DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 6 discloses “each the cell cover”. This appears to be a typographical error and will be interpreted as “each cell cover”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 discloses “a finger of a jig” in line 2. Claim 1, from which claim 9 depends, is drawn to “a battery pack”. Thus, introducing “a finger of a jig” in claim 9 broadens the scope of “a battery pack” of claim 1. Applicants may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2011/0097614).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses in Figs 1-12, a battery pack (ref 10) comprising: a battery assembly (ref 100) including a plurality of cell units (refs 500); and a pack case (refs 200, 300, 400, [0038]) that houses (Fig 1) the battery assembly (ref 100) in an inner space (Fig 1) thereof, wherein each cell unit (ref 500) includes at least one battery cell (ref 510) and a cell cover (ref 520) that partially covers (Figs 2, 5) the at least one battery cell (ref 510), and wherein each cell cover (ref 520) comprises a first cover part (ref 521c) that covers a first side surface (Fig 5, top) of the at least one battery cell (ref 510), a second cover part (ref 521d) that covers a second side surface (Fig 5, bottom) of the at least one battery cell (ref 510) opposite from (Fig 5) the first side surface (Fig 5, top), a third cover part (ref 540) that connects (Fig 5) a first end (“1st end”, Fig 5 below) of the first cover part (ref 521c) and a first end (“1st end”, Fig 5 below) of the second cover part (ref 521d), and blocking parts (refs 524) that are respectively formed at a second end (“2nd end”, Fig 5 below) of the first cover part (ref 521c) and a second end (“2nd end”, Fig 5 below) of the second cover part (ref 521d), the blocking parts (refs 524) blocking removal ([0073]-[0074]) of the at least one battery cell (ref 510) from the cell cover (ref 520).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the blocking parts (refs 524) of each cell cover (ref 520) comprise a first blocking part (“1st part”, Fig 5 above) at the second end (“2nd end”, Fig 5 above) of the first cover part (ref 521c), and a second blocking part (“2nd part”, Fig 5 above) formed at the second end (“2nd end”, Fig 5 above) of the second cover part (ref 521d), and the first blocking part (“1st part”, Fig 5 above) and the second blocking part (“2nd part”, Fig 5 above) face each other (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first blocking part (“1st part”, Fig 5 above) and the second blocking part (“2nd part”, Fig 5 above) of each cell cover (ref 520) are spaced apart from each other (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses at least one of the first blocking part (“1st part”, Fig 5 above) and the second blocking part (“2nd part”, Fig 5 above) is arranged in of each cell cover (ref 520) comprises a plurality of blocking portions ([0073]-[0074], multiple disclosed) spaced apart from each other in the a longitudinal direction ([0073]-[0074], Fig 5) of the at least one battery cell (ref 510).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses each blocking part (ref 524) of each cell cover (ref 520) is bent (“bent hook”, Fig 5 above) to the towards an inside (Fig 5) of the cell cover (ref 520) at each the respective second end (“2nd end”, Fig 5 above) of each of the first cover part (ref 521c) and the second cover part (ref 521d) to form a hooking structure (“bent hook”, Fig 5 above).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cell cover has an integral single-piece shape (depicted in Fig 7, unitary structure).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses in Figs 1-12, a device ([0005]) comprising the battery pack (ref 10) as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2011/0097614) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 2018/0047954).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the first cover part and the second cover part of each cell cover are spaced apart from one another in lateral direction in which the at least one battery cell is stacked, nor the third cover part and the blocking part of each cell cover each extend in a longitudinal direction of the at least one battery cell perpendicularly to a lateral direction in which the at least one battery cell is stacked.
Yoo et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a secondary battery module ([0044]) including a plurality of cell units stacked together (Fig 5). Each cell unit has a cell cover (ref 10) including a first cover part (ref 110), a second cover part (ref 210), and a third cover part (ref 120), and blocking parts (refs 230). The first cover part (ref 110) and the second cover part (ref 210) are spaced apart from one another in a lateral direction (Figs 2-3) and the third cover part (ref 120) and blocking parts (refs 230) extend in a longitudinal direction (Figs 3-5) of the at least one battery cell (Fig 5) perpendicularly to a lateral direction in which the at least one battery cell is stacked (stacking depicted in Fig 5). This configuration enhances the contacting structure and heat transfer abilities within the battery structure ([0028]-[0029]).
Yoo et al. and Kim are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the cover / blocking parts configuration disclosed by Yoo et al. into the structure of Kim to enhance the contacting structure and heat transfer abilities within the battery pack structure, thereby enhancing overall performance.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses each blocking part (refs 524) of each cell cover (ref 520) covers an edge part of one surface (area of ref 510 under the “bent hook”, Fig 5 above) of the at least one battery cell (ref 510), and exposes a central part (middle part between respective refs 524, Fig 5 above, Fig 6 depicts structure assembled together) of the at least one battery cell (ref 510).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2011/0097614) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Won et al. (US 2014/0072853).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose each blocking part of each cell cover comprises an insertion groove into which configured to receive a finger of a jig configured to contact the inner surface of the cell cover and to change an interval between the first cover part and the second cover part of the cell cover is inserted.
Won et al. discloses in Figs 1-5, a battery cell assembly structure ([0007]) including tabs that have grooves therein ([0016]), the grooves connecting to a jig for assembly of the structure ([0016]). This configuration enhances the structural integrity of the overall structure via enhanced assembly techniques ([0016]]-[0017]).
Won et al. and Kim are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the groove structures into the blocking parts (which are essentially tabs in the cover structure) of Kim to enhance structural integrity of the overall structure via enhanced assembly techniques due to the groove structures.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2011/0097614) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deng et al. (US 2017/0084899).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the cell cover comprises stainless steel (SUS).
Deng et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, a battery module (ref 1) comprising a plurality of battery cells (refs 11) housed in a battery case ([0058]). The battery case ([0058]) is formed of stainless steel enhancing strength of the overall battery structure ([0036]).
Deng et al. and Kim are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the cover of Kim as comprising stainless steel as disclosed by Deng et al. to enhance the overall strength and structural integrity of the battery pack.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wu (US 2006/0078786) discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery case 10 that is used for storage of a plurality of cells 11, at a side of the battery case 10 are formed a plurality of inlets 12 and at another side of the batter case 10 opposite the inlets 12 are provided a plurality of outlets 13. The respective cells 11 are separated from each other and from the internal surfaces of the battery case 10 by ventilation spaces 101.
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725