DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on the preliminary amendment filed on June 7, 2024.
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 15-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 18, and 23 recite, in line 4, the limitation “the first card.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner subsequently interprets the limitation as – a first card – in Claims 5, 18, and 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 7,921,353 (hereinafter “Murray”).
As per Claim 1, Murray discloses:
A page processing method (abstract, “A method and system for dynamically loading content to a portion of a native global page on a client at runtime includes receiving a request at the client for the content for the portion of the native global page.”), comprising:
receiving a page display request (abstract, “A method and system for dynamically loading content to a portion of a native global page on a client at runtime includes receiving a request at the client for the content for the portion of the native global page (emphasis added).”);
loading a page resource of a target page in response to the page display request, wherein the page resource comprises page logic from a server, and the target page is a native page (abstract, “A method and system for dynamically loading content to a portion of a native global page on a client at runtime includes receiving a request at the client for the content for the portion of the native global page. The request identifies the portion of the native global page requesting the content and a type of resource required from a server. The request, identifying a server side resource to service the request, is forwarded from the client to the server. In response to the request, the client receives the identified server side resource that includes a plurality of components […] a first set of components are selected from the received plurality of components and injected [loaded] into a region for the portion of the native global page. A second set of components are selected from the received plurality of components and integrated [loaded] into the native global page, such that the integrated components when executed are executed in the global scope of the native global page (emphasis added).”; col. 4 lines 45-48 & lines 58-64, “Each of the contents includes a plurality of components associated with it such as HTML code, cascading style sheets and JavaScript code [page logic] […] The server 200 returns a plurality of components in the form of HTMLs, CSSs, and JavaScripts in response to the request. The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101 (emphasis added).”); and
displaying the target page based on the page resource (col. 4 lines 60-64, “The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101 (emphasis added).”).
Murray is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding loading and displaying pages.
As per Claim 11, Murray discloses:
An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores computer-executable instructions; and the at least one processor executes the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory, to cause the at least one processor to perform the following page processing operations: […] (col. 12 lines 31-35 & lines 59-67 to col. 13 lines 1-2, “The invention may be practiced with other computer system configurations including hand-held devices, microprocessor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, minicomputers, mainframe computers and the like […] The invention can also be embodied as computer readable code on a computer readable medium. The computer readable medium is any data storage device that can store data, which can thereafter be read by a computer system. Examples of the computer readable medium include hard drives, network attached storage (NAS), read-only memory, random-access memory, CD-ROMs, CD-Rs, CD-RWs, magnetic tapes, and other optical and non-optical data storage devices. The computer readable medium can also be distributed over a network coupled computer systems so that the computer readable code is stored and executed in a distributed fashion.”).
Claim 11 is an electronic device claim corresponding to method 1 and the remainder of Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per Claim 12, Murray discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the following page processing operations to be implemented: […] (col. 12 lines 31-35 & lines 59-67 to col. 13 lines 1-2, “The invention may be practiced with other computer system configurations including hand-held devices, microprocessor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, minicomputers, mainframe computers and the like […] The invention can also be embodied as computer readable code on a computer readable medium. The computer readable medium is any data storage device that can store data, which can thereafter be read by a computer system. Examples of the computer readable medium include hard drives, network attached storage (NAS), read-only memory, random-access memory, CD-ROMs, CD-Rs, CD-RWs, magnetic tapes, and other optical and non-optical data storage devices. The computer readable medium can also be distributed over a network coupled computer systems so that the computer readable code is stored and executed in a distributed fashion.”).
Claim 12 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to method 1 and the remainder of Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray as applied to Claims 1, 11, and 12 above, and further in view of US 2018/0276308 (hereinafter “Lei”).
