DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-26, 28 & 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loccufier et al. (# US 2019/0367760).
Loccufier et al. discloses:
14. A pre-treatment composition (pre-treatment liquid; see Abstract) for inkjet printing (see Abstract), comprising
Water ([0017]; [0056]),
resin particles ([0021]-[0025]), and
a water-soluble fixing agent (polyvalent metal salt; [0058]-[0059]),
the resin particles are obtained by reaction between a polyamine crosslinker comprising at least two primary or secondary amines and a quaternary ammonium group ([0025]) and
a compound comprising two functional groups ([0021]-[0024]) capable of reacting with the primary or secondary amines ([0025]) of the crosslinker.
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Loccufier et al. does address a resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant. The format in which Loccufier et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Loccufier et al. present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
15. The pre-treatment composition of claim 14, wherein the functional groups are selected from the group consisting of an epoxide, an isocyanate, a β-keto-ester, a β-keto-amide, an anhydride, a 1,3-diketone, a chloroformate, a sulfochloride, an acid halide, an enol ester, an oxalate ester, and an aziridine ([0021]-[0024]).
16. The pre-treatment composition of claim 14, wherein the polyamine crosslinker is of General Formula I or II ([0026]-[0044]; see Table:1-2)
17. The pre-treatment composition of claim 15, wherein the polyamine crosslinker is of General Formula I or II ([0026]-[0044]; see Table:1-2)
18. The pre-treatment composition of claim 14, wherein the reaction takes place at an interface formed by an oleophilic phase in an aqueous continuous phase, and wherein the oleophilic phase comprises the compound and the aqueous phase comprises the polyamine crosslinker ([0020]; [0025]).
19. The pre-treatment composition of claim 15, wherein the reaction takes place at an interface formed by an oleophilic phase in an aqueous continuous phase, and wherein the oleophilic phase comprises the compound and the aqueous phase comprises the polyamine crosslinker ([0020]-[0025]).
20. The pre-treatment composition of claim 17, wherein the reaction takes place at an interface formed by an oleophilic phase in an aqueous continuous phase, and wherein the oleophilic phase comprises the compound and the aqueous phase comprises the polyamine crosslinker ([0020]-[0025]).
21. The pre-treatment composition of claim 18, wherein the oleophilic phase comprises an oligomer or polymer selected from the group consisting of poly(urethanes) and copolymers thereof, acrylics and copolymers thereof, poly(esters), poly(styrenes) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl amides) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl alcohol) derivatives and copolymers thereof, poly(acetals) and copolymers thereof, poly(ethers) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl ethers) and copolymers thereof, polyvinyl (esters) and copolymers thereof, poly(imides) and copolymers thereof, poly(imines) and copolymers thereof, polycarbonates and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl chloride) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinylidene chloride) and copolymers thereof, poly(amic acids) and copolymers thereof, and poly(saccharides) and derivatives thereof ([0055]; [0061]).
22. The pre-treatment composition of claim 19, wherein the oleophilic phase comprises an oligomer or polymer ([0020]) selected from the group consisting of poly(urethanes) and copolymers thereof, acrylics and copolymers thereof, poly(esters), poly(styrenes) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl amides) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl alcohol) derivatives and copolymers thereof, poly(acetals) and copolymers thereof, poly(ethers) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl ethers) ([0073]) and copolymers thereof, polyvinyl (esters) and copolymers thereof, poly(imides) and copolymers thereof, poly(imines) and copolymers thereof, polycarbonates and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl chloride) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinylidene chloride) and copolymers thereof, poly(amic acids) and copolymers thereof, and poly(saccharides) and derivatives thereof ([0061]).
23. The pre-treatment composition of claim 20, wherein the oleophilic phase comprises an oligomer or polymer selected from the group consisting of poly(urethanes) and copolymers thereof, acrylics and copolymers thereof, poly(esters), poly(styrenes) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl amides) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl alcohol) ([0073]) derivatives and copolymers thereof, poly(acetals) and copolymers thereof, poly(ethers) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl ethers) and copolymers thereof ([0073]), polyvinyl (esters) and copolymers thereof, poly(imides) and copolymers thereof, poly(imines) and copolymers thereof, polycarbonates and copolymers thereof, poly(vinyl chloride) and copolymers thereof, poly(vinylidene chloride) and copolymers thereof, poly(amic acids) and copolymers thereof, and poly(saccharides) and derivatives thereof ([0061]).
24. The pre-treatment composition of claim 14, wherein the compound is a polyisocyanate and the polyamine crosslinker is a reaction product of a polyamine and a glycidyl tri alkyl ammonium salt.
25. The pre-treatment composition of claim 15, wherein the compound is a polyisocyanate and the polyamine crosslinker is a reaction product of a polyamine and a glycidyl tri alkyl ammonium salt.
26. The pre-treatment composition of claim 14, wherein the amount of resin particles is from 1 wt. % to 45 wt. % with respect to the total weight of the pre-treatment composition (5 to 25%; [0053]) and the water-soluble fixing agent is a multivalent metal salt (polyvalent metal salt; [0058]-[0059]).
28. An ink set comprising a pre-treatment composition as defined in claim 14 and an aqueous inkjet ink comprising a colorant ([0078]-[0089]).
