DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 18/713,728 on July 14, 2026. Please note Claims 1 and 4-22 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 4, 8-12, 14, 15, 17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kollin et al. ( US 2016/0379606 A1 ).
Kollin teaches in Claim 1:
A foveated hologram rendering method ( Figure 4A, [0033] disclose a user’s visual field has a plurality of regions, including a foveal region, a peripheral region, etc which are made up of hologram areas ) comprising:
tracking a gaze of a user ( Figure 4A, [0032] disclose determining gaze direction and determining/modifying the tiled hologram sizes accordingly );
performing a first rendering of rendering a hologram of a first resolution in a foveal vision part of the user, wherein the performing the first rendering comprises rendering the hologram by using all of points in a point cloud of the foveal vision part; ( Figure 4A, [0033] disclose an innermost circle 404a may correspond to a central or foveal region of the user’s vision. [0034] discloses the foveal region has a higher resolution. To clarify, the aspects within 404a are used (read as using all of points in a point cloud). [0052] discloses a cloud-computing configuration for the processing aspects detailed in Figure 4A, etc. [0032] discloses modifying and in general, implementing hologram sizing and there are different sized hologram areas (read as point cloud) based on the gaze aspect of the user. To clarify, the number of boxes represent the information being used and it is clear that the foveated region uses all of/more of the information. All of the data is being used and is the same throughout 404a ); and
performing a second rendering of rendering a hologram of a resolution lower than the first resolution in a peripheral vision part of the user, wherein the performing the second rendering comprises rendering the hologram after reconstituting N points in a point cloud of the peripheral vision part as one point by reconstituting coordinate vector information (x,y,z) of the N points as a new coordinate vector ( Figure 4A, [0033] discloses a peripheral region outside of 404a. [0034] discloses the peripheral region has a lower resolution than the foveal region. To clarify, based on the gaze of the user, the foveated and peripheral regions are changing and the resolutions are being repeatedly adjusted (read as reconstituting coordinate vector information as a new coordinate vector). Figure 4A, [0032] discloses modifying the number of boxes and all of the peripheral data, such as within 406a, has the same resolution )
Kollin teaches in Claim 4:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, wherein N increases as points are farther away from the foveal vision part. ( Figure 4A, [0032] discloses wherein a larger number of smaller boxes represents less visual information, and a smaller number of larger boxes represents more visual information.so the foveal ones have more info. To clarify, as the distance from 404a increases, the number of boxes also increases (read as N increases) )
Kollin teaches in Claim 8:
A foveated hologram service system ( Figure 4A, [0033] disclose a user’s visual field has a plurality of regions, including a foveal region, a peripheral region, etc which are made up of hologram areas ) comprising:
a holographic head mounted display (HMD) configured to track a gaze of a user and to reproduce a received hologram content ( Figure 6, [0046] discloses an HMD device. Figure 4A, [0032] disclose determining gaze direction and determining/modifying the tiled hologram sizes accordingly ); and
a rendering server configured to receive gaze information of the user from the holographic HMD ( Figure 7, [0049] discloses implementations for performing the methods and processes, including using server computers, network computing devices, etc ), to render a hologram of a first resolution in a foveal vision part of the user by using all of points in a point cloud of the foveal vision part ( Figure 4A, [0033] disclose an innermost circle 404a may correspond to a central or foveal region of the user’s vision. [0034] discloses the foveal region has a higher resolution. To clarify, the aspects within 404a are used (read as using all of points in a point cloud). [0052] discloses a cloud-computing configuration for the processing aspects detailed in Figure 4A, etc. [0032] discloses modifying and in general, implementing hologram sizing and there are different sized hologram areas (read as point cloud) based on the gaze aspect of the user. To clarify, the number of boxes represent the information being used and it is clear that the foveated region uses all of/more of the information. All of the data is being used and is the same throughout 404a ),
to render a hologram of a resolution lower than the first resolution in a peripheral vision part of the user by rendering the hologram after reconstituting N points in a point cloud of the peripheral vision part as one point by reconstituting N points in a point cloud of the peripheral vision part as one point by reconstituting coordinate vector information (x,y,z) of the N points as a new coordinate vector ( Figure 4A, [0033] discloses a peripheral region outside of 404a. [0034] discloses the peripheral region has a lower resolution than the foveal region. To clarify, based on the gaze of the user, the foveated and peripheral regions are changing and the resolutions are being repeatedly adjusted (read as reconstituting coordinate vector information as a new coordinate vector). Figure 4A, [0032] discloses modifying the number of boxes and all of the peripheral data, such as within 406a, has the same resolution ), to create one hologram content by combining the rendered holograms, and to transmit the created hologram content to the holographic HMD. ( Figure 4A, [0022] disclose details of a single image which is made up of the various hologram areas. However, the user sees a single image (read as one hologram content by combining) which is split between the various resolutions. Please note display device/panel 400 )
