DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: immediately after “(a)” in line 3 there should be recited --- is ---, or --- : ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: immediately after “(b)” in line 6 there should be recited --- is ---, or --- : ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: immediately after “(c)” in the last line there should be recited --- is ---, or --- : ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "one or more amphoteric surfactants" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. claim 1, from which it depends, recites “an amphoteric surfactant.” To obviate this issue, it is suggested for claim 5 to recite --- the amphoteric surfactant ---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preuilh et al. (US 2006/0233735 A1, 10/19/2006, IDS reference) (hereinafter Preuilh).
Regarding claims 1-4, 12 and 14-15, Preuilh discloses compositions for washing hair comprising at least an anionic surfactant; at least an amphoteric surfactant, and a pro-penetrating agent (abs). The pro-penetrating agent may be 0.1-25% by weight [0043]), and includes glycol ethers such as ethoxydiglycol and polyhydric alcohols such as propylene glycol ([0041]). The anionic surfactants include alkyl ether sulfates ([0030]), and may be used in proportions of between 0.05 and 50% by weight of composition ([0034]). The amphoteric surfactants include sulfobetaines ([0035]), and may be 0.01-30% by weight ([0039]). The pH may be adjusted with cosmetically acceptable basifying or acidifying agents ([0113]). Exemplary acidifying agents include lactic acid, in amounts sufficient to adjust the pH to desired value ([0128]).
Accordingly, Preuilh discloses compositions for washing hair comprising 0.1-25% wt. of pro-penetrating agents including ethoxydiglycol (i.e. instantly claimed diethylene glycol monoethyl ether of polyalkylene glycol ether of component (a)); 0.05-50% wt. of anionic surfactants including alkyl ether sulfates (i.e. instantly claimed component (b); and acidifying agents including lactic acid (i.e. instantly claimed hydroxycarboxylic acid of component (c)). Together these would provide compositions as instantly claimed. The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as this combination must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding claims 1 and 2 reciting amounts of component (a), the claimed amounts (0.1-18% and 0.5-15%, respectively) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art (i.e. 0.1-25% weight). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(A).
Regarding claims 1 and 3 reciting amounts of amounts of component (b), the claimed amounts (≥ 5% and 8-30%, respectively) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art (i.e. 0.05-50% weight). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(A).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 15, as noted by para. [0032] of the instant Specification, lactic acid is an organic acid having 8 or less carbon atoms, and a hydroxycarboxylic acid.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Preuilh discloses at least one anionic surfactant and at least one amphoteric surfactant.
Regarding claim 6, Preuilh further discloses wherein the composition comprises nonionic surfactants ([0114]).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, Preuilh discloses 0.1-25% wt. pro-penetrating agents including glycol ethers such as ethoxydiglycol (i.e. instantly claimed component (a)). Although Preuilh does not explicitly disclose an amount of acidifying agents including lactic acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected an amount of ethoxydiglycol and an amount of lactic acid, such that the selected amounts would have equated to a ratio that overlaps with the claimed ratio, thus making it obvious. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 11, as discussed above, Preuilh discloses wherein the pro-penetrating agents include ethoxydiglycol (i.e. diethylene glycol monoethyl ether). Accordingly, Preuilh ethoxydiglycol meets the limitation of the formula (I) of claim 8 wherein R1 is H, R2 is C2 alkyl, and n=2.
Regarding claim 10 reciting a list of alkylene glycols, it is not necessary for Preuilh to disclose the recited alkylene glycols since the claim, as currently recited, does not require the component (a) to be an alkylene glycol. The claim recites wherein component (a) may be a polyalkylene glycol ether, which Preuilh discloses by disclosing wherein the composition comprises ethoxydiglycol (i.e. diethylene glycol monoethyl ether).
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, Preuilh discloses wherein the composition comprises sulfobetaine.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preuilh et al. (US 2006/0233735 A1, 10/19/2006, IDS reference) (hereinafter Preuilh) in view of Fukugaki et al. (JP 2003/095842 A, 04/03/2003, IDS reference) (hereinafter Fukugaki).
The disclosures of Preuilh is discussed above. While Preuilh is believed to support a finding of obviousness, purely arguendo, for the purposes of complete prosecution, and for the purposes of this ground of rejection only, claim 10 has been interpreted as though it requires the presence of an alkylene glycol.
As discussed above, Preuilh discloses wherein the pro-penetrating agents include polyhydric alcohols such as propylene glycol.
Preuilh differs from the instant claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the polyhydric alcohols include isoprene glycol.
However, Fukugaki discloses compositions suitable for washing hair ([0016]), comprising one or more of ionic surfactants ([0010]). The compositions may comprise other known components, blended in suitable ranges, including polyhydric alcohols such as propylene glycol and isoprene glycol ([0015]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected propylene glycol and isoprene glycol (i.e. instantly claimed 3-methyl-1,3-butanediol) as the pro-penetrating agents of Preuilh, since each is taught as a known and effective polyalcohol suitable for hair washing compositions as taught by Fukugaki. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.06(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/713,834 in view of Preuilh et al. (US 2006/0233735 A1, 10/19/2006, IDS reference) (hereinafter Preuilh).
The copending claims differ from the pending claims insofar as not explicitly teaching all the features of the claimed invention, such as instantly claimed anionic surfactant or organic acid.
However, these feature are known in the art. As noted in the current rejections, the teachings of Preuilh render obvious claims 1-15.
Therefore, as claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/713,834 and Preuilh all disclose compositions comprising polyalkylene glycol ether and/or alkylene glycol that can be rinsed from the hair, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copending application and to include the teachings of Preuilh as discussed in the rejections above, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as instantly claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." See MPEP 2144.06(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakurai et al. (US 2004/0266656 A1, 12/30/2004, IDS reference), directed to a shampoo composition comprising propylene glycol; POE ether sulfate; alkyl polyglucoside; sulfobetaines; and organic acids.
Xiang (CN 110787111 A, 02/14/2020, IDS reference), directed to a shampoo comprising propylene glycol, sodium laureth sulfate, betaine, and citric acid.
Smith (EP 0278505 B1, 06/17/1992, IDS reference), directed to a composition comprising sodium laureth sulfate, ethoxydiglycol, sodium lauryl sulfate, and citric acid.
Busby (US 2016/0287566 A1, 10/06/2016, IDS reference), directed to a composition comprising nonionic and amphoteric surfactants, propylene glycol, citric acid, and ethoxydiglycol.
Rughani et al. (US 2018/0280270 A1, 10/04/2018, IDS reference); and
Rughani et al. (US 2018/0280267 A1, 10/04/2018), directed to compositions for hair comprising a mono, di, or tricarboxylic acid including citric acid; one or more anionic surfactants including alkyl ether sulfates; amphoteric surfactants including sulfobetaines; and polyhydric alcohols including 3-methyl-1,3-butanediol and diethylene glycol monoethyl ether.
Conclusion
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612