DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 27-28 and 35-52 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-26 and 29-34 have been cancelled.
Drawings Objections
2. Figures 2-3 do not include legends for understanding the visualization without referring to Applicant’s specification.
Abstract Objection
3. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because an abstract on a separate is required. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
4. Claim 45 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The element “gateway network functions comprises” in line 1 of claim 45 should be “gateway network functions comprise”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 27-28, 35, 37-39, 43-48 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo et al., (hereafter, “Guo”), US 2022/0247798 A1.
Regarding claim 27, Guo teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (i.e., network node may be implemented by a computer program product or a computer program which, when executed on at least one processor, cause at least one processor to carry out the actions, Fig. 8 and page 8 paragraph [0137]):
obtain, from a network repository function, profile information for one or more gateway network functions (i.e., P-CSCF may invoke the NFRegister operation of Nnrf-NFManagement service to register its NF profile in the NRF…and get update of the P-CSCF address list from NRF, page 4 paragraphs [0061]- [0062]);
select one of the one or more gateway network functions for delivering media to a user equipment based on the profile information (i.e., at the IMS PDU session establishment procedure, the SMF may pack several P-CSCF addresses with a corresponding transport protocol and/or port number, page 4 paragraph [0063]); and
establish a media session to deliver the media to the user equipment via the selected gateway network function (i.e., Guo, in page 4 paragraph [0060], discloses: the SMF may use an address allocation function, such as a P-CSCF address allocation function, to create a Protocol Configuration Option (PCO) field with the list of addresses, such as P-CSCF addresses. The list may comprise port number and/or transport type, such as UDP and/or TCP. The list is sent to the UE at a PDU Session establishment procedure related to IMS.).
Regarding claim 28, Guo teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (i.e., network node may be implemented by a computer program product or a computer program which, when executed on at least one processor, cause at least one processor to carry out the actions, Fig. 8 and page 8 paragraph [0137]):
store profile information for one or more gateway network functions (i.e., register its NF profile in the NRF, page 4 paragraph [0061]); and
provide, to a first network function, the profile information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., get updated of the P-CSCF address list from NRF, page 4 paragraphs [0061]- [0062]).
Regarding claim 35, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the profile information comprises at least one of: information identifying the one or more gateway network functions; a delay between the one or more gateway network functions and at least one user plane function; and address information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., P-CSCF address, page 4 paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 37, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: send, to the network repository function, a request to store the profile information for one or more gateway network functions with which the apparatus can communicate (i.e., the P-SCCF may register to the NRF by invoking the NRF services and operation…register the P-CSCF address, page 3 paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 38, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the apparatus is caused to obtain, from the network repository function, the profile information for the one or more gateway network functions by: sending, to the network repository function, a discovery request for discovering the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., The P-CSCF address, transport type and/or port number are discovered by SMF using the service discovery procedure via the NRF, page 3 paragraph [0053]); and receiving, from the network repository function and based on the discovery request, a response comprising the profile information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., allocate P-CSCF addresses with TCP and/or UDP transport type and/or port number in the 5G packet core (5GC) by using the information received from service discovery procedure, page 3 paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 39, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 38, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from a session management function and/or a network exposure function, information identifying at least one of: the user equipment; a data network access identifier of the user equipment; an internet protocol address of a user plane function; and one or more traffic routing requirements (i.e., TCP and/or UDP transport type and/or port number, page 3 paragraph [0053]), wherein the discovery request comprises the received information (i.e., allocate P-CSCF addresses with TCP and/or UDP transport type and/or port number in the 5G packet core (5GC) by using the information received from service discovery procedure, page 3 paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 43, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: storing the obtained profile information at the apparatus (i.e., The SMF may store the list as the latest P-CSCF instances list, page 4 paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 44, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
send, to the network repository function, a subscription request for the profile information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., the SMF may invoke the NRF services and operations…subscribe and get updated of the P-CSCF address list from NRF, page 4 paragraph [0062]); and
receive, from the network repository function, a subscription notification comprising updated profile information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., subscribe and get updated of the P-CSCF address list from NRF, page 4 paragraph [0062]),
Regarding claim 45, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the gateway network functions comprises: an internet protocol multimedia subsystem application gateway; or a transition gateway (i.e., a Proxy Call Serving Call Control Function (P-CSCF) is a first entry point for the UE to access the IMS for communication services, page 1 paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 46, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the profile information comprises at least one of: information identifying the one or more gateway network functions; a delay between the one or more gateway network functions and at least one user plane function; and address information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., P-CSCF address, page 4 paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 47, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive a request to store the profile information for one or more gateway network functions with which the first network function can communicate, wherein the storing is performed based on the request (i.e., the P-SCCF may register to the NRF by invoking the NRF services and operation…register the P-CSCF address, page 3 paragraph [0051]).
.
Regarding claim 48, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the first network function, a discovery request for discovering the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., The P-CSCF address, transport type and/or port number are discovered by SMF using the service discovery procedure via the NRF, page 3 paragraph [0053]); and send, to the first network function and based on the discovery request, a response comprising the profile information for the one or more gateway network functions (i.e., allocate P-CSCF addresses with TCP and/or UDP transport type and/or port number in the 5G packet core (5GC) by using the information received from service discovery procedure, page 3 paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 51, this claim recites limitations that are similar to claim 51, discussed above, same rationale of rejections is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 36 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, in view of Chong (hereafter, “Chong”), US 2012/0392540 A1.