30. An inkjet printing method comprising the steps of: a) applying a pre-treatment composition as defined in claim 14 onto a substrate; b) optionally at least partially drying the applied pre-treatment composition; c) jetting onto the applied pre-treatment composition an aqueous inkjet ink containing a colorant; and d) applying heat to dry the jetted aqueous inkjet ink ([0124]-[0130]).
Claim(s) 27, 29 & 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loccufier et al. (# US 2019/0367760).
Loccufier et al. discloses:
27. An overcoat varnish for inkjet printing, comprising
water ([0017]; [0056]) and
resin particles ([0021]-[0025]),
the resin particles are obtained by reaction between a polyamine crosslinker comprising at least two primary or secondary amines ([0025]) and a quaternary ammonium group and
a compound comprising two functional groups capable of reacting with the primary or secondary amines of the crosslinker ([0025]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Loccufier et al. does address a resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant. The format in which Loccufier et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Loccufier et al. present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
29. An ink set comprising an overcoat varnish as defined in claim 27 and an aqueous inkjet ink comprising a colorant ([0078]-[0089]).
31. An inkjet recording method comprising the following steps: i) jetting onto a substrate an aqueous inkjet ink containing a colorant to obtain an image; and ii) applying an overcoat varnish as defined in claim 27 onto the obtained image of step I ([0124]-[0130]).
Loccufier et al. explicitly did not discloses:
27. An overcoat varnish for inkjet printing.
However the phrase “An overcoat varnish for inkjet printing” is in preamble and preamble doesn’t limit the claim. The Examiner considers pretreatment liquid, color ink and white ink for inkjet ink set. Therefore, the Loccufier et al. reads on the present claim language.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loccufier et al. (# US 2019/0367760).
Loccufier et al. discloses:
32. A method for preparing an aqueous dispersion of resin particles ([0018]-[0040]; see Examples) comprising the following steps:
a) preparing an aqueous solution of a polyamine crosslinker comprising at least two primary or secondary amines ([0025]) and a quaternary ammonium group;
b) preparing a non-aqueous solution of a compound containing at least 2 functional groups capable of reacting with the primary or secondary amines of the polyamine crosslinker in a substantial water immiscible organic solvent ([0018]-[0055]);
c) emulsifying the non-aqueous solution under high shear in the aqueous solution (see Examples);
d) optionally stripping the organic solvent from the mixture of the aqueous solution and the non-aqueous solution ([0018]-[0061]); and
e) formation of a shell by initiating the interfacial polymerization of the polyamine comprising at least two primary or secondary amines and a quaternary ammonium group with the compound containing at least 2 functional groups capable of reacting with the primary or secondary amines of the crosslinker ([0021]-[0035]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Loccufier et al. does address a resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant. The format in which Loccufier et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Loccufier et al. present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the resin particle, fixing agent, primary or secondary amine, cross-linker and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Sugiyama et al. (# US 2015/0239261) discloses Pretreatment liquid for ink jet textile printing used by being applied to a fabric before applying an ink composition for ink jet textile printing to the fabric, comprises a multivalent metal salt; and an aqueous medium. The concentration of the multivalent metal salt is 0.025-0.08 mol/kg when the pretreatment liquid is applied to the fabric (see Abstract).
(2) Schmid et al. (# US 2007/0076075) discloses Compositions, systems, and methods for providing smudge resistant and durable ink-jet images having good optical density are provided. Specifically, a system for printing durable ink-jet ink images can comprise a first ink-jet pen containing an ink-jet ink and a second ink-jet pen containing a fixer composition. The ink-jet ink can comprise a first liquid vehicle and a colorant. The fixer composition can comprise a second liquid vehicle, and from 0.5 wt % to 5 wt % of a cationic copolymer of an epihalohydrin and an amine. Upon overprinting or underprinting the fixer composition with respect to the ink-jet ink on a substrate, a durable image can be formed (see Abstract).
(3) Ma et al. (# US 2004/0063808) discloses a systems and methods for providing smudge resistant and durable ink-jet images having good optical density are provided. Specifically, a system for printing durable ink-jet ink images can comprise a set of two ink-jet pens, preferably thermal ink-jet pens. The first ink-jet pen contains an ink-jet ink, wherein the ink-jet ink comprises a first liquid vehicle, from 0.5% to 6% by weight of a pigment colorant, and from 0.2% to 15% by weight of an anionic or neutral latex-containing colloidal suspension. The second ink-jet pen contains a fixer composition, wherein the fixer composition comprises effective amounts of second liquid vehicle, and from 0.2% to 15% by weight of a cationic polymer such as poly(vinyl pyridine) salts, polyalkylaminoethyl acrylates, polyalkylaminoethyl methacrylates, poly(vinyl imidazole); or preferably, polyethyleneimines, polybiguanides, and/or polyguanides. When applied to the substrate, upon overprinting or underprinting the fixer composition with respect to the ink-jet ink, a durable and smudge resistant image is formed (see Abstract).
(4) Ma et al. (# US 2004/0106696) discloses an inkjet printing system for use in offset printing comprises a fixer fluid and an ink. The fixer fluid comprises a fixer polymer and a first fluorosurfactant package having a fluorosurfactant and a hydrocarbon surfactant. The ink comprises a charged dye and a second fluorosurfactant package. Methods for improving print quality in offset printing using the inkjet printing system and the fixer fluid are also disclosed (see Abstract).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853