DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on July 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fire-fighting water collection chamber including an inclined bottom surface located below the at least one battery rack and to a side of the at least one battery rack such that the inclined bottom surface does not overlap the at least one battery rack with respect to a first direction as amended in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Same rejection applies to claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the fire-fighting water collection chamber including an inclined bottom surface located below the at least one battery rack and to a side of the at least one battery rack such that the inclined bottom surface does not overlap the at least one battery rack with respect to a first direction as amended in claim 1. Same rejection applies to claim 18. In the interest of compact prosecution, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginder et al. (US20210154503. Ginder hereinafter) in view of Ambrose et al. (US7771594. Ambrose hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, as best understood by the Examiner, Ginder discloses an energy storage system (Figs. 1-12), comprising: at least one battery rack (120. Fig. 5) including a plurality of stacked battery modules (130); and a container (110) accommodating the at least one battery rack, wherein the container includes: a bottom plate (114) in which the at least one battery rack is disposed; and a fire-fighting water collection chamber (underside 112 / component 250 including tanks, 553 in Fig. 10, 650 in Fig. 11) disposed lower than the bottom plate and having at least one side (with elongated troughs connecting 270) in communication with the bottom plate to (capable of) allow a fire-fighting water dropped from the at least one battery rack to enter.
Ginder fails to disclose the fire-fighting water collection chamber allow a fire-fighting water dropped from the at least one battery rack to enter through an open upper side extending an entire length of the fire-fighting water collection chamber, the fire-fighting water collection chamber including an inclined bottom surface located below the at least one battery rack and to a side of the at least one battery rack such that the inclined bottom surface does not overlap the at least one battery rack with respect to a first direction.
However, Ambrose teaches a water collection chamber (Figs. 1A-6. Apparatus 10 includes a settling tank 20) allowing water dropped from any upper structure (above 10) or the spillway (60) to enter through an open upper side (defined by side walls 26A and 26B and end walls 22A and 24A) extending an entire length of the water collection chamber, the water collection chamber including an inclined bottom surface (of 28) located below the upper structure or the spillway and to a side (at 24) of the upper structure or the spillway such that the inclined bottom surface does not overlap the upper structure or the spillway with respect to a first direction (from 22 to 24. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a water collection chamber allowing water dropped through an open upper side extending an entire length of the water collection chamber, as taught by Ambrose, to Ginder’s fire-fighting water collection chamber, in order to collect water through an open upper side extending an entire length of the water collection chamber (Figs. 1A-6).
With respect to claim 2, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder and Ambrose further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the bottom plate includes a rack installation region (top surface of Ginder and/or upper structure or the spillway 60 of Ambrose) in which the at least one battery rack is installed, and a drain region (areas near 270 of Ginder and/or top opening of 10 of Ambrose) which is an open region to allow the fire-fighting water to pass, wherein the fire fire-fighting water collection chamber is disposed vertically below the drain region, and wherein the inclined bottom surface of the fire-fighting water collection chamber directs the fire fire-fighting water entering through the drain region toward (in the direction of) a (front) wall of the container (Fig. 11 of Ginder).
With respect to claim 3, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 2, further comprising: a valve unit (556 and 656. A pump is a complex valve. A valve is defined as “Any of various devices that regulate the flow of gases, liquids, or loose materials through piping or through apertures by opening, closing, or obstructing ports or passageway.” American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language) coupled to the wall of the container to drain the fire-fighting water collected in the fire-fighting water collection chamber out of the container ([0069]).
With respect to claim 4, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 3, further comprising: a water level sensor ([0079]) disposed in the fire-fighting water collection chamber, wherein the valve unit is configured to (capable of) be opened or closed based on a signal from the water level sensor ([0078]).
With respect to claim 5, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 4, further comprising: a drain pump (556 and 656) disposed in the fire-fighting water collection chamber, and configured to (capable of) operate based on the signal from the water level sensor (“…The controller 900 may control the valves 910 and the pumps 920 based on sensor inputs or inputs from a fire panel, a pull station, etc., to selectively cause one or more of the vertical extending pipes 240 to supply suppressant to… a holding tank. [0078]- [0079]).
With respect to claim 6, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one battery rack includes a plurality of the battery racks that are provided and arranged in a plurality of rows in the bottom plate (Figs. 3 and 4).
