DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references Hosseini et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220095171) and Jiang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220070739) fails to show certain features of applicant’s invention (i.e. “wherein each second set of resources is represented by a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels”).
The Applicant further specifically argued and/or stated that “Jiang's language
describes the structure of a candidate resource pool used for sensing and reservation. It does not teach or suggest that an SL-PI (i.e., the content of a preemption indication message that identifies already-granted resources that must now be released) represents each preempted second set as a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels”.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments and kindly directs the Applicant to Hosseini e.g. fig. 2, fig. 6, pp0101, and pp0139, which discussed the concept of providing sidelink preemption indication indicating the resources that are preempted in a wireless communication system. Furthermore, Hosseini discussed that the sidelink preemption indication may indicate time and/or frequency (i.e. slot and channel) indication of the sidelink resources to be preempted.
Although, Hosseini does not explicitly teach that the preempted resources are represented or indicated as a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels.
On the other hand, in an analogous field of endeavor, Jiang teaches the concept that is well-known in wireless communication system wherein time-frequency resources are represented and/or indicated by sub-channel(s) in frequency domain and by sub-slot(s) in time domain (see fig. 6 and pp0095). Therefore, Jiang teaches the at least claimed limitation in question “wherein each second set of resources is represented by a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels” as discussed above.
Thus, contrary to the Applicant’s arguments that Jiang does not teach or suggest SL-PI is invalid and/or moot because the primary prior art reference (Hosseini) teaches the at least limitation as shown above. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Finally, the Applicant argued that there is no articulated reason to combine the prior art references as discussed in the rejection.
In response to Applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
In this case, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments because Hosseini teaches the concept of providing sidelink preemption indication indicating the resources that are preempted in a wireless communication system, and wherein the sidelink preemption indication may indicate time and/or frequency (i.e. slot and channel) indication of the sidelink resources to be preempted (see above). While on the other hand in an analogous art (i.e. in a wireless communication system), Jiang teaches the concept in wireless communication system wherein time-frequency resources are represented and/or indicated by sub-channel(s) in frequency domain and by sub-slot(s) in time domain (see above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini with the teachings of Jiang to achieve the goal of efficiently enhancing the performance of detecting or determining sidelink communication channel and optimizing sidelink transmission performance (see Jiang, Abs).
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 13, 15, and 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. (US Publication No. 20220095171) in view of Jiang et al. (US Publication No. 20220070739).
As to claims 1 and 17, Hosseini teaches a method and base station (BS), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (fig. 2, fig. 6, #105-b, base station) and configured to cause the BS to: transmit a scheduling grant associated with a resource pool to a user equipment (UE), wherein the scheduling grant indicates a first set of resources for a sidelink (SL) transmission (fig. 2, fig. 6, #610, pp0138, control signaling comprising an indication of a set of resources of a sidelink channel available for sidelink communication, and pp0093, control signaling to schedule resources for UEs 115 to perform sidelink communications); and transmit a sidelink pre-emption indication message to the UE (fig. 2, fig. 6, #620), wherein the sidelink pre-emption indication message comprises a sidelink pre-emption indicator (SL-PI) indicating that at least one second set of resources of the first set of resources is pre-empted (fig. 2, fig. 6, #620, pp0139, a sidelink preemption indication indicating that at least a first resource from the set of resources is preempted, and pp0047). Although, Hosseini further discussed the concept that the sidelink preemption indication may indicate time and/or frequency (i.e. slots and channels) indication of the sidelink resources to be preempted (see pp0101). However, Hosseini fails to explicitly teach wherein each second set of resources is represented by a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Jiang teaches the concept wherein each second set of resources is represented by a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels (fig. 2, fig. 6, pp0095, the candidate time-frequency resource pool occupies a positive integer number of sub-channel(s) in frequency domain, and occupies a positive integer number of sub-slot(s) in time domain). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini with the teachings of Jiang to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably enhancing the performance of channel detection, which further optimizes sidelink transmission performance and efficiency (Jiang, Abs).
