DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/28/2024 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 2-3: “the processing circuitry configured to” should be changed to “the processing circuitry is configured to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“the processing circuitry is configured to identify, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, a stimulation event caused by an implantable pacemaker device” in claim 1 (lines 6-7) and claim 15 (lines 5-8).
“the processing circuitry configured to statistically analyze a multiplicity of stimulation events caused by the implantable pacemaker device” in claim 7 (lines 2-4).
“the processing circuitry is configured to identify, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, a requirement for a stimulation event” in claim 9 (lines 3-4).
“the processing circuitry is configured to … monitor, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, whether the implantable pacemaker device causes a stimulation event in relation to an identification of a requirement for a stimulation event” in claim 9 (lines 2-6).
“the processing circuitry is configured to identify an anti-tachycardia stimulation event caused by the implantable pacemaker device” in claim 10 (lines 2-3).
“the processing circuitry is configured to identify a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation” in claim 11 (lines 2-3).
“the processing circuitry is configured to … monitor whether the implantable pacemaker device causes an anti-bradycardia stimulation event in relation to an identification of a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation” in claim 11 (lines 2-5).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The Examiner notes that for a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function (MPEP 2181(II)(B)). Evidence of such an algorithm for covering the corresponding structure, material, or acts are found in these locations of the specification (References are made to “Clean Specification” filed 05/28/2024):
Figs. 1-2; Page 13, line 31 – Page 14, line 13
Figs. 1-2; Page 13, line 31 – Page 14, line 13; Page 15, lines 9-13
Figs. 1-2; Page 15, line 15 – Page 16, line 10
Figs. 1-2; Page 15, lines 15-23
Figs. 1-2; Page 15, lines 25 – Page 16, line3
Figs. 1-2; Page 16, lines 5-10
Figs. 1-2; Page 16, lines 5-10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “sensed electrocardiogram signals” in line 6, whereas sensing electrocardiogram signals was already introduced in claim 1 (line 3). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different sensed electrocardiogram signals. Consider changing to “the sensed electrocardiogram signals”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “stimulation event” in line 10, whereas a stimulation event was already introduced in claim 1 (line 8). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different stimulation event. Consider changing to “the stimulation event”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a stimulation event” in line 4, whereas a stimulation event was already introduced in a claim that claim 4 depends from (claim 1). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different stimulation event. Consider changing to “the stimulation event”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “stored portion” in line 4, whereas a stored portion was already introduced in claim 4 (lines 2-3). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different stored portion. Consider changing to “the stored portion”.
The limitation “the processing circuitry is configured to monitor said programmed stimulation function based on said identification of a stimulation event” renders claim 8 (lines 4-6) indefinite. It is unclear how the processing circuitry is “monitoring” a programmed function. Does this mean that the processing circuitry is executing the programmed stimulation function? Or is the processing circuitry monitoring the actual stimulation performed by the programmed stimulation function?
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a stimulation event” in lines 4, 5, and 6, whereas a stimulation event was already introduced in a claim that claim 9 depends from (claim 1). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different stimulation event. Consider changing to “the stimulation event”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “an identification of a requirement” in line 6, whereas identify … a requirement was already introduced in claim 9 (line 3). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different identification of a requirement. Consider changing to “the identification of the requirement”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “an identification of a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation” in line 5, whereas a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation was already introduced in claim 11 (line 3). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different identification of a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation. Consider changing to “the identification ”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a stimulation event” in lines 4 and 5, whereas a stimulation event was already introduced in a claim that claim 12 depends from (claim 1). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different stimulation event. Consider changing to “the stimulation event”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “sensed electrocardiogram signals” in line 6, whereas sensing electrocardiogram signals was already introduced in claim 15 (lines 3-4). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different sensed electrocardiogram signals. Consider changing to “the sensed electrocardiogram signals”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “an identification of a stimulation event” in lines 9-10, whereas identifying … a stimulation event was already introduced in claim 15 (lines 6-7). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different identification of a stimulation event. Consider changing to “the identification of a stimulation event”.
*All other claims are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process of identifying a stimulation event from an electrocardiogram signal and transmitting to an external device) without significantly more.
