DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The term “substantially identical” recited in five locations within the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially identical” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how identical the specified elements must be to be considered “substantially identical.” Further, the term “substantially identical” is an oxymoron because it combines two words that contradict each other. “Substantially” means something that is not the same, and “identical” means something that is the same. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Regarding claim 4: The term “substantially corresponds to” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how close to a width or a half length of a sliver of the first plurality of grooves of slivers is actually required to meet the limitation.
Regarding claim 5: The term “substantially the same” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how similar the specified items must be to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2010/0294776).
Regarding claim 1: Liu discloses Pressure tank (10, fig 1, abstract) which is designed to store a pressurized fluid, comprising; a liner (20, fig 1), which comprises a substantially cylindrical portion (30, fig 1 and a closure cap (i.e., dome portions 32, fig 1) on the axial ends thereof, wherein a central axis is defined by the cylindrical portion, wherein an intersection point of the central axis with a closure cap defines a pole of the closure cap (see fig 1), wherein a first plurality of slivers (44, called out in above annotated figure, ¶0029) is arranged on the an outside of the liner (fig 6, ¶0029), which slivers are arranged relative to one another, along a peripheral direction of the liner, in such a way that mutually adjacent slivers begin at a substantially identical longitudinal starting position (i.e., the ends 44 closest to cylindrical portion 30, fig 6 ), follow an identical rotational direction with respect to the peripheral direction of the liner (as shown in fig 6, ¶0042) and at a substantially identical angle with respect to the longitudinal direction of the liner (as shown in fig 6, ¶0042), and end at a substantially identical longitudinal end position (i.e., the ends nearest the end of the dome portions 32), wherein the respective end position is located closer to a pole associated with the first plurality of slivers than the respective starting position (see fig 6),wherein a second plurality of slivers (44, called out in above annotated figure 6) is arranged on the an outside of the first plurality of slivers (see fig 6, note that since fibers 44 cross, one of them must be the “outside” fiber), which slivers of the second plurality are arranged relative to one another, along the peripheral direction of the liner, in such a way that mutually adjacent slivers begin at a substantially identical longitudinal starting position (i.e., the ends of 44 nearest the cylindrical portion 30), follow an identical rotational direction with respect to the peripheral direction of the liner (as shown in fig 6) and at a substantially identical angle with respect to the longitudinal direction of the liner (as shown in fig 6), and end at a substantially identical longitudinal end position (i.e., the end of 44 nearest the end of the dome portion 32, fig 6), wherein the respective end position is located closer to the pole associated with the first plurality of slivers than the respective starting position (see fig 6); first plurality of slivers and the second plurality of slivers overlap at least in part (they are shown crossing each other in fig 6), and wherein the rotational direction followed by the first plurality of slivers is opposite the rotational direction followed by the second plurality of slivers (as shown in fig 6).
Regarding claim 5: Liu discloses wherein a length of the slivers of the first plurality of slivers is substantially the same length as a length of the slivers of the second plurality of slivers (see fig 6).
Regarding claim 14: Liu discloses wherein at least one of the slivers comprises carbon fiber (¶0054).
Regarding claim 15: Liu discloses at least one of the slivers are impregnated with a matrix material (i.e., resin, ¶0054) which reads on the claim. The examiner noting that “pre-impregnated” or being impregnated after being arranged on the liner are product by process limitations that do not define an end product that is materially different from the end product of Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2: Liu, as applied above, does not disclose wherein the longitudinal starting position at which at least the first plurality of slivers begins is arranged in the region of the cylindrical portion of the liner.
However, Liu discloses another embodiment (fig 7) wherein the longitudinal starting position at which slivers (44, fig 7) begins is arranged in the region of the cylindrical portion (30) of the liner (¶0042, fig 7). Liu teaches that the purposes of the slivers is to address a non-homogeneous stress distribution profile (¶0043). Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the embodiment of figure 6 such that the longitudinal starting position at which at least the first plurality of slivers begins is arranged in the region of the cylindrical portion of the liner, as taught by the embodiment of figure 7, so that stresses in the cylindrical portion could be addressed by the slivers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 6-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3: Liu does not disclose the limitations of claim 3 and there is no reference of record that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Liu to include said limitations. The examiner further noting that if the location of the plurality of slivers were changed relative to each other, it is not clear if they would still overlap as required by claim 1.
Regarding claim 6: Liu does not disclose the limitations of claim 6 and there is no reference of record that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Liu to include said limitations.
Regarding claim 11: Liu does not disclose the limitations of claim 11 and there is no reference of record that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Liu to include said limitations. The examiner noting the discussion of what constitutes a “trapezoidal basic shape” and the reason for the shape on page 7 of the specification.
Conclusion
/DON M ANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733