The instant application having Application No. 18/713,918 filed on 5/28/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed 7/16/2026.
The amendments to claims 1, 4, and 8, filed 7/16/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
The cancellation of claim 3, filed 7/16/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
The addition of claims 9-21, filed 7/16/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant refers to the limitations in claim 8: “the shutter being disposed on an optical path of the object light between the modulator and the hologram recording medium” and “… a slit having a hogel shape is formed to expose the object light generated by the hogel fringe pattern…”, however these limitations were not amended into claim 8.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 15, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200044541 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Tachibana (JP 2014124263 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Wakunami (JP 2016212231 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a holographic printer, in at least Figure 3, comprising:
a light source ("light source") configured to emit light (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser can be identified as light sources … to reduce the exposure time, the light source according to the present specification may generate a stable hologram using a continuous wave laser");
a modulator ("spatial modulation unit") configured to generate a holographic fringe pattern on a hogel basis by modulating light emitted from the light source (“light source”, page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "Object beams composed of R, G, and B may be respectively input to the spatial light modulator. The spatial light modulator may be composed of three R, G, B LCD ... The color Hogel image that passed through the LCD enters the optical head through the mirror 5", page 3, paragraph 8 of translation states "The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion", abstract states "a light source; ...; an optical unit which divides the light emitted from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, ...; a spatial light modulation unit disposed on an optical path of the object beam");
a stage ("mounting portion") on which a hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”) is placed (page 3, paragraph 6 of translation states "a path through which the light irradiated from the light source reaches the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion will be referred to as a 'light path'", abstract states "a mounting unit on which a photosensitive material is mounted", page 3, paragraph 6 of translation states "The photosensitive material may be a hologram plate, a film, or a photopolymer"), the holographic fringe pattern generated by the modulator ("spatial modulation unit") being recorded on the hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”) on a hogel basis (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states "While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material");
a driver ("control unit") configured to move a position of the stage ("mounting portion") on a hogel basis (page 4, paragraph 7 of translation states "the control unit may output control signals to the optical unit, the spatial light modulation unit, and the mounting unit", page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states "While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material"); and
a shutter (“shutter”) configured to periodically expose object light generated by the holographic fringe pattern generated by the modulator (“spatial modulation unit”) to the hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”, page 3, paragraph 6 of translation states "When the light source is configured as a continuous wave laser device, the hologram generating device according to the present specification may further include a shutter blocking the beam irradiated from the light source"),
wherein the shutter (“shutter”) comprises: a first rotation plate (“first variable opening”) to expose object light generated by the hologram fringe pattern (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation states “the variable opening has a rotatable disc shape. It can be further confirmed that the center of the opening formed in the disc-shaped variable opening is located at the same distance from the center point of the disc. In addition, the openings may be arranged adjacent to each other in order of size. The size of the hogel may be determined according to the size of the opening. That is, a large sized opening is for a low resolution Hogel, and a small sized opening is for a high resolution Hogel”, page 4, paragraph 5 of translation states “The first variable opening is disposed between the light source and the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion on the optical path of the reference beam”).
However, Lee does not disclose wherein the shutter comprises: a first rotation plate having an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light; and a first motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate, and a controller configured to control a rotation speed of the first motor such that an exposure period of the shutter is synchronized with a moving speed of the stage so that the shutter opens to allow the object light to enter a center of each hogel of the hologram recording medium while the hologram recording medium is moving.
Tachibana teaches wherein the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”, Figure 2) comprises: a first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”, Figure 2) having an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “As shown in FIG. 2, the rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are shutter members in which arc-shaped openings 27A and 29A are respectively formed in a disk-like plate, and the portions other than the openings 27A and 29A are configured as light shielding portions”, page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states “the optical path LB passes through both the openings 27A and 29A”); and a first motor (“shutter driving mechanism”) configured to rotate the first rotation plate (first paragraph of page 3 of translation states “The rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are driven by a shutter driving mechanism such as a motor”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the shutter comprises: a first rotation plate having an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light; and a first motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate, as taught by Tachibana, in order to adjust the exposure period during which the subject is irradiated (page 3, paragraph 2 of translation).
