DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application on 5/29/2024.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“engaging structures” in claim 1 line 4, which uses generic placeholder “structures” coupled with functional language “[for] engaging” and “configured for connection with an attachment location” and “configured like an attachment location of the carrier, for connection with the first engaging structure of another ballast element” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited functions and the term “engaging” preceding the generic placeholder “structures” is not a structural modifier.
The limitation “engaging structures” in claim 1 has been interpreted to cover a threaded stem 20a, 22a as the first one of the engaging structures and a threaded recess 20b, 22b as the second one of the engaging structures, as described on page 8 lines 6-24 of the specification. and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objection
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informality:
In claim 18 line 4, “such the axis of the attachment location” should be changed to --such that an axis of one of the attachment locations--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the carrier" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Does the limitation “the carrier” refer back to the previously recited “carrier structure”, to the previously recited “carrier body”, or to another structure?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first engaging structure" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Does the limitation “the first engaging structure” refer back to the previously recited “first one of the engaging structures”?
Claim 10 recites the limitation “one or more attachment locations extending in a direction other than an extension of the carrier structure” in lines 2-3, which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear which direction is associated with the extension of the carrier structure and it is unclear how that direction differs from the direction the one or more attachment locations extend.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the through hole" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation “the through hole” should be changed to --each through hole-- or --each of the through holes-- in order to correct this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 8,979,721 (Cavaliere).
Regarding claim 1, Cavaliere discloses an exercise device 20 comprising a kit of parts comprising a carrier structure 1 and a plurality of ballast elements 9 (see annotated FIG. 1 below), wherein the carrier structure 1 comprises a carrier body with at least two attachment locations 26 (see annotated FIGS. 3-3B below), and wherein the ballast elements 9 comprise two engaging structures 11,12 (see annotated FIGS. 3-3B below), a first one 11 of the engaging structures being configured for connection with an attachment location 26 and a second one of the engaging structures 12 being configured like an attachment location 26 of the carrier 1, for connection with the first engaging structure 11 of another ballast element 9 (see annotated FIGS. 3-3B below, Col 4:20-53 and 5:34-38).
Regarding claim 2, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein each ballast element 9 is repeatably attachable and detachable from the carrier structure 1 (Col 4:20-23).
Regarding claim 3, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein each ballast element 9 is repeatably attachable and detachable from another one of the ballast elements 9 (Col 5:34-38, see FIGS. 5-6 below).
Regarding claim 4, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses a free structure 5 accessible as a handle when the ballast elements 9 are attached (see annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the carrier structure 1 is of unitary form (see annotated FIG. 1 above, Col 3:50-66).
Regarding claim 8, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses a plurality of radially extending attachment locations 26 (see annotated FIG. 2 below and FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 9, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses a plurality of attachment locations 26 for attachment of a ballast element 9 perpendicular to an extension 3 of the carrier structure 1 (see annotated FIGS. 1 and 3 above), wherein at least one of the attachment locations 26 is oriented at a different angle perpendicularly to the extension than at least another one of the attachment locations 26 (see annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses one or more attachment locations 26 extending in a direction other than an extension 3 of the carrier structure 1 (see annotated FIGS. 2 and 3 above).
Regarding claim 11, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses a plurality of attachment locations 26 spaced apart along the carrier structure 1 (see annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 12, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses two attachment locations 26 at opposite ends of the carrier structure 1 (see annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the attachment locations 26 are threaded (see annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the carrier structure 1 comprises an elongate body (see annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein one or more of the ballast elements 9 comprise an elongate body (see annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the carrier structure 1 comprises a generally cylindrical body having an elongate extension 3 (see annotated FIG. 1 above), comprising at one end thereof one of the engaging structures 11 and at an opposite end thereof one of the attachment locations 26, the opposite end being slanted such the axis of the attachment location 26 is angled at an oblique angle relative to the elongate extension 3 (see annotated FIG. 2 below).
Regarding claim 19, Cavaliere teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the carrier structure 1 comprises a generally cylindrical body having an elongate extension 3 (see annotated FIG. 1 above), comprising at one end thereof one of the engaging structures 11 and at an opposite end thereof attachment locations 26, the attachment locations 26 extending transversely to an axis of the cylindrical body and open to both sides of the cylindrical body.
Claims 1, 6-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2014/0031177 (Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an exercise device comprising a kit of parts comprising a carrier structure and a plurality of ballast elements (see annotated FIGS. 3 and 4 below), wherein the carrier structure comprises a carrier body with at least two attachment locations, and wherein the ballast elements comprise two engaging structures (see annotated FIGS. 3 and 4 below), a first one of the engaging structures being configured for connection with an attachment location and a second one of the engaging structures being configured like an attachment location of the carrier, for connection with the first engaging structure of another ballast element (see annotated FIGS. 3 and 4 below).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the carrier structure is of general annular form selected from one of such as a ring, an obround shape, an oval shape and an ovoid shape (see annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the carrier structure is of open hoop form (see annotated FIG. 3 above).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses through holes extending through a thickness of the carrier structure and providing two attachment locations, one at each end of the through hole (see annotated FIG. 4 above).
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 5,171,199 (Panagos).
Regarding claim 1, Panagos discloses an exercise device comprising a kit of parts comprising a carrier structure and a plurality of ballast elements (plurality of exercise devices 8 can be connected together, one being interpreted as the carrier structure and the others being interpreted as the ballast elements - see annotated FIGS. 1-3 below), wherein the carrier structure 8 comprises a carrier body with at least two attachment locations 22,22,24,26,26, and wherein the ballast elements comprise two engaging structures 22,24,28 (see annotated FIGS. 2-3 below), a first one of the engaging structures being configured for connection with an attachment location and a second one of the engaging structures being configured like an attachment location of the carrier, for connection with the first engaging structure of another ballast element (see annotated FIGS. 2-3 below).
Regarding claim 13, Panagos teaches the exercise device according to claim 1, and further discloses four attachment locations at 90-degrees angularly offset positions relative to each other (see annotated FIG. 1 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Joshua Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784