DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2021-203094 filed December 15, 2021 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of a copy of WO 2023/112763, the WIPO publication of PCT/JP2022/044816 filed December 6, 2022.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claims filed May 29, 2024 and Remarks filed September 21, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
May 29, 2024
Amended
1, 2
Pending
1, 2
Withdrawn Abstract Objection
The following objection is withdrawn due to abstract amendment:
Line 1 “comprising”.
Response to Remarks filed September 21, 2026
Applicant's arguments filed September 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Ito (WO 2021/117711 with citations from US 2022/0372588) in view of Yamazaki (WO 2020/250735 machine translation)
Yabu (WO 2020/110855 with citations from US 2022/0389545) in view of Yamazaki (WO 2020/250735 machine translation)
The applicant argues the claimed arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling of less than 1.2 um requires final rolling reduction of rough rolling of 30% or lower (applicant’s [0068]) and a maximum temperature after completion of rough rolling and before descaling before finish rolling of T1 °C or higher (applicant’s [0069]) (p. 5 para. 2) as evidenced by applicant’s Comparative Examples 4 and 5, such that a similar composition and microstructure does not necessarily mean the claimed Ra (p. 5 paras. 3-4).
The above argued evidence is with respect to applicant’s disclosed process, but the pending claims are directed to a hot-rolled steel sheet product.
Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product is obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. MPEP 2113(I).
The “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” MPEP 716.02(d).
In the pending rejections Yamazaki discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001]) having an arithmetic average roughness of the surface after pickling of 2.00 um or less ([0007], [0010], [0062]) to prevent deterioration of fatigue properties (Yamazaki [0059]). Therefore, the pending rejection is based on the prior art’s explicit disclosure of an overlapping range.
Furthermore, applicant’s specification recites limiting the arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling to prevent deterioration of the bendability of the hot-rolled steel sheet (applicant’s [0054]). Bendability is related to fatigue properties. “Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention”. MPEP 716.02(c)(II).
The applicant argues Ito and Yabu are silent to the claimed Ra (p. 5 para. 5), neither disclose the required final rolling reduction ratio of rough rolling nor the maximum temperature after completion of rough rolling and before descaling to achieve the Ra (p. 5 para. 6) and that while Yamazaki discloses surface roughness after pickling, there is no reason to conclude the surface roughness Ra after pickling of Ito or Yabu would be less than 1.2 um (para. spanning pp. 5-6).
In the pending rejections both Ito and Yabu disclose the claimed composition (Ito [0028]-[0028], [0056]-[0065], [0069]-[0128]; Yabu [0043]-[0084]), microstructure (Ito [0049]-[0050], [0130]-[0142]; Yabu [0109]-[0112]), and surface texture (Ito [0054], [0164]-[0168]; Yabu [0089]-[0095], [0104]) in combination with Yamazaki’s disclosure of the obviousness of controlling the arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling (Yamazaki [0007], [0010], [0062]).
Yamazaki discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet (Yamazaki [0001]) with an Ra of 2.00 um or less (Yamazaki [0007], [0010], [0062]) to prevent deterioration of fatigue properties (Yamazaki [0059]). Yamazaki further states controlling the Ra delays the time required for fatigue crack initiation (Yamazaki [0014]) because large, localized stress concentrations occur during bending if Ra is too large (Yamazaki [0052]).
Yamazaki controls the Ra to be 2.00 um or less by controlling the impact pressure of high-pressure water descaling to be 2.5 MPa or higher (Yamazaki [0062]).
Similarly, Ito discloses descaling by the collision pressure of water at less than 3.0 MPa (Ito [0194]). Therefore, according to the combination of Ito and Yamazaki one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that by controlling the descaling water pressure to 2.5 MPa or higher and less than 3.0 MPa, the Ra can be controlled to 2.00 um or less.
Alternatively, with respect to the hot-rolled steel sheet surface after hot-rolling Yabu discloses pickling as required such that “the texture of the surface region does not change” (Yabu [0172]). Therefore, in the combination of Yabu and Yamazaki one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to combine the references based on their individual disclosures to control the surface text and Ra.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting U.S. Patent No. 12,203,148 (US ‘148) in view of Yamazaki (WO 2020/250735 machine translation)
The applicant argues US ‘148 corresponds to Ito, which is discussed with Yamazaki above for being deficient (p. 6 para. 4).
