DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7, 9, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 26, 2026. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I which includes claims 1-5, 11-12, and amended claims 13-15 is acknowledged. Applicant has canceled claims 8 and 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the closest related art includes applicant IDS cited Adams et al. (“Towards and SSVEP-BCI controlled Smart Home”), Ryman et al. (US 20220283994 A1), and Scott (US 20050087194 A1). The closest related prior art does not detail each and every limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the closest related art includes Adams et al. The closest related prior art does not detail each and every limitation of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note to applicant: To expedite prosecution, claims 1, 11, and 13-15 are rejected twice below in view of two different prior art references.
First prior art rejection in view of Adams et al.
Claims 1, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant IDS cited Adams et al. (“Towards and SSVEP-BCI controlled Smart Home”).
Regarding claim 1, Adams teaches a neuronal stimulator interface (Abstract, Brain computer interface(BCI)) comprising:
a receiver configured to connect a communications network (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system at one computer located in the living room. Section II, sub-section E, smart homes’ internal network); and
a visual reproduction device designed to reproduce a visual signal with a given frequency (Introduction, “In SSVEP-based BCIs, several visual stimuli flicker at specific unique frequencies. When focusing on one of these targets, an SSVEP response with the fundamental and harmonics of the frequency of the stimuli is evoked in the visual cortex.” Regarding visual reproduction device, see p. 2739, section II, sub-section D, A smart TV wherein flickering was generated using the frequency approximation method, and, the custom made monitor CMM displaying six fields which changed their light intensity with different frequencies), the given frequency being associated with a given command of an electronic device (See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Regarding an electronic device, see the electronic door) connected to the communications network during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system. As the network items are all connected they will be connected during an initialization. Also see p. 2741, sub-section G which discusses a test-run which can be interpreted as an initialization of network connections), in which the neuronal stimulator interface is distinct from the electronic device (p. 2739, Sub-section E, The TV or custom-made monitor is distinct from the entrance door, two drawers in a kitchen, the lights in a room which can be turned on and off).
Regarding claim 11, Adams teaches an electronic device (See p. 2737, see portable Brain control interface device (BCI) system using a mobile EEG amplifier. P. 2738, Section C EEG hardware, An EEG amplifier LiveAmp) comprising:
a control interface configured to connect to a communications network (p. 2737, Section I. Introduction, “a BCI can be used to control devices for various application.” P. 2738, Section C. EEG Hardware, teaches, “The LiveAmp communicates via Bluetooth,” thereby teaching connection to a communications network. P. 2739, see Section E. System Integration, “the smart TV presents eight visual stimuli: opening and closing the smart door, turning on and off all the lights… The laptop provides signal processing and the user interface to the smart TV. The second laptop connected to the smart homes’ internal network” This teaching corresponds to the BCI having a control interface configured to connect to a network of devices);
an actuator (Examiner notes applicant specification [0059] teaches “the actuator 20n is a processor.” See Adams, Fig. 6, EEG processing unit) which controls a component of the electronic device according to at least one given command received on the control interface (Adams, p. 2739, Section E. System Integration, “in the smart home, several actuators can be controlled remotely…The smart TV presents eight visual stimuli…The laptop provides signal processing and the user interface to the smart TV.” Examiner notes Adams teaches the BCI system communicates with a laptop that provides signal processing and a user interface to control items/elements around the house), the given command being a function of a neuronal frequency emitted by a direct neuronal interface in response to a visual signal with a given frequency being reproduced by a connected neuronal stimulator interface (See p. 2737, Section I. Introduction, “a BCI can be used to control devices for various application.” P. 2738, Section C. EEG Hardware. See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Note applicant specification [0003] teaches, “a direct neuronal interface headset allowing the EEG signals to be measured, detects within these EEG signals a frequency which corresponds to the frequency of the visual stimulus.” This