Step 1
Independent claims 1 and 15 are directed to an apparatus and a method, and thus meet the requirements for step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the following steps recite an abstract idea:
“identify[ing], based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, a stimulation event caused by an implantable pacemaker device” is a mental process when given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the mental process grouping includes observations, evaluation, judgements, and opinions. In this case, a human (e.g., doctor, cardiologist) could evaluate an ECG signal and could mentally make a judgement of when a stimulation event occurred that was caused by an implantable pacemaker device.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The following elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
a sensing arrangement for sensing electrocardiogram signals – insignificant pre-solution activity, i.e. mere data gathering
a communication circuitry for data communication with a device external to the patient – The “communication circuitry” is defined functionally and with a high level of generality, as it is explained that communication circuitry is configured, for example, to establish a communication according to the MICS protocol, the ISM protocol, the BLE protocol, the Zigbee protocol, or according to another communication scheme (Page 13, lines 14-17). This limitation describes transmitting data with an external device (i.e., computer). The communication of information among computers is considered an ordinary functionality of a computer. “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) … does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Hence, this limitation amounts to generic computers executing insignificant extra-solution activity.
a processing circuitry … configured to … cause a transmission of information concerning said identification of a stimulation event to the device external to the patient – This limitation describes transmitting data with an external device (i.e., computer). The communication of information among computers is considered an ordinary functionality of a computer. “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) … does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). This limitation could also be interpreted as insignificant post-solution activity that does not meaningfully limit the claim if the external device is a display device. Hence, this limitation amounts to generic processing circuitry executing insignificant extra-solution activity.
Step 2B
The additional elements of claims 1 and 15, when considered either individually or in an ordered combination, are not enough to qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the “sensing arrangement”, “communication circuitry”, and “processing circuitry”, along with their associated functions and components, are recited with a high level of generality and simply amount to implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The additional elements that were considered insignificant extra-solution activity have been re-analyzed and do not amount to anything more than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Also, simply appending well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not indicative of an inventive concept [MPEP 2106.05(d)].
a sensing arrangement for sensing electrocardiogram signals -– Hastings, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2006/0085039), Par. [0053]: “Alternatively, a conventional single or dual lead pacemaker may sense the local cardiac electrocardiogram (ECG)”.
a communication circuitry for data communication with a device external to the patient – MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network”).
a processing circuitry … configured to … cause a transmission of information concerning said identification of a stimulation event to the device external to the patient – MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(“i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network”).
Hence, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application and without significantly more.
Dependent claims
Regarding dependent claims 2-3 and 13-14, the limitations only further define the apparatus to which the claim is directed to.
Regarding dependent claims 4-8 and 12, the limitations only further define insignificant extra-solution activity of generic computer implementation of the abstract idea.
Regarding dependent claims 9-11, the limitations only further define the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carney, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0289973).
Regarding claim 1, Carney teaches (Fig. 1, # 9 – Implantable Cardioverter defibrillator (ICD), i.e. implantable medical device) an implantable medical device for providing a diagnostic and/or therapeutic cardiac function within a patient (Par. [0032]; Par. [0034-0035] – ICD may include sensing electrodes (i.e., diagnostic function). Cardiac resynchronization therapy (CRT) is one type of therapy delivered by an IMD or group of IMDs such as ICD 9), comprising:
(Fig. 1, # 25A, 32a/b – sensing electrodes) a sensing arrangement for sensing electrocardiogram signals (Par. [0034] – Defibrillation lead 25A may also include one or more sensing electrodes, such as sensing electrodes 32a and 32b, located along the distal portion of defibrillation lead 25A);
(Fig. 1, # 21 – external device; Fig. 4, # 80) a communication circuitry for data communication with a device external to the patient (Par. [0054] – External device 21 may be configured to communicate with ICD system 30A; Par. [0056] – external device may communicate with ICD system via wireless communication using techniques known in the art; Par. [0089] – Communication circuitry 80 includes any suitable hardware, firmware, software or any combination thereof for communicating with another device, such as PD 16 and/or device 21 (Fig. 1)); and
(Fig. 1, # 16 – pacing device, 21; Fig. 4, # 78 – sensing circuitry, 70 – processing circuitry) a processing circuitry for processing sensed electrocardiogram signals, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to identify, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, a stimulation event caused by an implantable pacemaker device (Par. [0010] – PD (Pacing Device), i.e. pacemaker device; Par. [0071]; Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30). Based on the sensed signals anticipated from, or resulting from PD 16, ICD may take appropriate corrective action.) and (Fig. 6, # 21 – external device) to cause a transmission of information concerning said identification of a stimulation event to the device external to the patient (Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0106] – The programming mode may be scheduled at request of the external device 21; Par. [0140] – external device may be a dedicated hardware device with dedicated software for the programming and/or interrogation of one or more devices within cardiac system 8, including either PD 16 or IMD 30; Par. [0145]).
Therefore, claim 1 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 2, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 9 – ICD, 25A – cardiac defibrillation lead, 28 – defibrillation electrode) the implantable medical device is an implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device configured to emit a shock pulse for achieving a defibrillation (Par. [0032] – extracardiovascular ICD system 30A includes ICD 9 coupled to a cardiac defibrillation lead 25A, which extends subcutaneously above the ribcage from ICD 9 (i.e., representative of “non-transvenous”); Par. [0033-0034] – defibrillation electrode 28 (i.e., deliver shock for achieving a defibrillation)).
