DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-26 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eggert et al. (US 7299721 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Eggert et al. discloses a socket (200) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis (central axis of receptacle 210) and comprising: a cylindrical section (peripheral side wall 204) having an end surface (206), a plurality of engaging surfaces (facets 209) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 6-7) of the cylindrical section (204);
an inner section (7 and 10, fig. 20) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (annular lip 218 surface) offset from the end surface (206) such that the engaging surfaces (209) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (206, figs. 6-7); and
a socket opening (groove or open-ended channel 211) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (fig. 6);
wherein the cylindrical section (204) comprises at least one internal sloped surface (212) located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface (212) extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface (206) in a direction away from the socket axis (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7). Eggert et al. also discloses the socket can have a plurality of projections/socket openings (112/214, figs. 1-5 and 7) and plurality of channels (col. 4, lines 36-44, figs. 6-7).
Eggert et al. states: “socket 200 may include one or more projections and/or one or more channels for threading wires or similar cables from an interior part of the socket to a point or distance away from the socket” (col. 4, lines 36-39).
Regarding claims 2-4, Eggert et al. discloses the at least one internal sloped surface (212) comprises a plurality of internal sloped surfaces (col. 4, lines 45-54), wherein each internal slope of the plurality of internal sloped surfaces is straight (fig. 6) wherein each internal sloped surface of the plurality of internal slopes extends from the stopping surface to the end surface (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 5, Eggert et al. discloses the cylindrical section (204) comprises a circular drive profile concentric with the socket axis (central axis of receptacle 210) on an external side of the cylindrical section for being drivingly engaged by a wheel (capable of being driven by a wheel, (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7).
Regarding claims 25-26, Eggert et al. discloses the at least one internal slope surface (212) comprises a cutout portion of at least one of the plurality of engaging surfaces (figs. 6-7), the cutout portion extending between the end surface and the stopping surface in a plane transverse to the socket axis, wherein the at least one internal slope (212) is positioned in the cylindrical surface radially outside of at least one of the plurality of engaging surfaces with respect to the socket axis and extends away from the socket axis and into the cylindrical section. (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abel (US 20110239830 A1) in view of Eggert et al. (US 7299721 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Abel discloses socket (20) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis and comprising: a cylindrical section (1) having an end surface (top), a plurality of engaging surfaces (jaw surfaces 5, 8 and 10') parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (fig. 20) of the cylindrical section (fig. 1 and 20);
an inner section (7 and 10, fig. 20) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (perpendicular surface between jaw surfaces 5, 8 and 10' and 7 and 10, fig. 20) offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces (perpendicular surface between jaw surfaces 5, 8 and 10', fig. 20) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (top); and
a socket opening (3/3’) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (figs. 1 and 20); wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface (17 or any one of 5/8/10') located on the internal side of the cylindrical section extending at an angle away from the stopping surface ([0041-0068], figs. 1 and 20).
Abel fails to disclose the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis.
Eggert et al. teaches a socket (200) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis (central axis of receptacle 210) and comprising: a cylindrical section (peripheral side wall 204) having an end surface (206), a plurality of engaging surfaces (facets 209) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 6-7) of the cylindrical section (204);
an inner section (7 and 10, fig. 20) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (annular lip 218 surface) offset from the end surface (206) such that the engaging surfaces (209) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (206, figs. 6-7); and
a socket opening (groove or open-ended channel 211) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (fig. 6);
wherein the cylindrical section (204) comprises at least one internal sloped surface (212) located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface (212) extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface (206) in a direction away from the socket axis (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7). Eggert et al. also teaches the socket can have a plurality of projections (112/214, figs. 1-5 and 7) and plurality of channels (col. 4, lines 36-44, figs. 6-7).
Eggert et al. states: “socket 200 may include one or more projections and/or one or more channels for threading wires or similar cables from an interior part of the socket to a point or distance away from the socket” (col. 4, lines 36-39).