means Adams teachings of a BCI EEG perform the claimed function), the emitted neuronal frequency being a function of the given frequency (p. 2737, Introduction, “In SSVEP-based BCIs, several visual stimuli flicker at specific unique frequencies. When focusing on one of these targets, an SSVEP response with the fundamental and harmonics of the frequency of the stimuli is evoked in the visual cortex. This natural brains response can be measured with EEG.” p. 2740, Section F, Signal processing, “The SSVEP response to a visual stimulation with f Hz can be modeled as a linear function. to each stimulation frequency belongs a predefined threshold,…and at least one of the calculated probabilities exceeded the corresponding threshold, that command was classified.” Also see Table I), the given frequency and the given command being associated during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface (See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system. As the network items are all connected they will be connected during an initialization. Also see p. 2741, sub-section G which discusses a test-run which can be interpreted as an initialization of network connections).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Adams teaches a method and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a program stored thereon comprising program code instructions for execution of the method when said program is executed by a processor (p. 2738, Section C. EEG Hardware, “LiveAmp communicates via Bluetooth with the custom classifier program developed in C++ for the EEG data recording and processing.” p. 2739, signal processing is performed on a first laptop and a second laptop wherein commands to actions are found in internal middleware RSB), for comprising:
initializing a neuronal stimulator interface connected to a communications network and an electronic device connected to the communications network (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system. As the network items are all connected they will be connected during an initialization. Also see p. 2741, sub-section G which discusses a test-run which can be interpreted as an initialization of network connections),
wherein the neuronal stimulator interface comprises:
a receiver configured to connect a communications network (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system at one computer located in the living room. Section II, sub-section E, smart homes’ internal network); and
a visual reproduction device designed to reproduce a visual signal with a given frequency (Introduction, “In SSVEP-based BCIs, several visual stimuli flicker at specific unique frequencies. When focusing on one of these targets, an SSVEP response with the fundamental and harmonics of the frequency of the stimuli is evoked in the visual cortex.” Regarding visual reproduction device, see p. 2739, section II, sub-section D, A smart TV wherein flickering was generated using the frequency approximation method, and, the custom made monitor CMM displaying six fields which changed their light intensity with different frequencies), the given frequency being associated with a given command of an electronic device (See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Regarding an electronic device, see the electronic door) connected to the communications network during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system. As the network items are all connected they will be connected during an initialization. Also see p. 2741, sub-section G which discusses a test-run which can be interpreted as an initialization of network connections), in which the neuronal stimulator interface is distinct from the electronic device (p. 2739, Sub-section E, The TV or custom-made monitor is distinct from the entrance door, two drawers in a kitchen, the lights in a room which can be turned on and off), and
wherein the initializing comprises:
performing a pairing which associates the given frequency of the visual signal reproduced by the neuronal stimulator interface connected to the communications network with the given command of the electronic device connected to the communications network (See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system. p. 2740, Section F, Signal processing, “The SSVEP response to a visual stimulation with f Hz can be modeled as a linear function. to each stimulation frequency belongs a predefined threshold,…and at least one of the calculated probabilities exceeded the corresponding threshold, that command was classified.”); and
storing the pairing in a database (p. 2739, “the recording of the data and the signal processing were on the laptop…A second laptop connected to the smart homes’ internal network…mapped the selected commands to action of the actuators.” P. 2738, Section C. EEG Hardware, “The classification of the EEG signals was performed on a laptop.” Also see Table II which shows command classification thereby teaching the storage of commands. Examiner notes the cited sections teach laptops perform signal processing and frequency and command association and storage or pairing).
