LITHIUM SECONDARY BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/29/2024 and 9/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arai (WO 2022/054279 A1 using US 2023/0246239 as an English language translation.).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-9, Arai et al. teach a lithium secondary battery (Abstract), comprising:
a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and a nonaqueous electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity (Paragraph 0027), wherein
lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode during charging, and the lithium metal dissolves from the negative electrode during discharging (Paragraph 0029),
the nonaqueous electrolyte contains a lithium salt, and a solvent (Abstract; Example 33; Table 5),
the solvent includes
a first solvent: a chain ether containing no fluorine element (Example 33; Table 5 discloses 20 vol% dimethoxyethane,
which reads on chemical formula 1 of claim 5.),
a second solvent: a chain fluorinated ether having a fluorination rate of 60% or more (Example 33; Table 5 discloses TFEE, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether
which reads on chemical formula 2 and 2b of claims 6 and 7 as a=1, b=2, p=0, c=1, d=2, q2=0, g=1, h=2, r2=1. By observing the chemical structure, 7 fluorine atoms and 3 hydrogen atoms yield a fluorination rate of 70%.) and
a third solvent: a fluorinated ether having a fluorination rate of more than 0% and less than 60% (Example 33; Table 5 discloses ETFE, Ethyl 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl ether
which reads on chemical formula 3 of claims 8 and 9 as j=4, i=2, s=0, t=1 and u=0. By observing the chemical structure, 4 fluorine atoms and 6 hydrogen atoms yield a fluorination rate of 40%.), and
when the number of moles of the first solvent contained in the nonaqueous electrolyte is denoted by M1, and the number of moles of the third solvent contained in the nonaqueous electrolyte is denoted by M3, a molar ratio M1/M3 of the number of moles M1 to the number of moles M3 is 0.25 or more and less than 3 (Example 33 discloses 20 vol% of dimethoxyethane. DME has a molar mass of 90.12 g/mol and a density of 0.867 g/mL. Assuming 1 L total, a volume of 200 mL. This gives a mass=200 mL*0.867 g/mL=173.4g. To calculate moles: 173.4g/(90.12g/mol) =1.924 moles DME. For 40 vol.% ETFE, ETFE has a molar mass of 146.08 g/mol and a density of 1.198 g/mL. By the same procedure, this yields 3.28 moles. Therefore, the M1/M3=1.92/3.28=0.59 which is within the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 2, Arai et al. teach the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein when the number of moles of the second solvent contained in the nonaqueous electrolyte is denoted by M2, a molar ratio M2/M3 of the number of moles M2 to the number of moles M3 is 0.5 or more and 6 or less (Example 33 discloses 40 vol.% TFEE. TFEE has a molar mass of 200/06 g/mol and a density of 1.49 g/mL. By the same procedure above, this yields 2.98 moles. Therefore, M2/M3= 2.98/3.28 = 0.91 which is within the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 3, Arai et al. teach the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein when the number of moles of the second solvent contained in the nonaqueous electrolyte is denoted by M2, a molar ratio M2/(M1+M3) of the number of moles M2 to a sum of the number of moles M1 and the number of moles M3 is 0.4 or more and 2 or less (Calculated mole values from Arai disclose 2.98/(1.92+3.28)=0.57 which is within the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 4, Arai et al teach the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein a ratio (M1+M3)/ML of a sum of the number of moles M1 and the number of moles M3 to the number of moles ML of Li ions contained in the nonaqueous electrolyte is 1.5 or more and 7 or less (Example 33; Table 5 discloses 1M LiFSI which is 1 mole of Li ions. Therefore, (1.92+3.28)/1=5.2 which is within the claimed range.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (WO 2022/054279 A1 using US 2023/0246239 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umemoto et al. (JP 2006/210022 A).
Regarding claim 10, Arai et al. teach the lithium secondary battery according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the third solvent includes at least one selected from compounds represented by a following formula (3B):
(in the formula, R4 to R11 each independently represent hydrogen element, fluorine element, an alkyl group, or a fluorinated alkyl group, and at least one of R4 to R11 is fluorine element or a fluorinated alkyl group.)
Umemoto et al. disclose an electrolyte comprising a lithium salt and a fluorine solvent system (Abstract). Further, a fluorine solvent used can be a cyclic organofluorine compound such as 3,3,4,4-tetrafluorotetrahydrofuran
(Paragraph 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Arai with Umemoto in order to avoid excessively high vapor pressure of the electrolyte being that the boiling point of 3,3,4,4-tetrafluorotetrahydrofuran is over 70 degrees C.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 August 27th, 2026