DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 10/14/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2026.
Priority
Copies of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received in this National Stage application from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
Four (4) information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 05/29/2024, 11/06/2025, 12/11/2025, and 02/02/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “2.8 to 3.8% of Si, 0.5 to 1.5% of Al, 0.3 to 2.0% of Mn, 0.01 to 0.2% of Cu, and 0.01 to 0.5% of Cr components, and 0.0005 to 0.015% of In, 0.0050 to 0.08% of Sn, 0.0050 to 0.05% of Sb, 0.0050 to 0.06% of P, and 0.002 to 0.05% of Mg, with a balance of Fe and other inevitable impurities” (emphasis added). Claim 1 is not written in standard English grammar. The limitation includes the term “and” three times instead of only once at the end of the listed elements. In standard English grammar, the term “and” is written only before the final item in the series, and not between items in a list of elements.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a crystal grain size” and then uses the term “grain diameter” in the equation. While these terms appear to be used as synonyms in the instant claim, it is suggested to use the same terminology throughout the claims for clarity and consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the claim and specification amendments of 07/07/2026, the Examiner notes that the specification as originally filed recites “[Equation 2] Ys (RD*1.03) ≤ Ys (45°) ≤ Ys (TD)” in page 5, lines 17-18 and page 14, lines 7-8, which provides support for amended claim 6 reciting “Ys (RD)*1.03 ≤ Ys (45°) ≤ Ys (TD)” and the amended specification. Since the specification as originally filed also recited “[Equation 2] Ys (RD*10.3) ≤ Ys (45°) ≤ Ys (TD)”, the amendment of 07/07/2026 fixes this inconsistency throughout the claims and specification, including Table 2, and does not constitute new matter.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the term “comprising” in line 1 is inclusive or open-ended, and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03(I). However, as currently written, the limitation “with a balance of Fe and other inevitable impurities” closes the composition of the steel sheet since the remainder of the alloy must be Fe and “other inevitable impurities” to meet the composition of claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “[Equation 1] [Mg] ≤ ([In]*[Sn])/([Sb]*[P]) ≤ grain diameter (mm)*20”. The contents of In, Sn, Sb, P, and Mg used in the equation are interpreted as the contents of each element in weight % as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "0.01 to 1.5% of Cr components" in lines 2-3. This limitation renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the term “Cr components” entails and whether this encompasses any “component” or compound containing Cr (e.g. chromium oxides, chromium nitrides, or chromium alloys), an addition of only elemental Cr, or a different interpretation.
Claims 2-6 depend on claim 1, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “ND//<114> texture fraction”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because the term “ND” is introduced only by its acronym and does not explain the meaning of the term “ND” or the claimed ND//<114> texture fraction. While one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand “ND” as an acronym for “normal direction”, the instant specification recites “vertical thickness direction (ND) to a rolling direction” (page 13, lines 16-17). The meaning of ND and consequently the claimed “ND//<114> texture fraction” is therefore unclear as presently claimed.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “further comprises: one or more of 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of C, 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of S, 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of N, and 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of Ti”. Claim 1, on which claim 3 depends, recites the limitation “comprising, by weight: 2.8 to 3.8% of Si, 0.5 to 1.5% of Al, 0.3 to 2.0% of Mn, 0.01 to 0.2% of Cu, and 0.01 to 0.5% of Cr components, and 0.0005 to 0.015% of In, 0.0050 to 0.08% of Sn, 0.0050 to 0.05% of Sb, 0.0050 to 0.06% of P, and 0.002 to 0.05% of Mg, with a balance of Fe and other inevitable impurities”. While the term “comprising” is open-ended, the limitation “with a balance of Fe and other inevitable impurities” closes the composition since the remainder of the alloy must be “Fe and other inevitable impurities” to meet the composition of claim 1. Since claim 1 closes the composition by reciting a “balance” (see Claim Interpretation section), the claim excludes any element not specified in the claim. Claim 3 therefore fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/136993 A1 of Zaizen (as cited in prior Office action, using US 2022/0056548 A1 as its English translation) in view of WO 2018/117600 A1 of Lee (as cited in prior Office action, using US 2020/0087750 A1, as cited in IDS mailed 02/02/2026, as its English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Zaizen teaches a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (Title, reads on claimed non-oriented electrical steel sheet).
