DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are pending; claims 1-8, 10-25 are examined; claims 9, 26, and 27 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-25, and species election of organic bases, in the reply filed on 26 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is sufficient overlap because claims 26 (Group II) and 27 (Group III) depend from claim 1, such that search and examination for all groups would not be overly burdensome; and that the species of inorganic and organic bases have common functionality and properties, thus searching for disclosures related to one of these compounds would probably result in disclosure of the other non-elected compounds as well.
This is not found persuasive because Group I only requires a composition, but Group II requires a specific device and applicator that are materially different from a composition, and Group III requires manipulative differences in a process for coating eyelashes or eyebrows. Moreover, in the instance of election of species, inorganic bases and organic bases may vastly differ on chemical and/or physical properties (e.g., water resistance) and would therefore require different considerations.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 9, 26 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “acid(s)” in line 2 of the claim should be recited as --- acids ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: immediately prior to “at least one” in line 1 of the claim there should be recited --- said --- or --- the ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “water” in line 2 of each claim should be recited as --- the aqueous phase ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “simple esters” in the last line of claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “simple” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what extent of esters are considered to be “simple”, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would know when an ester infringes on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amazaki (US 2016/0338937 A1, 11/24/2016).
Amazaki discloses cosmetic compositions comprising at least one aqueous phase comprising water, at least one fatty phase comprising polar oil(s), fatty acid(s), associative polymer(s), and hollow particle(s) ([0008]-[0012]). The polar oil(s) include hydrocarbon-based esters of formula RCOOR′ in which RCOO represents a carboxylic acid residue comprising from 2 to 40 carbon atoms, and R′ represents a hydrocarbon-based chain containing from 1 to 40 carbon atoms ([0071]). The fatty acid(s) includes stearic acid ([0131]). The pH of the aqueous phase may be controlled by basifying agents including triethanolamine ([0048]). The associative polymer(s) include copolymers of vinylpyrrolidone and of fatty chain hydrophobic monomers, examples include vinylpyrrolidone/eicosene copolymer ([0227], [0229]). The composition may further comprise synthetic polymers such as poly(C10-C30 alkyl acrylates) sold under the name Intelimer® ([0281]). The hollow particle(s) comprise core polymer(s) and shell polymer(s) ([0251]), and may be obtained by copolymerizing two or three monoethylenically unsaturated monomers containing at least one acid group ([0256]). Exemplary monoethylenically unsaturated monomers containing at least one carboxylic acid group includes acrylic acid and methacrylic acid ([0258]). Exemplary monoethylenically unsaturated nonionic monomers include styrene, vinyl acetate, (meth)acrylate, and (meth)acrylamide ([0260]).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 7, and 8, as noted by paras. [0060] and [0069] of the instant Specification, stearic acid is a fatty acid containing from 14 to less than 20 carbon atoms suitable as an anionic surfactant.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, as noted by para. [0074] of the instant Specification, triethanolamine is an organic base.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, as noted by para. [0035] of the instant Specification, Intelimer® products bear crystallizable side chains and are poly(C10-C30) alkyl acrylates suitable as semicrystalline polymers.
Regarding claims 1 reciting at least one film-forming polymer, as noted by para. [0051] of the instant Specification, polymerization of ethylenically unsaturated monomers containing at least one acid group and/or esters of these acid monomers and/or amides of these acid monomers result in a film-forming polymer as instantly claimed. Thus the hollow particle(s) of Amazaki meets the limitation as instantly claimed.
Together these would provide a composition as instantly claimed. The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as this combination must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Amazaki further discloses wherein the fatty phase may also comprise wax(es) ([0091]) conventionally used in cosmetic compositions ([0093]). Regarding the claimed amounts of wax, although Amazaki does not explicitly disclose an amount of wax, the selection of appropriate weight percentages would appear to require no more than routine testing on the part of the skilled artisan, and so it would have been obvious to determine workable ranges to arrive at the claimed amounts in % by weight. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, Amazaki discloses polar oils of the formula RCOOR’. Accordingly, a compound wherein RCOO represents a carboxylic acid residue comprising 22 carbon atoms, and R’ representing a hydrocarbon chain containing 22 carbon atoms, would have been obvious (i.e. behenyl behenate).
Regarding claim 4, Amazaki further discloses wherein the polar oil may be 1-15% by weight of the composition ([0090]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. at least 5.0% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Amazaki further discloses wherein the fatty acid(s) may be 0.1-5% by weight of the composition ([0021]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. 3.5-20% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, although Amazaki does not explicitly disclose an amount of basifying agents, it would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed ranges (i.e. at least 0.1% by weight) through routine experimentation based on the pH ranges desired. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 12, Amazaki further discloses wherein the associative polymer(s) may be 0.01-5% by weight of the composition ([0246]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. 0.5-10% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, although Amazaki does not explicitly disclose an amount of synthetic polymer, it would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed ranges (i.e. at least 2.0% by weight) through routine experimentation based on the pH ranges desired. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above, Amazaki discloses poly(C10-C30 alkyl acrylates). As such, poly(C22 alkyl acrylate) (i.e. poly(behenyl acrylate) would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 16, Amazaki further discloses wherein the hollow particle(s) may be 0.1-5% by weight of the composition ([0266]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. 0.5-10% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Amazaki further discloses wherein the at least one aqueous phase may comprise water, in amounts of 55% by weight or more ([0041]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. at least 30.0% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Amazaki further discloses wherein the compositions may also comprise coloring agents ([0277]). Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a coloring agent such as dyestuffs.
