DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority from provisional application 63/285,827, filed 12/03/2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-52 are pending.
Claims 1, 6-12, and 14-17 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Apparatus) and Species 2 (Figures 2-4) in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 05/29/2024 and 10/27/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second stem and second expanding mechanism of claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jurick et al (Jurick) US 2020/0246051 A1.
1. Jurick discloses a prosthetic implant (Figures 22-25) comprising:
a body 2202 comprising a first side and a second side opposite the first side (top and bottom sides Figure 22), wherein the first side comprises a bone contact surface (top surface is fully capable of being put in contact with bone), and wherein the second side is configured to be coupled to an articulation surface (the stem allows it to be coupled to an opening in any articulation surface);
a cylindrical stem 2208 extending away from the first side of the body (Figure 22); and
an expanding mechanism 2212 positioned within the cylindrical stem (Figure 25), wherein movement of the expanding mechanism from a first position to a second position causes a maximum diameter of the cylindrical stem to change from a first maximum diameter to a second maximum diameter, and wherein the second maximum diameter is greater than the first maximum diameter [0053].
6. Jurick discloses a longitudinal axis of the cylindrical stem is parallel to the first side of the body (Figure 25).
8. Jurick discloses the cylindrical stem has a first end and a second end opposite the first end (left and right sides of 2208 Figure 25).
10. Jurick discloses the maximum diameter of the cylindrical stem occurs at either the first end or the second end (due to the tapered nature of the expanding mechanism the largest diameter is at the first end or the right side of Figure 25).
14. Jurick discloses the cylindrical stem is configured to be positioned within a channel formed in a tibia of a patient (It is noted that the claims are directed to the apparatus and not a method of using the invention, therefore this limitation is considered an intended use recitation and given limited weight, as seen in Figures 4-5 it is fully capable of being positioned within a channel in the tibia).
15. Jurick discloses the cylindrical stem is configured to be positioned within a channel formed in a talus of a patient (It is noted that the claims are directed to the apparatus and not a method of using the invention, therefore this limitation is considered an intended use recitation and given limited weight, since the forces would be similar in the ankle as in the knee the implant of Jurick is strong enough to be used within an ankle and the stem is capable of being positioned within an appropriately sized channel within any bone such as the talus).
17. Jurick discloses the expanding mechanism comprises a set screw 2212 Figure 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jurick in view of Salyer USPN 9,211,190 B2.
Jurick discloses the invention substantially as claimed being described above. However, Jurick does not disclose the longitudinal support or second stem/expanding mechanisms.
Salyer teaches the use of a bone implant comprising stems which are offset from the body by longitudinal supports 32 and the combination of two stems positioned next to each other in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of extending the anchor deeper into the bone and to providing additional anchoring forces.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stem of Jurick to be offset from the body by a longitudinal support and to duplicate the stem and expansion mechanism so that there are two side by side as taught by Salyer in order to extend the anchor deeper into the bone and to providing additional anchoring forces.
Claim(s) 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jurick in view of Reach JR US 2011/0071579 A1
Jurick discloses the invention substantially as claimed being described above. However, Jurick does not disclose the maximum diameter of the cylindrical stem occurs between the first end and the second end or the slits on the stem parallel to the longitudinal axis.
Reach teaches the use of a bone implant comprising a plurality of configurations of expandable stems including ones which allow for the maximum diameter of the cylindrical stem occurs between the first end and the second end (Figures 13 and 14)
which is enabled by providing slits on the stem parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figures 13 and 14) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of providing anchoring forces that resist pulling out in both directions along the longitudinal axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stem of Jurick to have the longitudinal slits and be expandable such that the maximum diameter is between its first and second ends as taught by Reach in order to provide anchoring forces that resist pulling out in both directions along the longitudinal axis.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774