DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are currently under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 5 recites “comprising the active ingredients”. The Examiner points out that it does not rise to the level of lack of antecedent basis under 35 USC 112(b) because the phrase is colloquially correct. However, the phrase “comprising the active ingredients” is objected to because amending the claim to recite “comprising active ingredients” would be remedial. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 5 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the oil-dispersion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate
all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness
concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberholzer et al. (US20140127322A1, Published 05/08/2014).
Applicant’s invention
The Applicants claims are drawn to an insecticide composition comprising the active ingredients chlorantraniliprole, acetamiprid, and lambda-cyhalothrin.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Oberholzer teaches compositions comprising a mixture of a solid form of Compound 1 and at least one other fungicide or insecticide are also disclosed.
Also disclosed are methods for controlling plant diseases caused by fungal plant pathogens comprising applying to a plant or portion thereof, or to a plant seed, a fungicidally effective amount of a solid form of Compound 1 (abstract). Oberholzer also teaches the composition of Embodiment 63 or 64 comprising: (a) from about 10 to about 25% of polymorph Form B of Embodiment 2; (b1) from about 30 to about 50% of water; (b2) from about 5 to about 20% of a surfactant component (i.e., agrochemically acceptable excipient) having a dispersant property; and (c) from about 0.1 to about 5% of a suspending agent component (i.e., agrochemically acceptable excipient); and (d) from about 5 to about 40% of the water-immiscible liquid component; by weight based on the total weight of the composition (paragraph [0098]). Oberholzer further teaches wherein the composition further comprises one or more additional active ingredients selected from fungicides and insecticides (paragraph [0127]), wherein the first column of Table 8 lists the specific invertebrate pest control agents (i.e., insecticides) such as acetamiprid, chlorantraniliprole, and lambda-cyhalothrin (paragraph [0387]).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Oberholzer teaches dispersants, also called dispersing agents or dispersing component, can reduce attractive forces between particles in close proximity (paragraph [0211]); in addition to their ability to wet surfaces and disperse particles, surfactants can also be useful as emulsifiers (paragraph [0214]); surfactants are often classified as wetting agents or dispersants (paragraph [0210]); also useful for the present compositions are surfactants that have been found to be useful as antifoams and defoamers (paragraph [0217]).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Oberholzer teaches wherein one or more additional active ingredients are in an amount of from 0.1 to about 40% by weight of the composition (paragraph [0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Oberholzer teaches the general types of solid compositions include powders, granules, pellets, tablets and the like which can be water-dispersible or water soluble (paragraph [0183]). Oberholzer also teaches useful formulations of fungicidal active ingredients generally include both liquid and solid compositions. In a dispersion or suspension of particulates (e.g., aqueous suspension concentrate and oil dispersion formulations), a liquid carrier forms a continuous liquid phase in which the particulates (e.g., of a solid form of Compound 1) are dispersed or suspended (paragraph [0181]).
Regarding claim 9, Oberholzer teaches the general types of non-aqueous liquid compositions include emulsifiable concentrates, micro-emulsifiable concentrates, dispersible concentrates and oil dispersions (paragraph [0182]).