Regarding claim 20, Amazaki further discloses wherein polar oil(s) also include fatty alcohols containing 12 to 26 carbon atoms ([0074]). Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a fatty alcohol as the polar oil, since “it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art" as supported by MPEP § 2144.06(I)
Regarding claim 21, as discussed above, Amazaki discloses wherein the polar oil(s) may be 1-15% by weight of the composition. Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. from 1.0% to 20.0% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 22, Amazaki further discloses wherein associative polymers include water-soluble (i.e. hydrophilic) polymers that are capable of reversibly combining with each other or with other molecules in an aqueous medium ([0181]).
Regarding claim 23, Amazaki discloses wherein associative polymer(s) may be 0.01-5% by weight of the composition ([0246]). Accordingly, the claimed ranges (i.e. from 0.1% to 15.0% by weight) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 24, Amazaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the compositions have, at 25 °C, a hardness of ≥ 20 g. However, since the composition of Amazaki comprises substantially the same components (i.e. linear fatty acid monoester having formula R1-O-R2; anionic surfactant; base; vinylpyrrolidone/eicosene copolymer; semicrystalline polymer; aqueous phase; and film-forming polymer in the form of solid particles suspended in the aqueous phase), one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude the composition of Amazaki to reasonably possess substantially the same properties as the claimed invention, such as a hardness of ≥ 20 g at 25 °C.
Regarding claim 25, Amazaki further discloses wherein the composition may be used for eyelashes ([0309]).
Claims 1-8 and 10-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amazaki (US 2016/0338937 A1, 11/24/2016) in view of Sugimoto et al. (US 2013/0295035 A1, 11/07/2013) (hereinafter Sugimoto).
The disclosure of Amazaki has been discussed in detail above.
Regarding claim 17, Amazaki differs the instant claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the hollow particle(s) comprises an instantly claimed copolymer.
However, Sugimoto discloses a cosmetic composition for eyelashes comprising at least one film-forming polymer in the form of particles dispersed in an aqueous phase (abs). The film-forming polymers that may be used include Syntran® 5760 by the company Interpolymer ([0076]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included Syntran® 5760 in the composition of Amazaki since it is a known and effective polymer suitable as particle forming polymers as taught by Sugimoto.
As noted by para. [0092] of the instant Specification, Syntran® 5760 is a styrene/acrylates/ammonium methacrylate copolymer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/713,833 in view of Amazaki (US 2016/0338937 A1, 11/24/2016) and Sugimoto et al. (US 2013/0295035 A1, 11/07/2013) (hereinafter Sugimoto).
The copending claims differ from the pending claims insofar as not explicitly teaching all the features of the claimed invention, such as an instantly claimed semi-crystalline polymer or film-forming polymer.
However, these features are known in the art. As noted in the current rejections, the teachings of Amazaki render obvious claims 1-8, 10-16, and 19-25. Furthermore, the combined teachings of Amazaki and Sugimoto render obvious claim 17.
Therefore, as claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/713,833, Amazaki and Sugimoto all disclose cosmetic compositions suitable as eyelash products, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copending application and to include the teachings of Amazaki and Sugimoto as discussed in the rejections above, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as instantly claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." See MPEP 2144.06(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boularas et al. (WO 2020/127981 A1, 06/25/2020), directed to compositions for keratin fibers comprising behenyl behenate, stearic acid, triethanolamine, VP copolymers, semicrystalline polymer comprising a crystallizable side chain chosen from saturated C10 to C30 alkyl (meth)acrylates such as poly(behenyl acrylate)s, film-forming polymers including VP/VA copolymers, stearyl alcohol, and/or polyvinylpyrrolidone hydrophilic polymer.
Pays et al. (US 2010/0307522 A1, 12/09/2010), directed to compositions comprising stearic acid, triethanolamine, VP/eicosene, semi-crystalline polymers comprising a crystallizable side chain resulting from polymerization of (meth)acrylates and saturated C14-C24 alkyl group, Syntran® 5760, and aqueous medium suitable as eyelash products.
Barba et al. (US 2015/0174056 A1, 06/25/2015, IDS reference), directed to compositions for coating keratin fibers comprising stearic acid, triethanolamine, VP/eicosene copolymer, C14-C24 alkyl (meth)acrylates including behenyl acrylate homopolymer, film-forming polymers including Syntran® 5760 dispersed in aqueous medium.
Conclusion
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612