Wakunami teaches a controller (20 “hologram recording controller”, Figure 1) configured to control a rotation speed of the first motor (24 “shutter control means”, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “the hologram recording control device 20 controls the hologram recording device 10, and includes …, shutter control means 24”, Figure 1) such that an exposure period of the shutter (101 “shutter”, Figure 1) is synchronized with a moving speed of the stage (130 “stage”, abstract states “shutter control means 24 for opening a shutter 101 by a preset pulse width by a preset pulse period in synchronization with movement of the stage 130”, Figure 1) so that the shutter (101 “shutter”) opens to allow the object light to enter a center of each hogel of the hologram recording medium (page 6, paragraph 5 of translation states “The shutter control unit 24 continues to open and close the shutter 101 until the recording of the hologram data 91 is completed”) while the hologram recording medium is moving (page 7, paragraph 11 of translation states “the hologram recording control apparatus 20 according to the first embodiment of the present invention opens and closes the shutter 101 in synchronization with the movement of the stage 130 and the display of the hologram data 91. Thereby, the hologram recording control apparatus 20 can multiplex-record the hologram data 91 without providing a stop time using the low-power CW laser 100 as a pulse laser. Therefore, the hologram recording control device 20 can realize the low-speed and high-speed hologram recording device 10. Furthermore, the hologram recording control device 20 can reduce the restriction on the optical path length difference in the hologram recording device 10”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by a controller configured to control a rotation speed of the first motor such that an exposure period of the shutter is synchronized with a moving speed of the stage so that the shutter opens to allow the object light to enter a center of each hogel of the hologram recording medium while the hologram recording medium is moving, as taught by Wakunami, in order to reduce restriction on the optical path length difference (page 7, paragraph 11 of translation).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein a length of the arc on the first rotation plate is determined by an exposure time of the shutter.
Tachibana teaches wherein a length of the arc (27A “arc-shaped opening”, Figure 2) on the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) is determined by an exposure time of the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”, page 3, paragraph 2 of translation states “By rotation of each of the rotary shutters 27 and 29, the light shielding portion and the transmission portion alternately pass through the optical path LB of the light emitted from the light source 22. This adjusts the exposure period during which the subject is irradiated”, page 3, paragraph 3 of translation. Additionally, as is commonly known in the art, the length of the arc and the speed of the first rotation plate are necessary components in determining exposure time).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein a length of the arc on the first rotation plate is determined by an exposure time of the shutter, as taught by Tachibana, in order to efficiently control the exposure period of the shutter.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the rotation speed of the first motor is determined by the moving speed of the stage.
Wakunami teaches wherein the rotation speed of the first motor (24 “shutter control means”) is determined by the moving speed of the stage (130 “stage”, abstract states “shutter control means 24 for opening a shutter 101 by a preset pulse width by a preset pulse period in synchronization with movement of the stage 130”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the rotation speed of the first motor is determined by the moving speed of the stage, as taught by Wakunami, in order to reduce restriction on the optical path length difference (page 7, paragraph 11 of translation).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the shutter further comprises: a second rotation plate which has an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light generated by the holographic fringe pattern; and a second motor configured to rotate the second rotation plate in the opposite direction of the first rotation plate.
Tachibana teaches wherein the shutter further comprises: a second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutters”, Figure 2) which has an arc-shaped opening formed thereon (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “As shown in FIG. 2, the rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are shutter members in which arc-shaped openings 27A and 29A are respectively formed in a disk-like plate, and the portions other than the openings 27A and 29A are configured as light shielding portions”) to expose object light (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states “the optical path LB passes through both the openings 27A and 29A”); and a motor (“shutter driving mechanism”) configured to rotate the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutters”, first paragraph of page 3 of translation states “The rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are driven by a shutter driving mechanism such as a motor”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the shutter further comprises: a second rotation plate which has an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light generated by the holographic fringe pattern; and a second motor configured to rotate the second rotation plate in the opposite direction of the first rotation plate, as taught by Tachibana, in order to adjust the exposure period (page 3, paragraph 2 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a motor into two motors such that a first rotation plate has a first motor and a second rotation plate has a second motor, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Lee does not explicitly disclose a second rotation plate rotating in the opposite direction of the first rotation plate.
It has been held that to reject a claim under a rationale of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success, Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
(2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2143(I)(E).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a second rotation plate which rotates in the opposite direction to the first rotation plate, since there are only two directions in which the second rotation plate can rotate: in the same direction as the first rotation plate or in the opposite direction as the first rotation plate. It would have been obvious to choose a second rotation plate which rotates in the opposite direction to the first rotation plate because it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success is within ordinary skill."
