DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1–19, in the reply filed on 24 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs. 2A, 2B, 8–14 each have text that is unreadable. These figures are also of low quality, and are difficult to understand, and should be improved.
The drawings are objected to because the arrows from reference characters 140b in fig. 1 are supposed to be pointing to smooth bottoms, but are instead pointing to the middle of recesses 140.
The drawings are objected to because reference character “140C” in figs. 8, 9a, and 14 should be “140c.”
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the 150-word limit (248 words counted), and because it includes extensive mechanical details that should be replaced by a narrative explanation of the improvement. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 2 of the as-filed specification, “a glass-based laminate substrates” should be properly amended to have either a singular or plural tense. The same should be done with “a glass or glass-ceramic laminates.”
¶ 27 of the as-filed specification ends by leaving in a draft note which should be struck.
¶ 41 of the as-filed specification should end with a semi-colon instead of a comma for stylistic conformity.
¶ 48 of the as-filed specification has an unclosed parenthesis.
¶ 56 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “the core layer 107” with “the core layer 109.”
¶ 62 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “core layer 110” with “core layer 109.”
¶ 85 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “recess sidewall(s) 140b” should be “recess sidewall(s) 140c.”
¶ 96 of the as-filed specification mentions a “FIG. 3C,” but there is no figure 3C.
¶ 106 of the as-filed specification has an open parenthesis.
In each of ¶¶ 110 and 111, “112a” should be “112A.”
In ¶ 116 of the as-filed specification, a period belongs between “substrate” and “In.”
¶ 119 of the as-filed specification is missing a period at its end. It also appears to end abruptly, and may be incompletely drafted.
¶ 121 of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “can be utilized.”
¶ 121 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “(e. g.” with “(e.g.”
¶ 121 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “reminder of the cladding material” with “remainder of the cladding material.”
¶ 122 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “140C” with “140c.”
¶ 124 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “lithium / magnesium, calcium, phosphorus” with “lithium, magnesium, calcium, or phosphorus.”
The use of the terms “Zygo,” “Cary,” “Agilent Technologies,” “Lumentum,” “Picoblade,” “Light Converstion,” and “Pharos,” which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, ℠, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1–20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to place a comma after “layer” at the end of line 15.
Claim 2 should be amended to recite “a selectivity ratio.”
Claim 16 should be amended to replace “an airy beam” with “an Airy beam.”
Claim 20 has steps (i) and (iii), but no step (ii). The Office guesses that “(iii)” should be amended to recite “(ii).”
Claims 3–15 and 17–19 are objected to due to dependency upon an objected-to claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The adaptive optical element in claim 18 (a spatial light modulator, associated with a “dynamic optical component(s)” in ¶ 102 of the as-filed specification).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8–10, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2021/108079 A1, cited by Applicant).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim 1: Kim discloses a method of forming recesses (120) in a glass laminate (100), the method comprising:
irradiating a portion of a first clad layer (110) of a glass laminate (100) with a pulsed laser beam (912), the glass laminate comprising the first clad layer having a first clad layer thickness (116) and a first clad layer external surface (112) and a core layer (150) having a core layer thickness (156), the irradiating producing an irradiated portion (120) of the first clad layer and a non-irradiated portion (clearly appreciable from fig. 1B) of the first clad layer; and
etching the first clad layer with an etchant that selectively etches the irradiated portion of the first clad layer relative to the non-irradiated portion of the first clad layer and selectively etches the irradiated portion of the first clad layer relative to the core layer (¶ 98, “the etchant used to etch through holes 120 does not etch first glass layer 150 adjacent to through holes 120”),
wherein irradiating with a pulsed laser beam is irradiating with a focused pulsed laser beam producing damage or other physical or chemical alteration in the first clad layer to a depth not more than the first clad layer thickness (¶ 160, “an electromagnetically modified region(s) 160 may extend through only second glass layer 110 or third glass layer 130”).