Given the teachings of Abel to have an socket with an opening in the annular wall and parallel cheeks/facets, annular facets and stopping surfaces, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the socket cylindrical section comprise at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis to have a more secure attachment/detent mechanism, engaging a work piece having a wire, and/or for aligning with a wrench/power tool slot to attach or release from a bolt/nut as taught by Eggert et al.
Regarding claims 2-4, Abel discloses the at least one internal sloped surface (17 or any one of 5/8/10’) comprises a plurality of internal sloped surfaces (17 or any one of 5/8/10’), wherein each internal slope of the plurality of internal sloped surfaces is straight (5/8/10’) wherein each internal sloped surface (17 or any one of 5/8/10’) of the plurality of internal slopes extends from the stopping surface to the end surface ([0041-0068], figs. 1 and 20).
Regarding claim 5, Abel discloses the cylindrical section (1) comprises a circular drive profile concentric with the socket axis on an external side of the cylindrical section for being drivingly engaged by a wheel (capable of being driven by a wheel, [0041-0068], figs. 1 and 20).
Regarding claims 25-26, Abel discloses the at least one internal slope surface (17 or any one of 5/8/10’) comprises a cutout portion of at least one of the plurality of engaging surfaces (converging/joining portion of jaw surfaces 5/5, 8/17 and/or 10'/10’ forms a cutout and/or apex line 9 fig. 14), the cutout portion extending between the end surface and the stopping surface in a plane transverse to the socket axis, wherein the at least one internal slope is positioned in the cylindrical surface radially outside of at least one of the plurality of engaging surfaces with respect to the socket axis and extends away from the socket axis and into the cylindrical section. ([0041-0068], figs. 1 and 20).
Claim(s) 1-5 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Banko (US 20180071897 A1) in view of Eggert et al. (US 7299721 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Banko discloses a socket (5 and/or adaptor 110, figs. 1 and 4) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis and comprising: a cylindrical section (25/45, fig. 1) having an end surface (35/111), a plurality of engaging surfaces (75 [0027] or 130 [0033], figs. 1-4) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 1-4) of the cylindrical section (fig. 1-4);
an inner section (10/140) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (15/140) offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces (75/130) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (35/111); and
a socket opening (receiving space 30/125) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (figs. 1-4);
wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface (cavities 50 and/or 113) located on the internal side of the cylindrical section extending at an angle away from the stopping surface ([0025-0036], figs. 1-4).
Banko fails to disclose the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis.
Eggert et al. teaches a socket (200) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis (central axis of receptacle 210) and comprising: a cylindrical section (peripheral side wall 204) having an end surface (206), a plurality of engaging surfaces (facets 209) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 6-7) of the cylindrical section (204);
an inner section (7 and 10, fig. 20) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (annular lip 218 surface) offset from the end surface (206) such that the engaging surfaces (209) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (206, figs. 6-7); and
a socket opening (groove or open-ended channel 211) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (fig. 6);
wherein the cylindrical section (204) comprises at least one internal sloped surface (212) located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface (212) extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface (206) in a direction away from the socket axis (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7). Eggert et al. also teaches the socket can have a plurality of projections (112/214, figs. 1-5 and 7) and plurality of channels (col. 4, lines 36-44, figs. 6-7).
Eggert et al. states: “socket 200 may include one or more projections and/or one or more channels for threading wires or similar cables from an interior part of the socket to a point or distance away from the socket” (col. 4, lines 36-39).
Given the teachings of Banko to have an socket with an cavity/recess in the annular wall and parallel cheeks/facets, annular facets and stopping surfaces, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the socket cylindrical section comprise at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis to have a more secure attachment/detent mechanism, engaging a work piece having a wire, and/or for aligning with a wrench/power tool slot to attach or release from a bolt/nut as taught by Eggert et al.
