DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 3, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10, 14, 16 and 20 are drawn to a composition, however are rendered indefinite for reciting a daily dosage in the instant ranges because it is unclear if the limitations are intended to limit the composition itself or an intended application or use of the composition. For purposes of examination, the limitations are interpreted as intended uses of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Berg et al. (WO 2019/215289 A1 cited by US 2021/0227845 A1).
Regarding claims 1 – 7, Berg teaches compositions comprising a prebiotic component comprising polydextrose (PDX) and galactooligosaccharides (GOS) (abstract). Although Berg does not teach the claimed intended uses of the compositions, the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112). Notwithstanding, Berg teaches the compositions are intended for adults (0021) and significantly improve cognitive function, alter production of sleep neurotransmitters (or improve sleep), have beneficial effects on anxiety (or reduces stress) and memory function (0075).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 19 and 20, Berg does not teach the composition is administered at the claimed frequency or dose. However, these limitations are regarded as intended applications and uses of the composition and do not further limit the composition itself. Moreover, the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112). Notwithstanding, Berg teaches compositions may include PDX or GOS at 1 – 6 mg/ml which is encompassed by the claim range.
Regarding claim 9, although Berg teaches the composition may include additional prebiotics, the examples are limited to only PDX and GOS, indicating the prebiotic may consist of only PDX and GOS (examples, claims).
Regarding claims 11 – 13 and 15, the compositions may further include polar lipids such as sphingomyelin, gangliosides, phospholipids (0064), cholesterol, whey protein concentrate and/or milk fat globule membrane (MFGM) (0029, 0063); and lactoferrin (0100).
Regarding claim 14 and 16, Berg does not teach the composition is administered at the claimed dose. However, these limitations are regarded as intended applications and uses of the composition and do not further limit the composition itself. Moreover, the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112). Notwithstanding, Berg teaches compositions may include MFGM at 1.5 - 7.5 mg/ml (0014) and lactoferrin at 25 – 150 mg.ml (0112) which are encompassed by the claim ranges.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the compositions are nutritional (abstract, claims) in liquid, concentrates, powers or solids (bars) (0021).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 11, 15 – 17, 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 24, 26 – 27, 31 – 36, 39 of copending Application No. 17/559 298 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to the same composition comprising PDX, GOS, lipids, and lactoferrin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 8, 10, 15 - 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 11 of copending Application No. 17/781 477 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to the same composition comprising PDX, GOS and lactoferrin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 11, 17 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8 of copending Application No. 19/027 195 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to the same composition comprising PDX, GOS and lipids.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699