Kim does not disclose that irradiating with a pulsed laser beam is irradiating with irradiating with a focused pulsed laser beam producing damage or other physical or chemical alteration in the first clad layer to within 0.1 to 20 μm distance from the core layer.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that Kim’s disclosure is clearly not limited only to damage or alteration at, literally, the entire thickness of e.g. the second glass layer 110, particularly seeing as ¶ 98 provides that “In some embodiments, depth 124 of etched through holes 120 may be equal to the thickness 116 of second glass layer 110 +/- 5% of thickness 156 of first glass layer 150,” thereby providing grounds to limit the damage or alteration slightly away from the core layer as claimed, particularly in light of the core layer thicknesses provided in ¶ 101 when considering the “+/- 5%” feature mentioned in ¶ 98.
Comment: Kim does not explicitly disclose the claimed option (2). However, Kim clearly discusses the relevance of the laser intensity (inter alia, ¶¶ 60, 67, and 68), and given that Kim’s method otherwise matches, and provides the same results, as the method claimed, it seems likely that, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discern an appropriate intensity levels for the quasi-non-diffracting beam, including the levels claimed for the claimed distances with respect to the core layer.
Claim 3: Kim discloses that an area of a cross section of the irradiated portion, taken parallel to the first clad layer external surface beginning just inside the first clad layer external surface and progressed toward the core layer, increases at at least some location along the progression (evident from ¶ 55, “By tailoring the compositions of the clad and core layers, blind vias having a desired geometry, e.g. cylinder or pyramid, on one or both sides of the glass can be precisely and reproducibly formed”).
Claim 8: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is a quasi-non-diffracting beam (¶ 60, “a quasi-non-diffracting Bessel or Gauss-Bessel laser beam”) and wherein irradiating with a pulsed laser beam comprises propagating the quasi-non-diffracting beam in the first clad layer in a direction toward the core layer (this is evident from the general embodiment shown in fig. 9A).
Claim 9: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is a quasi-non-diffracting beam (¶ 60, “a quasi-non-diffracting Bessel or Gauss-Bessel laser beam”), and wherein irradiating with a pulsed laser beam comprises propagating the quasi-non-diffracting beam in the first clad layer in a direction away from the core layer (this is evident from ¶ 160 providing that “The effective line focus of the laser can be positioned such that it spans . . . only the thickness of second glass layer 110, or only the thickness of third glass layer 130,” meaning that, if layer 130 is irradiated, it is done by a laser propagating away from the core layer).
Claim 10: Kim discloses that the glass laminate comprises a second clad layer (130) opposite the first clad layer (see figs. 2 and 4) with the core layer between the first clad layer and the second clad layer (ibid.), and wherein the method comprises irradiating a portion of the second clad layer and etching the second clad layer (140).
Claim 13: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is a quasi-non-diffracting beam (¶ 60, “a quasi-non-diffracting Bessel or Gauss-Bessel laser beam”) and wherein the beam path of the quasi-non-diffracting beam is curved at least in part (¶ 80, “While the contour 970 depicted in FIG.9A is linear, it should be understood that the contour 970 may be non-linear, for example, curved”).
Claim 14: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is an annular quasi-non-diffracting beam (see ¶ 72, “the pulsed laser beam 912 may comprise an annular shape” and “the pulsed laser beam 912 has a quasi-non-diffracting character”).
Claim 16: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is an airy beam (¶ 61, “Airy beams”).
Claim 18: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is a quasi-non-diffracting beam transmitted or formed at least in part by an adaptive optical element (¶ 61, “The quasi-non-diffracting laser beam may be formed by impinging a diffracting laser beam (such as a Gaussian beam) into, onto, and/or thorough a phase-altering optical element, such as an adaptive phase-altering optical element (e.g., a spatial light modulator, an adaptive phase plate, a deformable mirror, or the like)”).
