DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KR 20200002119 A in view of US 20040121150 A1.
The published KR document teach a cooling fabric which can provide a user with cooling effects or coldness as well as soft texture. The published KR document further teach a polyethylene yarn for the same, and a manufacturing method thereof. Said cooling fabric comprises: a plurality of wefts; and a plurality of warps, each of the wefts and warps has tensile strength of 3.5-8.5 g/de, tensile modulus of 15-80 g/de, break elongation of 14-55%, and crystallinity of 55-85% (see abstract). The published KR document further teach polydispersity Index (PDI) is 5.5 to 9 (see description). The published KR document teach that the polyethylene yarn may have a circular cross section or a non-circular cross section (see description). The published KR document teach that the polyethylene is a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) having a density of 0.941 to 0.965 g / cm .sup.3 (see description). The published KR document further teach that the HDPE may have a Melt Index (MI) of 1 to 25 g / 10min at 190° C (see description).
The published KR document teach that the yarn may have a non-circular cross section but does not teach the claimed protrusions.
The published patent application issued to Johnson et al., teach forming multi-filament yarns and fabrics from multi-lobal filaments having in inner radius and outer radius as set forth in claim 2 (see figure 1, 1a,1b and 1c and paragraphs 0009, 0032). Said multi-lobal filaments can be made from polyolefins such as polyethylene (paragraph 0041). The Examiner is of the position that the lobes as shown in figures 1 and 1a-1c meet the limitations of the claimed protrusions. Said multi-lobal filaments further exhibit moisture transport/wicking properties (paragraph 0060). Johnson et al., specifically teach that wicking refers to the capillary movement of water through or along the fibers. The ability of the fibers to wick, therefore, increases the ability of the fabric to absorb water and move it away from the body. It has been particularly found that the fabrics using microfibers of the present invention have higher wicking rates than fabric of round microfibers of comparable dpf (paragraph 0065). The Examiner is of the position that the multi-lobal fibers of Johnson et al., would have the properties of “sweat absorbing and quick drying” as set forth in claim 11. Therefore, motivated by the desire to produce a fabric that can absorb sweat and have quick drying properties (e.g., wicking properties) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the polyethylene polymer taught and disclosed in the published KR document into multi-lobal filaments as taught by Johnson et al.
With regard to claims 7-10, the combination of the cited prior art does not specifically teach the claimed cooling sensation, heat flux, moisture absorption and/or drying rate. However, it is reasonable to expect that the claimed cooling sensation, heat flux, moisture absorption and/or drying rate properties would be exhibited once the fabric of the combination of prior art is provided. Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials such as the claimed polyethylene polymer and the use of like processes such as manufacturing multi-lobal filaments, yarns and fabrics which would result in the claimed cooling sensation, heat flux, moisture absorption and/or drying rate features. The burden is shifted to Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594
In addition, the presently claimed cooling sensation, heat flux, moisture absorption and/or drying rate properties would obviously have been present once the fabric of the combination of prior art is provided. In re Best, 195 UPSQ 433
The Patent and Trademark Office can require applicants to prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics of claimed products where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; burden of proof is on applicants where rejection based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, and Patent and Trademark Office’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products evidences fairness of this rejection, In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
/LYNDA SALVATORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789