As per Claim 2, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and Murray discloses “the loading a page resource of a target page in response to the page display request comprises: in response to the page display request, […] sending a resource obtaining request to the server (col. 2 lines 18-23, “The method includes receiving a request at the client for a content associated with the portion of the native global page. The request identifies the portion of the native global page requesting the content and a type of resource required from a server. The request is forwarded from the client to the server (emphasis added).”; col. 4 lines 53-60, “Referring to FIG. 1, A, B and C represent regions within the webpage 101. The contents of A and B are not loaded when the initial native webpage is rendered. When the content of A and/or B need(s) to be updated or loaded, a request for appropriate resource is sent from the client 100 to a server 200 asynchronously. The server 200 returns a plurality of components in the form of HTMLs, CSSs, and JavaScripts in response to the request (emphasis added).”); and receiving the page logic returned by the server (col. 4 lines 53-60, “Referring to FIG. 1, A, B and C represent regions within the webpage 101. The contents of A and B are not loaded when the initial native webpage is rendered. When the content of A and/or B need(s) to be updated or loaded, a request for appropriate resource is sent from the client 100 to a server 200 asynchronously. The server 200 returns a plurality of components in the form of HTMLs, CSSs, and JavaScripts in response to the request (emphasis added).”),” but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the page resource further comprises a page framework of the target page, and
the loading a page resource of a target page in response to the page display request comprises: in response to the page display request, obtaining the page framework of the target page locally and sending a resource obtaining request to the server.
However, Lei discloses:
wherein the page resource further comprises a page framework of the target page (abstract, “[...] the server rendering a page framework on the basis of the page framework request, and sending the page framework to the browser by the Content Delivery Network [...].”), and
in response to the [request], obtaining the page framework of the target page locally (abstract, “[...] the server rendering a page framework on the basis of the page framework request, and sending the page framework to the browser by the Content Delivery Network [...].”; paragraph [0026], “the Internet server receiving the rendered page framework, caching the rendered page framework in a memory, and sending the rendered page framework to the browser by means of the Content Delivery Network (emphasis added).”).
Lei is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding obtaining page frameworks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lei into the teaching of Murray to include “wherein the page resource further comprises a page framework of the target page, and the loading a page resource of a target page in response to the page display request comprises: in response to the page display request, obtaining the page framework of the target page locally and sending a resource obtaining request to the server.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to asynchronously render a page framework to be used in forming/loading a page in order to reduce the page loading rate (Lei, abstract & paragraphs [0014 & 0020]).
Claim 15 is an electronic device claim corresponding to method Claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of that claim.
Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to method Claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of that claim.
Claims 3, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray as applied to Claims 1, 11, and 12 above, and further in view of CN 110457038A (Provided by Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter “Chen”).
As per Claim 3, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated; and Murray does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the page resource comprises a card resource of a target card, and the card resource of the target card comprises only the page logic.
However, Chen discloses:
wherein the page resource comprises a card resource of a target card, and the card resource of the target card comprises only the page logic (paragraph [0060], “The card rendering component is specifically used to perform rendering operations on the result items of the auxiliary application, while the card control logic component is specifically used to implement the logic control in the card generation process of the auxiliary application. This separates the logic layer and view layer of the host client of the mini program, so that mini program developers cannot disrupt the browsing experience of the resource result page of the host client (emphasis added).”).
Chen is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding displaying pages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chen into the teaching of Murray to include “wherein the page resource comprises a card resource of a target card, and the card resource of the target card comprises only the page logic.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize a card control logic component that consists of page logic in order to effectively separate the logic layer and view layer of a program so that program develops don’t disrupt the browsing experience of the host client (Chen, paragraph [0060]).
Claim 16 is an electronic device claim corresponding to method Claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of that claim.
Claim 21 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to method Claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of that claim.
Claims 4-5, 17-18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Chen as applied to Claims 3, 16, and 21 above, and further in view of CN 111459580A (hereinafter “Wang 01”).
As per Claim 4, the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated; and Murray discloses “displaying the target page based on the page resource (col. 4 lines 60-64, “The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101 (emphasis added).”),” but the combination of Murray and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display position of the target card is at the top of the target page; and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card at the top of the target page.
