DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2024, 02/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 17, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2015/0229032 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a metamaterial, comprising:
a plurality of films (Fig. 22, 11, [0178] a multi-layer structure by multiple lamellae; Fig. 46) arranged with main surfaces thereof facing each other ([0206] a reflection layer 2, an artificial structure layer) and configured to transmit a target electromagnetic wave that is an electromagnetic wave having a wavelength within a target wavelength range (Abstract, beam modulation on an incident electromagnetic wave and reflect an electromagnetic wave);
a plurality of micro-resonators ([0206] one or more artificial structure units M) each made of an electrically conductive material ([0032] the artificial structure unit is a structure that has a geometrical pattern and is constituted by a conductive material), included in the plurality of films (Figs. 22, 46), and configured to resonate with the target electromagnetic wave ([0221] generate an electromagnetic response to an incident electromagnetic wave); and
a stress relieving member disposed between two mutually-adjacent films of the plurality of films (Fig. 46, YL, [0206] stress buffer layer YL), configured to transmit the target electromagnetic wave (Fig. 46, placed between reflection layer 2 and artificial structure layer, thus transmit the incident/reflecting electromagnetic wave), and having a lower elastic modulus than the plurality of films ([0207] tensile strength less than substrate/artificial structure).
Regarding claim 17, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Liu.
Liu further teaches the metamaterial wherein the stress relieving member is in contact with each of the two mutually-adjacent films sandwiching the stress relieving member therebetween ([0065] at least one stress buffer layer is disposed between the substrate and the artificial structure layer and/or between the substrate and the reflection layer).
Regarding claim 27, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Liu.
Liu further teaches the metamaterial wherein the stress relieving member is made of a member adherent or pressure-sensitively adherent to the plurality of films ([0071] adhesive).
Regarding claim 28, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Liu.
Liu further teaches the metamaterial further comprising: an attachment material to cause the stress relieving member to adhere or pressure- sensitively adhere to the plurality of films. ([0071] adhesive).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2015/0229032 A1) in view of Liu877 (US 2015/0255877 A1).
Regarding claim 29, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Liu.
Liu does not explicitly teach an antenna comprising: a plurality of antenna elements to transmit or receive an electromagnetic wave; a radome covering radiation surfaces of the plurality of antenna elements; and the metamaterial being disposed on the radome.
Liu877 teaches an antenna comprising: a plurality of antenna elements to transmit and receive an receive an electromagnetic wave ([205]); a radome covering radiation surfaces of the plurality of antenna elements; and the metamaterial being disposed on the radome ([0204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Liu to the teachings of 877 in order to take advantage of a low processing cost and a simple craft precision in making radome for antenna applications (Liu877, Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 13-16, and 18-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a metamaterial, wherein the convex surfaces of at least two films of the plurality of films have a same curvature, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a metamaterial, wherein the concave surfaces of at least two films of the plurality of films have a same curvature, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claims 13, 15, 18, 20, 23, 25, the claims 13, 15, 18, 20, 23, 25 are objected to due to their dependencies to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a metamaterial, wherein the concave surfaces of at least two films of the plurality of films have a same curvature, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a metamaterial, wherein the stress relieving member has different thicknesses at different positions of the stress relieving member in a sandwiching direction between the plurality of films, in a state in which the stress relieving member is not deformed by receiving force from the plurality of films in contact with the stress relieving member, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claims 16, 21, the claims 16, 21 are objected to due to their dependencies to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a metamaterial, wherein a plurality of the stress relieving members are disposed between the two mutually- adjacent films, and the metamaterial further comprises a spacer disposed between the plurality of stress relieving members, configured to transmit the target electromagnetic wave, and having a higher elastic modulus than the plurality of stress relieving members, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claims 22, 24, 26, the claims 22, 24, 26 are objected to due to their dependencies to claim 19 above.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844