DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is the 35 U.S.C. § 371 national stage entry of PCT/US2022/78834, filed 28 OCT 2022 and published as WO 2023/077039 A1 on 04 MAY 2023. The report on patentability of the IPEA or ISA in this National Stage application has been considered by the Primary Examiner. MPEP § 1893.03(e).
This application also claims benefit of IN 202123049643, filed 29 OCT 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Primary Examiner has considered the IDS filed 29 MAY 2024.
Drawings
The drawings filed 29 MAY 2024 are acceptable. See MPEP § 608.02(b)(I).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: (i) it uses phrases that can be implied (“.A polymer composition . . . is provided”, “The present invention also provides”, etc.); (ii) it refers to the purported merits of the invention (e.g., “imparts desired properties such as high impact and abrasion resistance”); and (iii) fails to recite any process steps. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7
The preamble of claim 7 should read - - A process for coating a polymer composition onto a wooden pallet, comprising: - -.
The end of claim 7, at 13:10-13 should read - - wherein the coating of molten polymer composition is a matrix coating process; and drying the coating on the surface of the wooden pallet at [[a]] room temperature - -.
Claim 8
This claim should read - - The process as claimed in claim 7, wherein the wooden pallet is selected from [[a]] the group consisting of plywood, firewood and wood veneer sheets - -. See MPEP § 2173.05(h).
Claim 13
The body of claim 13, at 14:4, should read - - composition on the surface of the wooden pallet is carried out using a gun - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1
Claim 1 initially recites that the mixture must contain “at least one” of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, or a combination thereof. The claim then goes on to require that the mixture contain either polyurea and polyurethane or polyurea, polyurethane, and silicon elastomer. This recitation is confusing and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear precisely what the composition of the mixture is.
Moreover, both instances of “the predefined ratio” lack antecedent basis.
The Primary Examiner interprets claim 1 as reading:
A polymer composition for coating a wooden pallet, comprising either a mixture comprising a polyurea and a polyurethane in a ratio of 60:40 to 80:20, or a polyurea, polyurethane, and a silicon elastomer in a ratio of 60:37:3 to 78:19:3.
Claims 3 and 4
The recitation “the predefined ratio” in both of these claims lack antecedent basis.
Claim 7
Claim 7 initially recites that the mixture must contain “at least one” of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, or a combination thereof. The claim then goes on to require that the mixture contain either polyurea and polyurethane or polyurea, polyurethane, and silicon elastomer. This recitation is confusing and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear precisely what the composition of the mixture is.
Moreover, both instances of “the predefined ratio” lack antecedent basis.
The Primary Examiner interprets claim 1 as reading:
A process for coating a polymer composition onto a wooden pallet, comprising: heating a polymer mixture at 70°C to 85°C to obtain the polymer mixture in a molten state, wherein the polymer mixture comprises either a polyurea and a polyurethane in a ratio of 60:40 to 80:20, or a polyurea, polyurethane, and a silicon elastomer in a ratio of 60:37:3 to 78:19:3; coating the a wooden pallet with the molten polymer mixture to form a layer of predefined thickness on the surface of the a wooden pallet, wherein the coating of molten polymer mixture is performed using a matrix coating process; and drying the coating on the surface of the a wooden pallet at room temperature.
Claims 9 and 10
The recitation “the predefined ratio” in both of these claims lack antecedent basis.
Claims 14 and 15
Claim 14 recites that the polymer composition is “uniform” over the surface of the wooden pallet, whereas claim 15 recites that the polymer composition is “variable” over the surface of the wooden pallet. As not coating is completely uniform in that its thickness is not without some variation across a given area, there is some overlap between a uniform coating and a variable coating. Because it is unclear where the line between the uniform and variable is, the metes and bounds of the claim are impossible to determine.
If Applicant intends for claim 14 to mean that the coating generally covers the entire surface of the pallet, and claim 15 means that the coating is generally applied in some form of pattern where there are portions of the pallet that are coated and some that remain un-coated, Applicant should so clarify.
Claim 17
Claim 1 initially recites that the mixture must contain “at least one” of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, or a combination thereof. The claim then goes on to require that the mixture contain either polyurea and polyurethane or polyurea, polyurethane, and silicon elastomer. This recitation is confusing and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear precisely what the composition of the mixture is.
Moreover, both instances of “the predefined ratio” lack antecedent basis.
The Primary Examiner interprets claim 1 as reading:
A wooden pallet, comprising: a layer of predefined thickness of a polymer composition coated on the surface of the wooden pallet, wherein the polymer composition comprises either a mixture comprising a polyurea and a polyurethane in a ratio of 60:40 to 80:20, or a polyurea, polyurethane, and a silicon elastomer in a ratio of 60:37:3 to 78:19:3.