As to claim 8, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Hosseini further teaches wherein the SL-PI is at least one indication indicating the at least one second set of resources (fig. 2, fig. 6, #620, pp0139, a sidelink preemption indication indicating that at least a first resource from the set of resources is preempted, and pp0047).
As to claim 9, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Hosseini further teaches wherein the sidelink pre-emption indication message further comprises at least one of: an SL cancellation indication; a permitted power level for an intended SL transmission of the UE (fig. 2, fig. 6, pp0101, sidelink preemption indication may indicate at least one of a priority, a power threshold (e.g., reference signal receive power (RSRP))); or an SL puncture indication.
As to claims 13 and 15, Hosseini teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to (fig. 2, fig. 6, #115-e, UE): receive a scheduling grant associated with a resource pool, wherein the scheduling grant indicate a first set of resources for a sidelink (SL) transmission (fig. 2, fig. 6, #610, pp0138, control signaling comprising an indication of a set of resources of a sidelink channel available for sidelink communication, and pp0093, control signaling to schedule resources for UEs 115 to perform sidelink communications); and receive a sidelink pre-emption indication message, wherein the sidelink pre-emption indication message comprises a sidelink pre-emption indicator (SL-PI) indicating that at least one second set of resources of the first set of resources is pre-empted (fig. 2, fig. 6, #620, pp0139, a sidelink preemption indication indicating that at least a first resource from the set of resources is preempted, and pp0047). Although, Hosseini further discussed the concept that the sidelink preemption indication may indicate time and/or frequency (i.e. slots and channels) indication of the sidelink resources to be preempted (see pp0101). However, Hosseini fails to explicitly teach wherein each second set of resources is represented by a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Jiang teaches the concept wherein each second set of resources is represented by a pair of sub-slots and sub-channels (fig. 2, fig. 6, pp0095, the candidate time-frequency resource pool occupies a positive integer number of sub-channel(s) in frequency domain, and occupies a positive integer number of sub-slot(s) in time domain). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini with the teachings of Jiang to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably enhancing the performance of channel detection, which further optimizes sidelink transmission performance and efficiency (Jiang, Abs).
Claim(s) 2-6, 16, 18, 19, and 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. (US Publication No. 20220095171) in view of Jiang et al. (US Publication No. 20220070739) and further in view of Liu et al. (US Publication No. 20230022077).
As to claims 2 and 18, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein a sub-slot pattern of the sub-slots associated with the at least one second set of resources is indicated by a sub-slot pattern index that is included in a resource pool configuration for the resource pool.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches the concept wherein a sub-slot pattern of the sub-slots associated with the at least one second set of resources is indicated by a sub-slot pattern index that is included in a resource pool configuration for the resource pool (fig. 2, fig. 5, pp0058, pp0075, sub-slot/slot configuration may include LBT parameters that defines the parameters for the UE 115 to access the channel For example, the BS may configure the time resources and/or frequency resources associated with the sub-slots including a sub-slot RP and/or a slot RP. The configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Liu to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources in a communication system (Liu, pp0002).
As to claims 3 and 19, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS to transmit a parameter indicating a number of consecutive sub-channels included in the at least one second set of resources.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches the concept wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS to transmit a parameter indicating a number of consecutive sub-channels included in the at least one second set of resources (fig. 3, fig. 5, fig. 6, #610, pp0075, configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot, and pp0071, include a number of subchannels 552(1) and 552(2) associated with the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(4)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Liu to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources in a communication system (Liu, pp0002).
As to claim 4, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS to transmit a parameter indicating a number of consecutive sub-slots included in the at least one second set of resources.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches the concept wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS to transmit a parameter indicating a number of consecutive sub-slots included in the at least one second set of resources (fig. 3, fig. 5, fig. 6, #610, pp0075, configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot, and pp0071, include a number of subchannels 552(1) and 552(2) associated with the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(4)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Liu to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources in a communication system (Liu, pp0002).
