DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton et al. (WO 2007/033252 A1) Shelton.
Regarding claims 1-17, Shelton is drawn to cellulose ester compounds and compositions that include such cellulose ester compounds dissolved in lipophilic solvents (abstract).
Shelton discloses compositions containing one or more cellulose ester compounds of the present invention along with one or more lipophilic solvent, and uses of such compositions in personal care and cosmetic applications (pg. 2).
Shelton discloses cellulose ester compounds have especially advantageous solubility in lipophilic solvents if the ester moieties on such compounds are branched and saturated, unbranched and saturated, or branched and unsaturated (pg. 13).
Shelton discloses the compositions are useful in oil-based cosmetic products or as part of the oil-phase in emulsions used in cosmetic or personal care products. As such, the compositions may contain any other suitable ingredients. Examples of
ingredients suitable in personal care products include, for example, cleansing
agents, emollients, moisturizers, pigments, including pearlescent pigments,
colorants, fragrances, biocides, preservatives, antioxidants, antiperspirant
agents, oral care agents, exfoliants, hormones, enzymes, medicinal compounds,
vitamins, ultraviolet light absorbers, dihydroxyacetone, skin bleaching agents,
antiacne agents, botanical extracts, silicone oils (pg. 16).
Shelton discloses cellulose as well as any compound based upon cellulose having substitution of one or more of the hydroxyl groups present on naturally
occurring cellulose with another moiety. The substitution can be with any moiety (e.g. an ester, an ether, thioester, thioether (sulfide), hydroxyl, phosphate, carbonate, amine, imine, amide, nitrate, nitrile, urethane (carbamate ester), urea, thiourea, silane, sulfate, sulfonic acid, azole, phenol, pyridine or pyrimidine moieties or linkages, or any combination of the foregoing) (pg. 3).
Shelton discloses the cellulose ester compound has an acetyl degree of substitution of less than 1.0 (pg. 15). Shelton discloses wherein the total degree of substitution for the first ester moiety on the at least one cellulose compound is at least 0.8 and wherein at least some of the at least one cellulose compound is dissolved in the at least one lipophilic solvent.
Shelton does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shelton, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Shelton discloses the required ingredients and is drawn to cellulose ester compounds and compositions (abstract). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615