Regarding claim 14, Adams teaches a control method for controlling an electronic device, in which the control method comprises:
receiving a neuronal frequency from a direct neuronal interface in response to a visual signal with a given frequency being reproduced by a neuronal stimulator interface (See p. 2737, Section I. Introduction, “a BCI can be used to control devices for various application.” P. 2738, Section C. EEG Hardware. See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Note applicant specification [0003] teaches, “a direct neuronal interface headset allowing the EEG signals to be measured, detects within these EEG signals a frequency which corresponds to the frequency of the visual stimulus.” This means Adams teachings of a BCI EEG perform the claimed function),
the neuronal stimulator interface comprising:
a receiver configured to connect a communications network (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system at one computer located in the living room. Section II, sub-section E, smart homes’ internal network); and
a visual reproduction device designed to reproduce a visual signal with a given frequency (Introduction, “In SSVEP-based BCIs, several visual stimuli flicker at specific unique frequencies. When focusing on one of these targets, an SSVEP response with the fundamental and harmonics of the frequency of the stimuli is evoked in the visual cortex.” Regarding visual reproduction device, see p. 2739, section II, sub-section D, A smart TV wherein flickering was generated using the frequency approximation method, and, the custom made monitor CMM displaying six fields which changed their light intensity with different frequencies), the given frequency being associated with a given command of an electronic device (See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Regarding an electronic device, see the electronic door) connected to the communications network during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface (Abstract and section II, section B, smart home controlled by BCI wherein six devices throughout the home can be controlled by the BCI system. As the network items are all connected they will be connected during an initialization. Also see p. 2741, sub-section G which discusses a test-run which can be interpreted as an initialization of network connections), in which the neuronal stimulator interface is distinct from the electronic device (p. 2739, Sub-section E, The TV or custom-made monitor is distinct from the entrance door, two drawers in a kitchen, the lights in a room which can be turned on and off), and
transmitting the given command to the electronic device over the communications network as a function of the received neuronal frequency (See p. 2737, Section I. Introduction, “a BCI can be used to control devices for various application.” p. 2739, Section E. System Integration, “in the smart home, several actuators can be controlled remotely,” teaches transmitting commands to electronic devices over a network. P. 2738, Section C. EEG Hardware. See p. 2741, Sub-section G, “During the experiment, the users had to move to the display which showed the flickering corresponding to the required command.” Note applicant specification [0003] teaches, “a direct neuronal interface headset allowing the EEG signals to be measured, detects within these EEG signals a frequency which corresponds to the frequency of the visual stimulus.” This means Adams teachings of a BCI EEG perform the claimed function), the received neuronal frequency being a function of the given frequency (p. 2737, Introduction, “In SSVEP-based BCIs, several visual stimuli flicker at specific unique frequencies. When focusing on one of these targets, an SSVEP response with the fundamental and harmonics of the frequency of the stimuli is evoked in the visual cortex. This natural brains response can be measured with EEG.” p. 2740, Section F, Signal processing, “The SSVEP response to a visual stimulation with f Hz can be modeled as a linear function. to each stimulation frequency belongs a predefined threshold,…and at least one of the calculated probabilities exceeded the corresponding threshold, that command was classified.” Also see Table I).
Second prior art rejection in view of Lee et al.
Claims 1, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated applicant IDS cited Lee et al. (US 2021247843 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a neuronal stimulator interface (Abstract, “a collection unit that collects a brain signal generated from a visual stimulus.” [0002] “The present disclosure relates to a smart control device for determining a user's intention from a color stimulus based on a brain-computer interface.” Fig. 1, see external device 100) comprising:
a receiver configured to connect a communications network ([0031] describes a network of connected devices); and
a visual reproduction device designed to reproduce a visual signal with a given frequency (Fig. 1, [0031, 0034], external device 100 comprising a light emitting body 200 which may be provided to show a color such as red, green, and blue. A color is a visual signal with a given frequency), the given frequency being associated with a given command of an electronic device connected to the communications network ([0034-0035], “the smart control device 300 may distinguish patterns of brain signals generated from visual stimuli for the colors, and transmit a control command”) during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface in which the neuronal stimulator interface is distinct from the electronic device (External device 100 is distinct from smart control device 300).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches an electronic device (See Fig. 1 which shows a smart control electronic device 300 and system) comprising:
a control interface configured to connect to a communications network (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication network. Fig. 3, control unit 340. [0035], brain-computer interface and smart control device 300);