As to claims 5 and 16, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the parameter is transmitted in downlink control information (DCI) carrying the sidelink pre-emption indication message or in a resource pool configuration for the resource pool.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches the concept wherein the parameter is transmitted in downlink control information (DCI) carrying the sidelink pre-emption indication message or in a resource pool configuration for the resource pool (fig. 3, fig. 5, fig. 6, pp0057, receive a resource pool (RP) configuration from the BS 105 that defines the RP for the sub-slots 340. In this regard, the UE 115 may receive the sub-slot 340 and/or RP configurations in an RRC message and/or a DCI message (e.g., a DCI-3 signal, DCI-1 signal)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Liu to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources in a communication system (Liu, pp0002).
As to claim 6, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Hosseini further teaches wherein the sidelink pre-emption indication message is transmitted (fig. 6). However, fails to explicitly teach in at least one of the following signalings: a UE-specific DCI for the UE; a group-common DCI for a group of UEs including the UE; a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches the concept of at least one of the following signalings: a UE-specific DCI for the UE; a group-common DCI for a group of UEs including the UE; a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (fig. 6, pp0048, the BS 105f may transmit the configuration in an RRC configuration message, a DCI message, and/or a MAC control element signaling). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Liu to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources in a communication system (Liu, pp0002).
As to claim 21, Hosseini in view of Jiang and Liu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Hosseini further teaches wherein the SL-PI is at least one indication indicating the at least one second set of resources (fig. 2, fig. 6, #620, pp0139, a sidelink preemption indication indicating that at least a first resource from the set of resources is preempted, and pp0047).
Claim(s) 7 and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. (US Publication No. 20220095171) in view of Jiang et al. (US Publication No. 20220070739) and further in view of Hosseini et al. (US Publication No. 20210058938) hereinafter “Hosseini ‘938”.
As to claims 7 and 20, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the SL-PI is a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates whether the at least one second set of resources is pre-empted.
In an analogous field of endeavor, “Hosseini ‘938” teaches the concept wherein the SL-PI is a bitmap (bit sequence), wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates whether the at least one second set of resources is pre-empted (fig. 6, pp0047, the preemption indication may be a bit sequence with a portion of the bits allocated to the preemption indication for link 254 and a portion of the bits allocated to preemption indication for sidelink, and pp0054, slots with the bits that are set to “1” may be preempted). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of “Hosseini ‘938” to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably maintaining accuracy by reducing interference between UEs in a communication system (“Hosseini ‘938”, pp0004).
Claim(s) 10-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. (US Publication No. 20220095171) in view of Jiang et al. (US Publication No. 20220070739) and further in view of Myung et al. (US Publication No. 20190191486).
As to claim 10, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein each sub-slot is used to transmit an integer number of code block groups (CBGs) of a transport block (TB) from the UE.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Myung teaches the concept wherein each sub-slot is used to transmit an integer number of code block groups (CBGs) of a transport block (TB) from the UE (fig. 9, S130, fig. 12, pp0175, a first CBG of the TB includes four CBs 331, 332, 333 and 334. Here, a first CB 331 and a third CB 333 may be mapped to a first sub-slot 33). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Myung to achieve the goal of efficiently reliably providing efficient utilization of resources in a communication system (Myung, pp0007).
As to claim 11, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Hosseini further teaches the concept of resource pool (see pp0095). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS to transmit a CBG transmission indication that indicates to enable or disable a CBG-based transmission for [the resource].
In an analogous field of endeavor, Myung teaches the concept wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the BS to transmit a CBG transmission indication that indicates to enable or disable a CBG-based transmission for [the resource] (fig. 9, S100, S130, and pp0108, scheduling depending on whether the field indicates that a CBG-based retransmission operation is Enable or Disable). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Myung to achieve the goal of efficiently reliably providing efficient utilization of resources in a communication system (Myung, pp0007).
As to claim 12, Hosseini in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Hosseini further teaches the concept of [control signaling] carrying the sidelink pre-emption indication message (see fig. 6) or in a resource pool configuration for the resource pool. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the CBG transmission indication is transmitted in DCI.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Myung teaches the concept wherein the CBG transmission indication is transmitted in DCI (fig. 9, fig. 15, pp0105, CBG-based retransmission is performed in DCI). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosseini and Jiang with the teachings of Myung to achieve the goal of efficiently reliably providing efficient utilization of resources in a communication system (Myung, pp0007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645