Regarding claim 10-11, Oberholzer teaches wherein the composition further comprises one or more additional active ingredients selected from fungicides and insecticides (paragraph [0127]), wherein the first column of Table 8 lists the specific invertebrate pest control agents (i.e., insecticides) such as acetamiprid, chlorantraniliprole, and lambda-cyhalothrin (paragraph [0387]); wherein the one or more additional active ingredients (i.e., acetamiprid, chlorantraniliprole, and lambda-cyhalothrin) are in an amount of from 0.1 to about 40% by weight of the composition (paragraph [0128]). Oberholzer also teaches the composition of Embodiment 63 or 64 comprising: (a) from about 10 to about 25% of polymorph Form B of Embodiment 2; (b1) from about 30 to about 50% of water; (b2) from about 5 to about 20% of a surfactant component (i.e., agrochemically acceptable excipient, emulsifier, dispersing agent) having a dispersant property; and (c) from about 0.1 to about 5% of a suspending agent component (i.e., agrochemically acceptable excipient); and (d) from about 5 to about 40% of the water-immiscible liquid component; by weight based on the total weight of the composition (paragraph [0098]). Oberholzer also teaches dispersants, also called dispersing agents or dispersing component, can reduce attractive forces between particles in close proximity (paragraph [0211]); in addition to their ability to wet surfaces and disperse particles, surfactants can also be useful as emulsifiers (paragraph [0214]); wherein emulsifiers for liquid compositions can be ethoxylated non-ionic surfactants (e.g. ethoxylated castor oil) (paragraph [0216]). Oberholzer further teaches surfactants are often classified as wetting agents or dispersants (paragraph [0210]) such as formaldehyde condensates of naphthalenesulfonates (i.e., naphthalene formaldehyde condensates) (paragraph [0212]), and alkylnaphthalenesulfonates (e.g., MORWET D425) (i.e., sodium alkyl naphthalene sulfonate) (i.e., wetting agent) (paragraph [0212]). Oberholzer continues to teach (c) from about 0.1 to about 5% of a suspending agent component, wherein suspending agents (i.e., stabilizing agent) from the class of materials known as silica and organically modified silicas (paragraph [0222]), wherein coarser precipitated or spray dried silica can also be used in the compositions of the present invention (paragraph 0232]). Oberholzer also teaches in example 14 oil dispersion, Tween 85 (i.e., polysorbate) (i.e., spreading agent) at 10% (paragraph [0315]). Oberholzer further teaches comprising an antifoam component in an amount of from about 0.01% to about 5% by weight of the composition (paragraph [0109]); also useful for the present compositions are surfactants that have been found to be useful as antifoams and defoamers. Of particular note as antifoams for the compositions of the present invention are polydimethylsiloxane emulsions in water (paragraph [0217]). Oberholzer continues to teach suspending agents include thickeners and structuring agents. Thickeners are organic or inorganic liquid or solid additives that increase the viscosity of aqueous or non-aqueous dispersions (i.e., rheology modifier) (paragraph [0219]); wherein component (c) comprises at least one substance selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, organically modified silicas and organically modified bentonite clays (paragraph [0126]). Oberholzer further teaches the term “aqueous liquid carrier” as used herein particularly refers to a liquid carrier comprising water as the main (i.e. at least 50% by weight) component. In addition to water, an aqueous liquid carrier can contain dissolved water-soluble compounds, including water-miscible solvents such as N-alkylpyrrolidones (e.g., N-methylpyrrolidinone) (paragraph [0190]); and a liquid composition of the invention wherein the liquid carrier comprises fatty acid methyl esters derived from seed oils and particularly rapeseed (e.g., methyl canolate) (i.e., rapeseed methyl ester) (i.e., oil medium) (paragraph [0194]). Oberholzer also teaches a liquid carrier comprising one or more water-immiscible organic compounds in a total amount of at least about 50%, more typically at least about 60%, 70%, 80%, 90% or 95% of the carrier by weight (paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Oberholzer teaches Formulation Example 11 an oil dispersion which comprises inter alia, a light-weight mineral oil (i.e., oil medium, solvent), amorphous fumed silica (i.e., suspending agent, rheology modifier), ethoxylated sorbitol hexaoleate (i.e., emulsifier), sorbitan trioleate (i.e., emulsifier) (i.e., excipients) wherein the solid form of Compound 1 and one or more of the other ingredients of the composition are mixed to form a slurry followed by further size reduction by wet milling techniques to an average particle diameter of less than ˜3 μm and addition of the remaining ingredients (i.e., rheology modifier), if any (paragraphs [0266-0267]). Oberholzer also teaches in Formulation Example 16 an oil dispersion wherein the oil dispersion formulations are prepared by adding all of the formulating ingredients to the water-immiscible liquid carrier (Agnique ME 18 RD-U, Parol 6970, Stepan 108) with adequate stirring and time to allow uniform mixing, dispersion and/or dissolution of all components. Polymorph Form B is then added, homogenized to allow good contact with the other formulating ingredients then milled in the same or equivalent way as that described in Formulation Example 13 (paragraph [0319]).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Oberholzer does not disclose a single embodiment or example where every limitation recited in the instant claims are taught.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
The claims are considered prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because
Oberholzer teaches all of the claimed elements. It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of filing to have an insecticide composition comprising the active ingredients chlorantraniliprole, acetamiprid, and lambda-cyhalothrin because Oberholzer teaches these elements as components of their invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
AFUA BAMFOAA BOATENGExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614