DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2024, 05/28/2026 and 07/07/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…and/or a first weekday wherein the second time…”. It is suggested to add a comma in front of “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 20, 23 and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 17 and 23, the limitation “in the case of the elevator use specified in the elevator usage rule” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is referring “a first time specification for an elevator use” or “a building door-specific elevator use”.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “wherein the memory device is configured to store the assignment to the one building door of the plurality of building doors for each door signal, to store an individual elevator usage rule, for each of the one building door of the plurality of building doors, and wherein the control and interface device is configured to determine the one building door of the plurality of building doors and the elevator usage rule for a received door signal” renders the claim indefinite because:
Unclear how a memory store the assignment to the door;
Scope of the limitation is unclear with multiple comma in the limitation: “the memory device is configured to store the assignment to the one building door of the plurality of building doors for each door signal, to store an individual elevator usage rule, for each of the one building door of the plurality of building doors,…” For examination purpose, the limitation is broadly interpreted as “the memory device is configured to store all the assignment as associated with each of the plurality of door signals”.
Regarding claims 20 and 27, the limitation regarding “displays an opening and/or a closing of the building door” renders the claim indefinite. Recited limitation fails to clearly define a display device and/or which recited limitations of the claimed limitation perform the claimed function of “display”.
Regarding claim 28, the limitation “a registration of the elevator call is omitted in the alternative building use” renders the claim indefinite because the function of “registration” recited in the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-19 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gerstenkorn et al. (US 2014/0014442 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Gerstenkorn discloses an elevator system and a method for operating the elevator system, comprising:
an elevator controller (e.g. Fig. 1: 4);
an elevator car (e.g. Fig. 1: 7);
elevator operating devices (e.g. Figs. 1-8: 91, 91’, 9;”) communicatively coupled to the elevator controller by a communication network (e.g. [0043-0046]),
wherein the elevator controller is configured to receive a door signal via the communication network, which indicates that a building door of a building is opening and/or closing (e.g. [0047]); and
a control and interface device (e.g. Figs. 1-8: 9, 9’, 9”) communicatively coupled to the elevator controller comprising:
a communication device (e.g. [0050]: transmitting unit and receiving unit of recognition device 90) which is configured to be coupled to an external communication network (e.g. Fig. 8: communication network between mobile input device 10 and terminal 9) in order to exchange data with a communication apparatus of a person using the building (e.g. Fig. 8: 10 & [0050]),
wherein the data comprise an elevator usage rule set by the person (e.g. [0050-0051]: user recognition signal with a predefined destination call stored in the user data memory),
wherein the control and interface device is configured to store the elevator usage rule in a memory device (e.g. [0050-0051]: user data memory) and, upon receipt of the door signal, to generate a control signal corresponding to the elevator usage rule (e.g. [0013-0017, 0051]), and
wherein the elevator controller is configured to operate the elevator system according to the control signal (e.g. [0013-0017, 0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Gerstenkorn discloses the memory device is configured to store a plurality of elevator usage rules for the person (e.g. [0007-0019]: a predefined destination call stored for a start floor implies plurality of destination call can be stored for different start floor, e.g. if start floor is home floor 10th, destination floor can be ground floor, and destination call can be 10th floor if start floor is ground floor).
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Gerstenkorn discloses the elevator usage rule comprises at least one of:
a first time specification for an elevator use (e.g. [0019]: from start floor 10th to ground floor);
a second time specification for an alternative building use (e.g. [0019]: temporarily change the destination floor);
an initiation of communication with the person with or without a time specification (e.g. [0015]: recognition signal); or
a building door-specific elevator use (e.g. [0019, 0047]: 10th floor to ground floor, start floor trigger by door open signal),
wherein, in the case of the elevator use specified in the elevator usage rule, the elevator controller is configured to register and operate an elevator call (e.g. [0019]: call elevator to start floor and set destination as the predefined destination call),
wherein the elevator call indicates a direction of travel and/or a destination floor (e.g. [0019]), and
wherein the first time specification comprises a first time, a first time period, and/or a first weekday (e.g. [0019]: broadly interpreted “first time” as all the time until user changes the destination floor)
wherein the second time specification comprises at least one of a second time, a second time period, or a second weekday (e.g. [0019]: broadly interpreted “second time” as all the time until user changes the destination floor).
Regarding claims 18 and 24, Gerstenkorn discloses the control and interface device is configured to determine a location of the building door based on the door signal and to determine a boarding floor based on the location (e.g. [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, Gerstenkorn discloses the communication device is configured to exchange the data with a radio signal or a wired data signal (e.g. [0043-0046]).
Regarding claims 21 and 25, Gerstenkorn discloses the elevator controller (e.g. Figs. 1-2: 4) is configured to receive an identification signal (e.g. [0050]: identification code) from a detection device (e.g. Figs. 1-2: 90) that is associated with the building door (e.g. Fig. 1: 2), and to check it for validity, wherein the identification signal is generated if the person has a proof of authorization at the building door (e.g. [0051]: identify user from user data memory), and wherein the elevator controller is configured to transmit the door signal originating from the building door to the control and interface device when the identification signal is valid (e.g. [0054]: after user is identified, actuate a predefined destination call for the elevator).
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Gerstenkorn discloses the memory device is configured to store the elevator usage rule together with a personal ID in a personal profile, wherein the identification signal comprises the personal ID, wherein the elevator controller is configured to transmit a transmission of the personal ID to the control and interface device, and wherein the control and interface device is configured to determine, based on the transmission of the personal ID, the elevator usage rule which is stored in the personal profile associated with the personal ID (e.g. [0051]: recognition signal with identification code of the user).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 27-29 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstenkorn et al. (US 2014/0014442 A1) in view of Finschi (CN 101137566 A) (hereinafter rejection rely on provided equivalent English machine translation).