an actuator (Examiner notes applicant specification [0059] teaches, “the actuator 20n is a processor.” See Lee Fig. 3, control unit 340) which controls a component of the electronic device according to at least one given command received on the control interface ([0031-0033], see “a control command transmitted from the smart control device 300”), the given command being a function of a neuronal frequency emitted by a direct neuronal interface in response to a visual signal with a given frequency being reproduced by a connected neuronal stimulator interface (See [0034-0035, 0040, 0042-0047], “the smart control device 300 may distinguish patterns of brain signals generated from visual stimuli for the colors, and transmit a control command.” [0036-0037, 0040, 0042-0047], see smart control device 300 extracting frequency component), the emitted neuronal frequency being a function of the given frequency, the given frequency and the given command being associated during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface ([0034-0035], “the smart control device 300 may distinguish patterns of brain signals generated from visual stimuli for the colors, and transmit a control command”).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Lee teaches a method and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a program stored thereon comprising program code instructions for execution of the method when said program is executed by a processor ([0059], “the smart control device 300 may execute an arbitrary program installed in the computer according to the pattern of the brain signal generated from a visual stimulus”), for comprising:
initializing a neuronal stimulator interface connected to a communications network and an electronic device connected to the communications network (Abstract, “a collection unit that collects a brain signal generated from a visual stimulus.” [0002] “The present disclosure relates to a smart control device for determining a user's intention from a color stimulus based on a brain-computer interface.” Fig. 1, see external device 100. [0031] describes a network of connected devices),
wherein the neuronal stimulator interface comprises:
a receiver configured to connect a communications network (Figs. 1-2 show and [0031] describes a network of connected devices); and
a visual reproduction device designed to reproduce a visual signal with a given frequency (Figs. 1 and 7, [0031, 0034], external device 100 comprising a light emitting body 200 which may be provided to show a color such as red, green, and blue. A color is a visual signal with a given frequency), the given frequency being associated with a given command of an electronic device (Figs. 1 and 6-7, [0034-0035], “the smart control device 300 may distinguish patterns of brain signals generated from visual stimuli for the colors, and transmit a control command” to the external device 100) connected to the communications network during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface (Fig. 1-2 show devices connected to a network and figs. 4-7 teach pre-processing, processes and functionality which will occur at all times including during initialization), in which the neuronal stimulator interface is distinct from the electronic device (External device 100 is distinct from smart control device 300), and
wherein the initializing comprises:
performing a pairing which associates the given frequency of the visual signal reproduced by the neuronal stimulator interface connected to the communications network with the given command of the electronic device connected to the communications network ([0075-0076], “the control unit 340 may set different control commands for at least one color that may be shown by the light-emitting body 200, and the control unit 340 may also set different control commands according to the frequency at which the light-emitting body 200 turns on and off.”); and
storing the pairing in a database ([0079], Fig. 4, “the collection unit 310 may collect a brain signal generated from a visual stimulus for the light-emitting body 200 showing an arbitrary color. In addition, the collection unit 310 may collect a brain signal generated from a visual stimulus for the light-emitting body 200 turning on and off at an arbitrary frequency”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a control method for controlling an electronic device (Fig. 1, [0030], see smart control system 1 may include an external device 100, a light-emitting body 200, and a smart control device 300), in which the control method comprises:
receiving a neuronal frequency from a direct neuronal interface in response to a visual signal with a given frequency being reproduced by a neuronal stimulator interface (Figs. 1 and 6-7, [0031, 0034], external device 100 comprising a light emitting body 200 which may be provided to show a color such as red, green, and blue. A color is a visual signal with a given frequency. [0075-0076], “the control unit 340 may set different control commands for at least one color that may be shown by the light-emitting body 200, and the control unit 340 may also set different control commands according to the frequency at which the light-emitting body 200 turns on and off.” ),
the neuronal stimulator interface comprising:
a receiver configured to connect a communications network (Figs. 1-2 show and [0031] describes a network of connected devices); and
a visual reproduction device designed to reproduce a visual signal with a given frequency (Figs. 1 and 7, [0031, 0034], external device 100 comprising a light emitting body 200 which may be provided to show a color such as red, green, and blue. A color is a visual signal with a given frequency), the given frequency being associated with a given command of an electronic device (Figs. 1 and 6-7, [0034-0035], “the smart control device 300 may distinguish patterns of brain signals generated from visual stimuli for the colors, and transmit a control command” to the external device 100) connected to the communications network during an initialization of the neuronal stimulator interface (Fig. 1-2 show devices connected to a network and figs. 4-7 teach pre-processing, processes and functionality which will occur at all times including during initialization), in which the neuronal stimulator interface is distinct from the electronic device (External device 100 is distinct from smart control device 300), and
