The instant application having Application No. 18/713,785 filed on 12/6/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 200, 214, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application KR10-2021-0172559 (Republic of Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200044541 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Ok (K2 20200048922 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Takahashi (US 20090080316 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a holographic printer, in at least Figure 3, comprising:
a light source (“light source”) configured to emit light (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states “Referring to FIG. 3, a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser can be identified as light sources. The red laser, the green laser, and the blue laser may be continuous wave lasers, not pulse lasers. In general, in the case of a pulse laser, to reduce the exposure time, the light source according to the present specification may generate a stable hologram using a continuous wave laser”);
a modulator ("spatial light modulator") configured to generate a holographic fringe pattern on a hogel basis by modulating light emitted from the light source (“light source”, page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states “Object beams composed of R, G, and B may be respectively input to the spatial light modulator. The spatial light modulator may be composed of three R, G, B LCD … The color Hogel image that passed through the LCD enters the optical head through the mirror 5”, page 3, paragraph 8 of translation states “The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion”, abstract states “a light source; …; an optical unit which divides the light emitted from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, …; a spatial light modulation unit disposed on an optical path of the object beam”);
a stage (“mounting portion”) on which a hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”) is placed (page 3, paragraph 6 of translation states “a path through which the light irradiated from the light source reaches the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion will be referred to as a 'light path'”, page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states “The photosensitive material may be a hologram plate, a film, or a photopolymer”), the holographic fringe pattern generated by the modulator ("spatial light modulator") being recorded on the hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”) on a hogel basis (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states “While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at
each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material”);
a driver (“control unit”) configured to move a position of the stage (“mounting portion”, page 4, paragraph 7 of translation states “the control unit may output control signals to the optical unit, the spatial light modulation unit, and the mounting unit. In FIG. 1, the controller is illustrated as a 'motor controller', a 'LCD controller', a 'switch controller', and a 'computer'”, page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states “While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material”).
However, Lee does not disclose a first driver configured to move a position of the stage in a first axis direction by using a motor of a first type; and a second driver configured to move the position of the stage in a second axis direction by using a motor of a second type which is different from the first type.
Ok teaches a first driver (22 "X-axis driving means") configured to move a position of the stage (1 “work plate”, Figure 3) in a first axis direction (“X-axis”, page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23"); and a second driver (23 "Y-axis driving means") configured to move the position of the stage (1 “work plate”, Figure 3) in a second axis direction (“Y-axis”, page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by a first driver configured to move a position of the stage in a first axis direction and a second driver configured to move the position of the stage in a second axis direction, as taught by Ok, in order to incrementally move the stage to cover all positions (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation – page 5, paragraph 2 of translation).
Takahashi discloses a first driver (4 "DC motor", Figure 1) by using a motor of a first type (paragraphs 0024-0025); and a second driver (3 "stepping motor", Figure 1) by using a motor of a second type (paragraphs 0025-0026) which is different from the first type (paragraphs 0024-0026).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by a first driver by using a motor of a first type and a second driver by using a motor of a second type which is different from the first type, as taught by Takahashi, in order to move the components in different directions (paragraphs 0024-0026).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee, Ok, and Takahashi disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the first axis direction is an X-axis direction, and the second axis direction is a Y-axis direction.
Ok teaches wherein the first axis direction is an X-axis direction (page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23"), and the second axis direction is a Y-axis direction (page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the first axis direction is an X-axis direction, and the second axis direction is a Y-axis direction, as taught by Ok, in order to incrementally move the stage to cover all positions (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation – page 5, paragraph 2 of translation).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee, Ok, and Takahashi disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Lee does not disclose wherein, when the second driver moves the stage by one step in the Y-axis direction, the first driver continuously moves the stage from beginning to end in the X-axis direction.
Ok teaches disclose wherein, when the second driver (23 "Y-axis driving means") moves the stage in the Y-axis direction (page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23"), the first driver (22 "X-axis driving means") moves the stage X-axis direction (page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by when the second driver moves the stage in the Y-axis direction, the first driver moves the stage X-axis direction, as taught by Ok, in order to incrementally move the stage to cover all positions (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation – page 5, paragraph 2 of translation).
Takahashi teaches wherein, when the second driver (3 "stepping motor") moves the stage by one step (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation – page 5, paragraph 2 of translation), the first driver (4 "DC motor") continuously moves the stage from beginning to end (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation – page 5, paragraph 2 of translation), where it is well known within the art that a DC motor produces continuous motion and a stepping motor produces motion in discrete steps).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein, when the second driver moves the stage by one step, the first driver continuously moves the stage from beginning to end, as taught by Takahashi, in order to move the stage to cover all positions (paragraphs 0024-0026).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee, Ok, and Takahashi disclose all the limitations of claim 3, however Lee does not disclose wherein a length of one step by which the stage is moved by the second driver corresponds to a vertical axis length of a hogel, and wherein a length by which the stage is continuously moved by the first driver corresponds to a length of a horizontal line of a hologram.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a second driver and a first driver such that a length of one step by which the stage is moved by the second driver corresponds to a vertical axis length of a hogel, and a length by which the stage is continuously moved by the first driver corresponds to a length of a horizontal line of a hologram, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee, Ok, and Takahashi disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Lee does not disclose wherein the motor of the first type is a motor that produces low vibration in a moving state, and wherein the motor of the second type is a motor that produces low vibration in a stationary state.
