DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 112037631 A).
Referring to claim 1, Li discloses comprising: a corolla (3) extending in a reference plane perpendicular to an axis and configured to simulate the feel of a vaginal wall (Figure 1), and a member (cervix model 4) configured to simulate the tactile sensation of a cervix (paragraph 8), the corolla extending radially on the outside of the member with respect to the axis (Figure 1), the member being mounted movably with respect to the corolla along the axis, such that the member is configured to move in translation along the axis (Figure 1, paragraph 8 and 12 and step 5) between: a reference configuration, in which the member extends entirely toward the outside of the apparatus starting from the reference plane (Figure 1); an effaced configuration, in which the member extends entirely toward the inside of the apparatus starting from the reference plane (Figure 1, paragraphs 8 & 12 and step 5).
Referring to claim 2, Li discloses wherein the member (5) is configured to move in translation along the axis (X) between intermediate configurations, where the member (5) positions between a reference position of the member (5) in the reference
configuration and an effaced position of the member (5) in the effaced configuration (Figure 1, paragraphs 8 & 12 & step 5).
Referring to claim 3, Li discloses wherein the member and the corolla constitute two distinct parts configured to come in contact (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 4, Li discloses wherein the member and the corolla constitute a monobloc part (paragraph 0008).
Referring to claim 5, Li discloses wherein the member and the corolla are flexible (paragraph 0010).
Referring to claim 6, Li discloses comprising an intermediate part in connection with the member and with the corolla, wherein the intermediate part is configured to rotate around a direction parallel to the axis in respect to the member and to the corolla, the intermediate part comprising a thread configured to drive the member in translation along the axis X in respect to the corolla (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 7, Li discloses wherein the member and the corolla constitute a monobloc part, and wherein the intermediate part is configured to deform by traction the monobloc part and to move the member in the apparatus from a reference
position of the member in the reference configuration to an effaced position of the
member in the effaced configuration, and to move the member toward the outside of the apparatus from the effaced position to the reference position (paragraph 0008).
Referring to claim 8, Li discloses wherein the intermediate part moves in a helix movement and is in contact with a stand, this stand being fixed to the member to make it follow the translation movement of the intermediate part without following its
rotational movement (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 9, Li discloses comprising a cylinder-shaped body defined by the axis (X), the body extending along the axis (X) from an edge of the body, the body delimiting a cavity that opens through the edge, the edge extending in the reference plane (P), the corolla being rigidly linked to the edge (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 10, Li discloses wherein the body has an internal face that defines the cavity, the internal face being threaded, the intermediate part being cylinder-shaped defined by the axis (x), the thread of the intermediate part being a threaded external wall of the intermediate part, the threaded external wall being configured to cooperate with the threaded internal face as a screw/sleeve combination, the apparatus further
comprising a stand connected to the intermediate part as a pivot link around
the axis (X), the stand being rigidly linked to the member (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 11, Li discloses wherein the intermediate part (19) is a threaded rod, the thread of the intermediate part being an external wall of the threaded rod, the apparatus comprising a driving part that defines a threaded hole, the threaded rod being configured to cooperate with the threaded hole of the driving part as a screw/sleeve combination, the apparatus defining a groove that extends along the axis (X), the groove being fixed with respect to the corolla, the driving part being positioned at
least partly in the groove in order to prevent a rotation of the driving part around the axis (X) with respect to the body, the driving part being rigidly linked to the member (paragraphs 0008 & 0010).
Referring to claim 12, Li discloses claim 1, wherein the member and the corolla are made of silicon (paragraph 0008).
Referring to claim 13, Li discloses comprising a device configured to simulate the feel of a vagina, the device comprising a cavity configured to receive the apparatus, the device and the apparatus being configured to be rigidly linked together (Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 14, Li discloses the apparatus being configured to simulate different configurations of cervical effacement, the member being configured to simulate the feel of a cervix, the movement being relative to a corolla of the apparatus, the corolla being configured to simulate the feel of a vaginal wall, the corolla extending in a reference plane (P) perpendicular to the axis (X), the corolla extending radially on the outside of the member with respect to the axis (X), the movement moving the member from a reference configuration, where the member adopts a reference position, where the member fully extends to the outside of the apparatus from the reference plane (P), to an effaced configuration, where the member adopts an effaced position, where the member fully extends to the inside of the apparatus from the reference plane (Fig.1).
Referring to claim 15, Li discloses wherein the movement moves the member through intermediate configurations, where the member adopts a position between the reference position and the effaced position, the member being able to adopt positions between these two positions (paragraph 0008 & 0010).
Referring to claim 16, Li discloses further comprising: a step of touch recognition of the reference configuration, and/or a step of touch recognition of the effaced configuration, and/or a step of touch recognition of at least an intermediate configuration (paragraphs 0008 & 0010).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715