DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 18-26, 28-30 and 32 are currently pending in the instant application. Applicants have amended claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 18-21, 24, 26, 29, 30, 32 and canceled claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13-17, 27, 31 and 33-46 in an amendment filed on May 29, 2024. Claims 1, 7, 9, 11, 12, 18-25, 29, 30 and 32 are rejected and claims 2, 5, 26 and 28 are objected in this Office Action.
I. Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/080708, filed on November 30, 2022 which claims benefit of US Provisional Application 63/285,298, filed on December 2, 2021.
II. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 29, 2024 and June 18, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
III. Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 19, 30 and 32, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 12, 19, 30 and 32, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Applicants are suggested to delete the limitations that include the phrase “preferably” to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The phrase “Use of a compound…” is written in improper format because a “use” can only be properly claimed as a process or method. It is suggested that applicant amend the claims by rewriting the claims as a process or method, i.e. “a method of preparing…”
35 USC § 103 - OBVIOUSNESS REJECTION
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Graham v. John Deere Co. set forth the factual inquiries necessary to determine obviousness under 35 U.S.C. §103(a). See Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966). Specifically, the analysis must employ the following factual inquiries:
Claims 1, 7, 9, 11, 12, 18, 20-25, 29, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson, et al. (WO 2021/092598 A1). Applicants claim
The Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Carlson, et al. teaches compositions that are useful in treating a heart disease or treating a disease wherein the subject is suffering from diastolic dysfunction, left ventricular hypertrophy, angina, ischemia, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, restrictive cardiomyopathy or heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) (see paragraph [020], page 4). The invention is a composition comprising a myosin modulator being used in the treatment and further comprising a step of administering to the subject a therapeutic dose of a beta adrenergic agonist which could be an infusion from about 0.2 to about 0.4 μmol/kg of levosimendan over a period of about 30 minutes (see paragraph [054], page 9). The prior art also teaches that another additional agent that can be used in the composition could be a SGLT2 inhibitor such as empaglifozan, dapagliflozin or sotagliflozin (see paragraph [373], page 60).
The Difference Between the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between the prior art of Carlson, et al. and the instant invention is that the instant invention specifically teaches a composition comprising levosimendan and a SGLT2 inhibitor for treating heart failure whereas the prior art broadly teaches that individually that levosimendan is used in combination with a myosin inhibitor to treat heart failure and a SGLT2 inhibitor can be used in combination with a myosin inhibitor to treat heart failure. The prior art broadly teaches that combinations of different additional therapeutic agents can be used to treat heart failure but does not specifically teach a composition comprising levosimendan and a SGLT2 inhibitor as seen in the instant claimed invention.
Prima Facie Obviousness-The Rational and Motivation (MPEP §2142-2413)
In In re Kerkhoven, 626 F. 2d 846, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980), it was well established that it is obvious to combine individual compositions taught to have the same utility to form a new composition for the very same purpose. Both levosimendan and SGLT2 inhibitors have been taught in the prior art individually as additional therapeutic which could be used to treat heart diseases such as heart failure. Therefore, it would be within one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a composition comprising both therapeutic agents, levosimendan and SGLT2 inhibitors, for treating a heart failure with a reasonable expectation for success.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to prepare compositions comprising levosimendan and SGLT2 inhibitors for the purpose of treating heart failure based on the teachings of the preferred embodiments in the prior art since both agents are taught individually as being useful in treating heart failure. A strong prima facie obviousness has been established.
V. Objections
Dependent Claim Objections
Dependent Claims 2, 5, 26 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected based claim. To overcome this objection, Applicant should rewrite said claims in an independent form and include the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
IV. Conclusion
/SHAWQUIA JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626