For the above cited reasons the rejection of Ito in view of Yamazaki is maintained. Therefore the double patenting rejection is also maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (WO 2021/117711 with citations from US 2022/0372588) in view of Yamazaki (WO 2020/250735 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001], [0066]) having an overlapping chemical composition ([0028]-[0048], [0056]-[0065], [0069]-[0128]) and an overlapping microstructure ([0049]-[0050], [0130]-[0142]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 1 (mass %)
Ito (mass%)
Ito Citation
C
0.100 to 0.350
0.040 to 0.150
[0070]-[0072]
Si
0.30 to 3.00
0.50 to 1.50
[0073]-[0075]
Mn
1.00 to 4.00
1.00 to 2.50
[0076]-[0078]
Sol. Al
0.001 to 2.000
0.01 to 0.10
[0085]-[0087]
Si + sol. Al
1.00 to 5.00
0.51 to 1.60
[0073]-[0075],
[0085]-[0087]
P
0.100 or less
0.100 or less
[0079]-[0081]
S
0.0300 or less
0.010 or less
[0082]-[0084]
N
0.1000 or less
0.0100 or less
[0088]-[0090]
O
0.0100 or less
-
-
Ti
0 to 0.380
0.005 to 0.150
[0091]-[0093]
Nb
0 to 0.100
0 to 0.06
[0102]-[0104]
V
0 to 0.500
0 to 0.50
[0105]-[0107]
Cu
0 to 2.00
0 to 0.50
[0111]-[0113]
Cr
0 to 2.00
0.10 to 1.00
[0097]-[0099]
Mo
0 to 1.00
0 to 0.50
[0108]-[0110]
Ni
0 to 2.00
0 to 0.50
[0114]-[0116]
B
0 to 0.0100
0.0005 to 0.0050
[0094]-[0096]
Ca
0 to 0.0200
0 to 0.010
[0119]-[0121]
Mg
0 to 0.0200
0 to 0.010
[0126]-0128]
REM
0 to 0.1000
0 to 0.010
[0122]-[0125]
Bi
0 to 0.020
-
-
One, two or more of Zr, Co, Zn, and W
0 to 1.00 total
-
-
Sn
0 to 0.050
-
-
Fe
Remainder
Remainder
[0048]
Microstructure
Claim 1 (area %)
Ito (area%)
Ito Citation
Bainite
55 to 95
90.0 to 98.0
[0134]-[0138]
Retained Austenite
5 to 30
Martensite + Residual Austenite: 2.0 to 10.0
[0139]-[0141]
Fresh Martensite
5 or less
-
-
Ferrite
5 or less
5 or less
[0142]
Pearlite
5 or less
-
-
Ito discloses in a texture at a region from a surface to a 1/8 thickness depth from the surface, a pole density of {110}<111> orientation is 3.0 or less (from surface to 1/16 of sheet thickness a pole density (110)<1111> is 3.0 or less) ([0054], [0164]-[0168]). With respect to the thickness depth, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Ito is silent to an arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling is less than 1.2 um.
Yamazaki discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001]) having an arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling is less than 1.2 um (2.00 um or less) ([0007], [0010], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the hot-rolled steel sheet of Ito to control the average arithmetic surface roughness Ra of the surface after pickling to 2.00 um or less to prevent deterioration of fatigue properties (Yamazaki [0059]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the hot-rolled steel sheet according to claim 1 as cited above, having an overlapping chemical composition ([0028]-[0048], [0056]-[0065], [0069]-[0128]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 2 (mass %)
Ito (mass%)
Ito Citation
One, Two, or more of:
Ti
0.005 to 0.380
0.005 to 0.150
[0091]-[0093]
Nb
0.005 to 0.100
0 to 0.06
[0102]-[0104]
V
0.005 to 0.500
0 to 0.50
[0105]-[0107]
Cu
0.01 to 2.00
0 to 0.50
[0111]-[0113]
Cr
0.01 to 2.00
0.10 to 1.00
[0097]-[0099]
Mo
0.01 to 1.00
0 to 0.50
[0108]-[0110]
Ni
0.02 to 2.00
0 to 0.50
[0114]-[0116]
B
0.0001 to 0.0100
0.0005 to 0.0050
[0094]-[0096]
Ca
0.0005 to 0.0200
0 to 0.010
[0119]-[0121]
Mg
0.0005 to 0.0200
0 to 0.010
[0126]-0128]
REM
0.0005 to 0.1000
0 to 0.010
[0122]-[0125]
Bi
0.0005 to 0.020
-
-
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabu (WO 2020/110855 with citations from US 2022/0389545) in view of Yamazaki (WO 2020/250735 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yabu discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001], [0022]-[0024]) having an overlapping chemical composition ([0043]-[0084]) and an overlapping microstructure, including a bainite single structure with 25% or less residual austenite ([0109]-[0112]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 1 (mass %)
Yabu (mass%)
Yabu Citation
C
0.100 to 0.350
0.030 to 0.400
[0046]-[0047]
Si
0.30 to 3.00
0.050 to 2.5
[0048]-[0049]
Mn
1.00 to 4.00
1.00 to 4.00
[0050]-[0051]
Sol. Al
0.001 to 2.000
0.001 to 2.0
[0052]-[0053]
Si + sol. Al
1.00 to 5.00
0.051 to 4.5
[0048]-[0049],
[0052]-[0053]
P
0.100 or less
0.020 or less
[0055]-[0056]
S
0.0300 or less
0.020 or less
[0057]-[0058]
N
0.1000 or less
0.010 or less
[0059]-[0060]
O
0.0100 or less
-
-
Ti
0 to 0.380
0 to 0.20
[0062]-[0063]
Nb
0 to 0.100
0 to 0.20
[0064]-[0065]
V
0 to 0.500
0 to 1.0
[0069], [0076]
Cu
0 to 2.00
0 to 1.0
[0072], [0076]