Regarding claims 2-4, Banko discloses the at least one internal sloped surface (cavities 50 and/or 113) comprises a plurality of internal sloped surfaces (cavities 50 and/or “at least one cavity 113” [0033]), wherein each internal slope of the plurality of internal sloped surfaces (113) is straight (113 is straight and cavities 50 are also straight from top to bottom, figs. 4-5) wherein each internal sloped surface (cavities 50 and/or 113) of the plurality of internal slopes extends from the stopping surface (15/140) to the end surface (35/111, [0025-0036], figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, Banko discloses the cylindrical section (25/45, fig. 1) comprises a circular drive profile concentric with the socket axis on an external side of the cylindrical section for being drivingly engaged by a wheel (capable of being driven by a wheel).
Regarding claims 25-26, Banko discloses the at least one internal slope surface (cavities 50 and/or 113) comprises a cutout portion of at least one of the plurality of engaging surfaces (113 is cutout of surface(s) 130), the cutout portion extending between the end surface and the stopping surface in a plane transverse to the socket axis, wherein the at least one internal slope is positioned in the cylindrical surface radially outside of at least one of the plurality of engaging surfaces with respect to the socket axis ([0025-0036], figs. 1-5).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kather (US 6035745 A) in view of Eggert et al. (US 7299721 B1) and further in view of Sroka (US 20120103142 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Kather teaches a socket (22) with a cylindrical section having an end surface (figs. 2-3), a plurality of engaging surfaces parallel with the socket axis on an internal side of the cylindrical section (4 surfaces shown in the opening/slot 24 in figs. 2-3), inner section (inside section inside slot 24) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis (figs. 2-3) the socket is rotatable about the socket axis from an open position, a socket opening (24) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section and a method of controlling a power tool (8) for tightening a joint (threaded fastener), the power tool (8) comprising a base element (gear assembly 16) having a base opening (26), a socket (22) having plurality of engaging surfaces parallel with the socket axis on an internal side of the cylindrical section of the socket, the socket having an inner section (fig. 3); a motor (rotary power source/54/58, col. 3, lines 38-67, col. 4, lines 1-25 fig. 1) arranged to drive the socket (22), and a control system (indexing clutch assembly 14) configured to control the motor (rotary power source/54/5854/58), where the socket (22) is rotatable about the socket axis from an open position where the socket opening (24) is aligned with the base opening (26), the method comprising: controlling the motor to drive the socket to rotate in a first direction in a tightening operation for tightening the joint; and after performing the tightening operation, controlling the motor to drive the socket to rotate in a second direction in a releasing operation (rotate/reverse until socket gear slot 24 is aligned with housing slot 26, col. 4, lines 1-25 col. 6, lines 10-67, col. 7, lines 17-45, figs. 1-6).
Kather states: “socket gear slot 24 is rotatably positionable within gear assembly 16 so as to align with gear housing slot 26, thereby enabling lateral positioning of gear wrench 8 into engagement with a threaded fastener (col. 3, lines 56-60) … socket gear 22 is fully driveable in a first, tightening direction and selectively driveable in a second, indexing direction until socket gear slot 24 is aligned with gear housing slot 26 (col. 4, lines 21-25).
Kather fails to disclose the socket having an inner section positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface and wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis.
Eggert et al. teaches a socket (200) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis (central axis of receptacle 210) and comprising: a cylindrical section (peripheral side wall 204) having an end surface (206), a plurality of engaging surfaces (facets 209) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 6-7) of the cylindrical section (204);
an inner section (7 and 10, fig. 20) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (annular lip 218 surface) offset from the end surface (206) such that the engaging surfaces (209) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (206, figs. 6-7); and
a socket opening (groove or open-ended channel 211) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (fig. 6);
wherein the cylindrical section (204) comprises at least one internal sloped surface (212) located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface (212) extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface (206) in a direction away from the socket axis (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7). Eggert et al. also teaches the socket can have a plurality of projections (112/214, figs. 1-5 and 7) and plurality of channels (col. 4, lines 36-44, figs. 6-7).
Eggert et al. states: “socket 200 may include one or more projections and/or one or more channels for threading wires or similar cables from an interior part of the socket to a point or distance away from the socket” (col. 4, lines 36-39).