Claim 19
The recitation “the predefined ratio” in both of these claims lack antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation
In general, a preamble describing the intended use of an invention does not limit the claim. It is the Primary Examiner' s position that the preamble of claim 1 (“for coating a wooden pallet”) does not carry patentable weight because: (1) a particular phrase from the preamble does not provide an antecedent basis in the claim body; (2) the preamble is not essential to understand elements, terms, or limitations in the claim body; (3) the preamble does not recite additional structure underscored as important by the specification; (4) the preamble has not yet been relied upon during prosecution to distinguish the invention over the prior art; and/or (5) the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the claimed steps of the claimed invention. See Catalina Marketing International, Inc., v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 62 USPQ2d 1781 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
The Primary Examiner interprets the phrase “silicon elastomer” as defined at the bottom of page 6 of the instant specification: “As used herein the term 'silicon elastomer' refers to a durable & highly resistant elastomer (rubber-like material) composed of silicone (polymer) containing silicon together with other molecule like carbon, hydrogen and oxygen. The silicon elastomer's structure always comprises siloxane backbone (silicon-oxygen chain) and an organic moiety bound to the silicon.” Essentially, a just silicone elastomer having organic moieties bound thereto.
Claims 17-22 recite reference numerals. The use of reference characters in the claims is noted. Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description and the drawings may be used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims. The reference characters, however, should, as here, be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. The use of reference characters is to be considered as having no effect on the scope of the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/090198 A1; published 14 MAY 2021.
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, WO 198 discloses a polymer composition for coating a wooden pallet (as noted above, the language of the preamble related to a wooden pallet is not given patentable weight as a limitation on the claims), comprising: a mixture of at least one of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, and combination thereof in a predefined ratio, wherein the mixture comprises one of the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 60:40 to 80:20 (polymer composition comprising a mixture of at least one of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer in a predefined ratio, wherein the mixture comprises one of the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 60:40 to 80:20; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 1), and the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 60:37:03 to 78:19:03 (the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 60:37:03 to 78:19:03; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 1 ).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, WO 198 discloses the polymer composition as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 65:35 (the mixture comprises the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 65:35; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 2).
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, WO 198 discloses the polymer composition as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 65:32:03 (wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 65:32:03; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/090198 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0005435 A1.
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, WO 198 discloses the polymer composition as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses a pallet (pallet; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet selected from a group consisting of plywood, firewood and wood veneer sheets.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet consisting of plywood (wood pallet comprising plywood; abstract; paragraphs [0007)-(0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet consisting of plywood, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a plywood composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract; paragraph [00071).
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, WO 198 discloses the polymer composition as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the mixture of the polyurea and the polyurethane is configured to impart flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet (the mixture of the polyurea and the polyurethane is configured to impart flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet; page 9, lines 9-18; page 10, lines 16-20; claim 4).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, WO 198 discloses the polymer composition as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the mixture of the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer is configured to impart anti-static property along with flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet (the mixture of the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer is configured to impart anti-static property along with flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet; page 9, lines 9-18; page 10, lines 12-20; claim 5).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the composition, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, WO 198 discloses a process for coating a polymer composition onto EPS pallet (process for coating the polymer composition on an EPS pallet; page 3, lines 6-18; page 9, lines 9-18), comprising: heating a mixture of at least one of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, and combination thereof in a predefined ratio at 70°C to 85°C to obtain the polymer composition in a molten state (heating a mixture of at least one of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, and combination thereof in a predefined ratio at 70°C to 85°C to obtain the polymer composition in a molten state; page 3, lines 6-18), wherein the mixture comprises one of the polyurea and the polyurethane m the predefined ratio of 60:40 to 80:20, and the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 60:37:03 to 78:19:03 (the mixture comprises one of the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 60:40 to 80:20, and the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 60:37:03 to 78:19:03; page 3, lines 6-18); coating the EPS pallet with the molten polymer composition to form a layer of predefined thickness on surface of the EPS pallet (coating the EPS pallet by spraying a layer of predefined thickness of the molten polymer composition on surface of the EPS pallet; page 3, lines 6-18; page 9, lines 9-18), wherein the coating of molten polymer composition being performed using matrix coating process; and drying the coating on the surface of the EPS pallet at a room temperature (coating of the EPS pallet by matrix coating process, and drying the coating on the surface of the EPS at a room temperature; page 3, lines 6-18; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed In claim 7. WO 198 further discloses the pallet (pallet; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet selected from a group consisting of plywood, firewood and wood veneer sheets.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet consisting of plywood (wood pallet comprising plywood; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, In order to have provided for a wooden pallet consisting of plywood, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a plywood composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract; paragraph [0007]).
Claim 9
Regarding claim 9, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 65:35 (the mixture comprises the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 65:35; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 2).