With respect to claim 7, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 6, wherein the drain region is disposed in an area between the plurality of rows of the plurality of battery racks in the bottom plate or an area between a wall of the container and an outermost row of the plurality of rows of the plurality of battery racks (Figs. 3 and 4).
With respect to claim 9, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising: a water tank (553, 650) disposed outside of the container; a fire-fighting water supply pipe connecting the water tank to the at least one battery rack (via 240); and a fire-fighting water collection pipe (downstream of 270) connecting the fire-fighting water collection chamber to the water tank.
With respect to claim 10, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 9, wherein a water level sensor ([0079]) and a drain pump (556, 656) are disposed in the fire-fighting water collection chamber, and wherein the drain pump is configured to (capable of) operate so as to move the fire-fighting water to the water tank through the fire-fighting water collection pipe in response to a water level in the fire-fighting water collection chamber reaching a predetermined height, which is detected by the water level sensor (“…The controller 900 may control the valves 910 and the pumps 920 based on sensor inputs or inputs from a fire panel, a pull station, etc., to selectively cause one or more of the vertical extending pipes 240 to supply suppressant to… a holding tank. [0078]- [0079]).
With respect to claim 11, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one battery rack further includes:
a rack case (122 and shelves 124) having receivers (the space of 122 and shelves 124), each receiver being configured to (capable of) receive one of the plurality of stacked battery modules at each predetermined height ([0043] and Fig. 3), and each receiver having a structure (of 120) in which sides of the structure are closed (by another 120. Fig. 4) except front (top) and rear (bottom) sides;
a rack connection pipe (240) connected to each of the plurality of stacked battery modules received in the receiver to supply the fire-fighting water when a fire occurs; and
a drain guide (top rectangular and vertical structures of 120. Fig. 5) disposed on at least one surface of an outer surface of the rack case, and configured to (capable of) guide drainage of the fire-fighting water to cause the fire-fighting water coming out of a battery module of the plurality of stacked battery modules after having been fed into the battery module of the plurality of stacked battery modules to pass to a location spaced a predetermined distance apart from the outer surface of the rack case.
With respect to claim 12, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 11, wherein the drain guide is coupled to the outer surface of the rack case at a location which is lower than an upper (most) battery module of every two battery modules vertically adjacent to each other and higher than a lower (most) battery module of every two battery modules vertically adjacent to each other (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 13, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 11, wherein the drain guide protrudes from the outer surface of the rack case (shelves 124) at a predetermined angle to form an eave structure (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 17, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising: a rack die (unmarked bars under 120. Fig. 5) which protrudes upwards from the bottom plate and supports the at least one battery rack at a predetermined height apart from the bottom plate; and a fence (surrounding wall of 114) disposed around the rack die with a predetermined gap from the rack die, protruding upwards from the bottom plate and having at least one drain hole on a side (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 18, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses an energy storage system (Figs. 1-12), comprising:
a plurality of battery racks (120. Fig. 5), each battery rack including a plurality of stacked battery modules (130); and
a container (110) accommodating the plurality of battery racks,
wherein the container includes:
a bottom plate (114) in which the plurality of battery racks are disposed;
a fire-fighting water collection chamber (underside 112 / component 250 including tanks, 553 in Fig. 10, 650 in Fig. 11) including
a water level sensor ([0079]); and
a valve unit (556 and 656. A pump is a complex valve. A valve is defined as “Any of various devices that regulate the flow of gases, liquids, or loose materials through piping or through apertures by opening, closing, or obstructing ports or passageway.” American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language) coupled to a (front) wall of the container to (capable of) drain a fire-fighting water collected in a fire-fighting water collection chamber out of the container,
wherein the valve unit is configured to (capable of) be opened or closed based on a signal from the water level sensor (“…The controller 900 may control the valves 910 and the pumps 920 based on sensor inputs or inputs from a fire panel, a pull station, etc., to selectively cause one or more of the vertical extending pipes 240 to supply suppressant to… a holding tank. [0078]- [0079]).
Ginder fails to disclose the fire-fighting water collection chamber including: an open upper side extending an entire length of the fire-fighting water collection chamber; and an inclined bottom surface located below the plurality of battery racks and to a side of the plurality of battery racks such that the inclined bottom surface does not overlap the plurality of battery racks with respect to a first direction.