Sroka also teaches a socket (28) for a power tool (powered wrench 20), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis and comprising: a cylindrical section (insert 40 and plates 22/24 distal end with C shape opening 30) having an end surface (22 or 24), a plurality of engaging surfaces (90 and/or inserts 120A-120G figs. 10-19 [0040-0041]) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 1-19) of the cylindrical section (plates 22/24 distal end with C shape opening 30);
an inner section (10/140) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (recess portion forming wall 34) offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces (90 and/or inserts 120A-120G figs. 10-19 [0040-0041]) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (figs. 1-19); and
a socket opening (30) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (figs. 1-9);
wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface (circumferential groove 48) on the internal side of the cylindrical section extending at an angle away from the stopping surface ([0025-0048], figs. 1-19).
Given the teachings of Kather a control system is configured to control the tightening and performance of a releasing operation by the socket, after performing the tightening operation, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the socket control system with a socket or socket insert with having an inner section positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface and wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis to have a more secure attachment/detent mechanism engaging a work piece having a wire, and/or for aligning with a wrench/power tool slot to attach or release from a bolt/nut as taught by Eggert et al. and Sroka.
Claim(s) 7-14, 17-21, and 23-24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kather (US 6035745 A) in view of Eggert et al. (US 7299721 B1) in view of Sroka (20120103142) and further in view of Amano et al. (US 6371218 B1).
Regarding claims 7-14, 17-21, and 23-24, Kather teaches the socket (22) with a cylindrical section having an end surface (figs. 2-3), a plurality of engaging surfaces parallel with the socket axis on an internal side of the cylindrical section (4 surfaces shown in the opening/slot 24 in figs. 2-3), inner section (inside section inside slot 24) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis (figs. 2-3) the socket is rotatable about the socket axis from an open position, a socket opening (24) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section, where the socket opening is aligned with the base opening (rotate/reverse until socket gear slot 24 is aligned with housing slot 26) and a control system (indexing clutch assembly 14) for controlling a power tool (8) for tightening a joint (threaded fastener), the power tool (8) comprising a base element (gear assembly 16) having a base opening (26), a socket (22) having plurality of engaging surfaces parallel with the socket axis on an internal side of the cylindrical section of the socket, the socket having an inner section (fig. 3 a motor (rotary power source/54/58, col. 3, lines 38-67, col. 4, lines 1-25 fig. 1) arranged to drive the socket (22), and a control system (indexing clutch assembly 14) configured to control the motor (rotary power source/54/5854/58), where the socket (22) is rotatable about the socket axis from an open position where the socket opening is aligned with the base opening and performance of a checking operation by the socket, automatically and immediately after performing the tightening operation wherein the checking operation comprises a releasing operation for controlling the motor to drive the socket to rotate in a first direction in a tightening operation for tightening the joint; and after performing the tightening operation, controlling the motor to drive the socket to rotate in a second direction in a releasing operation (rotate/reverse until socket gear slot 24 is aligned with housing slot 26, col. 4, lines 1-25 col. 6, lines 10-67, col. 7, lines 17-45, figs. 1-6).
Kather states: “socket gear slot 24 is rotatably positionable within gear assembly 16 so as to align with gear housing slot 26, thereby enabling lateral positioning of gear wrench 8 into engagement with a threaded fastener (col. 3, lines 56-60) … socket gear 22 is fully driveable in a first, tightening direction and selectively driveable in a second, indexing direction until socket gear slot 24 is aligned with gear housing slot 26 (col. 4, lines 21-25).
Kather fails to disclose the control system comprising at least one data processing device and at least one memory having at least one computer program stored thereon, the at least one computer program comprising program code which, when executed by the at least one data processing device, causes the at least one data processing device to: command performance of a tightening operation by the socket for tightening the joint and command performance of a releasing operation by the socket, after performing the tightening operation and monitoring, by the control system, a response to the checking operation of at least one parameter associated with the socket; determining, by the control system, based on the response whether the socket is engaged with the joint; and commanding, by the control system, positioning of the socket in the open position upon determining that the socket is not engaged with the joint, and the socket comprising a stopping surface offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface; wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section sloping, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis.