transmitting the given command to the electronic device over the communications network as a function of the received neuronal frequency (Figs. 4-7, [0034-0035], “as the light-emitting body 200, light-emitting bodies respectively showing colors such as red, green, blue, gray, and white that can be distinguished with a higher probability in the brain-computer interface may be provided, and the smart control device 300 may distinguish patterns of brain signals generated from visual stimuli for the colors, and transmit a control command set according to the distinguished pattern to the external device 100.” [0063], teaches transmitting. [0075-0077], “the control unit 340 may set different control commands for at least one color that may be shown by the light-emitting body 200, and the control unit 340 may also set different control commands according to the frequency at which the light-emitting body 200 turns on and off.” [0077], “Here, executing the control command by the control unit 340 can be understood as transmitting the control command to the external device 100 to allow the external device 100 to execute the control command. For this, the control unit 340 may transmit the control command to the external device 100 using a wired or wireless network”), the received neuronal frequency being a function of the given frequency (Figs. 4-7, [0036-0037, 0040-0045, 0057-0058, 0079-0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant IDS cited Adams et al. (“Towards and SSVEP-BCI controlled Smart Home”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ryman et al. (US 20220283994 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Adams is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Ryman teaches a connected neuronal stimulator interface in which the given command is identical to a given command triggered by a physical button of the electronic device ([0074] teaches a command can be initiated by a button press or by a brain-computer interface).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Adams with Ryman such that a given command is identical to a given command triggered by a physical button of the electronic device, the connected neuronal stimulator interface being physically associated with the physical button as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143, rational (A). Adams and Ryman included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the Adams and Ryman combination were predictable as Ryman [0074] teaches brain-computer interface and physical button press methods of input are interchangeable.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant IDS cited Adams et al. (“Towards and SSVEP-BCI controlled Smart Home”) in view of Ryman et al. (US 20220283994 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Scott (US 20050087194 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Adams and Ryman are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Scott teaches a fastener for a neural stimulation device that can be used to make electrical connection with contacting skin or function as an electrode ([0037]). The combination of Adams, Ryman, and Scott will arrive at the claim 3 limitations in which the connected neuronal stimulator interface comprises a fastener to keep the connected neuronal stimulator interface in a physical position in relation to the physical button.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Adams and Ryman with Scott such that the connected neuronal stimulator interface comprises a fastener to keep the connected neuronal stimulator interface in a physical position in relation to the physical button as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143, rational (A). Adams, Ryman, and Scott included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the Adams, Ryman, and Scott combination were predictable as Scott [0037] teaches it is well-known to use a fastener to attach items to a neuronal stimulator interface.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant IDS cited Adams et al. (“Towards and SSVEP-BCI controlled Smart Home”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goodall et al. (US 20190046794 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Adams teaches the neuronal stimulator device can be implemented in a system comprising an EEG amplifier device or wireless LiveAmp (p. 2738, Section C), thereby suggesting the neuronal stimulator interface comprises a rechargeable battery, however does not explicitly state the presence of a wireless battery.
Goodall teaches a wireless wearable neural stimulation device in which the connected neuronal stimulator interface comprises a rechargeable battery ([0230], the rechargeable battery can be configured to have enough energy to power the wireless wearable neural stimulation device”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Adams with Goodall such that the connected neuronal stimulator interface comprises a rechargeable battery as Adams teaches the EEG amplifier device used as a neuronal stimulator device is wireless and Goodall teaches a rechargeable battery can power a wireless wearable neural stimulation device for at least 2 hours (Goodall, [0230]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20110231798 A1, Cok is related to claim 2. Cok teaches at [0042] a selection of a task can be executed through a button press or through a neuronal command.
US 20240066301 A1, Koc et al. [0054] is related to applicant claim 5 wherein a neural stimulator comprises a rechargeable battery.
US 20200057499 A1, Zhang et al. figure 1 is related to the current invention.
/NATHAN P BRITTINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629