DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 28 May 2024: claim(s) 1-14 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “less than 0.45 μm”, and the claim also recites “less than or equal to 0.22 μm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claims 10-11, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mihashi et al. (US 20070090044 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mihashi discloses a dispenser for drip-dispensing a sterile liquid product containing at least one surfactant (see Abstract), including
a reservoir including a wall ("peripheral wall" [0029]) defining an internal volume ("outer bottle 1" [0029]; FIG. 2) and adapted to deform under the effect of a pressure exerted on the reservoir by a user of the dispenser and to spontaneously resume its original shape after said pressure is released ("resiliently squeezable" [0029]);
the reservoir furthermore including a flexible bag ("internal layer bag 16" [0028]; FIG. 2) in the internal volume defined by the wall and adapted to contain the sterile liquid product ("liquid may be kept in the internal layer bag" [0015]);
an air-inlet means between the wall of the reservoir and the flexible bag ("entry opening 17 for leading ambient air to the room between the body portion of the bottle 2 and a body 16a of the internal layer bag 16" [0033]; FIG. 2);
a head attached to a neck of the reservoir ("plug body 12, which is fixed on a mouth portion 11a of the bottle 11" [0027]; FIG. 1) and including a drip end piece ("point nozzle part 15" [0027]; FIG. 1) including a dispensing opening ("discharging pass" [0027]);
the dispenser furthermore including a hydrophilic sterilising microporous membrane ("filtration film 25a include a hydrophilic porous planar film … keep the aseptic condition of the inner layer" [0041]; FIG. 1), disposed so as to have the liquid coming from the flexible bag passing through it with a view to delivery of said liquid through the drip end piece ([0041]; FIG. 1);
wherein the dispenser comprises a device ("protection cap 13" [0027]; FIG. 1) configured to keep the membrane wetted by liquid product coming from the reservoir between two dispensings of liquid product ([0027]; FIG. 1);
said microporous membrane being selectively permeable to liquid such that the microporous membrane enables an aqueous liquid to pass while it opposes the passage of gases when it is wetted ("filter 25 is composed of a hydrophilic filter, it is possible to prevent the ambient air from entering into the inner layer since the ambient air cannot pass through the filter 25" [0045]), and further the microporous membrane opposes the return of air into the flexible bag of the reservoir when the dispenser resumes its original shape after the sterile liquid product is dispensed ("ambient air cannot pass through the filter 25" [0045]), the volume of liquid dispensed being compensated for by the entry of a corresponding volume of air between the wall of the reservoir and the flexible bag via the air-inlet means ([0015] & [0045]).
Regarding Claim 2, Mihashi discloses the flexible bag is formed by delamination of an internal layer of the reservoir ("laminated film-peeling double layered bottle 11" [0027]).
Regarding Claim 3, Mihashi discloses the flexible bag is a retractable flexible bag ("It easily shrinks as the liquid inside decreases" [0036]).
Regarding Claim 4, Mihashi discloses the air-inlet means is formed by a hole in the wall of the reservoir adapted to be closed off by a finger of the user ("entry opening 17 may be blocked by blocking the concave part 18 with a finger" [0033]).
Regarding Claim 6, Mihashi discloses the device configured to keep the membrane wetted between two instillations is a removable cap ("protection cap 13" [0027]; FIG. 1), attached to the dispensing head ([0027]; FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Mihashi discloses the dispenser further includes a porous pad ("internal liquid holding member 25b" [0042]; FIG. 1) located between the reservoir and the microporous membrane (see FIG. 1) and disposed so as to have the liquid coming from the flexible bag passing through the porous pad with a view to delivery of said liquid through the drip end piece ("internal liquid to pass through the holding member 25b from the discharging upstream side (inside of the bottle) to the discharging downstream side (nozzle side)" [0042]).
Regarding Claim 9, Mihashi discloses the microporous membrane has a pore size of less than 0.45 μm ("0.1 μm and 0.31 μm" [0041]) and preferably less than or equal to 0.22 μm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihashi in view of Hamamoto (US 20020190079 A1).