Eggert et al. teaches a socket (200) for a power tool (intended use), the socket being arranged to rotate about a socket axis (central axis of receptacle 210) and comprising: a cylindrical section (peripheral side wall 204) having an end surface (206), a plurality of engaging surfaces (facets 209) parallel with the socket axis on an internal side (figs. 6-7) of the cylindrical section (204);
an inner section (7 and 10, fig. 20) positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface (annular lip 218 surface) offset from the end surface (206) such that the engaging surfaces (209) are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface (206, figs. 6-7); and
a socket opening (groove or open-ended channel 211) extending radially with respect to the socket axis through the inner section to an external side of the cylindrical section (fig. 6);
wherein the cylindrical section (204) comprises at least one internal sloped surface (212) located on the internal side of the cylindrical section, where the internal sloped surface (212) extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface (206) in a direction away from the socket axis (col. 4, lines 10-44, figs. 6-7). Eggert et al. also teaches the socket can have a plurality of projections (112/214, figs. 1-5 and 7) and plurality of channels (col. 4, lines 36-44, figs. 6-7).
Sroka also teaches a powered tool with a powered wrench 20 a control system ([0038, 0048-0050]) comprising at least one data processing device (digital structure and torque sensing structure) and a predetermined value (maximum/minimum torque), automatically and immediately after performing the tightening operation (electronic clutch controls torque) and monitoring, by the control system, a response to a checking operation of at least one parameter associated with the socket (display/alerts and controls); determining, by the control system, based on the response whether the socket is engaged with the joint; and commanding, by the control system, and controlling the socket 28 based on a rotational position, a rotational speed, a rotational acceleration, a torque and/or a current (threshold/predetermined torque with counter, (“predetermined or user-definable alarm limits”, etc. [0038, 0048-0050]).
Sroka states: “increase or decrease, the input torque and/or rotational speed imparted for rotating or turning the engaging member 40” [0032]
Amano et al. teaches a powered tool with a socket/output shaft 5, a control system (controlling circuit 11/motor controller 12) comprising at least one data processing device (microcomputer, col. 4, lines 50-51) and at least one memory having at least one computer program stored thereon (speed instruction) inputted by an operation of an operation portion with predetermined value/microcomputer (col. 4, lines 1-51), the at least one computer program comprising program code which, when executed by the at least one data processing device, causes the at least one data processing device to: command performance of a tightening operation by the socket for tightening the joint and command performance of a releasing operation by the socket, after performing the tightening operation and performance of a checking operation by the socket in pulses and the socket controlled based on current during the pulses (col. 4, lines 10-50, col. 5, lines 21-54, col. 6, lines 55-67, col. 7, lines 25-34, claims 5-11 and 15-16) automatically and immediately after performing the tightening operation and monitoring, by the control system, a response to a checking operation of at least one parameter associated with the socket; determining, by the control system, based on the response whether the socket is engaged with the joint; and commanding, by the control system, positioning of the socket in the open position upon determining that the socket is not engaged with the joint and the checking operation comprises controlling the socket/output shaft 5 based on a rotational position, a rotational speed, a rotational acceleration, a torque and/or a current (calculates a tightening torque and stops at correct tightening threshold/predetermined torque with counter, torque calculator and equations, col. 3, lines 58-67-col. 7, lines 1-67 figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of Kather/modified Kather to have a control system is configured to control the tightening and performance of a releasing operation by the socket, after performing the tightening operation, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the socket control system with having at least one data processing device and at least one memory having at least one computer program stored thereon, the at least one computer program comprising program code which, when executed by the at least one data processing device, causes the at least one data processing device to: command performance of a tightening operation by the socket for tightening the joint and command performance of a releasing operation by the socket, after performing the tightening operation and monitoring, by the control system, a response to the checking operation of at least one parameter associated with the socket; determining, by the control system, based on the response whether the socket is engaged with the joint; and commanding, by the control system, positioning of the socket in the open position upon determining that the socket is not engaged with the joint, and the socket comprising a stopping surface offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface; wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface located on the internal side of the cylindrical section sloping, where the internal sloped surface extends away from the stopping surface into the cylindrical section toward the end surface in a direction away from the socket axis to have automated tightening for aligning with a wrench/power tool slot to attach or release from a bolt/nut as taught by Sroka, Eggert et al., and further taught by Amano et al.
