DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least one actuating element is configured to actuate the the at least one securing element”, should be “at least one actuating element is configured to actuate the at least one securing element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 includes all the limitations of claim 1 and requires “a portable machine tool”, which has been introduced in claim 1. As claimed, it is unclear if the portable machine tool of claim 14 is the same or different than the one introduced in claim 1. For examination purposes, both have been construed as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudolf (US 4989374 A).
Referring to claim 1: Rudolf discloses a tool receiving device for a portable machine tool (“angle grinder” Abstract), comprising:
at least one output unit (10) including at least one output spindle (12) configured for rotation;
at least one rapid clamping unit (30, 34, 36) arranged on the at least one output spindle (12), the at least one rapid clamping unit (30, 34, 36) including at least one torque transmission element (20; “a first bevel gear 20 non-rotatably positioned on the work spindle 12 approximately at the center thereof and through a second bevel gear 22” Cols. 4-5, lines 67-1) connected to the at least one output spindle (12) in a rotationally fixed manner, and at least one securing element (40, 48; “The screw 40 is part of a securing device designated in its entirety 44 and engages with its threaded section 46 a tension member 48 which is mounted in the work spindle 12 for sliding displacement in the axial direction in relation thereto” Col. 5, lines 22-26) movably mounted in an axial direction along an output axis (18) of the at least one output spindle (12);
at least one locking unit (84) configured to prevent the at least one output spindle (12) from rotating;
and at least one actuating unit (58, 68, 70) including at least one movably mounted actuating element (68, 70) configured to actuate, the at least one locking unit (84) as a result of a movement of the actuating element (68, 70) wherein the at least one actuating element is configured to actuate the the at least one securing element (40, 48), or the at least one torque transmission element (42) as a result of a movement of the at least one actuating element (68, 70).
Referring to claim 2: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one gear unit (86) configured to convert a movement of the at least one actuating element (68, 70) for actuating the at least one locking unit (84) into a movement of the at least one securing element (40, 48) or of the at least one torque transmission element (42).
Referring to claim 3: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1 further comprising: at least one gear unit (86) including at least one ramp-shaped gear element (96) configured to convert a translational or rotational movement of the at least one actuating element (68, 70) into a translational movement of the at least one securing element (40, 48) along a direction that extends at least substantially parallel to the output axis (18) of the at least one output spindle (12).
Referring to claim 4: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one gear unit (86) comprising at least one, further gear element (96) configured to cooperate with a projection (98; “These depressions 96 are designed so as to be engageable with claws 98 arranged on the end face 82 of the hollow shaft 26.” Col. , lines 23-26) arranged on the at least one securing element (26, 40, 48) configured as a circumferential collar (shown in Fig. 2), to effect a movement of the at least one securing element (26, 40, 48) as a function of an actuation of the at least one actuating element (68, 70).
Referring to claim 5: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one gear unit (86) comprising at least one, a further gear element (96) configured to move the at least one securing element (26, 40, 48) as a function of an actuation of the at least one actuating element (68, 70), wherein the at least one further gear element (96), in at least one operational state, is arranged in a non-contacting state (“In this state, the annular disc 86 held on the intermediate part 58 is in its position in which it is moved away from the end face 82 and so the depressions 96 do not engage with the claws 98. Hence the work spindle 12 and, in particular, the hollow shaft 26 is freely rotatable.” Col. 7, lines 20-24) relative to the at least one securing element (26, 40, 48).
Referring to claim 6: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one securing element (26, 40, 48) is movable, as a function of an actuation of the at least one actuating element (68, 70), along a direction of movement (rotational movement for “claws” 98 to catch/disengage) which is transverse to a direction of movement (up/down direction) of the at least one locking unit (84) along which a locking element (98 “claws” Col. 6, lines 6-29) of the locking unit (84) is movable as a function of an actuation of the at least one actuating element (68, 70).
Referring to claim 7: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one gear unit (86) comprising at least one, ramp-shaped (ramp-shape shown in Fig. 1; “96 preferably have abutting surfaces 100 which extend at an incline” Col. 6, lines 30-31) gear element (96) arranged on a locking element (98) of the at least one locking unit (84) and integrally formed (shown in Fig. 1) with the locking element (98) of the at least one locking unit (84).
Referring to claim 8: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one detent unit (58, 66) configured to secure (“eccentric 68 acts upon the cam 66” Col. 7, lines 27-28; and vice-versa, spring acts upwards towards 68 of 70) the at least one actuating element (68, 70), the at least one rapid clamping unit and/or the at least one locking unit (84) in at least one actuated position (“In this position…work spindle 12 is non-rotatably fixed relative to the housing 28” Col. 7, lines 40-48).
Referring to claim 9: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one detent unit (58, 66) configured to secure the at least one actuating element, the at least one rapid clamping unit (30, 34, 36), and/or the at least one locking unit in at least one actuated position (“In the initial stage….clamping flange 34 of the intermediate sleeve 36 which, in turn, clamps the grinding disc 32” Col. 7, lines 3-18), and by at least one gear unit (86), wherein the at least one detent unit (58, 66) is at least partially integrally formed (“In this state, the annular disc 86 held on the intermediate part 58” Col. 7, lines 20-21) with the at least one gear unit (86).
Referring to claim 10: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one guide unit (46) configured to guide a movement of the at least one torque transmission element (42) and to limit at least one maximum rotational distance of the at least one torque transmission element (42) relative to the at least one output spindle (12).
Referring to claim 11: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 10, wherein: the at least one guide unit (46) is configured as a slot guide (slot guide between protruding threads; “root” shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below), and at least one slot element (protruding portion of thread; “crest” shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the at least one guide unit (46) is arranged on the at least one output spindle (12), fixed in place, and at least one further slot element (second “crest” shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the at least one guide unit (46) is arranged on the at least one torque transmission element (42), fixed in place (shown in Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 12: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 10 wherein: the at least one guide unit (46) comprises at least one slot element (protruding portion of thread ; “crest” shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) arranged on the output spindle (12), fixed in place, and the at least one slot element (protruding portion of thread; “crest” shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) connected to the at least one torque transmission element (42) for co-rotation of the at least one torque transmission element (42).
Referring to claim 13: Rudolf discloses the tool receiving device according to claim 10, wherein: the at least one guide unit (46) comprises at least one, further slot element having at least two guide track portions (slot guide “root” between protruding threads and protruding thread, “crest”) that extend transversely (the crest extends transversely from the root shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) relative to one another, and the at least two guide track portions (“root” and “crest” shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) include an axial guide track portion (“pitch” Fig. 1-A inserted above) and a circumferential guide track portion (“flank” Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 14: Rudolf discloses a portable machine tool (“angle grinder” Abstract), having at least one tool receiving device (30, 34) according to claim 1.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723