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 65:32:03 (the mixture comprises the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 65:32:03; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 3).
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the layer of predefined thickness formed by the mixture of the polyurea and the polyurethane Is configured to impart flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet ((the mixture of the polyurea and the polyurethane is configured to impart flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet; page 9, lines 9-18; page 10, lines 16-20; claim 4).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the layer of predefined thickness formed by the mixture of the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer is configured to impart anti-static property along with flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet (the mixture of the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer is configured to impart anti-static property along with flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet; page 9, lines 9-18; page 10, lines 12-20; claim 5).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the
invention was made, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 13
Regarding claim 13, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the coating of the molten polymer composition on the surface of the EPS pallet is carried using a gun controlled by one of a manual spray method and robotic arm (spraying of the molten polymer composition on the surface of the EPS is carried using a gun controlled by one of a manual spray method and robotic arm; page 8, lines 15-17).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition is uniform over the surface of the EPS pallet a predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition is uniform over the surface of the EPS; page 8, Iines 21-23; page 9, Iines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition is variable over the surface of the EPS pallet (the predefined
thickness of the layer of the polymer composition is variable over the surface of the EPS pallet; page 8, lines 24-25; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, In order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the process as claimed in claim 7. WO 198 further discloses wherein the predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition coated on the surface of the EPS pallet ranges from 0.5 mm to 1 mm (predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition coated on the surface of the EPS ranges from 0.5 mm to 1 mm; page 8, lines 17-19; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 17
Regarding claim 17, WO 198 discloses an EPS pallet (200), comprising: a layer (202) of predefined thickness of a polymer composition coated on surface of the EPS pallet (200) (coating the polymer composition onto EPS pallet forming a layer of predefined thickness; page 8, lines 17-23; page 9, lines 9-18; page 10, lines 4-15), wherein the polymer composition comprises: a mixture of at least one of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, and combination thereof in a predefined ratio, wherein the mixture comprises one of the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 60:40 to 80:20 (polymer composition comprises a mixture of at least one of polyurea, polyurethane, silicon elastomer, and combination thereof in a predefined ratio, wherein the mixture comprises one of the polyurea and the polyurethane in the predefined ratio of 60:40 to 80:20; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 1 ), and the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 60:37:03 to 78: 19:03 (the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 60:37:03 to 78:19:03; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 1 ).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pallet, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 18
Regarding claim 18, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the pallet as claimed in claim 17. WO 198 further discloses the pallet (pallet; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose the wooden pallet selected from a group consisting of plywood, firewood and wood veneer sheets.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet consisting of plywood (wood pallet comprising plywood; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pallet, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet consisting of plywood, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a plywood composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract; paragraph [00071).
Claim 19
Regarding claim 19, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the pallet as claimed in claim 17. WO 198 further discloses wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 65:32:03 (wherein the mixture comprises the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer in the predefined ratio of 65:32:03; page 10, lines 4-15; claim 3).
Claim 20
Regarding claim 20, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the pallet as claimed in claim 17. WO 198 further discloses wherein the layer (202) of predefined thickness formed by the mixture of the polyurea and the polyurethane is configured to impart flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet (the mixture of the polyurea and the polyurethane is configured to impart flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet; page 9, lines 9-18; page 10, lines 16-20; claim 4).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007)-(00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pallet, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 21
Regarding claim 21, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the pallet as claimed in claim 17. WO 198 further discloses wherein the layer (202) of predefined thickness formed by the mixture of the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer is configured to impart anti-static property along with flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet (the mixture of the polyurea, the polyurethane, and the silicon elastomer is configured to impart anti-static property along with flexural strength and elongation strength to the EPS pallet; page 9, lines 9-18; page 1 O, lines 12-20; claim 5).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007H00081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have modified the pallet, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Claim 22
Regarding claim 22, WO 198 and US 435, in combination, disclose the pallet as claimed in claim 17. WO 198 further discloses wherein the predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition coated on the surface of the EPS pallet ranges from 0.5 mm to 1 mm (predefined thickness of the layer of the polymer composition coated on the surface of the EPS ranges from 0.5 mm to 1 mm; page 8, lines 17-19; page 9, lines 9-18).
WO 198 does not disclose a wooden pallet.
US 435 discloses a wooden pallet (wood pallet; abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pallet, as previously disclosed by WO 198, in order to have provided for a wooden pallet, as disclosed by US 435, so as to obtain a wood board composite that has a capacity to withstand a greater number of edgewise forklift impacts without failing (US 435; abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GB 2489701 A1 and GB 2504763 A are representative of the state of the art of polymer-coated wooden pallets. The polymeric coating includes flame-retardants and can contain an RFID tag.
WILLIAM PHILLIP FLETCHER III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/WILLIAM P FLETCHER III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759
12 December 2025