DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walme et al. (“Walme”; US 2018/0248418).
Regarding claim 15: Walme discloses an electric motor for a power tool, the electric motor (Fig. 2-4) comprising:
a stator (9) with an inner opening (21) for receiving a rotor (paragraph 0002), the inner opening having a diameter corresponding to a stator inner diameter (L4, for example, 26.8mm, paragraph 0018), the stator having a series of pole teeth (27) each wound with a winding (17) to form a coil (50), the winding being characterized by a reference diameter (L8, between 1-2mm, paragraph 0017), a ratio of the reference diameter of the winding (2mm) to the stator inner diameter (26.8mm) multiplied by a number of pole teeth (6 teeth in Fig. 2-3) being greater than 0.3 (2mm/26.8mm*6 = .44, which is greater than .3).
Regarding claim 16: Walme discloses the reference diameter corresponds to the diameter of a single conductor if the single conductor has a circular cross section and the winding has just one single conductor (L8 in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17: Walme discloses an electric motor for a power tool, the electric motor (Fig. 2-4) comprising:
a stator (9) with an inner opening (21) for receiving a rotor, the inner opening having a diameter corresponding to a stator inner diameter (L4, for example, 26.8mm, paragraph 0018), the stator having a series of pole teeth (27) each wound with a winding (17) to form a coil (50), a ratio formed from a sum of the total winding conductor cross sections (each conductor as a diameter of 1-2mm, paragraph 0017, this results in a smallest possible cross sectional area of pi*1^2 or 3.14) and a free winding cross section (in this case 6 total), the ratio (3.14/6) being multiplied (3.14/6 * 6 = 3/14) by a number of pole teeth (6) so that a product is greater than 2.2 (in this case it is 3.14).
Note, “total winding cross section” is interpreted as defined in paragraph 0015 of the specification of the PG-Publication of this application as “the cross-sectional area of the single conductor” and “a free winding cross section” is interpreted as “if the stator comprises for example six pole teeth, the stator preferably also has six free winding cross sections” as stated in paragraph 0025 of the specification.
Regarding claim 18: Walme discloses the product is greater than 2.5 (in this case it is 3.14).
Regarding claim 19: Walme discloses the product is greater than 2.8 (in this case it is 3.14).
Regarding claim 20: Walme discloses a number of pole teeth is in a range of two to twelve (in this case 6).
Regarding claim 21: Walme discloses a number of pole teeth is in a range of four to ten (in this case 6).
Regarding claim 22: Walme discloses a number of pole teeth is in a range of six and eight (in this case 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walme, in view of Samanta (US 2019/0058380).
Regarding claim 23: Walme discloses the electric motor is segmented (paragraph 0063), but does not explicitly disclose a number of the segments of the electric motor being in a range of two to twelve.
However, Samanta discloses a number of the stator segments of the electric motor being in a range of two to twelve (in this case six, paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stator of Walme to have six segments, as disclosed by Samanta, in order to allow for a segment for each winding tooth.
Regarding claim 24: Walme discloses the electric motor is segmented (paragraph 0063), but does not explicitly disclose a number of the segments of the electric motor being in a range of two to twelve.
However, Samanta discloses a number of the stator segments of the electric motor being in a range of four to ten (in this case six, paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stator of Walme to have six segments, as disclosed by Samanta, in order to allow for a segment for each winding tooth.
Regarding claim 25: Walme discloses the electric motor is segmented (paragraph 0063), but does not explicitly disclose a number of the segments of the electric motor being in a range of two to twelve.
However, Samanta discloses a number of the stator segments of the electric motor being in a range of six to eight (in this case six, paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stator of Walme to have six segments, as disclosed by Samanta, in order to allow for a segment for each winding tooth.
Claims 26-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walme, in view of Sheeks et al. (“Sheeks”; US 2020/01062007).
Regarding claim 26: Walme discloses the electric motor as recited in claim 17.
While a power tool can be an intendent use of the electric motor, Walme does not explicitly disclose a power tool comprising the electric motor.
However, Sheeks discloses a power tool comprising an electric motor (paragraph 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor of Walme to be explicitly used in a power tool in order to allow for additional applications.
Regarding claim 27: Walme modified by Sheeks disclose a power tool, Sheeks further discloses the power tool is detachably connectable to an energy supply device (18), the energy supply device being designed to supply the power tool with electrical energy (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 28: Walme modified by Sheeks disclose a system comprising the power tool as recited in claim 26 and, Sheeks further discloses an energy supply device (18), the energy supply device including at least one energy storage cell (Fig. 1B), the at least one energy storage cell having an internal resistance DCR_I (inherent), but does not explicitly disclose the DCR_I of less than 10 milliohms.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the internal resistance to be less than 10 milliohms in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 29: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy storage cell, Sheeks further discloses the at least energy storage cell has a surface A and a volume V, and a surface-to-volume ratio A/V, but does not explicitly disclose A/V being greater than six times the reciprocal of the cube root of the volume.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the surface-to-volume ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 30: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy storage cell, Sheeks further discloses the at least energy storage cell has a surface A and a volume V, and a surface-to-volume ratio A/V, but does not explicitly disclose A/V being greater than eight times the reciprocal of the cube root of the volume.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the surface-to-volume ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 31: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy storage cell, Sheeks further discloses the at least energy storage cell has a surface A and a volume V, and a surface-to-volume ratio A/V, but does not explicitly disclose A/V being greater than ten times the reciprocal of the cube root of the volume.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the surface-to-volume ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 32: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy storage cell, Sheeks further discloses a ratio of a resistance of the at least one energy storage cell to a surface A of the at least one energy storage cell, but does not explicitly disclose the ratio is less than 0.2 milliohms/cm2.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 33: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy storage cell, Sheeks further discloses a ratio of a resistance of the at least one energy storage cell to a surface A of the at least one energy storage cell, but does not explicitly disclose the ratio is less than 0.1 milliohms/cm2.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 34: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy storage cell, Sheeks further discloses a ratio of a resistance of the at least one energy storage cell to a surface A of the at least one energy storage cell, but does not explicitly disclose the ratio is less than 0.05 milliohms/cm2.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the battery cell as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 35: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy supply device, Sheeks further discloses the energy supply device has a capacity of at least 2.2 Ah (paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 36: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses the energy supply device, Sheeks further discloses the energy supply device has a capacity of at least 2.5 Ah (paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 37: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses a ratio of the reference diameter of the winding (Walme: L8, 1-2mm) of the electric motor to the stator inner diameter (Walme: L4, 26.8mm) of the electric motor multiplied by the number of pole teeth (Walme: 6) and the reciprocal of the internal resistance DCR_I of an energy storage cell of the energy supply device (Sheeks, inherent), but do not explicitly disclose the ratio is greater than 0.03 (milliohms)^-1.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the system as efficient as possible.
Regarding claim 38: Walme modified by Sheeks discloses a ratio of the reference diameter of the winding (Walme: L8, 1-2mm) of the electric motor to the stator inner diameter (Walme: L4, 26.8mm) of the electric motor multiplied by the number of pole teeth (Walme: 6) and the reciprocal of the internal resistance DCR_I of an energy storage cell of the energy supply device (Sheeks, inherent), but do not explicitly disclose the ratio is greater than 0.22 (milliohms)^-1.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ratio to be in the claimed range in order to make the system as efficient as possible.
Conclusion
Note, a major of the claims rely on claimed ranges that are the result of design choices or result effective variables. This is claiming the end result without explicitly reciting any relevant structure. As shown above, case law renders these limitations obvious to one of routine skill in the art. It is suggested for Applicant to include the relevant structure that makes these claimed ranges required for the invention.
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834