Regarding claim 27, Gerstenkorn discloses a method for operating the elevator system of claim 15 in the building, comprising:
receiving the door signal transmitted from the elevator controller with the control and interface device of the elevator system, wherein the door signal is received by the elevator controller via the communication network; determining the elevator usage rule with the control and interface device in response to the door signal received, wherein the elevator usage rule is stored in the memory device; generating the control signal with the control and interface device, wherein the control signal is generated based on the elevator usage rule determined; transmitting the control signal to the elevator controller with the control and interface device; and operating the elevator system controlled by the elevator controller according to the control signal (see rejection of claim 15).
Gerstenkorn fails to disclose, but Finschi teaches displays an opening and/or a closing of the building door for the person (e.g. p. 3-6: display allowable opening and/or closing of the building door for user).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Gerstenkorn with the teachings of Finschi to display opening or closing of a building door to direct user to accessible door to the elevator and/or to the building from the elevator to prevent unauthorized access of the elevator and/or the building.
Regarding claim 20, Gerstenkorn discloses the elevator controller is configured to receive a plurality of door signals, wherein each door signal is fixedly associated as an assignment with one building door of a plurality of building doors (e.g. [0047]: plurality of door signals correspond to each floor)
wherein the memory device is configured to store the assignment to the one building door of the plurality of building doors for each door signal, to store an individual elevator usage rule, for each of the one building door of the plurality of building doors, and wherein the control and interface device is configured to determine the one building door of the plurality of building doors and the elevator usage rule for a received door signal (e.g. [0013-0016]: predefined destination call is stored for a start floor, and start floor is determined by door signal; thus, door signal of each floor associated with start floor and predefined destination call for each floor).
Gerstenkorn fails to disclose, but Finschi teaches displays an opening and/or a closing of the building door for the person (e.g. p. 3-6: display allowable opening and/or closing of the building door for user).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Gerstenkorn with the teachings of Finschi to display opening or closing of a building door to direct user to accessible door to the elevator and/or to the building from the elevator to prevent unauthorized access of the elevator and/or the building.
Regarding claim 28, Gerstenkorn discloses the elevator usage rule comprises at least one of: a first time specification for an elevator use by the person (e.g. [0019]: from start floor 10th to ground floor); a second time specification for an alternative building use by the person (e.g. [0019]: temporarily change the destination floor); an initiation of communication with the person with or without the first time specification and/or the second time specification (e.g. [0015]: recognition signal); or a building door-specific elevator use (e.g. [0019, 0047]: 10th floor to ground floor, start floor trigger by door open signal), wherein, when the elevator car is used as specified in the elevator usage rule, an elevator call is registered and operated by the elevator controller , wherein the elevator call indicates a direction of travel and/or a destination floor (e.g. [0019]: call elevator to start floor and set destination as the predefined destination call), wherein a location of the building door is determined on the basis of the door signal (e.g. [0047]), and wherein an entry floor is determined on the basis of the location (e.g. [0047]), and wherein a registration of the elevator call is omitted in the alternative building use (e.g. [0055]).
Regarding claim 29, Gerstenkorn discloses generating the control signal according to the first time specification and respective operation of the elevator system, wherein the first time specification comprises at least one of a time of day, a time period, or a weekday (e.g. [0019]: broadly interpreted “first time” as all the time until user changes the destination floor).
Regarding claim 31, Gerstenkorn discloses the elevator controller (e.g. Figs. 1-2: 4) is configured to receive an identification signal (e.g. [0050]: identification code) from a detection device (e.g. Figs. 1-2: 90) that is associated with the building door (e.g. Fig. 1: 2), and to check it for validity, wherein the identification signal is generated if the person has a proof of authorization at the building door (e.g. [0051]: identify user from user data memory), and wherein the elevator controller is configured to transmit the door signal originating from the building door to the control and interface device when the identification signal is valid (e.g. [0054]: after user is identified, actuate a predefined destination call for the elevator).
Regarding claim 32, Gerstenkorn discloses the memory device is configured to store the elevator usage rule together with a personal ID in a personal profile, wherein the identification signal comprises the personal ID, wherein the elevator controller is configured to transmit a transmission of the personal ID to the control and interface device, and wherein the control and interface device is configured to determine, based on the transmission of the personal ID, the elevator usage rule which is stored in the personal profile associated with the personal ID (e.g. [0051]: recognition signal with identification code of the user).
Regarding claim 33, Gerstenkorn discloses generating the control signal according to the second time specification and respective operation of the elevator system, wherein the second time specification comprises at least one of a time of day, a time period or a weekday (e.g. [0019]: broadly interpreted “second time” as all the time until user changes the destination floor).
Claim(s) 30 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerstenkorn et al. (US 2014/0014442 A1) in view of Finschi (CN 101137566 A) as applied to claims 28-29 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2019/0193988 A1).
Regarding claims 30 and 34, Gerstenkorn fails to disclose, but Huang teaches the initiation of communication with the person comprises sending a request message from the communication device of the elevator system to the communication apparatus of the person (e.g. Fig. 4: S510 & [0061]) via the external communication network (e.g. Fig. 3: 123 & [0039]), wherein a response signal sent by the communication apparatus of the person is received by the communication device of the elevator system via the external communication network (e.g. Fig. 4: S520-S550).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Gerstenkorn with the teachings of Huang to wak-up mobile terminal when it approaches the elevator so as to save power for the mobile terminal and improve efficiency of the elevator call control for the elevator system.
Conclusion
/KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837