Takahashi teaches wherein the motor of the first type (3 "stepping motor") is a motor that produces low vibration in a moving state (it is well known in the art that a stepper motor produces low vibration in a moving state), and wherein the motor of the second type (4 "DC motor") is a motor that produces low vibration in a stationary state (it is well known in the art that a DC motor produces low vibration in a stationary state).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the motor of the first type is a motor that produces low vibration in a moving state, and wherein the motor of the second type is a motor that produces low vibration in a stationary state, as taught by Takahashi, in order to minimize disruption to the movement of the stage caused by vibrations.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee, Ok, and Takahashi disclose all the limitations of claim 5, however Lee does not disclose wherein the motor of the first type is a servo motor, and wherein the motor of the second type is a step motor.
Takahashi teaches wherein the motor of the first type is a servo motor (4 “DC motor”, paragraph 0025, where it is well known in the art that DC motors are often used as servo motors), and wherein the motor of the second type is a step motor (3 “stepping motor”, paragraphs 0025-0026).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the hologram printer of Lee modified by wherein the motor of the first type is a servo motor, and wherein the motor of the second type is a step motor, as taught by Takahashi, in order to efficiently move the position of the stage.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a hologram recording method, in at least Figure 3, comprising:
a step of emitting light (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states “Referring to FIG. 3, a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser can be identified as light sources. The red laser, the green laser, and the blue laser may be continuous wave lasers, not pulse lasers. In general, in the case of a pulse laser, to reduce the exposure time, the light source according to the present specification may generate a stable hologram using a continuous wave laser”);
a step of generating a holographic fringe pattern on a hogel basis by modulating emitted light (page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states “Object beams composed of R, G, and B may be respectively input to the spatial light modulator. The spatial light modulator may be composed of three R, G, B LCD … The color Hogel image that passed through the LCD enters the optical head through the mirror 5”, page 3, paragraph 8 of translation states “The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion”, abstract states “a light source; …; an optical unit which divides the light emitted from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, …; a spatial light modulation unit disposed on an optical path of the object beam”);
a step of moving a position of a stage (“mounting portion”) on which a hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”), on which the generated holographic fringe pattern is to be recorded on a hogel basis (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states “While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material”), is placed in an axis direction by using a motor (page 4, paragraph 7 of translation states “the control unit may output control signals to the optical unit, the spatial light modulation unit, and the mounting unit. In FIG. 1, the controller is illustrated as a 'motor controller', a 'LCD controller', a 'switch controller', and a 'computer'”, page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states “While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material”).
However, Lee does not disclose a step of moving a position of a stage in a second axis direction by using a motor of a second type and a step of moving the position of the stage in a first axis direction by using a motor of a first type which is different from the second type.
Ok teaches a step of moving a position of a stage (1 “work plate”, Figure 3) in a second axis direction (“Y-axis”, page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23") and a step of moving the position of the stage (1 “work plate”) in a first axis direction (“X-axis”, page 4, paragraph 3 of translation states "the work plate 1 can be controlled to be moved in the X and Y directions by the X-axis driving means 22 and the Y-axis driving means 23").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the hologram recording method of Lee modified by a step of moving a position of a stage in a second axis direction and a step of moving the position of the stage in a first axis direction, as taught by Ok, in order to incrementally move the stage to cover all positions (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation – page 5, paragraph 2 of translation).
Takahashi teaches a motor of a second type (3 "stepping motor", Figure 1) and a motor of a first type (4 "DC motor", Figure 1) which is different from the second type (paragraphs 0024-0026).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the hologram recording method of Lee modified by a motor of a second type and a motor of a first type which is different from the second type, as taught by Takahashi, in order to move the components in different directions (paragraphs 0024-0026).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200044541 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Ok (K2 20200048922 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Takahashi (US 20090080316 A1), and further in view of Little (US 3650605 A).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee, Ok, and Takahashi disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the first driver (55 “stepping motor”, Figure 5) changes a moving direction of the stage to the opposite direction on the first axis every time the position of the stage is controlled by the second driver (54 “stepping motor”, column 3, lines 59-67 state “Through means of the reversible stepping motor 55, the light entrance surface of plate 36 is swept back and forth over the prescribed path of travel to produce the horizontal trace depicted by the sweep lines 63 in FIG. 5. After completion of each individual horizontal sweep, and before the direction of sweep is reversed, the vertical control plate 35 is repositioned in the entering light beam by means of the associated stepping motor 54 whereby the return sweep traces a path of travel substantially parallel to the subsequent trace in the recording plane as illustrated in FIG. 5”, Figure 5).
Little teaches wherein the first driver changes a moving direction of the stage to the opposite direction on the first axis every time the position of the stage is controlled by the second driver ().
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the first driver changes a moving direction of the stage to the opposite direction on the first axis every time the position of the stage is controlled by the second driver, as taught by Little, in order to incrementally cover all positions.
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Aizawa (US 20170185038 A1) is a hologram generation apparatus which includes an object light optical system, a recording medium, and a position control unit.
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872