Therefore, claim 2 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 3, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 2, wherein (Fig. 1, # 9, 25A – cardiac defibrillation lead, 28 – defibrillation electrode) the implantable non-transvenous defibrillator device comprises a lead to be implanted extracardially and a shock electrode arranged on the lead (Par. [0032] – extracardiovascular ICD system 30A includes ICD 9 coupled to a cardiac defibrillation lead 25A, which extends subcutaneously above the ribcage from ICD 9 (i.e., representative of “non-transvenous”); Par. [0033-0034] – defibrillation electrode 28 (i.e., deliver shock for achieving a defibrillation)).
Therefore, claim 3 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 4, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 4, # 70 – processing circuitry, 72 – memory) the processing circuitry is configured to store a portion of the sensed electrocardiogram signals dependent on said identification of a stimulation event (Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0071]; Par. [0090]; Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30). Based on the sensed signals anticipated from, or resulting from PD 16, ICD may take appropriate corrective action.) and (Fig. 6, # 21 – external device) to transmit a stored portion of the sensed electrocardiogram signals to the device external to the patient (Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0106] – The programming mode may be scheduled at request of the external device 21; Par. [0140] – external device may be a dedicated hardware device with dedicated software for the programming and/or interrogation of one or more devices within cardiac system 8, including either PD 16 or IMD 30; Par. [0145]).
Therefore, claim 4 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 5, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 4, wherein (Fig. 4, # 72) the processing circuitry comprises a circular buffer for circularly storing the sensed electrocardiogram signals (Par. [0081] – a portion of memory 72 may be configured as a plurality of recirculating buffers, capable of holding series of measured intervals).
Therefore, claim 5 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 6, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 4 wherein (Fig. 4) said portion comprises a signal portion prior to the stimulation event, a signal portion containing the stimulation event and/or a signal portion after the stimulation event (Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may monitor the operation of PD 16 as a check to ensure that PD 16 is receiving transmitted control signals. For example, ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or nay other therapy commanded by ICD system 30 (i.e., a signal portion containing the stimulation event)).
Therefore, claim 6 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 7, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 16 – pacing device, 21; Fig. 4, # 78 – sensing circuitry, 70 – processing circuitry) the processing circuitry configured to statistically analyze a multiplicity of stimulation events caused by the implantable pacemaker device (Par. [0081] – … which may be analyzed by processing circuitry 70 in response to the occurrence of pace or sense interrupt; Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30). Based on the sensed signals anticipated from, or resulting from PD 16, ICD may take appropriate corrective action. ICD system 30 may determine that PD 16 has not delivered a predetermined number of therapies (e.g., one, two, three, or more) expected by ICD system 30) and (Fig. 6, # 21 – external device) to communicate statistical information concerning said multiplicity of stimulation events to the device external to the patient (Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0106] – The programming mode may be scheduled at request of the external device 21; Par. [0140] – external device may be a dedicated hardware device with dedicated software for the programming and/or interrogation of one or more devices within cardiac system 8, including either PD 16 or IMD 30; Par. [0145]).
Therefore, claim 7 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 8, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 4, # 72) the processing circuitry is configured to store programming information indicative of a programmed stimulation function of the implantable pacemaker device (Par. [0071] – Memory 72 includes computer-readable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry 70, cause ICD system 30 and processing circuitry 70 to perform various functions attributed to ICD system 30 and processing circuitry 70 herein (e.g., communication with PD 16); Par. [0080] – processing circuitry 70 may determine the time for therapy delivery by another device, such as a pacing signal by PD 16, and generate a control signal for transmission to the PD 16 during a transmission window that indicates when the PD 16 is to deliver the pacing signal), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to monitor said programmed stimulation function based on said identification of a stimulation event (Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30)).
Therefore, claim 8 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 9, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 4, # 70 and 78) the processing circuitry is configured to identify, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, a requirement for a stimulation event (Par. [0047]; Par. [0071]; Par. [0078] – Sensing may be done to identify events within a cardiac cycle (e.g., p-waves, QRS complexes, t-waves, etc.), determine heart rates or heart rate variability, or to detect arrhythmias (e.g., tachyarrhythmia) or other electrical signals; Par. [0084]) and to monitor, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, whether the implantable pacemaker device causes a stimulation event in relation to an identification of a requirement for a stimulation event (Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16).