Kollin teaches in Claim 9:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, further comprising creating one hologram content by combining the hologram rendered in the foveal vision part and the hologram rendered in the peripheral vision part. ( [0022] discloses dividing up a single image into multiple local regions. However, it is still one image which is analyzed and rendered in entirety )
Kollin teaches in Claim 10:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 9, further comprising reproducing the created hologram content. ( Kollin teaches to track a user’s gaze and adjust the resolutions of the content, i.e. reproducing foveated and peripheral content )
Kollin teaches in Claim 11:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, wherein the peripheral vision part comprises a plurality of peripheral vision zones arranged concentrically around the foveal vision part. ( Figure 4A shows 406b and 408b arranged concentrically around 404a )
Kollin teaches in Claim 12:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 11, wherein N for a peripheral vision zone farther from the foveal vision part is greater than N for a peripheral vision zone closer to the foveal vision part. ( Figure 4A shows two peripheral areas 406a and 408a. The further away uses an even lower resolution, as detailed in [0034], meaning a different N value )
Kollin teaches in Claim 14:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, wherein tracking the gaze of the user comprises using an eye tracking sensor. ( [0020] discloses image sensors 109 to capture image data of a user’s eye to determine gaze aspects )
Kollin teaches in Claim 15:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, wherein the point cloud comprises coordinate vector information (x, y, z) and radiance information (L) for each point. ( The coordinate information was detailed above. As for the radiance information, [0012], [0037] discloses aspects of the optical system and illumination sources, such as RGB lasers (read as radiance information) )
Kollin teaches in Claim 17:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, wherein a size of the foveal vision part is determined based on a quality of service (QoS). ( Respectfully, this term is not well defined. [0030] discloses sizes of hologram can depend on the resolution image, in terms of pixels and the hologram can be sized to accommodate certain sizes (read the desired resolution as an example of Qos) )
Kollin teaches in Claim 19:
The foveated hologram rendering method of claim 1, wherein the foveated hologram rendering method is applied to at least one of augmented reality and virtual reality. ( [0015] discloses augmented reality systems )
Kollin teaches in Claim 20:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor ( [0061] discloses computer-readable instructions and a processor to execute ), performs a foveated hologram rendering method comprising:
tracking a gaze of a user ( Figure 4A, [0032] disclose determining gaze direction and determining/modifying the tiled hologram sizes accordingly );
performing a first rendering of rendering a hologram of a first resolution in a foveal vision part of the user, wherein the performing the first rendering comprises rendering the hologram by using all of points in a point cloud of the foveal vision part ( Figure 4A, [0033] disclose an innermost circle 404a may correspond to a central or foveal region of the user’s vision. [0034] discloses the foveal region has a higher resolution. To clarify, the aspects within 404a are used (read as using all of points in a point cloud). [0052] discloses a cloud-computing configuration for the processing aspects detailed in Figure 4A, etc. [0032] discloses modifying and in general, implementing hologram sizing and there are different sized hologram areas (read as point cloud) based on the gaze aspect of the user. To clarify, the number of boxes represent the information being used and it is clear that the foveated region uses all of/more of the information. All of the data is being used and is the same throughout 404a ); and
performing a second rendering of rendering a hologram of a resolution lower than the first resolution in a peripheral vision part of the user, wherein the performing the second rendering comprises rendering the hologram after reconstituting N points in a point cloud of the peripheral vision part as one point by reconstituting coordinate vector information (x, y, z) of the N points as a new coordinate vector. ( Figure 4A, [0033] discloses a peripheral region outside of 404a. [0034] discloses the peripheral region has a lower resolution than the foveal region. To clarify, based on the gaze of the user, the foveated and peripheral regions are changing and the resolutions are being repeatedly adjusted (read as reconstituting coordinate vector information as a new coordinate vector). Figure 4A, [0032] discloses modifying the number of boxes and all of the peripheral data, such as within 406a, has the same resolution )
Kollin teaches in Claim 21:
The foveated hologram service system of claim 8, wherein the holographic HMD comprises an eye tracking sensor configured to track the gaze of the user and to transmit a result of the tracking to the rendering server. ( [0020] discloses image sensors 109 to capture image data of a user’s eye to determine gaze aspects. Figure 7, [0049] discloses implementations for performing the methods and processes, including using server computers, network computing devices, etc )
Kollin teaches in Claim 22:
The foveated hologram service system of claim 8, wherein the peripheral vision part comprises a plurality of peripheral vision zones arranged concentrically around the foveal vision part, and wherein the rendering server is further configured to reconstitute N points in a point cloud of each peripheral vision zone as one point, wherein N for each peripheral vision zone increases as each peripheral vision zone is farther from the foveal vision part. ( Figure 4A shows 406b and 408b arranged concentrically around 404a. ( Figure 4A shows two peripheral areas 406a and 408a. The further away uses an even lower resolution, as detailed in [0034], meaning a different N value )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 5, 7, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollin et al. ( US 2016/0379606 A1 ), as applied to Claim 3, further in view of Trisnadi et al. ( US 2022/0075199 A1 ).
