DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2024 and 10/01/2024 ware for consideration. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 14, 16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (US 2023/0164674 A1), hereinafter, “Zhou”.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses: A method for indicating a working mode performed by a terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode”), the method comprising: sending indication information to a network side device for indicating duplex mode information of the terminal to the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE1 send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode” to the base station BS1).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Zhou discloses: wherein the duplex mode information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a duplex mode supported by the terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0068], where, the UE may support full-duplexing mode); a duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device; or a duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted by the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0080], where, determining full-duplexing capability based on a random access channel (RACH) completion latency equivalent to “specific a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”, where, “an uplink packet delivery latency, an end-to-end latency, a scheduling request (SR) completion latency, a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”).
.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Zhou discloses: wherein the duplex mode information of the terminal comprises the duplex mode supported by the terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0068], where, the UE may support full-duplexing mode), and sending the indication information to the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE1 send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode” to the base station BS1) comprises: sending type information of the terminal to the network side device, wherein the type information is associated with whether the terminal supports a full-duplex mode (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE1 send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode” to the base station BS1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the duplex mode information of the terminal comprises the duplex mode supported by the terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0068], where, the UE may support full-duplexing mode), and sending the indication information to the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE1 send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode” to the base station BS1). comprises: sending capability information of the terminal to the network side device, wherein the capability information of the terminal is used to indicate the duplex mode supported by the terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE1 send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode” to the base station BS1).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Zhou discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the duplex mode information of the terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0068], where, the UE may support full-duplexing mode) comprises the duplex mode expected to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0074], where, the UE1 send capability information indicating full duplex operating mode equivalent to “working mode” to the base station BS1), and sending the indication information to the network side device comprises: sending the indication information to the network side device during a random access process (Zhou: fig 5, para [0080], where, determining full-duplexing capability based on a random access channel (RACH) completion latency equivalent to “specific a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”, where, “an uplink packet delivery latency, an end-to-end latency, a scheduling request (SR) completion latency, a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses: A method for determining a working mode performed by a network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0010], where, “The method may include determining full-duplexing capability (equivalent to “working mode”) information associated with one or more candidate cells (equivalent to “network side device”)), the method comprising: determining duplex mode information of a terminal (Zhou: fig 5, para [0012], where, “The apparatus (equivalent to “terminal”) may include means for determining full-duplexing capability (equivalent to “working mode”) information associated with one or more candidate cells information associated with one or more candidate cells (equivalent to “network side device”)), according to at least one of: indication information sent by the terminal (Zhou: fig 1, para [0041], where, “the UE 120 may include a communication manager 140. As described in more detail elsewhere herein, the communication manager 140 may receive signaling that indicates full-duplexing capability information associated with one or more candidate cells”);
channel state information sent by the terminal (Zhou: fig 1, para [0045]-[0046], where, the UE 120 send/transmit channel state information or CQI to the base station); a power parameter configured for the terminal; or interference-related information (Zhou: fig 1, para [0046], where, the power parameter is configured).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses: The method of claim 12, wherein determining the duplex mode information of the terminal according to the indication information (Zhou: fig 5, para [0012], where, “The apparatus (equivalent to “terminal”) may include means for determining full-duplexing capability (equivalent to “working mode”) information associated with one or more candidate cells information equivalent to “indication”) comprises: determining a specific random access occasion where the indication information is located (Zhou: fig 5, para [0080], where, determining full-duplexing capability based on a random access channel (RACH) completion latency equivalent to “specific a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”); and determining, according to an association relationship between a random access occasion and a duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device (Zhou: para [0052], where, detect the full-duplex mode and selected or adopted from one or more cells and selection for communication), a duplex mode corresponding to the specific random access occasion as the duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0080], where, determining full-duplexing capability based on a random access channel (RACH) completion latency equivalent to “specific a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”, where, “an uplink packet delivery latency, an end-to-end latency, a scheduling request (SR) completion latency, a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the interference-related information comprises at least one of: a transmission power of the network side device; an antenna configuration of the network side device; or interference measurement information (Zhou: fig 1, para [0032], where, “These different types of base stations 110 may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and/or different impacts on interference in the wireless network 100”).
