DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Group II (claims 8-15) was elected without traverse in the reply filed 6/02/2026, with Groups I and III being withdrawn and canceled without prejudice as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 6/02/2026, claims 8-15 are pending. Claims 1-7 and 16-36 are canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring mechanism and the folding of the linear tool-actuation arm of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10-12, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 1: “Apparatus for performing…” is missing an article and should recite “An apparatus for performing…” instead.
Claim 8, line 8: this line ends with a comma, whereas the previous paragraph ends in a semicolon. It is recommended that the punctuation marking each paragraph end be standardized such that paragraphs end in either a semicolon or a comma.
Claim 10, line 3: “from tool mount” is missing an article and should recite “from the tool mount” instead.
Claim 11, line 2: “forceps that comprises tips” includes an incorrect conjugation and should be amended to recite “forceps that comprise tips” instead to match the established plurality.
Claim 12, line 3: “an axis of forceps” is missing an article and should be amended to recite “an axis of the forceps” instead.
Claim 15, lines 2 and 3: these lines end with a comma, whereas the first paragraph of claim 1 ends in a semicolon. It is recommended that the punctuation marking each paragraph end be standardized such that paragraphs end in either a semicolon or a comma.
Claim 15, lines 4-5: “the hinged tip” lacks antecedent basis in the claim, it is recommended that this limitation be amended to recite “the steerable tip” instead to follow the naming convention established in claim 14, line 2, and claim 15, line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is recommended that this language be removed and the claims amended to simply recite “to actuate the tool” or “to close the tips” instead.
Claims 9-10 and 12-15 inherit the deficiencies of claims 1 and 11 due to their dependency and are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “configured to automatically move in response to being retracted” is indefinite because it is unclear how the linear tool-actuation arm can “automatically” move in response to being physically moved by the user. The present specification does not offer any insight into how the linear tool-actuation arm is configured to “automatically slide and/or fold”, and the drawings do not clearly show this automated movement.
Claim 10 inherits the deficiency of claim 9 due to its dependency and is also rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a motion-conversion mechanism” in claims 9, 11, and 14
“a hinged sleeve that is disposed around the proximal ends of the tips and a ramped surface that is not parallel to an axis of forceps, configured such that as the hinged sleeve is advanced past the ramped surface, the hinged sleeve is configured to be pushed transversely inwards, to thereby cause the tips to close” (page 10, lines 14-17, see Figs. 6A-B)
“a ramped surface and rollers disposed around proximal portions of the tips, configured such that as the rollers advance past the ramped surface, the rollers are pushed transversely inwards, to thereby cause the tips to close” (page 10, lines 18-21, see Figs. 7A-B)
“a hinged joint that is configured to cause the tips of the forceps to be closed by distal ends of the forceps arms pivoting toward each other” (page 10, lines 28-31, see Figs. 8A-B)
“a pusher and a steering wire, and linear motion of the pusher is conveyed to the steering wire thereby causing the hinged tip to bend” (page 11, line 27, see Fig. 9)
Claims 12-13 and 15 further define the structure of the motion-conversion mechanism and are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coe et al. (US PGPub 2008/0243106 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Coe et al. discloses an apparatus for performing robotic microsurgery on a portion of a body of a patient (abstract: "Methods and devices are provided for performing various procedures using interchangeable end effectors"), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of tools (14 in Fig. 1A, PP [0065]: "a surgeon can actuate an actuation mechanism on the proximal end of the shaft to mate one of the end effectors to the distal end of the shaft without assistance from other tools and devices. After use of the end effector, the end effector can be released and another end effector can be remotely attached to the distal end of the shaft", PP [0068]: "a generic end effector 14 that is adapted to removably mate to the elongate member 12. The generic end effector 14 is intended to represent any end effector used to effect a particular surgical outcome") having different functions from each other, each of the tools comprising a mount-engagement portion (18, PP [0069]: "the first engagement mechanism 18 can be configured to perform the action of attaching and detaching the end effector 14 to and from the elongate member 12");
an end effector that comprises a tool mount (12d) that is configured to securely hold each of the plurality of tools (PP [0069]: "allowing multiple end effectors 14 to be interchangeably mated to the distal end 12d of the elongate member 12 without removing the device 10 from the patient's body and without assistance from other tools and devices") by engaging with the mount-engagement portion of each of the tools (18);
the end effector comprising a linear tool-actuation arm (13) that is configured to actuate the tools by moving linearly (PP [0069]: “For example, where the end effector 14 is in the form of a clip applier having a pair of opposed jaws pivotally coupled to one another, the first engagement mechanism 18 can attach and detach the clip applier to and from the elongate member 12 of the device 10, and the second engagement mechanism 19 can couple to a portion 14a of the end effector 14, e.g., to the jaws of the clip applier, to effect the action of opening and closing the jaws. The second elongate member 13 can be used to actuate the second engagement mechanism 19”),
wherein at least one of the tools comprises a motion-conversion mechanism for converting the linear motion to a different mechanical motion such as to actuate the tool (PP [0069]: "While not shown, the end effector can also be capable of performing a third action, such as advancing and firing a clip or staple from the jaws. Thus, a third engagement mechanism can be provided to effect the action of advancing and firing a clip or staple from the jaws. A third elongate member can be used to actuate the third engagement mechanism. Accordingly, the modular device can include any number of engagement mechanisms, and the particular quantity can be dependent on the particular quantity of actions that the end effector is capable of performing. Certain engagement mechanisms can also be configured to perform multiple actions. For example, a single engagement mechanism can be used to close the jaws of a clip applier and to fire a clip from the jaws").