List 1
Instant claims (wt%)
Zaizen (mass%)
Zaizen (Ex 43, Table 1, mass%)
Lee (wt%)
Si
2.8-3.8
2.8-6.5
3.6
2.0-3.5
Al
0.5-1.5
0.3-2.0
0.9
0.05-2.0
Mn
0.3-2.0
0.05-2.0
0.5
0.05-2.0
Cu
0.01-0.2
0.01-1.0 (“one or more of Cu, Ni, Cr”)
0.2
≤ 0.025 (“at least one of B, Mg, Zr, and Cu”)
Cr
0.01-0.5
0.01-1.0 (“one or more of Cu, Ni, Cr”)
0.3
-
In
0.0005-0.015
-
-
0.0002-0.003
Sn
0.0050-0.08
0.005-0.20 (“one or two from Sn, Sb”)
0.03
-
Sb
0.0050-0.05
0.005-0.20 (“one or two from Sn, Sb”)
-
-
P
0.0050-0.06
Not more than 0.10
0.01
-
Mg
0.002-0.05
0.0005-0.020 (“one or more from Ca, Mg, and REM”)
-
-
One or more of C, S, N, and Ti (claim 3)
C
≤ 0.0040 (excluding 0)
not more than 0.0050
0.0021
≤ 0.005 (“at least one of C, S, N, Ti, Nb, V”)
S
≤ 0.0040 (excluding 0)
not more than 0.0050
0.0017
≤ 0.005 (“at least one of C, S, N, Ti, Nb, V”)
N
≤ 0.0040 (excluding 0)
not more than 0.0050
0.0025
≤ 0.005 (“at least one of C, S, N, Ti, Nb, V”)
Ti
≤ 0.0040 (excluding 0)
Not more than 0.0030
0.0013
≤ 0.005 (“at least one of C, S, N, Ti, Nb, V”)
Zn: 0.0005-0.0050
Nb: not more than 0.0030
Zn: 0.0019
Nb: 0.0009
O: 0.0019
Optional:
Bi: 0.0005-0.05
At least one of C, S, N, Ti, Nb, V
At least one of B, Mg, Zr, Cu
Fe
Balance (“and other inevitable impurities”)
Remainder (“and inevitable impurities”)
Remainder (“and inevitable impurities”)
Balance (“and inevitable impurities”)
Resistivity (μΩ∙cm)
≥ 50 (claim 4)
49-132
70
37-87
Regarding the chemical composition of claims 1 and 3, Zaizen teaches an inventive example (Ex. 43, Table 1) with a chemical composition lying within the claimed composition, as shown in List 1, with the exception of In, Sb, and Mg. Additionally, or alternatively, Zaizen teaches a broader disclosure of a steel with a chemical composition ([0045]-[0073]) overlapping with the claimed steel, as shown in List 1, with the exception of In. Regarding Sb and Mg, Zaizen teaches adding Sb in amounts of 0.005 to 0.20 mass% to improve recrystallization texture to improve magnetic flux density and iron loss ([0068]-[0069]) and adding Mg in amounts of 0.0005 to 0.020 mass% to form sulfides and improve grain growth property ([0070]-[0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Sb and Mg contents of Ex. 43 of Zaizen, such as within claimed ranges, to improve recrystallization texture, magnetic flux density, iron loss, and grain growth, as taught by Zaizen. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Zaizen therefore reads on the limitation a non-oriented electrical steel sheet comprising, by weight: 2.8 to 3.8% of Si, 0.5 to 1.5% of Al, 0.3 to 2.0% of Mn, 0.01 to 0.2% of Cu, and 0.01 to 0.5% of Cr components, 0.0050 to 0.08% of Sn, 0.0050 to 0.05% of Sb, 0.0050 to 0.06% of P, and 0.002 to 0.05% of Mg, with a balance of Fe and other inevitable impurities of claim 1 and further comprises: one or more of 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of C, 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of S, 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of N, and 0.0040% or less (excluding 0%) of Ti of claim 3.
