DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26, 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimokawa et al. (US 2020/0336046 A1).
RE claim 26, Shimokawa teaches a motor 1 (Fig.1) comprising: a stator 3; a rotor 2 disposed inside the stator 3; a shaft 23 coupled to the rotor 2; and a sensing magnet 8 disposed above the rotor 2, wherein the sensing magnet 8 includes a base portion 82 and a plurality of protruded portions 81 protruded from the base portion 82, and wherein the plurality of protruded portions 81 are spaced apart from each other (Fig.5).
RE claim 27/26, Shimokawa teaches the sensing magnet 8 is provided with a plurality of radial slots (S) (space between protruding portion 81, see annotated Fig.5 below), and wherein a radial length of the base portion 82 is equal to or smaller than a radial length of the sensing magnet 8 (Fig.5).
[AltContent: textbox (Slot (S))][AltContent: arrow]
RE claim 29/27, Shimokawa teaches the sensing magnet 8 includes one surface facing the rotor 2, and wherein the slot is formed on the other surface of the sensing magnet facing the one surface (see Fig.2).
RE claim 30/27, Shimokawa teaches the slot (S) is disposed on an upper surface of the sensing magnet 8 (see annotated Fig.5 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20090050650 A) in view of Mizuno et al. (JP 2009042060 A).
RE claim 11, Kim teaches a motor 1 (Figs.2, 3) comprising: a stator 160; a rotor 150 disposed inside the stator 160; a shaft 140 coupled to the rotor 150; and a sensing magnet 173 disposed above the rotor 150, wherein the sensing magnet 173 includes first unit magnets 173 and second unit magnets 173 (Fig.3) arranged alternately along a circumferential direction (Fig.3), wherein a polarities of the first unit magnet 173 and the second unit magnet 173 are different from each other (Fig.3).
Kim does not teach wherein the sensing magnet is provided with a plurality of radial slots and the slot is disposed between the first unit magnet and the second unit magnet.
Mizuno teaches sensing magnet is provided with a plurality of radial slots 2a (Fig.4) and the slot 2a is disposed between the first unit magnet 5a and the second unit magnet 5b (Fig.4), so that the magnet mold shaft has a center of gravity on the central axis of the shaft body from the viewpoint of expressing good rotation characteristics (see translation page 8, 5-7th ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by having the sensing magnet is provided with a plurality of radial slots and the slot is disposed between the first unit magnet and the second unit magnet, as taught by Mizuno, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 12/11, Kim in view of Mizuno has been discussed above. Kim further teaches the sensing magnet 173 is coupled to a support plate 170, and the support plate 170 is coupled to the shaft 140 (Fig.2).
RE claim 23/11, as discussed above, Mizuno teaches the first unit magnet 5a and the second unit magnet 5b are spaced apart from each other (Fig.4).
RE claim 25/11, Mizuno teaches the slot 2a overlaps a boundary between the first and second unit magnets 5a, 5b in a radial direction (Fig.4).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Mizuno as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20190379261 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kim’261).
RE claim 13/12, Kim in view of Mizuno has been discussed above. Kim does not teach a cover coupled to the support plate to cover the other surface of the sensing magnet.
Kim’261 teaches a cover 2440 (Fig.1) coupled to the support plate 2410 to cover the other surface of the sensing magnet 2421 (Fig.10), the cover member 2440 serves to fix the sensing magnet to the sensing plate (¶ 168).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Mizuno by having a cover coupled to the support plate to cover the other surface of the sensing magnet, as taught by Kim’261, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 14/13, as discussed above, Kim’261 teaches the support plate 2410 includes one surface facing the rotor 2200 and the other surface facing the cover 2440, wherein the other surface of the support plate 2410 includes a protruded region (PR) (see annotated Fig.9 below) more protruded than the other region, and wherein the sensing magnet 2420 is disposed outside the protruded region (PR).
[AltContent: textbox (Protruded region (PR))][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-22, 24, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RE claim 15/11, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the sensing magnet includes one surface facing the rotor, and wherein the slot is formed on the other surface of the sensing magnet facing the one surface.
Claims 16-19 and 21 are allowable for their dependency on claim 15.
RE claim 20/11, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the slot is disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the sensing magnet.
RE claim 22/11, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, an axial length of the slot is the same as an axial length of the sensing magnet.
RE claim 24/11, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the slot is disposed on an upper surface of the sensing magnet.
RE claim 28/27, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, an axial length of the slot is the same as an axial length of the sensing magnet.
Conclusion
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834