Regarding claim 11, Coe et al. further discloses wherein at least one of the tools comprises forceps that comprise tips (PP [0067]: “the particular configuration of the end effector can vary depending on the type of procedure being performed, and that the term "end effector" as used herein is intended to include any device that is configured to affect a particular surgical outcome. By way of non-limiting example, suitable end effectors include mono-polar coagulators and probes, bi-polar coagulators and probes, graspers, biopsy forceps, clipping devices, retractors, scissors, band ligators, suction devices, needles, needle knives and other cutting devices, sphinctertomes, snares, irrigation devices, marking devices, etc.”, emphasis added), and a motion-conversion mechanism for converting the linear motion to transverse motion of the tips toward each other, such as to close the tips (PP [0069]: "While not shown, the end effector can also be capable of performing a third action, such as advancing and firing a clip or staple from the jaws. Thus, a third engagement mechanism can be provided to effect the action of advancing and firing a clip or staple from the jaws. A third elongate member can be used to actuate the third engagement mechanism. Accordingly, the modular device can include any number of engagement mechanisms, and the particular quantity can be dependent on the particular quantity of actions that the end effector is capable of performing. Certain engagement mechanisms can also be configured to perform multiple actions. For example, a single engagement mechanism can be used to close the jaws of a clip applier and to fire a clip from the jaws", see linear arrows in Figs. 1A-B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe et al. (US PGPub 2008/0243106 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Simi et al. (US PGPub 2018/0304389 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Coe et al. fails to disclose wherein at least one of the tools comprises a tool having a steerable tip, and a motion-conversion mechanism for converting linear motion to non-linear motion of the steerable tip.
In the same field of surgical end effectors (abstract), Simi et al. teaches an end effector comprising a steerable tip (see Fig. 15A) and a drive system comprising a linear-actuator arm (95 in Fig. 14A), wherein the end effector also comprises a motion-conversion mechanism (see Fig. 14A) for converting linear motion (see linear actuator 95) to non-linear motion (see pulleys, pusher 145, and wire 90 in Figs. 14A-B) of the steerable tip (see Figs. 14A-B and 15A, actuation of the motion-conversion mechanism in Figs. 14A-B will enact non-linear pivoting motion in the hinges of the end effector).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Coe et al. device according to the teachings of Simi et al. to include the motion-conversion mechanism as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have been a simple substitution of motion-conversion mechanisms that would have yielded the predictable result of moving the end effector in the claimed manner, since Coe et al. simply presents a generic plurality of engagement mechanisms (see 18-19 in Figs. 1A-B and PP [0069], see also remaining figures with alternate engagement mechanisms) for effecting a function of the end effector. Incorporating the structure of Simi et al. would not alter the main operating principle of the Coe et al. device, but would instead simply modify the generic engagement mechanism of Coe et al. to have a specific structure for converting linear motion into non-linear motion of a steerable tip of the end effector.
Regarding claim 15, Coe et al. as modified by Simi et al. further discloses wherein:
the steerable tip is hinged (see hinged steerable tip in Fig. 15A of Simi et al.),
the motion-conversion mechanism (see Figs. 14A-B) comprises a pusher (145) and a steering wire (90), and
linear motion of the pusher (145) is conveyed to the steering wire (90) thereby causing the hinged tip to bend (actuation of tendon 90 bends the end effector in Fig. 15A along its joints).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 8 as outlined above, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim, after it has been amended to obviate the above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The subject matter of claims 12-13 filed on 6/01/2026 could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious at the effective filing date of the invention: the feature of “wherein the motion-conversion mechanism comprises a hinged sleeve that is disposed around the proximal ends of the tips and a ramped surface that is not parallel to an axis of the forceps, configured such that as the hinged sleeve is advanced past the ramped surface, the hinged sleeve is configured to be pushed transversely inwards, to thereby cause the tips to close”, in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim.
The closest prior art is Coe et al., which discloses each of the limitations as described above.
However, Coe et al. fails to disclose the hinged sleeve and ramped surface as claimed. Furthermore, the prior art of record does not suggest any motivation to modify the Coe et al. disclosure to arrive at these features.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious at the effective filing date of the invention: the feature of “wherein the motion-conversion mechanism comprises a ramped surface and rollers disposed around proximal portions of the tips, configured such that as the rollers advance past the ramped surface, the rollers are pushed transversely inwards, to thereby cause the tips to close”, in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim.
The closest prior art is Coe et al., which discloses each of the limitations as described above.
However, Coe et al. fails to disclose the ramped surface and rollers as claimed. Furthermore, the prior art of record does not suggest any motivation to modify the Coe et al. disclosure to arrive at these features.
Conclusion
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771