DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and under prosecution in this action.
Priority
2. Application claims the benefit and priority of PCT/EP2022/087106 filed on 12/20/2022 which claims the benefit and priority of EP21216132.7 filed on 12/20/2021. Applicant has properly filed certified copies of the foreign application and thus, priority is granted to EP21216132.7 and the effective filing date of 12/20/2021.
Specification
3. The use of the term “X-VIVO”, “Ultraculture”, and “CellGro” on page 6, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
4. Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 4, 7, 11-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 11-12 contain the trademark/trade names “X-vivo”, “Ultraculture”, and “CellGro”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe cell growth medium and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the phrase “preferably” which is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation that follows is required or optional. For the sake of compact prosecution, examiner will interpret “preferably” as “optionally”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-10 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ankersmit (US10478456 B2, pub. 11/19/2019) and in further view of Morita, et al. (An Bras. Dermatol., 2020, 95(3):355-371).
Ankersmit discloses a method for treating internal inflammatory conditions, preferably conditions associated with ischemia, by administering to a patient in need a composition comprising a supernatant of peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs), wherein the supernatant is obtained by cultivating a PBMC cell culture for at least 4 hours (See Ankersmit column 5 lines 6-9), wherein the cell culture comprises 1x106 PBMCs/ml (See Ankersmit column 4 lines 52-59) which is subjected to ionizing radiation at a dose of at least 10 Gy before or during cultivation. (See Ankersmit, column 2 lines 39-56, column 6 lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 2, Ankersmit discloses the composition can be administered subcutaneously, intramuscularly, and intravenously. (See Ankersmit, column 6 line 64- column 7 line 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 8-10, Ankersmit discloses the PBMC cell culture comprising monocytes, T cells, B cells, and NK cells, in compositions of at least two, at least three, or all of the cells. (See Ankersmit, column 6 lines 11-17, and claims 1 and 20).
Regarding claim 4, Ankersmit discloses cultivating the PBMC cell culture in cell culture medium including RPMI, DMEM, X-vivo, and Ultraculture. (See Ankersmit, column 6 lines 29-31).
Regarding claims 5 and 13-16, Ankersmit discloses the PBMCs being subjected to ionizing radiation at a dose of at least 20 Gy, at least 40 Gy, or at least 50 Gy. (See Ankersmit, column 6 lines 56-59, also claims 1, 10-11, and 16-17).
Regarding claims 6 and 17-18, Ankersmit discloses the PBMCs can be cultivated for at least 6 hours, 12 hours, or 24 hours before isolation. (See Ankersmit, column 6 lines 60-63, also claims 12-14).
Regarding claim 19, Ankersmit discloses PBMC cell culture comprising 2.5x106 PBMCs/ml. (See Ankersmit, Example 2 column 18 line 41).
Ankersmit does not disclose treatment of vasculitis.
Ankersmit does teach that the cultivated PBMCs secrete substances like cytokines that differ from activated PBMCs and are useful in treating inflammatory conditions including ischemic conditions. Further, Ankersmit teaches the secretome of these PBMCs comprise substances supporting the treatment of similar conditions. (See Ankersmit, column 4 lines 19-34).
Morita teaches that vasculitis is a large heterogenous group of diseases characterized by inflammatory reactions localized in the vascular wall and perivascular tissue. (See Morita, pg. 356 Introduction). Morita also teaches that vasculitis is associated with ischemia. (See Morita Table 3 pg. 363).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use the pharmaceutical composition of Ankersmit for treating vasculitis based on the teaching of Morita. It would have been obvious because Ankersmit teaches the composition as comprising substances being useful for inflammatory conditions associated with ischemia and similar conditions and Morita teaches that vasculitis is an inflammatory condition associated with ischemia. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date to try administering the pharmaceutical composition of Ankersmit to a patient in need with a reasonable expectation of success at treating vasculitis.
6. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ankersmit (US10478456 B2, pub. 11/19/2019) and Morita, et al. (An Bras. Dermatol., 2020, 95(3):355-371) as applied to claims 1-10 and 13-19 above, and further in view of Napoletano et al. (J Immunother., 2007, 30(5):567-576).
Ankersmit and Morita disclose the limitations of claims 1-10 and 13-19 as discussed above.
Ankersmit and Morita do not disclose the use of CellGro GMP DC medium as cell growth medium.
