DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/01/2024 complies with 37 CFR 1.97. Therefore, the information referred therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-19, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (US 2022/0046747).
Regarding claim 1, Da Silva discloses a method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a network, a configuration for one or more candidate Secondary Cell Groups (SCGs) and/or one or more candidate Primary SCG Cells (PSCells) ([0332], “The current serving node then configures the UE 10 with the conditional SCG addition configuration that includes the candidate SCG configurations as well as the corresponding trigger conditions, which the UE 10 may store.”); suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection ([0359], “In another variant, the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration).”); initiating an RRC resume procedure toward a target cell ([0293], “(Fourth Step) corresponding to action 606, upon receiving an RRC message such as an RRC Resume Request like message from the UE 10, the radio network node 12 may check potential candidate cells for SCG addition upon resume, and optionally preparing one or more SNs e.g. triggering a (conditional) SCG addition request.”); selecting a specific candidate SCG and/or a specific candidate PSCell related to the target cell among the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells ([0295], “i) Allow the UE 10 to perform the addition of a specific SCG on resume (e.g. indicate the SCG, e.g. the SCG ID, that the UE 10 should add if the trigger conditions for this SCG is fulfilled);”); and transmitting, to the network, information for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell ([0227], “The UE 10 indicates the chosen SCG (e.g. SCG ID) to the network such as the radio network node 12 (e.g. in RRCResumeRequest).”).
Regarding claim 2, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, applying the configuration ([0439], “In another embodiment, a single trigger condition is provided for all conditional SCG configuration, and the UE 10 selects only one SCG configuration which triggers the condition. For instance, if multiple candidate SCGs fulfil the condition, the UE 10 may select e.g.:”) for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell ([0440], “The first SCG it finds which fulfils the condition,”; [0441], “The SCG which fulfils the condition with the highest margin”; [0442], “The SCG with the highest priority which fulfils the trigger condition (e.g. the first SCG configuration in the list),”).
Regarding claim 4, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell is selected ([0150], “Embodiments herein propose methods to enable an efficient resumption or addition of SCG when the UE is transitioning from a dormant state to a connected state, or in other words from a power saving mode to a non-power saving mode. This is enabled by:”) based on measurement results performed during in an inactive state ([0151], “Configuring the UE with early measurement configuration, which the UE uses to perform measurements in dormant state”).
Regarding claim 5, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmission of the information for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell is triggered based on at least one execution condition for Conditional PSCell Change (CPC) and/or Conditional PSCell Addition (CPA) being satisfied ([0145], “As described above, the trigger condition configuration may be like an A4 event configuration as defined in reporting configuration (field reportConfig of IE ReportConfigNR). In existing network, A4 event may be configured by the network for measurement reporting i.e. when an A4 event is triggered (a neighbour cell in a frequency provided in the configuration becomes better than a configured threshold) the UE transmits a measurement reporting. In the case of conditional SCG addition, the triggering of an A4 event leads to the UE applying the stored RRCReconfiguration containing the secondary cell group configuration.”).
Regarding claim 6, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, keeping the configuration for one or more candidate SCGs and/or one or more candidate PSCells ([0151], “Configuring the UE with early measurement configuration, which the UE uses to perform measurements in dormant state [0152] Configuring the UE with (multiple) SCG configuration(s) that are stored by the UE/network while the UE is in dormant state”) upon suspending the RRC connection ([0359], “In another variant, the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration).”).
Regarding claim 7, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell includes an index corresponding to the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell ([0227], “The UE 10 indicates the chosen SCG (e.g. SCG ID) to the network such as the radio network node 12 (e.g. in RRCResumeRequest).”).
Regarding claim 8, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, considering the configuration for the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells is valid only based on the target cell being a cell included in the one or more candidate PSCells ([0297], “ii) Allow the UE 10 to perform SCG addition but provide an indication of a list of SCGs that can be added (e.g. network has prepared three SCGs, and indicates this, and UE 10 will choose the best one to add based on early measurements and trigger conditions);”).
Regarding claim 9, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration for the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells includes (i) at least one of an RRC configuration, (ii) information for Robust Header Compression (ROHC) state, (iii) information for Ethernet Header Compression protocol (EHC) context, (iv) information for Ethernet Header Compression protocol (EHC) context, (v) information for User Data Convergence (UDC) state, (vi) information for Quality of Service (QoS) flow to a data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rules, and/or (vii) information for a KgNB and/or an RRC integrity key (KRRCint) keys ([0469], “In another embodiment, the UE 10 uses a new RRC message, e.g. RRCSCGResumeRequest which could either be encrypted and/or integrity protected or un-protected. This message could also contain an identifier e.g. MN or SN specific.”).