However, Wang 01 discloses:
wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display position of the target card is at the top of the target page (paragraph [0037], “The page data involved in this step can be sent from the server to the client, and the content included in the page data can be determined according to business requirements. Optionally, the page data may include at least one of the following: component display method, component display order, component identifier, and data corresponding to the component identifier. The component display method can include, but is not limited to, horizontal and vertical arrangement […] "cmptDirection=1" indicates that the corresponding component on the page is displayed vertically (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0038], “Optionally, the page data can be in JSON or XML format. For example, the following explanation uses JSON format as an example to illustrate page data. The received page data is: {"cmptOrder": ["cmptId1", "cmptId2", "cmptId3",..... //The unique component identifier id for other components], "cmptDirection": "1", "data": [{"cmptId": "cmptId1", "data":"xxxx",..... //And other component-related data}, {"cmptId": "cmptId2", "data":"xxxx",..... //And other component-related data}, {"cmptId": "cmptId3", "data":"xxxx",..... //And other auxiliary data of components},..... //Data from other components, etc.] […] (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0041], “For example, the content of the pageConfig file is: "cmptOrder": ["cmptId1","cmptId2","cmptId3"]. Among them, cmptOrder represents the display order of the components; cmptId represents the component identifier. This document shows that component 1 is ordered before component 2, and component 2 is ordered before component 3 (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0047], “Specifically, a component is the basic unit that makes up a page, and a page is composed of multiple components.”) [Examiner’s Remarks: Note that Wang 01 discloses page data sent from a server that contains a display order of components on a page and a horizontal or vertical arrangement of the components where a “cmptDirection” value of 1 means that the component is displayed vertically. Wang 01 discloses an example of received page data indicating cmptId1 as the first displayed component and a cmptDirection value of 1 indicating a vertical arrangement of the components. Wang 01 also discloses that a page is made up of components. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily comprehend that cmptId1 is displayed at the top of the page since it’s the first component in the display order, the components are configured to be displayed in a vertical arrangement, and a page is made up of components.]; and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card at the top of the target page (paragraph [0053], “The page is displayed based on the display method parsed from the page data.”).
Wang 01 is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding displaying pages based on a display order.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang 01 into the combined teachings of Murray and Chen to include “wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display position of the target card is at the top of the target page; and the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card at the top of the target page.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to receive page data from a server whenever there’s a need to display a page in order to make applications more flexible and effectively personalize page displays by providing a modifiable display order of page components that can display a component that should be viewed before other components at the top of the page (Wang 01, paragraphs [0037-0039]).
As per Claim 5, the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated; and Murray discloses “displaying the target page based on the page resource (col. 4 lines 60-64, “The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101 (emphasis added).”),” but the combination of Murray and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the target page comprises a plurality of cards, the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, the configuration file comprises a display order of the plurality of cards, and the target card is the first card in the plurality of cards in the display order; and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the plurality of cards on the target page according to the display order of the plurality of cards.
However, Wang 01 discloses:
wherein the target page comprises a plurality of cards (paragraph [0047], “Specifically, a component is the basic unit that makes up a page, and a page is composed of multiple components.”), the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, the configuration file comprises a display order of the plurality of cards, and the target card is the first card in the plurality of cards in the display order (paragraph [0037], “The page data involved in this step can be sent from the server to the client, and the content included in the page data can be determined according to business requirements. Optionally, the page data may include at least one of the following: component display method, component display order, component identifier, and data corresponding to the component identifier […] The display order of components can be represented as an array in the page data. This array contains component identifiers for multiple components, and these component identifiers are ordered (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0038], “Optionally, the page data can be in JSON or XML format. For example, the following explanation uses JSON format as an example to illustrate page data. The received page data is: {"cmptOrder":["cmptId1","cmptId2","cmptId3",..... //The unique component identifier id for other components], "cmptDirection": "1", "data":[{"cmptId":"cmptId1","data":"xxxx",..... //And other component-related data} […].”); and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the plurality of cards on the target page according to the display order of the plurality of cards (paragraph [0053], “The page is displayed based on the display method parsed from the page data.”; paragraph [0044], “In order to ensure that the page can be displayed correctly, at least one of the following two methods should be used to determine the component display order. The first method involves parsing the page data to determine the display order of the corresponding components on the page; the parsed component display order is set by the server based on the page data. The parsed component display order is determined as the component display order of the page.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang 01 into the combined teachings of Murray and Chen to include “wherein the target page comprises a plurality of cards, the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, the configuration file comprises a display order of the plurality of cards, and the target card is the first card in the plurality of cards in the display order; and the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the plurality of cards on the target page according to the display order of the plurality of cards.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to receive page data from a server whenever there’s a need to display a page in order to make applications more flexible and effectively personalize page displays by providing a modifiable display order of page components (Wang 01, paragraphs [0037-0039]).
