DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 4-5 recite the limitation “Device” in line 1. Please amend to --- The device ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation “first control element” in claim 1 which has been interpreted to mean or include a magnet. (Page 3, lines 3-6 of the Specification)
The limitation “second control element” in claim 1 which has been interpreted to mean or include a magnetometer sensor. (Page 3, lines 3-6 of the Specification)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the automatic control" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the removable engagement" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the flow" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the air" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandel et al. (US 2004/0040948, hereinafter Mandel) in view of Altunay et al. (DE202009009713 U1, hereinafter Altunay).
Regarding claims 1 & 5, Mandel discloses device (102, figs. 1, 2) for the automatic control of a hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2), said device (102, figs. 1, 2) comprises a wearable element (wearable piece of clothing, [0033]) provided with a support (110, fig. 2) for the removable engagement with the hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2),
a first control element (116, fig. 2) which can be coupled with said wearable element (wearable piece of clothing, [0033]), and a second control element (108, fig. 2) which can be coupled with said hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2),
said second control element (108, fig. 2) being designed to switch said hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2) off when arranged in proximity of said first control element (116, fig. 2) ([0033], [0035]), and to switch said hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2) on when arranged away from said first control element (116, fig. 2) ([0035]); (Application claim 1) and
wherein said first control element (116, fig. 2) is a magnet (magnetic, [0034]) and said second control element (108, fig. 2) is a magnetometer sensor (magnetoresistive sensor or the like, [0030]; in other words, the like can be a magnetometer sensor). (Application claim 5)
Mandel does not disclose said wearable element comprising a belt provided with an adjustment buckle and said support comprising a waist bag carried by said belt. (Application claim 1)
Altunay teaches said wearable element (Altunay, ANNOTATED fig. 1) comprising a belt (Altunay, ANNOTATED fig. 1) provided with an adjustment buckle (Altunay, ANNOTATED fig. 1) and said support (Altunay, 2, 3, fig. 2) comprising a waist bag (Altunay, 3, fig. 2) carried by said belt (Altunay, belt, ANNOTATED fig. 1). (Application claim 1)
It is noted that there are a limited number of choices available to a person of ordinary skill in the art for providing a wearable element type. In this regard, it is noted that Altunay teaches that said wearable element comprising a belt provided with an adjustment buckle and said support comprising a waist bag carried by said belt.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to try the wearable element of Altunay to the device of Mandel, since this is simply another wearable element type for supporting or holding the hair dryer.
“When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the wearable element of Altunay to the device of Mandel, since this is simply another wearable element type for supporting or holding the hair dryer.
Furthermore, Mandel does not disclose said first control element is a magnetometer sensor and said second control element is a magnet. (Application claim 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the device for the automatic control of the hair dryer of Mandel with said first control element is a magnetometer sensor and said second control element is a magnet (Application claim 5), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Shifting the locations of the magnetometer sensor and the magnet does not modify the operation of the device for the automatic control of the hair dryer because the device for the automatic control of the hair dryer would still automatically control the hair dryer. Please note, Specification of the instant application does not disclose any criticality of the claim invention.
Regarding claim 2, Mandel as modified discloses wherein said first control element (116, fig. 2) is a magnet (magnetic, [0034]) and said second control element (108, fig. 2) is a magnetometer sensor (magnetoresistive sensor or the like, [0030]; in other words, the like can be a magnetometer sensor).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandel and Altunay as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takizawa et al. (US 6,792,692, hereinafter Takizawa).
Regarding claim 4, Mandel as modified discloses wherein said hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2) comprises button (106, figs. 1, 2) and a CPU (202, fig. 5; microcontroller or the like, [0035]; “the like” can be a CPU; furthermore, it is well-known in the art that the microcontroller includes a CPU as evidenced by Yong et al. (US 2018/0332945), more specifically see claim 6) designed to store the set drying program (fig. 6) and to maintain such program each time the hair dryer (100, figs. 1, 2) is switched off and on.
Mandel does not disclose said hair dryer comprises a pair of buttons for setting a hair drying program by adjusting respectively the flow and temperature of the air dispensed by the hair dryer.
Takizawa teaches said hair dryer (Takizawa, 10, fig. 1) comprises a pair of buttons (Takizawa, 22, 23, fig. 1) for setting a hair drying program (Takizawa, fig. 3) by adjusting respectively the flow and temperature of the air dispensed by the hair dryer (Takizawa, 10, fig. 1) (col. 1, line 63 through col. 3, line 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the device for the automatic control of the hair dryer of Mandel with said hair dryer comprises a pair of buttons for setting a hair drying program by adjusting respectively the flow and temperature of the air dispensed by the hair dryer, as taught by Takizawa, for providing a greater flexibility of drying different hair types and/or styles at different desired temperatures and/or airflows which would result in effectively drying a user’s hair without damage or burn and thus the use’s satisfaction is promoted. Thus, the hair dryer is more user-friendly and thus benefits the consumer.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762