As per Claim 5:
Kollin does not explicitly teach “wherein N is settable by the user.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, HMDs with foveated aspects, Trisnadi teaches of foveation which can be based on a number of factors, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ). Notably, content creators (read as users) can provide specific various settings which impact the viewing experience. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, would implement the size of the data points, i.e. the amount of processing, to be set by the user with the motivation that the foveated region (and subsequent peripheral region) can have factors, such as sizing, etc, which are best set by the user to improve comfort, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the user selection aspects, as taught by Trisnadi, with the motivation that this would lead to more control for the content creator, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ), enhancing the experience.
As per Claim 7:
Kollin does not explicitly teach “wherein a size of the foveal vision part is settable by the user.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, HMDs with foveated aspects, Trisnadi teaches of foveation which can be based on a number of factors, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ). Notably, content creators (read as users) can provide specific various settings which impact the viewing experience. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, would implement the size of the data points (size of the foveal region), i.e. the amount of processing, to be set by the user with the motivation that the foveated region (and subsequent peripheral region) can have factors, such as sizing, etc, which are best set by the user to improve comfort, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the user selection aspects, as taught by Trisnadi, with the motivation that this would lead to more control for the content creator, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ), enhancing the experience.
As per Claim 13:
Kollin does not explicitly teach “wherein N values for respective peripheral vision zones are independently settable by the user.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, HMDs with foveated aspects, Trisnadi teaches of foveation which can be based on a number of factors, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ). Notably, content creators (read as users) can provide specific various settings which impact the viewing experience. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, would implement the size of the data points (size of the foveal region), i.e. the amount of processing, to be set by the user with the motivation that the foveated region (and subsequent peripheral region) can have factors, such as sizing, etc, which are best set by the user to improve comfort, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the user selection aspects, as taught by Trisnadi, with the motivation that this would lead to more control for the content creator, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ), enhancing the experience.
As per Claim 18:
Kollin does not explicitly teach “wherein a size of the foveal vision part is determined based on vision characteristics of the user.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, HMDs with foveated aspects, Trisnadi teaches of foveation which can be based on a number of factors, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ). Notably, content creators (read as users) can provide specific various settings which impact the viewing experience. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, would implement the size of the data points (size of the foveal region), i.e. the amount of processing, to be set by the user with the motivation that the foveated region (and subsequent peripheral region) can have factors, such as sizing, etc, which are best set by the user to improve comfort, etc. Trisnadi also teaches in [0319] of prescription aspects which can impact the lens of the HMD and again, impacting pupil detection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the user selection aspects, as taught by Trisnadi, with the motivation that this would lead to more control for the content creator, ( Trisnadi, [0333] ), enhancing the experience.
8. Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollin et al.
( US 2016/0379606 A1 ), as applied to Claim 3, further in view of Jarvenpaa et al.
( US 2021/0174768 A1 ).
As per Claim 6:
Kollin does not explicitly teach wherein “the second rendering step comprises down-sampling color information of the reconstituted points.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, resolution adjustments based on gaze, Jarvenpaa teaches of image content based on different regions, ( Jarvenpaa, [0071] ). Notably, the quality of the peripheral content can be rendered as a lower quality relative to the foveation region and one of quality changes can be colour depth, in addition to resolution (as Kollin teaches). Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to be able to adjust the quality differences between the fovea and peripheral regions not just by resolution, but also by colour aspects as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the colour depth change, as taught by Jarvenpaa, with the motivation that reducing quality between the two regions can be done not just by resolution changes, but also by colour aspects, essentially rendering this is a design choice issue. The key point is to distinguish the two regions and to reduce processing power, ( Jarvenpaa, [0083] ).
As per Claim 16:
Kollin does not explicitly teach “wherein the performing the second rendering further comprises down-sampling the radiance information (L) of the reconstituted points.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, resolution adjustments based on gaze, Jarvenpaa teaches of image content based on different regions, ( Jarvenpaa, [0071] ). Notably, the quality of the peripheral content can be rendered as a lower quality relative to the foveation region and one of quality changes can be colour depth, in addition to resolution (as Kollin teaches). Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to be able to adjust the quality differences between the fovea and peripheral regions not just by resolution, but also by colour aspects as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the colour depth change, as taught by Jarvenpaa, with the motivation that reducing quality between the two regions can be done not just by resolution changes, but also by colour aspects, essentially rendering this is a design choice issue. The key point is to distinguish the two regions and to reduce processing power, ( Jarvenpaa, [0083] ).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Attorney Yongseock Choi is thanked for his time to discuss the application in an interview held on August 3, 2026. No agreement was reached.
Upon further consideration, the same grounds has been maintained. Please note the similarities between Applicant’s Figure 3 and Kollin’s Figure 4A/4B and both have concentric regions of interest which receive additional processing (different N value). However, all of the values within this are reconstituted based on the user’s gaze direction, i.e. as the user’s gaze changes, the foveated region changes/reconstitutes.
While Examiner can appreciate Kollin’s emphasis on boxes for the hologram areas, the claim language needs to be better defined in how this is different from the current invention. Using coordinate vectors, etc, is insufficient.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621