Therefore, claim 9 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 10, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 16 and 21; Fig. 4, # 70 and 78) the processing circuitry is configured to identify an anti-tachycardia stimulation event caused by the implantable pacemaker device and to cause a transmission of information concerning said anti-tachycardia stimulation event to the device external to the patient (Par. [0038] – PD 16 may be configured to deliver a pacing pulse to the left ventricle according to the commands provided by ICD 9; Par. [0078] – sensing circuitry detects arrhythmias; Par. [0051]; Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0055]; Par. [0078] – sensing circuitry detects arrhythmias; Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may monitor the operation of PD 16 as a check to ensure that PD 16 is receiving transmitted control signals. For example, ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30).; Par. [0106]).
Therefore, claim 10 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 11, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 16 and 21; Fig. 4, # 70 and 78) the processing circuitry is configured to identify a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation and to monitor whether the implantable pacemaker device causes an anti-bradycardia stimulation event in relation to an identification of a requirement for an anti-bradycardia stimulation (Par. [0050] – PD 16 may be configured to deliver pacing therapy such as bradycardia pacing therapy to the heart; Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data;; Par. [0055]; Par. [0078] – sensing circuitry detects arrhythmias; Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may monitor the operation of PD 16 as a check to ensure that PD 16 is receiving transmitted control signals. For example, ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30).; Par. [0106]).
Therefore, claim 11 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 12, Carney teaches the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 21; Fig. 6, # 21) the processing circuitry is configured to trigger a data communication message to the device external to the patient based on said identification of a stimulation event, or to include said information concerning said identification of a stimulation event in a data message scheduled according to a pre-defined regular communication scheme (Par. [0054-0055] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0089]; Par. [0106]; Par. [0140-0141]; Par. [0145]).
Therefore, claim 12 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 13, Carney teaches (Fig. 1, # 8A – medical device system, 9 - ICD, 16 – Pacing Device, 30A – ICD system) an implantable therapy system (Par. [0032]), comprising: (Fig. 1, # 16 – pacing device, i.e. pacemaker device) an implantable pacemaker device for emitting a cardiac stimulation signal for achieving an intra-cardiac pacing (Par. [0032]; Par. [0036] – One or more PDs 16 may provide pacing pulses to heart 26 based on the electrical signals sensed within heart 26 and/or in response to control signals transmitted to PDs 16 from ICD 9); and an implantable medical device according to claim 1 (please see rejection hereinabove to claim 1).
Therefore, claim 13 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 14, Carney teaches the implantable therapy system according to claim 13, wherein (Fig. 1, # 16) the implantable pacemaker device is a leadless pacemaker device (Par. [0003]; Par. [0070] – the techniques described herein are generally described with regard to a leadless pacing device or intracardiac pacing device such as PD 16).
Therefore, claim 14 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Regarding claim 15, Carney teaches (Fig. 1, # 9 – Implantable Cardioverter defibrillator (ICD), i.e. implantable medical device) a method for operating an implantable medical device for providing a diagnostic and/or therapeutic cardiac function within a patient (Par. [0005-0006]; Par. [0032]; Par. [0034-0035] – ICD may include sensing electrodes (i.e., diagnostic function). Cardiac resynchronization therapy (CRT) is one type of therapy delivered by an IMD or group of IMDs such as ICD 9), comprising:
(Fig. 1, # 25A, 32a/b – sensing electrodes) sensing, using a sensing arrangement of the implantable medical device, electrocardiogram signals (Par. [0034] – Defibrillation lead 25A may also include one or more sensing electrodes, such as sensing electrodes 32a and 32b, located along the distal portion of defibrillation lead 25A);
(Fig. 1, # 16 – pacing device, 21; Fig. 4, # 78 – sensing circuitry, 70 – processing circuitry) processing, using a processing circuitry of the implantable medical device, sensed electrocardiogram signals, wherein the processing includes: identifying, based on the sensed electrocardiogram signals, a stimulation event caused by an implantable pacemaker device (Par. [0010] – PD (Pacing Device), i.e. pacemaker device; Par. [0071]; Par. [0100] – ICD system 30 may control sensing circuitry 78 to sense for signals indicating that therapy was delivered by PD 16 (e.g., sense for a paced signal or any other therapy commanded by ICD system 30). Based on the sensed signals anticipated from, or resulting from PD 16, ICD may take appropriate corrective action.) and (Fig. 6, # 21 – external device) causing a transmission, using a communication circuitry of the implantable medical device, of information concerning an identification of a stimulation event to a device external to the patient (Par. [0054] – the user may interact with device 21 to send an interrogation request and retrieve therapy delivery data; Par. [0106] – The programming mode may be scheduled at request of the external device 21; Par. [0140] – external device may be a dedicated hardware device with dedicated software for the programming and/or interrogation of one or more devices within cardiac system 8, including either PD 16 or IMD 30; Par. [0145]).
Therefore, claim 15 is unpatentable over Carney, et al.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T. HOLTZCLAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796