Regarding claim 19, Kather the teaches determining whether the tightening operation was successful, and commanding performance of the checking operation upon determining that the tightening operation was successful (indexed for specific torque and rotate/reverse until socket gear slot 24 is aligned with housing slot 26 to install or release, col. 4, lines 1-25 col. 6, lines 10-67, col. 7, lines 17-45, figs. 1-6)
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Kather fails to teach pulses that have a frequency of at least 5 Hz wherein the power tool comprises an actuating element for being actuated by a human, and wherein the method comprises commanding performance of the tightening operation and the checking operation regardless of whether the actuating element is actuated.
Amano et al. teaches having pulses that having different frequencies, a frequency generator (FG 18) and generating a signal of frequency proportional to the rotational speed of the motor (col. 6, lines 53-67, col. 7, lines 42-50, claims 6 and 15) wherein the power tool socket/output shaft 5 comprises an actuating element (trigger) for being actuated by a human, and wherein the method comprises commanding performance of the tightening operation and the checking operation regardless of whether the actuating element is actuated (col. 4, lines 1-29).
Given the teachings of Kather a control system is configured to control the tightening, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the socket control system with having pulses that have a frequency of at least 5 Hz for performance of a checking operation by the socket in pulses wherein the power tool comprises an actuating element for being actuated by a human, and wherein the method comprises commanding performance of the tightening operation and the checking operation regardless of whether the actuating element is actuated to have power conserved, provide momentum, have an automated device, and better motor control as taught by Amano et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a control system for controlling a power tool for tightening a joint comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, a base element having a base opening, a socket, a motor arranged to drive the socket, and a control system configured to control the motor where the socket is rotatable about a socket axis from an open position where the socket opening is aligned with the base opening, the control system comprising at least one data processing device and at least one memory having at least one computer program stored thereon, the at least one computer program comprising program code which, when executed by the at least one data processing device, causes the at least one data processing device to command performance of a tightening operation by the socket command performance of a checking operation by the socket, automatically and immediately after performing the tightening operation; monitor a response to the checking operation of at least one parameter associated with the socket determine based on the response whether the socket can rotate freely; and command positioning of the socket in the open position upon determining that the socket can rotate freely and the socket having an inner section positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface and wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface on the internal side of the cylindrical section sloping at an angle away from the stopping surface. Though Kather teaches a manual control system Kather does not teach a socket having an inner section positioned radially inside the cylindrical section with respect to the socket axis and having a stopping surface offset from the end surface such that the engaging surfaces are positioned between the stopping surface and the end surface and wherein the cylindrical section comprises at least one internal sloped surface on the internal side of the cylindrical section sloping at an angle away from the stopping surface and an automated control system configured to control the motor where the socket is rotatable about a socket axis from an open position where the socket opening is aligned with the base opening, commanding, by the control system, performance of a tightening operation by the socket for tightening the joint commanding, by the control system, performance of a checking operation by the socket, automatically and immediately after performing the tightening operation; monitoring, by the control system, a response to the checking operation of at least one parameter associated with the socket; determining, by the control system, based on the response whether the socket is engaged with the joint; and commanding, by the control system, positioning of the socket in the open position upon determining that the socket is not engaged with the joint and one of ordinary skill would recognize that a second cable cannot be added to single roller without having to add other rollers and modify the clamping member to function with a two cable system. Having the automated control system configured to open and close a socket to engage a fastener and control the motor to control torque/tightening provides an effective socket tightening tool.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20150375386 A1- socket with a C shaped socket opening, MCU chip 153, reset button, position sensor 151 – “not require an activation of the reset button 154, but enable the MCU chip 153 to automatically trigger the reset control after sensing that the user completes operation” [0044] and see references cited, form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731