Regarding claim 11, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration for the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells is valid while camping on a cell belonging to a valid area ([0403], “4> do not consider the carrier frequency to be applicable for idle/inactive mode measurement reporting;” [0404], “ 1> if validityArea is configured in VarMeasIdleInactiveConfig and UE 10 reselects to a serving cell whose physical cell identity does not match any entry in validityArea for the corresponding carrier frequency:”).
Regarding claim 12, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell is selected ([0439], “In another embodiment, a single trigger condition is provided for all conditional SCG configuration, and the UE 10 selects only one SCG configuration which triggers the condition. For instance, if multiple candidate SCGs fulfil the condition, the UE 10 may select e.g.:”) based on an execution condition for CPC and/or CPA for the specific candidate PSCell being satisfied ([0440], “The first SCG it finds which fulfils the condition,”; [0441], “The SCG which fulfils the condition with the highest margin”; [0442], “The SCG with the highest priority which fulfils the trigger condition (e.g. the first SCG configuration in the list),”).
Regarding claim 13, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, receiving, from the network, an RRC release message with a suspend configuration; and entering into an RRC inactive state ([0359], “In another variant, the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration).”).
Regarding claim 14, Da Silva discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device ([0218], “The UE 10 may send an RRCResumeRequest like message to the network such as the radio network node 12.”).
Regarding claim 15, Da Silva discloses a wireless device in a wireless communication system comprising: a transceiver ([0536], “The UE 10 may comprise a receiving unit 1007.”; [0537], “The UE 10 may comprise a transmitting unit 1008.”); a memory ([0538], “The UE 10 further comprises a memory 1004.”); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and adapted to ([0533], “The UE 10 may comprise processing circuitry 1001, e.g. one or more processors, configured to perform the methods herein.”): receive, from a network, a configuration for one or more candidate Secondary Cell Groups (SCGs) and/or one or more candidate Primary SCG Cells (PSCells) ([0332], “The current serving node then configures the UE 10 with the conditional SCG addition configuration that includes the candidate SCG configurations as well as the corresponding trigger conditions, which the UE 10 may store.”); suspend a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection ([0359], “In another variant, the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration).”); initiate an RRC resume procedure toward a target cell ([0293], “(Fourth Step) corresponding to action 606, upon receiving an RRC message such as an RRC Resume Request like message from the UE 10, the radio network node 12 may check potential candidate cells for SCG addition upon resume, and optionally preparing one or more SNs e.g. triggering a (conditional) SCG addition request.”); select a specific candidate SCG and/or a specific candidate PSCell related to the target cell among the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells ([0295], “i) Allow the UE 10 to perform the addition of a specific SCG on resume (e.g. indicate the SCG, e.g. the SCG ID, that the UE 10 should add if the trigger conditions for this SCG is fulfilled);”); and transmit, to the network, information for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell ([0227], “The UE 10 indicates the chosen SCG (e.g. SCG ID) to the network such as the radio network node 12 (e.g. in RRCResumeRequest).”).
Regarding claim 16, Da Silva discloses the wireless device of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, apply the configuration ([0439], “In another embodiment, a single trigger condition is provided for all conditional SCG configuration, and the UE 10 selects only one SCG configuration which triggers the condition. For instance, if multiple candidate SCGs fulfil the condition, the UE 10 may select e.g.:”) for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell ([0440], “The first SCG it finds which fulfils the condition,”; [0441], “The SCG which fulfils the condition with the highest margin”; [0442], “The SCG with the highest priority which fulfils the trigger condition (e.g. the first SCG configuration in the list),”).
Regarding claim 18, Da Silva discloses the wireless device of claim 15, wherein the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell is selected ([0150], “Embodiments herein propose methods to enable an efficient resumption or addition of SCG when the UE is transitioning from a dormant state to a connected state, or in other words from a power saving mode to a non-power saving mode. This is enabled by:”) based on measurement results performed during in an inactive state ([0151], “Configuring the UE with early measurement configuration, which the UE uses to perform measurements in dormant state”).
Regarding claim 19, Da Silva discloses the wireless device of claim 15, wherein transmission of the information for the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell is triggered based on at least one execution condition for Conditional PSCell Change (CPC) and/or Conditional PSCell Addition (CPA) being satisfied ([0145], “As described above, the trigger condition configuration may be like an A4 event configuration as defined in reporting configuration (field reportConfig of IE ReportConfigNR). In existing network, A4 event may be configured by the network for measurement reporting i.e. when an A4 event is triggered (a neighbour cell in a frequency provided in the configuration becomes better than a configured threshold) the UE transmits a measurement reporting. In the case of conditional SCG addition, the triggering of an A4 event leads to the UE applying the stored RRCReconfiguration containing the secondary cell group configuration.”).