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 5, however Lee does not disclose wherein a section where the shutter opens is a section where the opening formed on the first rotation plate and the opening formed on the second rotation plate meet each other.
Tachibana teaches wherein a section where the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”) opens is a section where the opening (27A “arc-shaped opening”) formed on the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) and the opening (29A “arc-shaped opening”) formed on the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutter”) meet each other (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein a section where the shutter opens is a section where the opening formed on the first rotation plate and the opening formed on the second rotation plate meet each other, as taught by Tachibana, in order to modify the exposure period (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 6, however Lee does not disclose wherein an exposure period and an exposure time of the shutter are determined by a rotation state of the first rotation plate and a rotation state of the second rotation plate.
Tachibana teaches wherein an exposure period and an exposure time of the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”) are determined by a rotation state of the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) and a rotation state of the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutter”, page 3, paragraphs 2-3 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein an exposure period and an exposure time of the shutter are determined by a rotation state of the first rotation plate and a rotation state of the second rotation plate, as taught by Tachibana, in order to efficiently control the exposure time and exposure period of the shutter (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a hologram recording method, in at least Figure 3, comprising:
emitting light (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser can be identified as light sources … to reduce the exposure time, the light source according to the present specification may generate a stable hologram using a continuous wave laser");
generating a holographic fringe pattern on a hogel basis by modulating emitted light (page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "Object beams composed of R, G, and B may be respectively input to the spatial light modulator. The spatial light modulator may be composed of three R, G, B LCD ... The color Hogel image that passed through the LCD enters the optical head through the mirror 5", page 3, paragraph 8 of translation states "The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion", abstract states "a light source; ...; an optical unit which divides the light emitted from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, ...; a spatial light modulation unit disposed on an optical path of the object beam");
moving a position of a stage ("mounting portion") on which a hologram recording medium (“photosensitive material”), on which the generated holographic fringe pattern is to be recorded on a hogel basis (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states "While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material"), is placed on a hogel basis; and
periodically exposing object light generated by the generated holographic fringe pattern to the hologram recording medium by using a shutter (“shutter”, page 3, paragraph 6 of translation states "When the light source is configured as a continuous wave laser device, the hologram generating device according to the present specification may further include a shutter blocking the beam irradiated from the light source"), wherein the shutter (“shutter”) comprises: a first rotation plate (“first variable opening”) to expose object light generated by the hologram fringe pattern (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation states “the variable opening has a rotatable disc shape. It can be further confirmed that the center of the opening formed in the disc-shaped variable opening is located at the same distance from the center point of the disc. In addition, the openings may be arranged adjacent to each other in order of size. The size of the hogel may be determined according to the size of the opening. That is, a large sized opening is for a low resolution Hogel, and a small sized opening is for a high resolution Hogel”, page 4, paragraph 5 of translation states “The first variable opening is disposed between the light source and the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion on the optical path of the reference beam”).
However, Lee does not disclose wherein the shutter comprises: a first rotation plate having an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light; and a first motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate, and controlling a rotation speed of the first motor such that an exposure period of the shutter is synchronized with a moving speed of the stage so that the shutter opens to allow the object light to enter a center of each hogel of the hologram recording medium while the hologram recording medium is moving.
Tachibana teaches wherein the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”, Figure 2) comprises: a first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”, Figure 2) having an arc-shaped opening (27A “arc-shaped opening”, Figure 2) formed thereon to expose object light (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “As shown in FIG. 2, the rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are shutter members in which arc-shaped openings 27A and 29A are respectively formed in a disk-like plate, and the portions other than the openings 27A and 29A are configured as light shielding portions”, page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states “the optical path LB passes through both the openings 27A and 29A”); and a first motor (“shutter driving mechanism”) configured to rotate the first rotation plate (first paragraph of page 3 of translation states “The rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are driven by a shutter driving mechanism such as a motor”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the hologram recording method of Lee modified by wherein the shutter comprises: a first rotation plate having an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light; and a first motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate, as taught by Tachibana, in order to adjust the exposure period during which the subject is irradiated (page 3, paragraph 2 of translation).