Claims 17 and 18 are electronic device claims corresponding to method Claims 4 and 5 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of those claims.
Claims 22 and 23 are non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims corresponding to method Claims 4 and 5 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of those claims.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Chen as applied to Claims 3 and 16 above, and further in view of CN 110841285A (hereinafter “Liang”).
As per Claim 6, the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated; and Murray discloses “displaying the target page based on the page resource (col. 4 lines 60-64, “The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101 (emphasis added).”),” but the combination of Murray and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display position of the target card is a fixed position on a display screen; and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card at the fixed position on the display screen where the target page is located.
However, Liang discloses:
wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display position of the target card is a fixed position on a display screen (Figure 3; paragraph [0004], “Game interfaces often include a large number of visual resources, such as button icons and status display icons. When the game interface loads, it is necessary to obtain the performance information of each resource from the resource configuration table, including the position coordinates and transparency of each resource, and display each resource in the game interface based on the obtained performance information (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0055], “The configuration file is a target file type, which can be set by the developer [...] In one possible implementation, the configuration information may include at least one of the following: interface element position coordinates, interface element display type, displacement reference point, transparency, and rotation angle [...] For example, if the displacement reference point of the second fire button is set to "ButtonRight", that is, the bottom and right side, and the position coordinates are set to (-100, -110), then the position of the second fire button is at the position that is offset from the bottom and right side of the target interface, with both the X-axis and Y-axis coordinates being 1 (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0057], “Before loading the configuration file, the computer device needs to determine whether the content of the configuration file has been updated, that is, whether the version of the configuration file stored locally on the computer device is the same as the version of the configuration file stored on the server.”); and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card at the fixed position on the display screen where the target page is located (paragraphs [0058-0059], “The computer device displays the at least one interface element on the target interface based on the configuration information corresponding to the at least one resource identifier. The computer device can display at least one interface element based on the configuration information obtained from the code file and configuration file of the target interface (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0055], “In one possible implementation, the configuration information may include at least one of the following: interface element position coordinates […] (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0064], “In this embodiment of the application, each element in the target interface, whether it is a page function button, a user operation button, or an information display element, must correspond to a separate resource file when it is created, such as a static image file or an animated image file. Each element must support setting its display position, size, etc. When the display content in the target interface is divided into multiple independent interface elements, configuration information can be added to each interface element in the configuration file. The interface is reserved in the code file of the target page. When the target interface is displayed, the configuration information of each interface element can be read through the interface.”).
Liang is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding displaying elements at a fixed position on a screen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liang into the combined teachings of Murray and Chen to include “wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display position of the target card is a fixed position on a display screen; and the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card at the fixed position on the display screen where the target page is located.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize a configuration file to set a fixed display position of UI elements in order to effectively allow developers to customize the position of UI elements to appear in a desired location and make it easier to modify/manage the display status of these elements within a single configuration file (Liang, paragraphs [0055-0056]).
Claim 19 is an electronic device claim corresponding to method Claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of that claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Chen as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of WO 2021212922 (hereinafter “Wang 02”).
