DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05/18/2026 has been considered and entered. The amendment overcomes the rejections under 35 USC 112b and 35 USC 112d which are hereby withdrawn. The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/18/2026 has been approved which overcomes the previous rejections based on obviousness double patenting, now withdrawn. The response over the rejections in view of Wang et al. (US 2007/0102321) have been considered but were not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2007/0102321)
In regards to claim 1, Wang teaches hydrocracking catalyst containing beta and Y zeolites for producing naphtha wherein the Y zeolite has a unit cell size from 24.38 to 24.50 angstrom (A) and the catalyst has a ratio of Y zeolite to beta zeolite of from 5 to 12, and which contains a metal such as cobalt, nickel, tungsten or molybdenum and their combinations which provide Group VIb non-noble metals and/or Group VII metals [title, 0007]. While the lattice parameter of the unit cell of 24.52 or 24.54 to 24.70 is not overlapped, the value of 24.52 or 24.54 is very close as to be obvious. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
In regards to claims 2, 3, Wang teaches the catalyst wherein the hydrogenation metals including tungsten, molybdenum, cobalt and/or nickel is/are present at from 10 to 30%, and the tungsten (i.e., Group VIb) can be present at from 8 to 22%, which provides a balance of other metals such as including the Group VIII metals of from 8 to 22% [0041].
In regards to claims 4, 17, Wang teaches the catalyst but does not recite the presence of phosphorus as claimed. Bonduelle et al. (FR 2984759A1) recites similar catalyst for production of naphtha which can comprise phosphorus as P2O5 at 5% (specification). Thus, the presence of phosphorus in the catalyst of Wang at the claimed amount would be obvious in order to improve the catalyst similar to Bonduelle.
In regards to claim 5, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 6, 7, Wang teaches the catalyst having zeolite Y in amounts of from about 45% to about 60% by weight of the catalyst [0039]. Since the ratio of zeolite Y to beta is 5 to 12, the amount of zeolite beta would be within the claimed range as well.
In regards to claim 8, Wang teaches the catalyst which comprises the zeolites in amounts overlapping the claimed range [0039]. Zeolites are porous mineral matrices.
In regards to claim 9, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 10, Wang teaches the process of hydrocracking comprising providing hydrocarbon feed having boiling point of above 340C and ending at below about 565C or below about 482C, and wherein hydrogen is fed at a rate of about 168 to about 1884 ltr/ltr of the feed, and the process takes place at 232C up to 454C at pressures of 5171 kpa (5.171 MPa) to 24132 kpa (24.132 MPa), and having a feed rate of 0.3 to 3 hr-1 [0046, 0047].
In regards to claim 11, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claims 12 – 14, Wang teaches the catalyst which can comprise Group VIII metals such as cobalt and nickel in the form of oxides and in the amounts overlapping the claimed range as previously discussed [0041, claim 15].
In regards to claims 15, 16, 18 – 21, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously discussed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wang fails to teach the ratio of Y zeolite to Beta Zeolite. The argument is not persuasive.
As discussed in the rejections above, the claimed ratio is taught.
Applicant argues that when the initial lattice parameter is between 24.52A and 24.70A, the activity of the catalyst is better than when it is 24.42A as in Wang. The argument is not persuasive.
The sole inventive example is not commensurate in scope with the claims.
While the claims recite a range of from 24.52A to 24.70A, the sole inventive example is strictly 24.54 which does not support the breadth of the claimed range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771