DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 16, 18 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 10 of copending Application No. 18/713,332. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application recites catalyst comprising Y zeolite and zeolite beta in ratios of from 1 to 40 which overlaps the claimed range and wherein the zeolite Y has an initial lattice parameter a0 of the unite cell of strictly less than 24.40 A, which does not overlap the claimed limitation. While the claims recite an initial lattice parameter a0 of the unit cell is greater than 24.50A, the quantities are so close as to be obvious. The process of hydrocracking using the catalyst is also taught.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of copending Application No. 18/713,324 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application recites almost identical composition but requires that the zeolite Y has an initial lattice parameter of the unit cell of greater than 24.42A, and the ratio of zeolite Y to zeolite beta is strictly greater than 12 which does not overlap the claimed limitation of from 5 to 12. However, a limitation of strictly greater than 12 obviates the limitation of from 5 to 12 since they are so close. For instance, 12 and 12.00001 which is strictly greater than 12 are obvious. The process of hydrocracking using the catalyst is also taught.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 – 5, 9, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation 0.5 to 8%, and the claim also recites 0.5 to 6% which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claims 3 – 5, 9, 16 also recite broader and narrower preferred ranges. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 allows for a broader amount of phosphorus content that what is required in claim 4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 16, 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2007/0102321)
In regards to claim 1, Wang teaches hydrocracking catalyst containing beta and Y zeolites for producing naphtha wherein the Y zeolite has a unit cell size from 24.38 to 24.50 angstrom (A) and the catalyst has a ratio of Y zeolite to beta zeolite of from 5 to 12, and which contains a metal such as cobalt, nickel, tungsten or molybdenum and their combinations which provide Group VIb non-noble metals and/or Group VII metals [title, 0007]. While the lattice parameter of the unit cell of strictly greater than 24.50 is not overlapped, the value of 24.50 is very close as to be obvious. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
In regards to claims 2, 3, Wang teaches the catalyst wherein the hydrogenation metals including tungsten, molybdenum, cobalt and/or nickel is/are present at from 10 to 30%, and the tungsten (i.e., Group VIb) can be present at from 8 to 22%, which provides a balance of other metals such as including the Group VIII metals of from 8 to 22% [0041].
In regards to claim 5, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 6, 7, Wang teaches the catalyst having zeolite Y in amounts of from about 45% to about 60% by weight of the catalyst [0039]. Since the ratio of zeolite Y to beta is 5 to 12, the amount of zeolite beta would be within the claimed range as well.
In regards to claim 8, Wang teaches the catalyst which comprises the zeolites in amounts overlapping the claimed range [0039]. Zeolites are porous mineral matrices.
In regards to claim 9, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 10, Wang teaches the process of hydrocracking comprising providing hydrocarbon feed having boiling point of above 340C and ending at below about 565C or below about 482C, and wherein hydrogen is fed at a rate of about 168 to about 1884 ltr/ltr of the feed, and the process takes place at 232C up to 454C at pressures of 5171 kpa (5.171 MPa) to 24132 kpa (24.132 MPa), and having a feed rate of 0.3 to 3 hr-1 [0046, 0047].
In regards to claim 11, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claims 12 – 14, Wang teaches the catalyst which can comprise Group VIII metals such as cobalt and nickel in the form of oxides and in the amounts overlapping the claimed range as previously discussed [0041, claim 15].
In regards to claims 15, 16, 18 – 20, Wang teaches the catalyst having the claimed limitation as previously discussed.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771