Wakunami teaches controlling a rotation speed of the first motor (24 “shutter control means”, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “the hologram recording control device 20 controls the hologram recording device 10, and includes …, shutter control means 24”, Figure 1) such that an exposure period of the shutter (101 “shutter”, Figure 1) is synchronized with a moving speed of the stage (130 “stage”, abstract states “shutter control means 24 for opening a shutter 101 by a preset pulse width by a preset pulse period in synchronization with movement of the stage 130”, Figure 1) so that the shutter (101 “shutter”) opens to allow the object light to enter a center of each hogel of the hologram recording medium (page 6, paragraph 5 of translation states “The shutter control unit 24 continues to open and close the shutter 101 until the recording of the hologram data 91 is completed”) while the hologram recording medium is moving (page 7, paragraph 11 of translation states “the hologram recording control apparatus 20 according to the first embodiment of the present invention opens and closes the shutter 101 in synchronization with the movement of the stage 130 and the display of the hologram data 91. Thereby, the hologram recording control apparatus 20 can multiplex-record the hologram data 91 without providing a stop time using the low-power CW laser 100 as a pulse laser. Therefore, the hologram recording control device 20 can realize the low-speed and high-speed hologram recording device 10. Furthermore, the hologram recording control device 20 can reduce the restriction on the optical path length difference in the hologram recording device 10”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the hologram recording method of Lee modified by controlling a rotation speed of the first motor such that an exposure period of the shutter is synchronized with a moving speed of the stage so that the shutter opens to allow the object light to enter a center of each hogel of the hologram recording medium while the hologram recording medium is moving, as taught by Wakunami, in order to reduce restriction on the optical path length difference (page 7, paragraph 11 of translation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 8, however Lee does not disclose wherein a length of the arc on the first rotation plate is determined by an exposure time of the shutter.
Tachibana teaches wherein a length of the arc (27A “arc-shaped opening”, Figure 2) on the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) is determined by an exposure time of the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”, page 3, paragraph 2 of translation states “By rotation of each of the rotary shutters 27 and 29, the light shielding portion and the transmission portion alternately pass through the optical path LB of the light emitted from the light source 22. This adjusts the exposure period during which the subject is irradiated”, page 3, paragraph 3 of translation. Additionally, as is commonly known in the art, the length of the arc and the speed of the first rotation plate are necessary components in determining exposure time).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein a length of the arc on the first rotation plate is determined by an exposure time of the shutter, as taught by Tachibana, in order to efficiently control the exposure period of the shutter.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 8, however Lee does not disclose wherein the rotation speed of the first motor is determined by the moving speed of the stage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a single motor in place of a first motor and a driver such that the single motor is connected to both the first rotation plate and the stage, therefore allowing the rotation speed of the single motor (which also functions as the first motor) to determine the moving speed of the stage, since it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson 144 USPQ 347, 349, (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 8, however Lee does not disclose wherein the shutter further comprises: a second rotation plate which has an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light generated by the holographic fringe pattern; and a second motor configured to rotate the second rotation plate in the opposite direction of the first rotation plate.
Tachibana teaches wherein the shutter further comprises: a second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutters”, Figure 2) which has an arc-shaped opening formed thereon (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “As shown in FIG. 2, the rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are shutter members in which arc-shaped openings 27A and 29A are respectively formed in a disk-like plate, and the portions other than the openings 27A and 29A are configured as light shielding portions”) to expose object light (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states “the optical path LB passes through both the openings 27A and 29A”); and a motor (“shutter driving mechanism”) configured to rotate the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutters”, first paragraph of page 3 of translation states “The rotary shutter pairs 27 and 29 are driven by a shutter driving mechanism such as a motor”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the shutter further comprises: a second rotation plate which has an arc-shaped opening formed thereon to expose object light generated by the holographic fringe pattern; and a second motor configured to rotate the second rotation plate in the opposite direction of the first rotation plate, as taught by Tachibana, in order to adjust the exposure period (page 3, paragraph 2 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a motor into two motors such that a first rotation plate has a first motor and a second rotation plate has a second motor, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Lee does not explicitly disclose a second rotation plate rotating in the opposite direction of the first rotation plate.
It has been held that to reject a claim under a rationale of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success, Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
(2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2143(I)(E).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a second rotation plate which rotates in the opposite direction to the first rotation plate, since there are only two directions in which the second rotation plate can rotate: in the same direction as the first rotation plate or in the opposite direction as the first rotation plate. It would have been obvious to choose a second rotation plate which rotates in the opposite direction to the first rotation plate because it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success is within ordinary skill."
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 11, however Lee does not disclose wherein a section where the shutter opens is a section where the opening formed on the first rotation plate and the opening formed on the second rotation plate meet each other.