However, Ambrose teaches a water collection chamber (Figs. 1A-6. Apparatus 10 includes a settling tank 20) allowing water dropped from any upper structure (above 10) or the spillway (60) to enter through an open upper side (defined by side walls 26A and 26B and end walls 22A and 24A) extending an entire length of the water collection chamber, the water collection chamber including an inclined bottom surface (of 28) located below the upper structure or the spillway and to a side (at 24) of the upper structure or the spillway such that the inclined bottom surface does not overlap the upper structure or the spillway with respect to a first direction (from 22 to 24. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a water collection chamber allowing water dropped through an open upper side extending an entire length of the water collection chamber, as taught by Ambrose, to Ginder’s fire-fighting water collection chamber, in order to collect water through an open upper side extending an entire length of the water collection chamber (Figs. 1A-6).
With respect to claim 19, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 18, further comprising: a water tank (553, 650) disposed outside of the container; a fire-fighting water supply pipe connecting the water tank to the plurality of battery racks (via 240); and a fire-fighting water collection pipe (downstream of 270) connecting the fire-fighting water collection chamber to the water tank.
With respect to claim 20, Ginder’s energy storage system modified by Ambrose’s water collection chamber, Ginder further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 19, wherein when a thermal (fire) event occurs in one of the plurality of stacked battery modules, each battery rack is configured to (capable of) receive the fire-fighting water (via 240) for fire suppression from the water tank outside of the container through the fire-fighting water supply pipe.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginder in view of Ambrose and further in view of Menzies et al. (WO2020051697. Menzies hereinafter).
With respect to claim 8, Ginder and Ambrose disclose the energy storage system according to claim 2, except for wherein the drain region is covered with a porous plate.
However, Menzies teaches a floor drain (10) with a drain region that is covered with a porous plate (30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a drain region that is covered with a porous plate, as taught by Menzies, to Ginder’s drain region, in order to permit the passage of fluids but to retain solids (page 4, last paragraph and Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginder in view of Ambrose and further in view of Yu (KR102313994. IDS provided by the Applicant. See attached English translation By Google Patents).
With respect to claim 13, Ginder and Ambrose disclose the energy storage system according to claim 11, except for wherein the drain guide unit protrudes from the outer surface of the rack case at a predetermined angle to form an eave structure.
However, Yu teaches a method (Figs. 1-7) of properly storing the battery in a protective case (100) comprising a receiving portion (the space defined by 110) configured to (capable of) insert and receive a battery module (B), the receiving portion including a drain guide unit (130) disposed on at least one surface of an outer (rear end) surface of the rack case (Fig. 4), and configured to (capable of) guide drainage of the fire-fighting water to cause the fire-fighting water coming out of the battery module, the drain guide unit protrudes from the outer surface of the rack case at a predetermined angle to form an eave structure (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a protective case with the drain guide unit, as taught by Yu, to Ginder’s rack case, in order to properly store and protect the battery (Page 4, second to fifth paragraphs).
With respect to claim 14, Ginder and Ambrose disclose the energy storage system according to claim 11, except for wherein the drain guide is rotatably coupled to the outer surface of the rack case.
However, Yu teaches a method (Figs. 1-7) of properly storing the battery in a protective case (100) comprising a receiving portion (the space defined by 110) configured to (capable of) insert and receive a battery module (B), the receiving portion including a drain guide (130) disposed on at least one surface of an outer (rear end) surface of the rack case (Fig. 4), and configured to (capable of) guide drainage of the fire-fighting water to cause the fire-fighting water coming out of the battery module, the drain guide unit protrudes from the outer surface of the rack case at a predetermined angle to form an eave structure (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention), wherein the drain guide unit is rotatably (about 131) coupled to the outer surface of the rack case.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a protective case with the drain guide unit, as taught by Yu, to Ginder’s rack case, in order to properly store and protect the battery (Page 4, second to fifth paragraphs).
With respect to claim 15, Ginder and Ambrose’s energy storage system modified by Yu’s protective case with the drain guide unit, Yu further teaches wherein the drain guide unit is configured to (capable of) form an eave structure (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) for underlying receiver when the drain guide is rotated downwards.
With respect to claim 16, Ginder and Ambrose’s energy storage system modified by Yu’s protective case with the drain guide unit, Yu further teaches wherein the drain guide includes: a drain guide plate (130) hinged (about 131) to the outer surface of the rack case; and a stopper (rear opening) configured to (capable of) limit rotation of the drain guide plate so that the drain guide plate is at a preset (closing) angle with respect to the outer surface of the rack case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 September 9, 2026