Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KOREA on 11/29/2021, 12/01/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2024, 09/15/2025, 01/16/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) (maybe more in Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 then listed) not mentioned in the description: “L3” in Fig. 2, {“1311”, “1211T1”, “1211T2”, “1212” in Fig. 7}, {“2324”, “2334”, “2323”, “2333”, “2322”, “2332”, “2321”, “2331”, “2222”, “2232”, “2223”, “2233”, “2224”, “2100” in Fig. 8}, {“3324”, “3334”, “3323”, “3333”, “3322”, “3332”, “3321”, “3331”, “3231”, “3222”, “3232”, “3223”, “3233”, “3224”, “3200”, “3100”, “3314”, “3313”, “3312”, “3211”, “3212”, “3213” in Fig. 9} . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:”221-3S2” in Fig. 3B, “2221-3U” in Fig. 8, “A” in Fig. 11I, “310” in Fig. 11O. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a thickness of the second through electrode in the vertical direction is greater than a vertical length of the second inner wall” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
For art rejections purposes, examiner will disregard the above limitations in Claim 30
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Circuit Board with Three Sloped Inner Walls”.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence has a phrase (“according to an embodiment”) that is similar to “the disclosure concerns” and should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 17, 19, 21, 22, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“first circuit pattern layer includes” in Claim 11 should be “the first circuit pattern layer includes”
“on the same plane” in Claims 17 and 21 should be “on a same plane”
“the second pattern circuit part” in Claim 18 should be “the second circuit pattern part”
“corresponds” in Claim 19 should be “matches in place”
“a lower surface” in Claim 22 should be “the lower surface”
“the same as the thickness” in Claim 26 should be “same as thickness”
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 23-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US10950587) in view of KIM (KR101304359).
Regarding Claim 11. Jeon teaches, in Fig. 3, a circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (100); a second insulating layer (200, 300) disposed on the first insulating layer and including a cavity (C1,C2); and a first circuit pattern layer (VP, BP, 700) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, wherein first circuit pattern layer includes: a first circuit pattern part (BP) overlapping the cavity along a vertical direction (see Fig. 3); a second circuit pattern part (VP) that does not overlap the cavity along the vertical direction (see Fig. 3); and a third circuit pattern part (700) disposed between the first circuit pattern part and the second circuit pattern part and including a side surface exposed through the cavity (see Fig. 3), but does not disclose wherein a thicknesses in the vertical direction of each of the first circuit pattern part, the second circuit pattern part, and the third circuit pattern part are different.
KIM discloses, in Fig. 1m, a thicknesses in the vertical direction of each of the first circuit pattern part (50d), the second circuit pattern part (10c), and the third circuit pattern part (50c) are different.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board as disclosed by Jeon with the thicknesses of the part as disclosed by KIM in order to the thickness of the electronic product more slim as it is known in the art (KIM, page 4-Industrial Applicability).
Regarding Claim 16. (New) Jeon and Kim teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned higher than an upper surface of the first circuit pattern part, and wherein a lower surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned higher than a lower surface of the second circuit pattern part (see Kim Fig. 1m).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 차상석 (KR102102322) in view of KIM (KR101304359).
Regarding Claim 11. 차상석 teaches, in Fig. 1, 6, a circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (260, 110); a second insulating layer (210, 130) disposed on the first insulating layer and including a cavity (C,C1); and a first circuit pattern layer (122) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, wherein first circuit pattern layer includes: a first circuit pattern part overlapping the cavity along a vertical direction (122 middle, see Fig. 1); a second circuit pattern part that does not overlap the cavity along the vertical direction (122 left and right, see Fig. 1); and a third circuit pattern part (122 below T) disposed between the first circuit pattern part and the second circuit pattern part and including a side surface exposed through the cavity (see Fig. 1,6), but does not disclose wherein a thicknesses in the vertical direction of each of the first circuit pattern part, the second circuit pattern part, and the third circuit pattern part are different.
KIM discloses, in Fig. 1m, a thicknesses in the vertical direction of each of the first circuit pattern part (50d), the second circuit pattern part (10c), and the third circuit pattern part (50c) are different.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board as disclosed by 차상석 with the thicknesses of the part as disclosed by KIM in order to the thickness of the electronic product more slim as it is known in the art (KIM, page 4-Industrial Applicability).
Regarding Claim 12. 차상석 and KIM further teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the first circuit pattern part (KIM, 50d) is positioned lower than an upper surface of each of the second circuit pattern part (KIM 50c) and the third circuit pattern part (KIM, 10c).
Regarding Claim 13. (New) 차상석 and KIM further teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein a lower surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned higher than a lower surface of each of the first circuit pattern part and the second circuit pattern part (KIM, Fig. 1m).
Claim(s) 11-14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US20210185819) in view of KIM (KR101304359).
