DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0179376, filed on 12/15/21.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/28/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1-2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Huynh (US 20140273873, equivalent of KR 20160018573, provided by applicant, hereinafter Huynh).
Regarding to claim 1, Huynh discloses a radio frequency (RF) characteristic measurement system (abstract) comprising:
a shield box (fig. 5[300]) in which an access point (AP) antenna (fig. 5[102]) and a device under test (DUT) (fig. 5[200a]) accessing a network via a mobile connection using an antenna module configured to receive an RF signal of the AP antenna are provided (fig. 5 shows 102a transmit signal to DUT);
a testing apparatus configured to generate an RF signal to be transmitted to the DUT and measure RF characteristics of the DUT using an RF characteristic signal received from the DUT (paragraph 0049 discloses RF signal source from 110 to DUT and paragraph 0057 discloses DUT 200a processes its corresponding received test signals 211a, 211b, . . . , 211m and provides one or more feedback signals 201a indicative of the characteristics (e.g., magnitudes, relative phases, etc.) of these received signals); and
a control device (130) configured to control an operation of the DUT and an operation of the testing apparatus, which are necessary for measuring the RF characteristics of the DUT (paragraph 57-59, 90 and fig. 5 shows [130] received the signal from DUT to provide phase magnitude of the test signal),
wherein the testing apparatus comprises:
an attenuator configured to adjust an output power of the RF signal to be input to the DUT (paragraph 0056 discloses 130 attenuates the test signal, thus 130 considers as attenuator); and
an AP board electrically connected to the attenuator and configured to operate as an AP for the DUT (fig. 3 and 5 shows combination tester 100 and 130 as AP board and 130 as the attenuator circuit to attenuate the RF test signal 111 to generate controlled RF test signal 131 and feed to antenna 102 via cable 106).
Regarding to claim 5, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement system of claim 1, wherein the testing apparatus is configured to measure the RF characteristics of the DUT by varying the output of the AP board using the attenuator to correspond to received signal strength indicator (RSSI) distribution based on simulation information regarding the RSSI distribution that changes according to relative positions and orientations between the DUT and a virtual AP placed in a virtual shield room (paragraph 0056 discloses 130 enabling gain and phase control of the individual radiated signals from the tester 100a for reception by the DUT 200).
Regarding to claim 6, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement system of claim 1, wherein the AP board comprises a first memory configured to store a program of an RF characteristic measurement function and a first command related to execution of the program; and a first processor configured to execute the first command, and when the first processor executes the first command, the AP board is set to act as a client in RF characteristic measurement (paragraph 46 discloses he functions of any part of such circuitry may alternatively be implemented using one or more appropriately programmed processors, depending upon the signal frequencies or data rates to be processed).
Regarding to claim 10, Huynh discloses a radio frequency (RF) characteristic measurement method performed by an RF characteristic measurement system, comprising the steps of:
establishing a network connection environment for a device under test (DUT) using an access point (AP) board (fig. 5 shows [102] transmit RF test signal to DUT 200 where the tester 100 and control board interprets as AP board);
connecting the DUT to a network using the AP board (fig. 5 shows DUT connected to AP board via line 201a); and
measuring RF characteristics of the DUT through a control process of the AP board which comprises a memory configured to store a program of an RF characteristic measurement function and a processor capable of executing the program (paragraph 0049 discloses RF signal source from 110 to DUT and paragraph 0057 discloses DUT 200a processes its corresponding received test signals 211a, 211b, . . . , 211m and provides one or more feedback signals 201a indicative of the characteristics (e.g., magnitudes, relative phases, etc.) of these received signals; paragraph 57-59, 90 and fig. 5 shows [130] received the signal from DUT to provide phase magnitude of the test signal and paragraph 46 discloses the functions of any part of such circuitry may alternatively be implemented using one or more appropriately programmed processors, depending upon the signal frequencies or data rates to be processed).
Regarding to claim 11, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement method of claim 10, wherein the step of establishing a network connection environment for the DUT comprises:
setting up an environment for automatic execution of the program of the RF characteristic measurement function on the DUT and the AP board (paragraph 46 discloses the functions of any part of such circuitry may alternatively be implemented using one or more appropriately programmed processors, depending upon the signal frequencies or data rates to be processed);
activating an AP function of the AP board including a system on a chip (SoC) (fig. 3 and 5 shows 100 and 130 as SoC); and
setting a target channel to be measured using the AP function (paragraph 0086, fig, 14 step 421 for setting the parameter to a reference value).
Regarding to claim 15, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement method of claim 10, wherein the step of measuring the RF characteristics of the DUT comprises measuring the RF characteristics at a physical layer of the DUT and throughput at an application layer (this is a matter of intended used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huynh as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Applicant Admitted Prior art (hereinafter AAPA).
Regarding to claim 2, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement system of claim 1; wherein the RF characteristics comprise RF characteristics such as frame error rate (FER), modulation coding scheme (MCS), and effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) at a physical layer related to the DUT, as well as throughput at an application layer (this is a matter of intended used).
Even if Huynh does not disclose wherein the RF characteristics comprise RF characteristics such as frame error rate (FER), modulation coding scheme (MCS), and effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) at a physical layer related to the DUT, as well as throughput at an application layer.
Paragraph 0006 of AAPA discloses measurement equipment may measure the sensitivity of the device under test (DUT) for each modulation and coding scheme (MCS) while adjusting the level of a vector signal generator (VSG), and may measure an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) using a vector signal analyzer (VSA) of the equipment while transmitting the transmit (TX) power of the DUT with the MCS of the DUT fixed.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to obtain frame error rate (FER), modulation coding scheme (MCS), and effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) at a physical layer related to the DUT, as well as throughput at an application layer as a matter of intended use without effecting the test apparatus.