Tachibana teaches wherein a section where the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”) opens is a section where the opening (27A “arc-shaped opening”) formed on the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) and the opening (29A “arc-shaped opening”) formed on the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutter”) meet each other (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein a section where the shutter opens is a section where the opening formed on the first rotation plate and the opening formed on the second rotation plate meet each other, as taught by Tachibana, in order to modify the exposure period (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 12, however Lee does not disclose wherein an exposure period and an exposure time of the shutter are determined by a rotation state of the first rotation plate and a rotation state of the second rotation plate.
Tachibana teaches wherein an exposure period and an exposure time of the shutter (24 “shutter mechanism”) are determined by a rotation state of the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) and a rotation state of the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutter”, page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein an exposure period and an exposure time of the shutter are determined by a rotation state of the first rotation plate and a rotation state of the second rotation plate, as taught by Tachibana, in order to efficiently control the exposure time and exposure period of the shutter (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Lee further discloses a beam splitter (“optical unit”, page 2, paragraph 8 of translation states “The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion. 1 shows an example in which the optical part is composed of a mirror 1 to 8, a beam splitter 1 to 5, and an optical head”) configured to split the light emitted from the light source ("light source", page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser can be identified as light sources … to reduce the exposure time, the light source according to the present specification may generate a stable hologram using a continuous wave laser") into a first portion directed to the modulator (“spatial modulation unit”, page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "Object beams composed of R, G, and B may be respectively input to the spatial light modulator. The spatial light modulator may be composed of three R, G, B LCD ... The color Hogel image that passed through the LCD enters the optical head through the mirror 5") and a second portion directed to the hologram recording medium as reference light (“reference beam”, page 3, paragraph 8 of translation, page 2, paragraph 8 of translation states “The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion. 1 shows an example in which the optical part is composed of a mirror 1 to 8, a beam splitter 1 to 5, and an optical head”), wherein the object light (“object beam”) generated by the holographic fringe pattern and the reference light (“reference beam”) interfere to form a hologram recorded on the hologram recording medium (page 3, paragraph 8 of translation states "The optical unit divides the light irradiated from the light source into a reference beam and an object beam, and serves to induce the reference beam and the object beam to be irradiated to the photosensitive material mounted on the mounting portion").
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Lee further discloses wherein the light source (“light source”) comprises a laser light source (page 2, paragraph 5 of translation states “the light source according to the present specification may generate a stable hologram using a continuous wave laser”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the rotation state of the first rotation plate and the rotation state of the second rotation plate each comprise a rotation starting time and a rotation speed.
Tachibana teaches wherein the rotation state of the first rotation plate (27 “rotary shutter”) and the rotation state of the second rotation plate (29 “rotary shutter”) each comprise a rotation starting time and a rotation speed (page 3, paragraphs 2-3 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the rotation state of the first rotation plate and the rotation state of the second rotation plate each comprise a rotation starting time and a rotation speed, as taught by Tachibana, in order to adjust the exposure period (page 3, paragraphs 2-3 of translation).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the controller controls the rotation speed of the first motor such that the exposure period of the shutter equals a time taken for the stage to move along one line of hogels of the hologram recording medium divided by a number of hogels in the one line.
Wakunami teaches wherein the controller (20 “hologram recording controller”) controls the rotation speed of the first motor (24 “shutter control means”, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “the hologram recording control device 20 controls the hologram recording device 10, and includes …, shutter control means 24”, Figure 1) such that the exposure period of the shutter (101 “shutter”) equals a time taken for the stage (130 “stage”) to move along one line of hogels of the hologram recording medium divided by a number of hogels in the one line (page 7, paragraphs 3 – 9 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the controller controls the rotation speed of the first motor such that the exposure period of the shutter equals a time taken for the stage to move along one line of hogels of the hologram recording medium divided by a number of hogels in the one line, as taught by Wakunami, in order to reduce restriction on the optical path length difference (page 7, paragraph 11 of translation).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control turning on and off of the light source, a modulating operation of the modulator, and movement of the stage by the driver.
