the satellite when it is connected to the ground station” [0170], and “It may receive the subscriber (HLR) database updates from the MNO networks.” [0223], and “initial and periodic P-HLR's subscriber data pulls from the MNO networks; and distributing this data to the rest of the ground stations” [0222], and “This data 914 may be uploaded to the satellite when it is connected to the ground station” [0170]
storing the authentication vector (AV), and the updated location answer (ULA), “the P-HLR 110 database maintained on the satellite that hosts the data with all the IMSIs that have subscribed to satellite network services along with their subscription information and authentication vector sets” [0142], and “The P-HLR 110 may store a subset of MNO subscriber records from subscribed IMSIs (International Mobile Subscriber Identities)” [0129]
Regarding Claim 16, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 16 as recited above in the rejection of claim 13. In addition, Speidel further teaches, receiving an authentication vector (AV) and an updated location answer (ULA) for the user equipment (UE) from the core of the mobile communication network through the ground network (GN), SAT2 receives via the ground, “the ground station can update the MSC/VLR on the next satellite that is going to cover the same region.” [0177], and “the authentication vector sets for each subscribed IMSI and store them in a P-HLR (proxy/partial-HLR) 208 that may be maintained and distributed across all the ground stations. This data 914 may be uploaded to the satellite when it is connected to the ground station” [0170], and “It may receive the subscriber (HLR) database updates from the MNO networks” [0223]
storing the authentication vector (AV), and the updated location answer (ULA), “the P-HLR 110 database maintained on the satellite that hosts the data with all the IMSIs that have subscribed to satellite network services along with their subscription information and authentication vector sets” [0142], and “The P-HLR 110 may store a subset of MNO subscriber records from subscribed IMSIs” [0129]
Regarding Claim 17, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 17 as recited above in the rejection of claim 16. In addition, Speidel further discloses, receiving a connection request from the user equipment (UE), “When a MS enters a location area for the first time, it does a location registration to update its location to the network.” [0172], and “receiving, at the orbital base station, the MNO authentication request from the mobile user device” [0016]
verifying if there is an authentication vector (AV) for the identifier of the user equipment (UE), “The proxy HLR database 1008 on satellite can be used to authenticate the mobile station 1002 as required. The MCC+MNC value in the mobile station's IMSI can be used to determine the HLR 1008 to query for a faster lookup of the subscriber record” [0174]
sending the updated location answer (ULA) to the user equipment (UE), “an authentication procedure with a mobile station can be completed within the satellite network without the need to communicate with the home network” [0173], and “The P-HLR 110 may store a subset of MNO subscriber records from subscribed IMSIs” [0129]
Regarding Claim 18, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 18 as recited above in the rejection of claim 9. In addition, Speidel further discloses, wherein the ground network (GN) is in data connection with an authentication server (HSS) of the core of the mobile communication network, “the master ground station may always be the point of contact for the MNO partners for HLR updates” [0222], and “Ground stations might be used to communicate with the satellite to provide commands, controls, authentication, and connectivity with the terrestrial network.” [0116]
receiving an authentication information request (AIR) from the constellation (SAT), “When connected to the ground station, the network service application can forward the request to the ground station” [0174]
sending the authentication information request (AIR) to the authentication server (HSS), “the master ground station might launch a set of authentication requests 908 to the MNO network 904”, and [FIG. 9] shows “Send Auth Info Req.”
receiving an authentication vector (AV) from the authentication server (HSS), for the identifier (ID) of the user equipment (UE),” to get the authentication vector sets for each subscribed IMSI” [0170]
storing the authentication vector (AV), “store them in a P-HLR (proxy/partial-HLR) 208 that may be maintained and distributed across all the ground stations” [0170]
sending an updated location request (ULR) to the authentication server (HSS), “forwarded to the home MNO for a location update of the MS 1002 in the MNO's HLR.” [0174]
receiving an updated location answer (ULA) from the authentication server (HSS), “It may receive the subscriber (HLR) database updates from the MNO networks” [0223]
sending the authentication vector (AV) and the updated location answer (ULA) to the constellation (SAT), “the P-HLR 110 database maintained on the satellite that hosts the data with all the IMSIs that have subscribed to satellite network services along with their subscription information and authentication vector sets,” [0142], and “This data 914 may be uploaded to the satellite when it is connected to the ground station” [0170], and [FIG. 9] shows “Store these and pass them onto the partial HLR on satellite once connectivity to the satellite established.”, and “ It may receive the subscriber (HLR) database updates from the MNO networks” [0223], and “The P-HLR 110 may store a subset of MNO subscriber records from subscribed IMSIs “ [0129]
Regarding Claim 19, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 19 as recited above in the rejection of claim 9. In addition, Speidel further discloses, wherein the constellation (SAT) comprises a first satellite (SAT1) and a second satellite (SAT2) in non-geostationary orbit, “The satellite network can comprise one, several, or a complete constellation of several hundreds, or thousands, of satellites “ [0111], and “Each of the LEO satellites carry a payload that comprises either just the base station radio or the cell site” [0113]
generating, by the first satellite (SAT1), a context of a user equipment (UE) from the identifier (ID) and the authentication vector (AV) of the user equipment (UE), “the P-HLR 110 database maintained on the satellite that hosts the data with all the IMSIs that have subscribed to satellite network services along with their subscription information and authentication vector sets” [0142], and “information regarding any PDP context and MM context currently active for the subscriber, the subscriber's IMSI “ [0257]
Regarding Claim 20, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 20 as recited above in the rejection of claim 19. In addition, Speidel further discloses, sending, by the first satellite (SAT1), the context to the ground network (GN), “MSC/VLR on satellite can push the location updates it received from mobile stations to the MSC/VLR on ground station” [0177], and “The MM context sent from the old SGSN 3712 to the new SGSN 3706” [0258]
sending, by the ground network (GN), the context to the second satellite (SAT2), “so that the ground station can update the MSC/VLR on the next satellite that is going to cover the same region” [0177]
Regarding Claim 21, Speidel discloses the limitations of claim 21 as recited above in the rejection of claim 19. In addition, Speidel further discloses, when the first satellite (SAT1) has connectivity with the second satellite (SAT2), “Each satellite may use transceivers for connection to UE's, other satellites, and ground stations” [0122]
sending, by the first satellite (SAT1) the context of the user equipment (UE) to the second satellite (SAT2), “relaying SMS messages to neighboring satellites when there is no direct GSL, relaying information/messages/commands etc. received from ground station to the satellite,” [0285], and “ through hops on satellites 5106 and 5108” [0323]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Davis et al. (US 20170041830 A1) “Satellite-to-satellite handoff in satellite communications system” is pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference is directed to a satellite-to-satellite handoff for a user terminal from a first to a second satellite in a non-geosynchronous (LEO) satellite communication system (see Abstract; [0001]), pertinent to the SAT1/SAT2 operations of claims 12-21.
SANG PHUOC. LE
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/SANG PHUOC LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641