DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
With the reply filed 12/30/25, claim 1 has been amended to include some limitations from claim 7, previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter, and claims 12, 23 and 27 have been similarly amended. However, the amendment incorporating only some limitations of claims previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter creates claims differing in scope from any claim previously examined, and the limitations included in the amended independent claims are still considered to be taught by the cited prior art reference to Lee, as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9-12, 14, 15, 17, 20-23, 26, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2022/0158755.
Regarding claims 1, 12, 23 and 27, Lee discloses a wireless device performing a method of wireless communication, the wireless device comprising a memory (i.e. 230 – Fig. 2), storing instructions which are executed by one or more processors (i.e. 225), cause the device to perform the method, comprising: transmitting an OFDM signal on K subsets of N subcarriers, wherein the signal includes a sequence of modulated symbols for each subset, the sequence of modulated symbols distinct for each subset (see abstract; ¶¶ [0006], [0088]; Fig. 9); receiving a reflected OFDM signal that corresponds to the OFDM signal (¶ [0121]); processing the reflected signal with K mixers (see Fig. 11), where mixer frequencies for the K mixers are separated by N subcarriers spacing (¶ [0072]), to form K portions of a range spectrum from the reflected OFDM signal; wherein processing the reflected OFDM signal includes: down-converting the reflected OFDM signal to form at least one down-converted waveform, as mixers downconvert a received signal from the antenna produce I and Q signals (see Fig. 11, also see ¶ [0049]); and low-pass filtering the at least one down-converted waveform via low-pass filter 1114 (Fig. 11, ¶ [0096]); and combining the K portions to form the range spectrum in combiner 1115 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Lee discloses that each sequence is based on a Zadoff-Chu sequence (¶ [0067]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Lee discloses that the sequences may be generated from different root Zadoff-Chu sequences (¶ [0067]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Lee discloses that each of the modulated symbols is based on a distinct cyclic shifted version of a baseline Zadoff-Chu sequence (¶ [0069]).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Lee discloses that processing the reflected OFDM signal includes converting the reflected OFDM signal to a digital signal via ADC 1104 with a sampling rate that is based at least in part on the N subcarriers in order to properly sample the signal for provision to the subsequent processing (¶¶ [0088], [0098]; Fig. 11).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Lee discloses that the OFDM signal is transmitted over symbols in a bandwidth of non-overlapping subcarriers (Fig. 8), which may be considered to be transmitted in the bandwidth as defined in the claims.
Regarding claims 11, 22, 26 and 30, Lee discloses that processing the reflected OFDM signal includes conjugate-multiplying for reach of the K sequences via blocks 1108 and 1118.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of CATT (R1-1700234) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Lee discloses a wireless device and associated method for wireless communication, as described above, but does not expressly disclose that each sequence of modulated symbols includes comb-mapped symbols.
CATT discloses a comb structure for mapped symbols (see section 2.5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use comb-mapped symbols as suggested by CATT, in the wireless device and method of Lee, as it is a known technique for providing signals using Zadoff-Chu sequences.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ghozlan et al. U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2021/0385035.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Lee discloses a wireless device and associated method for wireless communication, as described above, where the Zadoff-Chu sequences is described in para. 0069, but do not expressly state that NZC is a greatest prime number less than or equal to N, with unique roots.
Ghozlan discloses ZC sequence embodiments where the length NZC is a largest prime number that is less than or equal to a minimum system bandwidth (¶ [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ ZC sequences associated with length NZC, as suggested by Ghozlan, in the device and method of Lee, in order to comply with the 3GPP standard (see ¶ [0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 18, 19, 24, 25, 28 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID B LUGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631
4/4/2026