Regarding claims 19-20, Zhou discloses: A communication device (Zhou: fig 1, para [0028], the communication device UE 120), comprising: a processor (Zhou: fig 2, processor 258, para [0045]); memory for storing a computer program (Zhou: fig 2, memory 282, para [0049], “the memory 282 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein (e.g., with reference to FIGS. 6-10)”); wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method for determining the working mode of claims 1 and 9 (Zhou: fig 2, memory 282, para [0049], “the memory 282 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein (e.g., with reference to FIGS. 6-10)”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program (Zhou: para [0011], where, “a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions for wireless communication by a base station”) which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform steps in the method for indicating the working mode of claim 1 (Zhou: para [0005] and [0011], where, “a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions for wireless communication by a base station. The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the base station, may cause the base station to determine full-duplexing capability information associated with one or more candidate cells”).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program (Zhou: para [0011], where, “a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions for wireless communication by a base station”) which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform steps in the method for determining the working mode of claim 9 (Zhou: para [0011], where, “a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions for wireless communication by a base station. The set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the base station, may cause the base station to determine full-duplexing capability information associated with one or more candidate cells”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 2023/0164674 A1), hereinafter, “Zhou” in view of Zhang et al (US 2021/0409095 A1), hereinafter, “Zhang”
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Zhou discloses: Zhou does not explicitly teach however, Zhang teaches: The method of claim 5, wherein sending the indication information to the network side device during the random access process (Zhang: fig 7B, para [0112], where, the UE 115 sends the preamble in a msg1 to the BS 105) comprises: sending a random access preamble to the network side device, wherein the preamble is associated with the duplex mode expected by the terminal, wherein the specific random access occasion is associated with the duplex mode expected by the terminal (Zhang: fig 7B and 10, para [0112] and para , where, the UE 115 sends the preamble in a msg1 to the BS 105, and in fig 10,step 1010, para [0148], where, indicating the preamble was related to the full-duplexing mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein sending the indication information to the network side device during the random access process comprises: sending a random access preamble to the network side device, wherein the preamble is associated with the duplex mode expected by the terminal, wherein the specific random access occasion is associated with the duplex mode expected by the terminal” as taught by Zhang into Zhou in order to sustain multiple transmission links (Zhang: para [0166]).
Regarding claim 8 Zhou modified by Zhang disclose: The method of claim 5, wherein sending the indication information to the network side device during the random access process (Zhang: fig 7B, para [0112], where, the UE 115 sends the preamble in a msg1 to the BS 105) comprises: sending a random access message Msg3 or MsgA to the network side device (Zhang: fig 7B, step 770, para [0115], where, the UE 115 sends/transmit the UE 115 may transmit the MSG3 in the resource indicated by the scheduling grant), wherein the random access message carries information associated with the duplex mode expected by the terminal (Zhang: fig 7B, step 770, para [0115], where, the UE 115 sends/transmit the UE 115 may transmit the MSG3 in the resource indicated by the scheduling grant, for full-duplexing mode).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou modified by Zhang disclose: The method of claim 12, wherein the indication information comprises a random access preamble (Zhang: fig 7B and 10, para [0112], where, the UE 115 sends the preamble in a msg1 to the BS 105), and determining the duplex mode information of the terminal according to the indication information (Zhang: fig 7B and 10, para [0079], where, the BS105 determines the full-duplexing mode of the terminal UE 115) comprises: determining, according to an association relationship between a preamble and a duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device (Zhang: fig 7B and 10, para [0057]-[0058], where, the preamble and duplex mode are adapted for scheduling the terminal by the BS105), a duplex mode corresponding to the random access preamble as the duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device (Zhou: fig 5, para [0057]-[0058], where, determining full-duplexing capability based on a random access channel (RACH) completion latency equivalent to “specific a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”, where, “an uplink packet delivery latency, an end-to-end latency, a scheduling request (SR) completion latency, a random access channel (RACH) completion latency”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou modified by Zhang disclose: The method of claim 12, wherein determining the duplex mode information of the terminal according to the indication information (Zhang: fig 7B and 10, para [0079], where, the BS105 determines the full-duplexing mode of the terminal UE 115) comprises: acquiring the indication information from a random access message Msg3 or MsgA sent by the terminal (Zhang: fig 7B, step 770, para [0115], where, the UE 115 sends/transmit the UE 115 may transmit the MSG3 in the resource indicated by the scheduling grant); and determining a duplex mode indicated by the indication information as the duplex mode expected by the terminal to be adopted for scheduling the terminal by the network side device (Zhang: fig 7B and 10, para [0057]-[0058], where, the preamble and duplex mode are adapted for scheduling the terminal by the BS105).
Conclusion
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461