Wakunami teaches wherein the controller (20 “hologram recording controller”) is further configured to control turning on and off of the light source (110 “object light optical system”, last paragraph on page 3 of translation states “The object light optical system 110 is an optical system that emits the object light transmitted through the polarization beam splitter 105 to the hologram recording medium 9”, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “the hologram recording control device 20 controls the hologram recording device 10”, page 3, paragraph 6 of translation states “The hologram recording apparatus 10 includes a CW laser (continuous oscillation laser) 100, a shutter 101, a half-wave plate 102, lenses 103 and 104, a polarization beam splitter 105, an object light optical system 110”, Figure 1), a modulating operation of the modulator (112 “SLM”, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “the hologram recording control device 20 controls the … SLM … control means (spatial light modulator control means) 25”, page 5, paragraph 10 of translation states “The SLM control unit 25 causes the SLM 112 to display a hologram data display area at the pixel interval input from the parameter setting unit 21”), and movement of the stage (310 “stage”) by the driver (23 “movement control means”, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “the hologram recording control device 20 controls the …, movement control means 23”, page 5, paragraph 8 of translation states “The movement control means 23 moves the stage 130 on which the hologram recording medium 9 as a movement target is mounted”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the controller is further configured to control turning on and off of the light source, a modulating operation of the modulator, and movement of the stage by the driver, as taught by Wakunami, in order to allow the operation of the holographic printer to be more efficient.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200044541 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Tachibana (JP 2014124263 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Wakunami (JP 2016212231 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Kaida (JP 2013038357 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the first motor comprises a servo motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate at a uniform velocity.
Kaida teaches wherein the first motor (37 “servo motor”, Figures 1 and 2) comprises a servo motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate (37 “servo motor”) at a uniform velocity (page 6, paragraph 4 of translation states “the rotary plate 36 of the rotary shutter 31 is always rotated at a constant rotational speed, so that the servo motor 37 that rotationally drives the rotary plate 36 does not require a large driving force”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the first motor comprises a servo motor configured to rotate the first rotation plate at a uniform velocity, as taught by Kaida, in order to use a smaller and more inexpensive motor since it only requires a small driving force (page 6, paragraph 4 of translation).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200044541 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Tachibana (JP 2014124263 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Wakunami (JP 2016212231 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Tanaka (US 20100039918 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Lee does not disclose wherein the driver ("control unit") is configured to move the stage (“mounting portion”) in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction, respectively (page 4, paragraph 7 of translation states "the control unit may output control signals to the optical unit, the spatial light modulation unit, and the mounting unit", page 4, paragraph 6 of translation states "While moving the photosensitive material up, down, left, and right, the image of the LCD is changed at each step, waits until the system vibration disappears, and then the subsequent hogel is exposed to record the entire hogel on the photosensitive material"). However, Lee does not disclose wherein the driver comprises an X- driver and a Y-driver.
Tanaka teaches wherein the driver (46 “X-axis motor”, 47 “Y-axis motor”, Figure 1) comprises an X- driver (46 “X-axis motor”) and a Y-driver (47 “Y-axis motor”, paragraph 0042 states “An X-axis motor 46 applies an inclination driving force to the X-axis stage 45. A Y-axis motor 48 applies an inclination driving force to the Y-axis stage 47”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by wherein the driver comprises an X- driver and a Y-driver, as taught by Tanaka, in order to control the optical members independently in the x-axis and y-axis directions (paragraph 0044).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20200044541 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Tachibana (JP 2014124263 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Wakunami (JP 2016212231 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Miller (US 20060181682 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee, Tachibana, and Wakunami disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Lee further discloses wherein the modulator (“spatial modulation unit”) comprises a spatial light modulator (page 3, paragraph 10 of translation). However, Lee does not disclose a spatial light modulator configured to generate the holographic fringe pattern based on a computer generated hologram (CGH) on a hogel basis.
Miller teaches a spatial light modulator (“spatial light modulator”) configured to generate the holographic fringe pattern based on a computer generated hologram (CGH) on a hogel basis (paragraph 0007 states “means for producing computer generated hologram images for display on the electrically addressed spatial light modulator means, and optics to direct light diffracted by the electrically addressed spatial light modulator means to the screen, wherein the computer generated image or images displayed by the electrically addressed spatial light modulator means result in a two dimensional image being formed at the screen”, paragraph 0019 states “the means for producing computer generated hologram images comprises a store of a plurality of pre-calculated computer generated holographic elements or so-called "hogels". Each of these "hogels" is a diffraction pattern that generates a single pixel on the projection screen. These hogels can then be combined to create the required projected pattern. This greatly enhances the computation speed”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holographic printer of Lee modified by a spatial light modulator configured to generate the holographic fringe pattern based on a computer generated hologram (CGH) on a hogel basis, as taught by Miller, in order to enhance computation speed (paragraph 0019).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872