Regarding to claim 16, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement method of claim 10, wherein the step of measuring the RF characteristics of the DUT comprises retrieving throughput, frame error rate (FER), and MCS values reported from the DUT while varying a transmit output power of the AP board by adjusting an attenuation value of an attenuator connected to the AP board.
Huynh does not disclose wherein the RF characteristics comprise RF characteristics such as frame error rate (FER), modulation coding scheme (MCS), and effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) at a physical layer related to the DUT, as well as throughput at an application layer.
Paragraph 0006 of AAPA discloses measurement equipment may measure the sensitivity of the device under test (DUT) for each modulation and coding scheme (MCS) while adjusting the level of a vector signal generator (VSG), and may measure an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) using a vector signal analyzer (VSA) of the equipment while transmitting the transmit (TX) power of the DUT with the MCS of the DUT fixed.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to obtain frame error rate (FER), modulation coding scheme (MCS), and effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) at a physical layer related to the DUT, as well as throughput at an application layer as a matter of intended use without effecting the test apparatus.
Regarding to claim 17, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement method of claim 10, except wherein the step of measuring the RF characteristics of the DUT comprises calculating effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) of the DUT according to MCS of the DUT, based on a pre-calibrated received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value of the AP board.
Paragraph 0006 of AAPA discloses measurement equipment may measure the sensitivity of the device under test (DUT) for each modulation and coding scheme (MCS) while adjusting the level of a vector signal generator (VSG), and may measure an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) using a vector signal analyzer (VSA) of the equipment while transmitting the transmit (TX) power of the DUT with the MCS of the DUT fixed.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to obtain frame error rate (FER), modulation coding scheme (MCS), and effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) at a physical layer related to the DUT, as well as throughput at an application layer as a matter of intended use without effecting the test apparatus.
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huynh as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Mow et al. (US 20140087668, hereinafter Mow).
Regarding to claim 3, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement system of claim 1, except wherein the testing apparatus further comprises an optical communication interface for communication between the AP antenna and the attenuator and communication between the attenuator and the AP board (fig. 3 shows coaxial cable 106).
Mow discloses a test system may convey radio-frequency (RF) signals bidirectionally between a base station emulator and a device under test (DUT).
Mow discloses an optical cable 110 coupled from 44-1 to the DUT to bypass wireless transmission between antenna.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to use optical cable in order to minimal impact to device radiated performance.
Regarding to claim 12, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement method of claim 10, wherein the step of establishing the network connection environment for the DUT comprises: equipping the DUT and the AP antenna within a shield box (fig. 5[300]);
connecting the AP antenna and the AP board to a programmable attenuator configured to adjust a transmit output power of the AP board (paragraph 0056 discloses 130 attenuates the test signal, thus 130 considers as attenuator);
and establishing an internal communication line of a testing apparatus including the AP board and an external communication line between the AP antenna and the AP board using an optical communication interface (fig. 3 shows coaxial cable 106).
Huynh discloses coaxial cable instead of optical communication interface.
Mow discloses a test system may convey radio-frequency (RF) signals bidirectionally between a base station emulator and a device under test (DUT).
Mow discloses an optical cable 110 coupled from 44-1 to the DUT to bypass wireless transmission between antenna.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to use optical cable in order to minimal impact to device radiated performance.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huynh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of OLGAARD et al. (US 20150256274, hereinafter OLGAARD).
Regarding to claim 7, Huynh discloses the RF characteristic measurement system of claim 1, except wherein the DUT comprises a second memory configured to store a station function activation command; and a second processor configured to execute the command and the DUT is configured to activate a station function through automatic execution of the station function activation command by the second processor.
OLGAARD discloses system and method for controlling test flow of a radio frequency (RF) signal transceiver device under test. Fig. 1 shows VSG 16 provides necessary RF test signals 17 for the DUT 40 and DUT 40 includes control memory circuitry 44 (e.g., for storing pre-programmed test flow commands for controlling the DUT 40 during prescribed test sequences … test sequence commands stored within the memory 44 (paragraph 21-22 and fig. 1).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to incorporate OLGAARD into Huynh for testing a variety of devices for adherence to a variety of wireless technology standards with differing frequency ranges, bandwidths and signal modulation characteristics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-9 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 4, the prior arts of record alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the testing apparatus further comprises a first interface for controlling the DUT and a second interface for controlling the DUT and the testing apparatus and the first interface and the second interface are implemented as interfaces having a throughput less than a maximum throughput of supportable MCS, regardless of the maximum throughput of the supportable MCS” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected for the same reasons.
Regarding to claim 8, the prior arts of record alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the second memory pre-stores service set identifier (SSID) information of the AP board and the DUT is configured to automatically connect to the AP board with the SSID when an AP with the SSID is found through AP search by the second processor” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is objected for dependent upon claim 8.
Regarding to claim 13, the prior arts of record alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the step of establishing the network connection environment for the DUT comprises establishing communication lines between the DUT and the AP board, and between the AP board and a control device, using interfaces having a throughput less than a maximum throughput of supportable modulation and coding scheme (MCS), regardless of the maximum throughput of the supportable MCS” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claim 14, the prior arts of record alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “RF characteristic measurement method of claim 10, wherein the step of connecting the DUT to the network comprises: automatically activating a station function of the DUT; establishing communication connection between the DUT and the AP board through service set identifier (SSID) search; and executing the program of the RF characteristic measurement function pre-stored in the DUT to enable the DUT to act as a server in RF characteristic measurement” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SON T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863