Regarding claim 36, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 35.
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is caused to select the one of the one or more gateway network functions for delivering the media to the user equipment based on the profile information by: selecting the one of the one or more gateway network functions in response to determining that the delay between the one of the one or more gateway network functions and at least one user plane function meets a quality-of-service requirement.
Chong teaches a system and method for selecting a user plane path (seen in abstract). Chong teaches select the one of the one or more gateway network functions for delivering the media to the user equipment based on the profile information by: selecting the one of the one or more gateway network functions in response to determining that the delay between the one of the one or more gateway network functions and at least one user plane function meets a quality-of-service requirement (i.e., if the SMF/PCF determines that the service A is an importance MEC service and service A has a strict delay requirement, the SMF/PCF may trigger user plane path switching, page 16 paragraph [0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Guo to select the one of the one or more gateway network functions in response to determining that the delay between the one of the one or more gateway network functions and at least one user plane function meets a quality-of-service requirement, as taught by Chong. One would be motivated to do so to improve communication efficiency (i.e., Chong, page 1 paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 41, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 39.
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the routing requirements identify at least one user plane function for delivering the media session.
Chong teaches wherein the routing requirements identify at least one user plane function for delivering the media session (i.e., select a UPF in a user plane path for the session of the UE, page 13 paragraph [0154]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Guo to identify at least one user plane function for delivering the media session, as taught by Chong. One would be motivated to do so to improve communication efficiency (i.e., Chong, page 1 paragraph [0065]).
7. Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, in view of Rommer et al. (hereafter, “Rommer”), US 2019/0364420 A1.
Regarding claim 40, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 39.
Guo does not explicitly teach associate the media session with a packet data unit session based on the information identifying the user equipment.
Rommer teaches associate the media session with a packet data unit session based on the information identifying the user equipment (i.e., create an association comprising the UE IP address assigned to the PDU session and the application type/identifier to identify the IoT device application sending the data, page 7 paragraph [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Guo to associate the media session with a packet data unit session based on the information identifying the user equipment, as taught by Rommer. One would be motivated to do so to provide flexible data transmission.
8. Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, in view of Saghir et al. (hereafter, “Saghir”), US 2021/0152613 A1.
Regarding claim 42, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 27.
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the user equipment, a media session invitation, wherein the obtaining is performed responsive to receiving the media session invitation.
Saghir teaches receive, from the user equipment, a media session invitation (i.e., receive a SIP invite message, page 2 paragraph [0019]), wherein the obtaining is performed responsive to receiving the media session invitation (i.e., receive a SIP invite message…obtain from the user profile associated with the UE, the UPF identifier, page 2 paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Guo to receive, from the user equipment, a media session invitation, wherein the obtaining is performed responsive to receiving the media session invitation, as taught by Saghir. One would be motivated to do so to minimize end-to-end latency during media transport between call endpoints (i.e., Saghir, page 2 paragraph [0019]).
9. Claim(s) 49 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, in view of Deng, US 20230354166.
Regarding claim 49, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 48.
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the discovery request comprises information identifying at least one of: the user equipment; a data network access identifier of the user equipment; an internet protocol address of a user plane function; and one or more traffic routing requirements.
Deng teaches the discovery request comprises information identifying at least one of: the user equipment (i.e., a UE identifier); a data network access identifier of the user equipment; an internet protocol address of a user plane function; and one or more traffic routing requirements (i.e., the discovery request message contains a UE identifier of the UE, page 2 paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Guo to comprise information, in the discovery request, identifying at least one of: the user equipment; a data network access identifier of the user equipment; an internet protocol address of a user plane function; and one or more traffic routing requirements, as taught by Deng because it was conventionally employed in the art for uniquely identifying the UE.
Regarding claim 50, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 49, wherein the routing requirements identify at least one user plane function for delivering a media session to a user equipment (this claim further defines the routing requirements which is a non-elected alternative element).
10. Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, in view of Sun et al. (hereafter, “Sun”), US 2021/0152614.
Regarding claim 52, Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the first network function comprises a call service control function (i.e., P-CSCF, page 1 paragraph [0013]); or the first network function comprises an interconnection border control function, and the gateway network function comprises a transition gateway.
Guo does not explicitly teach the gateway network function comprises an internet protocol multimedia subsystem application gateway.
Sun teaches the gateway network function comprises an internet protocol multimedia subsystem application gateway (i.e., gateway server 22, Fig. 1 and page 3 paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Guo to comprise an internet protocol multimedia subsystem application gateway, as taught by Sun. One would be motivated to do so to introduce some enhancement to IMS (i.e., Sun, paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pallares Lopez et al., US 2007/0207805 A1, discloses: the assigned serving call control server (S-CSCF) requests a download of the user profile to the subscriber server (HSS), obtains such user profile and confirm the assignation to the I-CSCF (i.e., page 5 paragraph [0056]); select an appropriate serving call control server (S-CSCF) for servicing the user based on server capabilities derivable from information elements including in the user profile (i.e., page 1 paragraph [0008]); and session(s) that the user has established with a serving call control server assigned for servicing the user (i.e., page 4 paragraph [0038]); and the user profiled stored in the Home Subscriber server (HSS) ( i.e., page 1 paragraph [0005]).
/OANH DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459