Regarding claim 32, Da Silva discloses a base station in a wireless communication system comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and adapted to ([0540], “FIG. 11 is a block diagram depicting the radio network node 12 for handling communication according to embodiments herein.”): transmit, to a wireless device, a configuration for one or more candidate Secondary Cell Groups (SCGs) and/or one or more candidate Primary SCG Cells (PSCells) ([0332], “The current serving node then configures the UE 10 with the conditional SCG addition configuration that includes the candidate SCG configurations as well as the corresponding trigger conditions, which the UE 10 may store.”); transmit, to the wireless device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection release message including a suspend configuration ([0359], “In another variant, the UE 10 receives that in an RRC Release like message when the UE 10 transitions to IDLE or INACTIVE state (e.g. message contains a suspend configuration).”); perform an RRC resume procedure for a target cell with the wireless device ([0293], “(Fourth Step) corresponding to action 606, upon receiving an RRC message such as an RRC Resume Request like message from the UE 10, the radio network node 12 may check potential candidate cells for SCG addition upon resume, and optionally preparing one or more SNs e.g. triggering a (conditional) SCG addition request.”); and receive, from the wireless device, information for a specific candidate SCG and/or a specific candidate PSCell ([0295], “i) Allow the UE 10 to perform the addition of a specific SCG on resume (e.g. indicate the SCG, e.g. the SCG ID, that the UE 10 should add if the trigger conditions for this SCG is fulfilled);”), wherein the specific candidate SCG and/or the specific candidate PSCell related to the target cell is selected by the wireless device among the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells ([0227], “The UE 10 indicates the chosen SCG (e.g. SCG ID) to the network such as the radio network node 12 (e.g. in RRCResumeRequest).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al. (US 2022/0046747) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2024/0032135).
Regarding claim 3, Da Silva does not disclose the skipping of applying a configuration that was previously stored. Cheng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises, skipping applying a configuration for a last SCG and/or a last PSCell stored during in an RRC connected state ([0132], “Based on this limitation, first base station 105-a may include an additional SCG measurement configuration IE when transmitting the release message to transition to RRC connected state 215. UE 115-a may measure one or more cells associated with second base station 105-b (e.g., SN) based on the SCG measurement configuration.”; “The assistance information may indicate to base station 105-a whether to apply a stored, previously used lower-layer SCG configuration or a suggested PSCell identifier for second base station 105-b for subsequent communications.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Da Silva in view of Cheng to have the skipping of applying a configuration that was previously stored. The motivation would have been to efficiently re-establish communications (e.g., Cheng [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Da Silva does not disclose the LTM configuration. Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration for the one or more candidate SCGs and/or the one or more candidate PSCells is a configuration for a Lower-layer Triggered Mobility (LTM) ([0546], “The purpose of the RRC reconfiguration procedure is to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/release RBs/BH RLC channels/Uu Relay RLC channels/PC5 Relay RLC channels, to perform reconfiguration with sync, to setup/modify/release measurements, to add/modify/release SCells and cell groups, to add/modify/release conditional handover configuration, to add/modify/release conditional PSCell change or conditional PSCell addition configuration, to add/modify/release LTM candidate cells.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Da Silva in view of Guo to have the LTM configuration. The motivation would have been to reduce latency (e.g., Guo [0396]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al. (US 2022/0046747) in view of Guo et al. (US 2023/0388871).
Regarding claim 17, Da Silva does not disclose the skipping of applying a configuration that was previously stored. Cheng discloses the wireless device of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, skip applying a configuration for a last SCG and/or a last PSCell stored during in an RRC connected state ([0132], “Based on this limitation, first base station 105-a may include an additional SCG measurement configuration IE when transmitting the release message to transition to RRC connected state 215. UE 115-a may measure one or more cells associated with second base station 105-b (e.g., SN) based on the SCG measurement configuration.”; “The assistance information may indicate to base station 105-a whether to apply a stored, previously used lower-layer SCG configuration or a suggested PSCell identifier for second base station 105-b for subsequent communications.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Da Silva in view of Cheng to have the skipping of applying a configuration that was previously stored. The motivation would have been to efficiently re-establish communications (e.g., Cheng [0063]).
Conclusion
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479