DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-196511, filed on December 02, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on August 03, 2026 has been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is
advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of
each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in
order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35
U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed September 03, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claims 2 and 5-6 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 03, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that although Takata discloses reducing the cladding thickness and an uneven outer surface of the cladding, Takata fails to disclose altering the optical wavelength to induce a mode mismatch and emit light from the outer peripheral portion of the light-emitting part.
The examiner disagrees.
In paragraph 0028 of the applicants specification it states that the change in the structure of the wavelength order is due to the removal of cladding 22, wherein the diameter of the light emitting part 20b becomes smaller than a diameter of the light transmitting part 20a.
Takata teaches roughening/removing of cladding in the second section of the light diffusing portion 21 with a clad thickness smaller than that of the cladding in the first section/light transmitting part (Page 3 Par. 2).
The structure is substantially identical of that of the claimed invention; therefore the claimed properties and functions are presumed to be necessarily present. The burden is on the applicant to show that the device of Takata does not possess and is not capable of these functional characteristics or properties. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takata et al. (WO2023281918A1), hereafter Takata, and in view of Baker et al. (US5207669A), hereafter Baker.
Regarding claim 1, Takata discloses A light diffusion device(Light Emitting Medical Apparatus 1) comprising: an optical fiber (Optical fiber 20) including a core located at a center in a radial direction (FIG. 3) and a cladding (First clad 26) adjacent to an outer periphery of the core (Abstract. FIG. 3), the light diffusion device emitting, from a tip side of the optical fiber, light that is incident from a base end portion of the optical fiber (Page 3 Par. 2 Lines 12-20), wherein the optical fiber includes: a light transmitting part (FIG. 3 :First Section 31. FIG.1 Transmission line 20. Page 4 Par. 7 line 1) that transmits, toward a tip (Distal tip 15), the light that is incident from the base end portion; and a light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21) that, due to removal of an outer peripheral portion of the cladding from the cladding in the tip side, emits, from an outer peripheral surface (Radially outward) of the light emitting part, the light transmitted through the light transmitting part (Page 3 Par. 2 Lines 12-20), and the cladding (Second clad 27) in the light emitting part (Light diffusion portion 21) has a maximum thickness smaller than a thickness of the cladding (First clad 26) in the light transmitting part (First Section 31; page 4. Lines 8-10) , the maximum thickness of the cladding (Second clad 27) in the light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21) is smaller than the thickness of the cladding (First clad 26) in the light transmitting part (First Section 31) . Takata fails to teach the thickness in smaller by at least a wavelength of the light transmitted through the light transmitting part. However, cladding thickness functions as a result-effective variable that person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize to achieve predictable emission control.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the differences in thickness by at least one wavelength. Intentionally thinning the cladding enables precise, predictable control over how much light is scattered or "leaks" at a specific location, adjusting the thickness by exact metric measurements (such as a single wavelength) would be considered a routine, obvious design choice.
Takata further discloses the light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21) has an uneven surface (Second Clad 27) formed along the circumferential direction (FIG. 3).
Takata fails to disclose the thickness of the cladding in the light emitting part is such that a height difference between a portion where the uneven surface protrudes most toward the outer periphery and a portion where the uneven surface protrudes least toward the outer periphery is at most a wavelength of the light transmitted through the light transmitting part. However, cladding thickness functions as a result-effective variable that person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize to achieve predictable emission control.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the differences in thickness by at least one wavelength. Intentionally thinning the cladding enables precise, predictable control over how much light is scattered or "leaks" at a specific location, adjusting the thickness by exact metric measurements (such as a single wavelength) would be considered a routine, obvious design choice.
Takata further discloses a cladding (First and Second clad 26 and 27). Takata fails to disclose the cladding has a thickness of 1 µm or greater and 50 µm or less.
Baker teaches a cladding thickness of one µm (Column 3 lines 57-60).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the cladding have a thickness of 1 µm or greater and 50 µm or less (col. 7, lines 50-51), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 1. Takata further discloses the light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21. Page 5. Par. 4. Lines 3-4) is formed in at least a part of the outer peripheral surface (Peripheral surface 23) of the tip side (distal tip 15) of the optical fiber in a circumferential direction (FIG. 3. Page 5. Par. 3. Lines 2-3 and Page 9 Par. 5. Lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 4, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 3. Takata further discloses the light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21. Page 5. Par. 4. Lines 3-4) is formed on a portion of 30% or more (FIG. 5) of the outer peripheral surface (Peripheral surface 23) of the tip side (distal tip 15) of the optical fiber in the circumferential direction (FIG. 3. Page 5. Par. 3. Lines 2-3 and Page 9 Par. 5. Lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 7, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 1. Takata further discloses the light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21) has an uneven surface formed over the outer peripheral surface in a circumferential direction (FIG. 2 and 3), and a diameter (Db) of a minimum circumscribed circle that is a circle passing through a protruding point of the uneven surface is smaller than a diameter of the light transmitting part (See annotated FIG. 3).
Takata fails to disclose and a diameter (Db) of a minimum circumscribed circle that is a circle passing through a protruding point of the uneven surface is smaller than a diameter of the light transmitting part by at least a wavelength. However, the specific dimensional difference between the diameters is a recognized result-effective variable that person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize to achieve predictable emission control.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the differences in diameters by at least one wavelength. Modifying the diameter difference to optimize light extraction efficiency, internal reflection, or structural tolerance is a matter of obvious design optimization, well within the expected skill set of person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 1. Takata further discloses the light emitting part (Light diffusing portion 21) has an uneven surface formed over the outer peripheral surface in a circumferential direction (FIG. 2 and 3), and a diameter (Dc) of a maximum inscribed circle that is a circle passing through a recessing point of the uneven surface is smaller than a diameter of the light transmitting part (See annotated FIG.3).
Takata fails to disclose a diameter (Dc) of a maximum inscribed circle that is a circle passing through a recessing point of the uneven surface is smaller than a diameter of the light transmitting part by at least a wavelength. However, the specific dimensional difference between the diameters is a recognized result-effective variable that person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize to achieve predictable emission control.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the differences in diameters by at least one wavelength. Modifying the diameter difference to optimize light extraction efficiency, internal reflection, or structural tolerance is a matter of obvious design optimization, well within the expected skill set of person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 1. Takata fails to disclose the cladding in the light transmitting part has an outer diameter of 102 µm or greater and 1100 µm or less.
Baker discloses cladding in the light transmitting part has an outer diameter of 105 µm (Column 7 lines 45-63).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the cladding in the light transmitting part has an outer diameter of 102 µm or greater and 1100 µm or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 1. Takata fails to disclose the core and the cladding have a difference in refractive index that is 2% or greater and 11% or less.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize this specific refractive index difference for optical fibers intended as light-diffusion devices, such as photoimmunotherapy devices. The fundamental mathematical boundary conditions of fiber optics dictate that higher RI contrast broadens the emission angle of the guided modes. A person of ordinary seeking a light-diffusing cable for applications like photoimmunotherapy would recognize that expanding this contrast systematically reduces the fiber's light-guiding efficiency. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Takata/Baker discloses the device of claim 1. Takata further discloses the optical fiber is formed from a resin member (Page 4. Par. 2 Line 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure:
➢Rose et al. (EP 3663816 A1) see the entire disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874