Cr
0 to 2.00
0 to 1.0
[0070], [0076]
Mo
0 to 1.00
0 to 1.0
[0071], [0076]
Ni
0 to 2.00
0 to 1.0
[0075]-[0076]
B
0 to 0.0100
0 to 0.010
[0067]-[0068]
Ca
0 to 0.0200
0 to 0.01
[0078], [0082]
Mg
0 to 0.0200
0 to 0.01
[0079] , [0082]
REM
0 to 0.1000
0 to 0.01
[0080] , [0082]
Bi
0 to 0.020
-
-
One, two or more of Zr, Co, Zn, and W
0 to 1.00 total
W: 0 to 1.0
Zr: 0 to 0.01
[0074], [0076]
[0081] , [0082]
Sn
0 to 0.050
-
-
Fe
Remainder
Balance
[0022]
Microstructure
Claim 1 (area %)
Yabu [0112]
Bainite
55 to 95
0 to 100%
Retained Austenite
5 to 30
25% or less
Fresh Martensite
5 or less
0 to 100%
Ferrite
5 or less
0 to 70%
Pearlite
5 or less
5% or less
Yabu discloses in a texture at a region from a surface to a 1/8 thickness depth from the surface, a pole density of {110}<111> Orientation is 3.0 or less (surface region from sheet surface to 1/10 of sheet thickness crystal orientations {110}<110> to {110}<001> is 3.0 or less, where this group includes {110}<111> crystal orientation) ([0089]-[0095], [0104]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. With respect to a thickness depth, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Yabu is silent to an arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling is less than 1.2 um.
Yamazaki discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001]) having an arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling is less than 1.2 um (2.00 um or less) ([0007], [0010], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the hot-rolled steel sheet of Yabu to control the average arithmetic surface roughness Ra of the surface after pickling to 2.00 um or less to prevent deterioration of fatigue properties (Yamazaki [0059]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Yabu in view of Yamazaki discloses the hot-rolled steel sheet according to claim 1 as cited above, having an overlapping chemical composition (Yabu [0043]-[0084]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 2 (mass %)
Yabu (mass%)
Yabu Citation
One, Two, or more of:
Ti
0.005 to 0.380
0 to 0.20
[0062]-[0063]
Nb
0.005 to 0.100
0 to 0.20
[0064]-[0065]
V
0.005 to 0.500
0 to 1.0
[0069], [0076]
Cu
0.01 to 2.00
0 to 1.0
[0072], [0076]
Cr
0.01 to 2.00
0 to 1.0
[0070], [0076]
Mo
0.01 to 1.00
0 to 1.0
[0071], [0076]
Ni
0.02 to 2.00
0 to 1.0
[0075]-[0076]
B
0.0001 to 0.0100
0 to 0.010
[0067]-[0068]
Ca
0.0005 to 0.0200
0 to 0.01
[0078], [0082]
Mg
0.0005 to 0.0200
0 to 0.01
[0079] , [0082]
REM
0.0005 to 0.1000
0 to 0.01
[0080] , [0082]
Bi
0.0005 to 0.020
-
-
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,148 (US ‘148) in view of Yamazaki (WO 2020/250735 machine translation).
US ‘148 discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet with an overlapping composition (claims 1, 3, 4), microstructure (claim 1), and pole density (claim 1).
US ‘148 is silent to an arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling is less than 1.2 um.
Yamazaki discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001]) having an arithmetic average roughness Ra of the surface after pickling is less than 1.2 um (2.00 um or less) ([0007], [0010], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the hot-rolled steel sheet of US ‘148 to control the average arithmetic surface roughness Ra of the surface after pickling to 2.00 um or less to prevent deterioration of fatigue properties (Yamazaki [0059]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Related Art
Otsuka (JP 2009-263718 machine translation)
Otsuka discloses a hot-rolled steel sheet ([0001], [0005]-[0007]) with a similar composition ([0020]-[0030]), a microstructure including bainite, 5% or more ferrite, up to 20% pearlite, 5% or less martensite and residual austenite ([0031]-[0032]), an x-ray random intensity for the three crystal orientations {554}<225>, {111}<112>, and {111}<110> is 4.5 or less ([0036]-[0037]).
Yokoi (US 2004/0244877)
Yokoi discloses a hot-rolled ([0028], [0134]) steel sheet ([0013]) with an average strength in three orientation components of {554}<225>, {111}<112>, and {111}<110> of 3.5 or less ([0016], [0042]), a microstructure of bainite as the largest volume, such as 30 to 70 vol%, with 5 to 25 vol% retained austenite ([0017], [0059]), a similar composition ([0018]-[0026], [0061]-[0081]), and a surface roughness Ra of 1 to 3.5 um ([0015], [0045], [0094], [0134], [0153], [0168]).
Maruyama (US 2014/0178712)
Maruyama discloses a hot rolled steel sheet ([0001]) with a structure that has a balance of bainite ([0039]) in which the final rolling temperature Tf is greater than 830 + 4 - ([Ti]+[Nb]) ([0120]-[0125]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735