Regarding Claims 5 & 7, Mihashi fails to specify the air-inlet means includes a unidirectional valve, configured to allow air to enter between the wall of the reservoir and the flexible bag and to prevent the air present between the wall of the reservoir and the flexible bag from emerging towards the outside of the reservoir; wherein the device configured to keep the membrane wetted between two instillations includes a valve positioned between the membrane and the dispensing opening of the drip end piece. However, Hamamoto teaches a dispensing container comprises a delaminating bottle (Abstract) comprising “at least one vent(s) 4” ([0044]) wherein the air-inlet means includes a unidirectional valve ("check valve may be disposed in each of vents" [0011]), configured to allow air to enter between the wall of the reservoir and the flexible bag ("vents will allow an amount of ambient air to enter a cavity between the bag and bottle" [0011]) and to prevent the air present between the wall of the reservoir and the flexible bag from emerging towards the outside of the reservoir ("check valve inhibits outflow of the ambient air having entered the clearance" [0030]); wherein the device configured to keep the membrane wetted between two instillations includes a valve (comprising of "flexible nozzle 31" and "closer 32" [0059]) positioned between the membrane and the dispensing opening of the drip end piece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mihashi to incorporate the teachings of Hamamoto to suitably control “inflow of ambient air into a clearance between the exterior bottle and interior bag” ([0030]) and rate of dispense ([0035]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihashi in view of Pardes et al. (US 20090236374 A1).
Regarding Claims 10-11, Mihashi fails to specify the surfaces of the dispenser located between the microporous membrane and the dispensing opening carry a bactericidal coating, for example based on silver ions or zinc ions; the microporous membrane includes a bactericidal agent, for example based on silver ions or zinc ions. However, Pardes teaches “a dispensing or delivery system conveys a flowable substance from a closed source, such as a collapsible reservoir within a rigid container or a rigid reservoir” ([0006]) wherein the surfaces of the dispenser located between the microporous membrane and the dispensing opening carry a bactericidal coating ("may be formed from hydrophobic or antimicrobial material or be coated with a hydrophobic or anti-microbial coating" [0087]); wherein the microporous membrane includes a bactericidal agent ("elastomers, and the materials comprising any of the other components of the device may have integrated, impregnated, otherwise placed within them anti-microbial ingredients such as silver ions" [0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Mihashi to suitably maintain “the purity or sterility of the product remaining in the reservoir” ([0091]).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihashi in view of Stringer et al. (US 20210315924 A1).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Mihashi fails to specify said dispenser including in its reservoir a preservative-free sterile liquid ophthalmic product containing at least one surfactant; wherein the sterile liquid ophthalmic product includes between 0.1% and 5% surfactant by volume; wherein the at least one surfactant includes one or more of the following agents: Polyethylene glycol 400 (PEG 400); Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monooleate (polysorbate 80); Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate (polysorbate 20); Ethylene oxide, propylene oxide; Methyloxirane polymer; Castor oil PEG-35; Hydrogenated castor oil PEG-40; Macrogol cetostearyl ether; Polyoxypropyl glycol 407; Vitamin E (polyethylene glycol succinate); Macrogol hydroxystearate 15; Caprylocaproyl macrogol-8 glycerides; 2-(2-ethoxyethoxy) ethanol; Polyvinylpyrrolidone. However, Stringer teaches “formulations and compositions for ocular diseases” (Abstract) comprising a preservative-free ("preservative free" [0003]) sterile liquid ophthalmic product containing at least one surfactant ([0003]); wherein the sterile liquid ophthalmic product includes between 0.1% and 5% surfactant by volume ("polysorbate 80 is provided at about 0.01% to about 1% by weight (% wt/wt) or weight by volume (% wt/v)" [0036]); wherein the at least one surfactant includes one or more of the following agents: Polyethylene glycol 400 (PEG 400); Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monooleate (polysorbate 80); Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate (polysorbate 20); Ethylene oxide, propylene oxide; Methyloxirane polymer; Castor oil PEG-35; Hydrogenated castor oil PEG-40; Macrogol cetostearyl ether; Polyoxypropyl glycol 407; Vitamin E (polyethylene glycol succinate); Macrogol hydroxystearate 15; Caprylocaproyl macrogol-8 glycerides; 2-(2-ethoxyethoxy) ethanol; Polyvinylpyrrolidone ("polysorbate 80" [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Mihashi to suitably provide a preservative free ophthalmic composition ([0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781