Regarding Claim 11. Kang teaches, in Fig. 5, 9, 10, a circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (111b); a second insulating layer (111a) disposed on the first insulating layer and including a cavity (110H); and a first circuit pattern layer (115a,115b, 112a) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, wherein first circuit pattern layer includes: a first circuit pattern part (115b) overlapping the cavity along a vertical direction (see Fig. 9-10); a second circuit pattern part (112a) that does not overlap the cavity along the vertical direction (see Fig. 9-10); and a third circuit pattern part (115a) disposed between the first circuit pattern part and the second circuit pattern part and including a side surface exposed through the cavity (see Fig.9-10), but does not disclose wherein a thicknesses in the vertical direction of each of the first circuit pattern part, the second circuit pattern part, and the third circuit pattern part are different.
KIM discloses, in Fig. 1m, a thicknesses in the vertical direction of each of the first circuit pattern part (50d), the second circuit pattern part (10c), and the third circuit pattern part (50c) are different.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board as disclosed by Kang with the thicknesses of the part as disclosed by KIM in order to the thickness of the electronic product more slim and also as it is known in the art (KIM, page 4-Industrial Applicability).
Regarding Claim 12. Kang and KIM further teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the first circuit pattern part (KIM, 50d) is positioned lower than an upper surface of each of the second circuit pattern part (KIM 50c) and the third circuit pattern part (KIM, 10c).
Regarding Claim 13. (New) Kang and KIM further teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein a lower surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned higher than a lower surface of each of the first circuit pattern part and the second circuit pattern part (KIM, Fig. 1m).
Regarding Claim 14. Kang and Kim teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein an inner wall (Kang, see wall left and right of 110H) of the second insulating layer forming the cavity includes: a first inner wall (Kang, right of 111a) having a first inclination angle (a2, see Fig. 5) with respect to an upper surface of the first insulating layer; and a second inner wall (right of 115a) provided under the first inner wall and having a second inclination angle (a1) different from the first inclination angle with respect to the upper surface of the first insulating layer (see Kang, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16. (New) Kang and Kim teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned higher than an upper surface of the first circuit pattern part, and wherein a lower surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned higher than a lower surface of the second circuit pattern part (see Kim Fig. 1m).
Regarding Claim 17. (New) Kang and Kim teaches the circuit board of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned on the same plane as an upper surface of the second circuit pattern part, and wherein a lower surface of the third circuit pattern part is positioned on the same plane or higher than an upper surface of the first circuit pattern part (see Kim , Fig. 1m).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Kim in view of Asaba (WO2021059416).
Regarding Claim 18. Kang and Kim teaches the circuit board of claim 14, but does not disclose the second pattern circuit part includes: a first metal layer horizontally overlapping the first circuit pattern part; and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer. (WO2021059416)
Asaba teaches, in Fig. 10, the second pattern circuit part (region below 15) includes: a first metal layer (17) horizontally overlapping the first circuit pattern part; and a second metal layer (12) disposed on the first metal layer.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board as disclosed by Kang and Kim with the two metal layers as disclosed by Asaba in order to help in the formation of conductive vias as it is known in the art (Asaba, page 4 second to last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 19. (New) Kang, Kim, and Asaba teaches the circuit board of claim 18, wherein a thickness of the first metal layer of the second circuit pattern part (17 below via 15) corresponds to the thickness of the first circuit pattern part (17 in cavity), and wherein a thickness of the second metal layer of the second circuit pattern part (12 below via 15) corresponds to a thickness of the third circuit pattern part (12 at edge) (see Asaba, Fig. 10).
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon and Kim in view of JI (KR20210070439).
Regarding Claim 20. Jeon and Kim teaches the circuit board of claim 16, but does not teach an upper surface of the first insulating layer includes a first upper surface corresponding to a lower surface of the cavity, and a second upper surface that does not overlap the cavity in the vertical direction, and wherein the first upper surface is positioned lower than the second upper surface.
Ji teaches, in Figs. 1, 3 and 13, an upper surface of the first insulating layer includes a first upper surface (110 surface below U) corresponding to a lower surface of the cavity (see above figures), and a second upper surface (110 surface above U) that does not overlap the cavity in the vertical direction (see above figures), and wherein the first upper surface is positioned lower than the second upper surface (see above figures).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board as disclosed by Jeon and Kim with the surfaces of the first insulating layer as disclosed by Ji in order to to increase mounting efficiency per unit area of a semiconductor package (Ji, Background Art).
Regarding Claim 21. Jeon, Kim and Ji teaches the circuit board of claim 20, wherein the first upper surface of the first insulating layer is positioned lower than upper surfaces of the second circuit pattern part (Ji, region between V1 and V2) (see also Jeon and Kim references) and the third circuit pattern part (see Jeon and Kim references, where U is pointing in Ji reference), and wherein the second upper surface of the first insulating layer is positioned on the same plane as the upper surfaces of the second circuit pattern part and the third circuit pattern part (see Ji, Fig. 1, 3, and 13) (it has also been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding Claim 22. (New) Jeon, Kim and Ji teaches the circuit board of claim 20, wherein the first upper surface of the first insulating layer is positioned on the same plane as the upper surface of the first circuit pattern part (T) or a lower surface of the third circuit pattern part (when combined with Jeon and Kim reference) (JI, Fig. 1,3, and 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is presented in the Notice of References Cited.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2848