As per Claim 7, the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated; and Murray discloses “displaying the target page based on the page resource (col. 4 lines 60-64, “The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101 (emphasis added).”)” and “server (Figure 1; col. 2 lines 22-25, “The request is forwarded from the client to the server. In response to the request, the client receives the identified server side resource that includes a plurality of components.”),” but the combination of Murray and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display mode of the target card is a floating layer mode; and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card as a floating layer on the target page.
However, Wang 02 discloses:
wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the [device], and in the configuration file, a display mode of the target card is a floating layer mode (paragraph [1498], “For example, application developers can predefine which elements in the application are pop-up elements and store the corresponding configuration files on the phone (emphasis added).”; paragraph [1506], “The application developer predefines elements 3, 4 and 5 in the application window 12401 as small window elements [floating elements], and the corresponding configuration files are stored in the mobile phone (emphasis added).”; paragraph [0085], “[…] after determining that the user's drag intention is not a cross-device drag, the first terminal displays a first floating element on the display screen of the first terminal, the content of the first floating element being the same as the content of the first element (emphasis added).”); and
the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card as a floating layer on the target page (paragraph [1511], “Understandably, a mobile phone can extract one or more small window elements from the application window's interface based on configuration files or recommendation models. Afterwards, the phone can display the extracted one or more small window elements on the phone screen as dynamic small windows [floating elements] (emphasis added).”).
Wang 02 is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding displaying floating elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang 02 into the combined teachings of Murray and Chen to include “wherein the page resource further comprises a configuration file from the server, and in the configuration file, a display mode of the target card is a floating layer mode; and the displaying the target page based on the page resource comprises: displaying the target card as a floating layer on the target page.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to define UI elements that support floating and displaying them as floating elements when triggered by a user action in order to improve user experience by keeping the floating element displayed regardless of whether the user switches pages as well as allow users to easily drag floating elements to send to a friend which improves interaction efficiency (Wang 02, paragraphs [0085, 0089, & 1621]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Chen as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of US 2008/0238922 (hereinafter “Rhodes”).
As per Claim 8, the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated; and Murray discloses “the target card (col. 4 lines 60-64, “The plurality of components are then identified, loaded, associated with the appropriate region of the webpage 101, evaluated and executed so that the contents may be rendered in the appropriate region of the webpage 101.”),” but the combination of Murray and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a size of the target card on the target page is smaller than a preset size threshold.
However, Rhodes discloses:
wherein a size of the [graphical object] on the target page is smaller than a preset size threshold (paragraph [0103], “Further, displayed graphical objects that are very small in size may become difficult to select using an input device such as a mouse. Due to this, a size limit or threshold may be set for performing selection tasks. If a graphical object representing an element in a collection that is being rendered is smaller than a threshold size (e.g., a threshold width or height) then the graphical object is not considered available for selection.”).
Rhodes is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding determining a size of a page component is smaller than a threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rhodes into the combined teachings of Murray and Chen to include “wherein a size of the target card on the target page is smaller than a preset size threshold.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to determine whether a component’s size is smaller than a preset threshold in order to effectively take an appropriate action such as not having the component available for selection when the component is too difficult to select due to its small size (Rhodes, paragraph [0103]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Chen as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of US 11,102,316 (hereinafter “Khoo”).
As per Claim 9, the rejection of Claim 3 is incorporated; and the combination of Murray and Chen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a height of the target card is 0 pixels or 1 pixel.
However, Khoo discloses:
wherein a height of the target card is 0 pixels or 1 pixel (col. 7 lines 58-63, “The following example uses a video element as a touch-active activating element and initially sets the div element with the class “hidden-content” to a height of 0 px and overflow attribute hidden, effectively hiding the content within in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.”).
Khoo is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention regarding setting the height of a component to zero pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Khoo into the combined teachings of Murray and Chen to include “wherein a height of the target card is 0 pixels or 1 pixel.” The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to set the height of a page component to zero pixels in order to effectively hide components that shouldn’t be visible and give users the impression that content was initially hidden (Khoo, col. 7 lines 58-63 & col. 8 lines 1-6).
Conclusion
/F.H.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2191
/QING CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191