DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14, 21, 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, “the substrate” lacks antecedent basis, as there are two substrates: a substrate and a mounting substrate. It is unclear which substrate is being referred to.
Regarding claim 21, line 3, it is unclear how to “generate” a plurality of sensor units as claimed.
Claims 9-14 and 22 are indefinite based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0165019).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. disclose (Figs. 8) an image sensor device comprising: a substrate (22); and a plurality of sensor units (21) arranged in at least one axis direction (left/right) on the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of sensor units includes a pixel chip (21) including a plurality of pixels, and a translucent cover (40) configured to cover the pixel chip.
Regarding claims 2-4, 17-20, Wang et al. also disclose (Fig. 15) the plurality of sensor units have longitudinal directions that match the one axis direction. Wang further disclose (Fig. 20) the translucent cover (41A) has a plate shape and a spacer (23A) disposed between the pixel chip and the translucent cover as claimed. Since the same structure is disclosed by Wang et al., it is a sensor unit for imaging and ranging as claimed.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 15, 17-22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Miyachi et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0066797).
Regarding claim 1, Miyachi et al. disclose (Figs. 2, 5) an image sensor device comprising: a substrate (14); and a plurality of sensor units (16) arranged in at least one axis direction (left/right) on the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of sensor units includes a pixel chip (2a) including a plurality of pixels, and a translucent cover (18) configured to cover the pixel chip.
Regarding claims 21, as understood, Miyachi et al. disclose (Figs. 2, 5) a method of manufacturing an image sensor device, the method comprising: a step of providing a plurality of sensor units (16) each including a pixel chip (2a) and a translucent cover (18) configured to cover the pixel chip; and a step of arranging and mounting (inherently arranged and mounted as the device is assembled together) the plurality of sensor units in at least one axis direction on a substrate.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, 8, 15, 17-20, Miyachi et al. disclose (Figs. 2, 5) the sensor units are arranged in the one axis direction and a spacer (sides of 16) between the chip and cover. Miyachi et al. also disclose (Figs. 2, 4) a mounting substrate (16) on which the pixel chip is mounted and connected via wire bonding (20). Since the same structure is disclosed by Miyachi et al., it is a sensor unit for imaging and ranging as claimed. Miyachi et al. also disclose (Fig. 4) a positioning structure (wiring 21, 16c) configured to position the substrate and a corresponding one of the plurality of sensor units.
Regarding claim 22, inherently the sensor units are fixed ([0050]) after the sensor units are arranged or adjusted into place since the device is assembled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyachi et al.
Regarding claim 16, Miyachi et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Miyachi et al. do not disclose the details of the pixel chip having a pixel substrate and through electrodes as claimed. However, forming sensor pixels on a pixel substrate and having through electrodes for electrical connection between one side to the other side is well known. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a substrate and through electrodes in the apparatus of Miyachi et al. to obtain a conventional integrated circuit imaging sensor for more resilient connections as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyachi et al. in view of Besling et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0375628).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Miyachi et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Miyachi et al. do not disclose the chip protrudes on one side with respect to the mounting substrate as claimed. Besling et al. teach (Figs.) a chip (6) protruding, the amount being at least the amount the difference between linear expansion coefficients as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a protruding chip in the apparatus of Miyachi et al. to reduce warpage or stress as taught, known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878