DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-25) without traverse of claims in the reply filed on 4/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 8 recites the limitation "peritoneum". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arkinstall 7,001,367.
Arkinstall discloses the invention as claimed noting for example fig. 4 comprising a prosthetic sphincter apparatus (this is the ostomy drain device 10) comprising: a valve (46) controllable between an open position for allowing waste to pass through the valve and a closed position for preventing waste from passing through the valve; and an implant (conduit 12) configured to be surgically attached to a body part and to lock the valve inside the implant, wherein the valve is configured to be controllable between the open position and the closed position while remaining locked inside the implant (The italicized represents functional language. See MPEP 2114 which states:
II. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.).
8. Regarding claim 2, “wherein the valve and the implant are configured such that the valve can be repeatedly removed from and reinserted into the implant” is intended use functional language (see MPEP 2114).
9. Regarding claim 3 the proximal and distal openings of the conduit (12) are considered to holes.
10. Regarding claim 4, “…wherein the implant comprises a flange protruding radially outwards for anchoring the implant” see (26 and 38) of Arkinstall.
11. Regarding claim 8 see element 40.
12. Regarding claims 9-13 the recitations recite functional language e.g. “…arranged such that twisting of one end of the flexible tube relative to the other end of the flexible tube causes the valve to be controlled between the open position I which the channel s open and the closed position…”. See MPEP 2114 supra. (It is suggested that applicant recite the actual structure that causes the function to happen).
13 Regarding claims 14, 16 see movable components (46).
14. Regarding claims 23-24, see fig. 4.
15. Claim(s) 1 and 19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alvarez Ponce 2018/0360644 (hereafter Ponce).
Ponce discloses a prosthetic sphincter apparatus (see fig. 1) comprising: a valve (30) controllable between an open position for allowing waste to pass through the valve and a closed position for preventing waste from passing through the valve; and an implant (conduit 10) configured to be surgically attached to a body part and to lock the valve inside the implant, wherein the valve is configured to be controllable between the open position and the closed position while remaining locked inside the implant (The italicized represents functional language. Ponce further discloses an actuator for controlling an open and closed position (see element 50 and [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkinstall 7,001,367 in view of Brönnimann 10,265,211 (hereafter ‘211). Arkinstall has been disclosed supra however does not specify that the flange comprises a mesh or that the implant comprises hooks. Bronnimann teaches an ostomy implant which comprise a flange made of mesh and teaches that the implant may be secured with one or more hooks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Arkinstall and utilize a mesh flange with hooks in order to further aid in anchoring the device to the surrounding tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkinstall 7,001,367. Arkinstall has been disclosed however does not specify that the implant comes in to separate pieces. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Arkinstal and provide separate pieces of the implant for assembly (see as evidenced by Holmberg et al. 2003/0139805 [0108]) in order to give the surgeon control during the implantation process.
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 15, 17-18, 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
4751. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7:00am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Avww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/SUZETTE J GHERBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 June 8, 2026