However, Zaizen does not teach 0.0005 to 0.015% of In of claim 1.
Lee teaches non-oriented electrical steel sheets (Abstract) with a similar composition and Si and Al contents overlapping with Zaizen and the instant invention. Lee and Zaizen are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with the same type of non-oriented electrical steel sheets. Lee teaches adding indium in a range of 0.0002 to 0.003 wt% improves high temperature strength by segregating on the surface and grain boundaries of the steel sheet when comprised in an appropriate amount ([0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the steel of Zaizen to add the In of Lee, such as within claimed ranges, to improve high temperature strength of the steel sheet, as taught by Lee.
Modified Zaizen therefore reads on the limitation 0.0005 to 0.015% of In of claim 1.
Modified Zaizen therefore reads on all the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claims 2, 5, and 6, modified Zaizen teaches the steel sheet of claim 1 as described above.
Zaizen teaches a hot rolling, a hot-band annealing, a single cold rolling or two or more cold rollings with an intermediate annealing between each rolling to a final sheet thickness, and then a finish annealing (claim 12). Zaizen teaches the final sheet thickness is not more than 0.30 mm (claim 14).
However, Zaizen does not explicitly disclose wherein: contents of In, Sn, Sb, P, and Mg and a crystal grain size satisfy a relationship of the following [Equation 1]: [Equation 1] [Mg] ≤ ([In]*[Sn])/([Sb]*[P]) ≤ grain diameter (mm)*20 of claim 2, wherein: the non-oriented electrical steel sheet has a ND//<114> texture fraction of 5% or more of claim 5, and wherein: the non-oriented electrical steel sheet satisfies the following [Equation 2] related to yield strength by crystal orientation: [Equation 2] Ys (RD)*1.03 ≤ Ys (45°) ≤ Ys (TD) In [Equation 2], Ys (RD) is a yield strength in a rolling direction, Ys (TD) is a yield strength in a direction vertical to a rolled surface, and Ys(45°) is a yield strength in a direction tilted at 45° from the rolling direction of claim 6.
Since modified Zaizen teaches a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a chemical composition overlapping with the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the steel of modified Zaizen to necessarily meet the relationships of Equations 1 and 2 and the claimed ND//<114> texture.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the steel of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (both are non-oriented electrical steel sheets with overlapping final sheet thicknesses), and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes (both are hot-rolled, annealed, pickled, cold rolled, and finish annealed). Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the steel of modified Zaizen to necessarily meet the relationships of Equations 1 and 2 and the claimed ND//<114> texture given their overlapping chemical composition, structure, and processing as described above.
Modified Zaizen therefore reads on the limitation wherein: contents of In, Sn, Sb, P, and Mg and a crystal grain size satisfy a relationship of the following [Equation 1]: [Equation 1] [Mg] ≤ ([In]*[Sn])/([Sb]*[P]) ≤ grain diameter (mm)*20 of claim 2, wherein: the non-oriented electrical steel sheet has a ND//<114> texture fraction of 5% or more of claim 5, and wherein: the non-oriented electrical steel sheet satisfies the following [Equation 2] related to yield strength by crystal orientation: [Equation 2] Ys (RD)*1.03 ≤ Ys (45°) ≤ Ys (TD) In [Equation 2], Ys (RD) is a yield strength in a rolling direction, Ys (TD) is a yield strength in a direction vertical to a rolled surface, and Ys(45°) is a yield strength in a direction tilted at 45° from the rolling direction of claim 6.
Regarding claim 4, modified Zaizen teaches the steel sheet of claim 1 as described above.
While Zaizen does not explicitly disclose a resistivity, performing the calculation using the equation 13.25 + 11.3x([Si]+[AI]+[Mn]/2+[Cu]/2+[Cr]/2 of the instant invention to obtain the resistivity of Zaizen based on the contents of Si, Al, Mn, Cu, and Cr of Zaizen results in values lying within or overlapping with the claimed ranges, as shown in List 1. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Modified Zaizen therefore reads on the limitation wherein: the non-oriented electrical steel sheet has a resistivity of 50 μΩ∙cm or more of claim 4.
Conclusion
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733