Napoletano teaches the use of CellGro GMP DC media is able to generate reproducible and functional DC cultures- including those that stimulate lymphocyte proliferation and increase cytokine production- for use with clinical studies as compared to other cell growth media including X-vivo. (See Napoletano, abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to improve the PBMC cell culture method of Ankersmit with the teachings of Napoletano for the present claimed invention. It would have been obvious because the cell growth media used in Napoletano performed better with cell cultures being used for clinical studies in comparison with media used in the PBMC cell culture method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to improve the PBMC cell culture method of Ankersmit using the teachings of Napoletano with a reasonable expectation of success at improving cell proliferation and cytokine production in the PBMC cell cultures.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 10-17, and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10478456 (Hereinafter referred to as patent ‘456) in view of Ankersmit et al. (Hereinafter, “Ankersmit 2” WO2010/070105 A1, pub. 6/24/2010) and in further view of Morita, et al. (An Bras. Dermatol., 2020, 95(3):355-371) and in further view of Napoletano et al. (J Immunother., 2007, 30(5):567-576).
Regarding instant claim 1, patent ‘456 claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a supernatant of PBMCs subjected to ionizing radiation of at least 10 Gy before or during cultivation (claims 1 and 19-20) for at least 4 hours (claim 7).
Regarding instant claim 2, patent ‘456 claims the composition can be administered subcutaneously, intramuscularly, and intravenously (claim 5).
Regarding instant claims 3 and 8-10, patent ‘456 claims the PBMC cell culture comprises monocytes, T cells, B cells, and NK cells (claims 1 and 19-20).
Regarding instant claim 4, patent ‘456 claims the PBMC cell culture cultivated in a cell growth medium including from the selected group consisting of RPMI, DMEM, and Ultraculture (claim 3).
Regarding instant claims 5 and 13-16, patent ‘456 claims the PBMCs are subjected to ionizing radiation at a dose of at least 20 Gy, at least 30 Gy, at least 40 Gy, and at least 50 Gy (claims 10-11 and 16-17).
Regarding instant claims 6 and 17-18, patent ‘456 claims cultivating the PBMCs for at least 6 hours, at least 12 hours, and at least 24 hours (claims 12-14).
Patent ‘456 does not claim the PBMC cell culture comprising 1x105 to 1x108 PBMCs/ml and the method of treating vasculitis by administering the PBMC supernatant.
Patent ‘456 does not claim the cell growth media is CellGro GMP DC.
Ankersmit 2 discloses the use of PBMC cell culture supernatant for treating inflammatory conditions wherein the cell culture comprises 1x106 PBMCs/ml and 2.5x106 PBMCs/ml. (See Ankersmit 2, pg. 4 lines 5-8, pg. 25 line 3). Ankersmit 2 teaches that the cultivated PBMCs secrete substances like cytokines that differ from activated PBMCs and are useful in treating inflammatory conditions including ischemic conditions. Further, Ankersmit teaches the secretome of these PBMCs comprise substances supporting the treatment of similar conditions. (See Ankersmit 2, pg. 8 paragraph 3).
Ankersmit 2 does not disclose using the PBMC cell culture supernatant composition for the method of treating vasculitis by administering to a patient in need thereof.
Morita teaches that vasculitis is a large heterogenous group of diseases characterized by inflammatory reactions localized in the vascular wall and perivascular tissue. (See Morita, pg. 356 Introduction). Morita also teaches that vasculitis is associated with ischemia. (See Morita Table 3 pg. 363).
Napoletano teaches the use of CellGro DC media is able to generate reproducible and functional DC cultures- including those that stimulate lymphocyte proliferation and increase cytokine production- for clinical studies as compared to other cell growth media including X-vivo. (See Napoletano, abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the PBMC cell culture composition claimed in Patent ‘456 with the disclosure of Ankersmit 2 for the present claimed invention. It would have been obvious because Ankersmit 2 teaches a therapeutic composition for a similar use as patent ‘456. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the claimed invention of patent ‘456 with the disclosure of Ankersmit 2 with a reasonable expectation of success at improving treatment for vasculitis with the present claimed invention.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use the pharmaceutical composition of Patent ‘456 and Ankersmit 2 for treating vasculitis based on the teaching of Morita. It would have been obvious because Ankersmit 2 teaches the composition as comprising substances being useful for inflammatory conditions associated with ischemia and similar conditions and Morita teaches that vasculitis is an inflammatory condition associated with ischemia. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date to use the pharmaceutical composition of patent ‘456 and Ankersmit 2 with a reasonable expectation of success at treating vasculitis as Morita suggests for the present claimed invention.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to improve the PBMC cell culture method of Patent ‘456 with the teachings of Napoletano for the present claimed invention. It would have been obvious because the cell growth media used in Napoletano performed better with cell cultures being used for clinical studies in comparison to other media being currently used in the PBMC cell culture method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to improve the PBMC cell culture of patent ‘456 using the teachings of Napoletano with a reasonable expectation of success at improving treatment of vasculitis.
Conclusion
8. Claims 1-19 are rejected.
/LINDSAY DUNN/Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/Laura B Goddard/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642