Claim 19: Kim discloses that irradiating a portion of a first clad layer of a glass laminate with a pulsed laser beam comprises varying the properties of the adaptive optical element to vary one or more properties of the quasi-non-diffracting beam (¶ 61, “The quasi-non-diffracting laser beam may be formed by impinging a diffracting laser beam (such as a Gaussian beam) into, onto, and/or thorough a phase-altering optical element, such as an adaptive phase-altering optical element (e.g., a spatial light modulator, an adaptive phase plate, a deformable mirror, or the like), a static phase-altering optical element (e.g., a static phase plate, an aspheric optical element, such as an axicon, or the like), to modify the phase of the beam, to reduce beam divergence, and to increase Rayleigh range”).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Claim 2: Kim does not disclose that the etchant selectively etches the non-irradiated portion of the first clad layer relative to the core layer with selectivity ratio within the range of from 2:1 to 100:1.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated, at least given the examples of 110 and 120 in fig. 2B, that Kim could likely be practiced with selectivity ratios within the claimed broad range.
Claim 6: Kim discloses that the pulsed laser beam is a quasi-non-diffracting beam (¶ 60, “a quasi-non-diffracting Bessel or Gauss-Bessel laser beam”), including a Gaussian propagation (¶ 63, “outputting the pulsed laser beam 912, such as a Gaussian beam, using a beam source 910”)
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the radial energy distribution of the pulsed laser beam, while in Gaussian propagation, is limited by an aperture with an aperture radius corresponding to a beam intensity within a range of from 10 to 70 percent of peak beam intensity.
However, the use of an aperture for such a type of effect is effectively shown in fig. 9B, with how the beam 912 from 910 has its central portion cut off by the time it reaches lens 932. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement such an aperture as a known part of implementing a line focus for a quasi-non-diffractive beam that is depicted in fig. 9B and discussed elsewhere in Kim.
Kim does not disclose its aperture limiting a beam intensity to a range within 10 to 70 percent of peak beam intensity. However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the amount of intensity reduction from the aperture was a results-effective variable, and would have selected an intensity reduction commensurate with the desired material processing.
Claim 17: Kim disclose that the pulsed laser beam is a quasi-non-diffracting beam (¶ 60, “a quasi-non-diffracting Bessel or Gauss-Bessel laser beam”).
Kim does not disclose that the average width of the quasi-non-diffracting beam within the first clad layer is in the range of from 50 to 300 μm.
However, Kim discloses hole diameters of between 10–200 µm (¶ 99), and given that the hole diameter would substantially match the width of the laser beam, Kim more than likely suggests that a laser width within the claimed range would be used to practice at least one embodiment of its invention.
Claim 20: Kim discloses a glass-based laminate (see fig. 1B) comprising:
(i) a glass-based core layer (150); and
(ii) at least one cladding (110) situated directly adjacent to the core layer, the at least one clad layer comprising at least one recess (120) with at least one vertical sidewall (see fig. 1b) and a smooth bottom (fig. 1B fairly shows a smooth bottom of 120).
Kim does not disclose its smooth bottom having RMS surface roughness <75 nm.
However, as Kim otherwise discloses the method which makes the claimed glass-based laminate, including an etch stop effect that Applicant’s disclosure credits with the smooth bottom (see ¶ 117 of the as-filed specification, and ¶¶ 123 and 162 of Kim), it is more likely than not that the glass-based laminate shown in Kim would inherently have a smooth bottom with an RMS surface roughness <75 nm as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, while angled holes are known in the art (see Boek et al., US Pat. 9,278,886, fig. 12), there does not seem to be any reason to implement such a design into Kim, particularly seeing as Kim is directed to vias rather than simple holes.
Claim 5 depends from claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, a soft aperture does not appear obvious to use in the claimed method from sufficiently analogous art.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the claimed features are specific and do not appear able to be judged as mere results-effective variables.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not seem to suggest using such a beam type with the claimed method.
Boek et al. (WO 2019/023213 A1, cited by Applicant) is relevant, but no pulsed laser is used as claimed.
Kim et al. (WO 2019/195378 A1, cited by Applicant) discloses a more basic form of the claimed method (¶ 71).
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761