DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (JP H01197967 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Yamazaki et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 1 and 10:
Yamazaki et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, a negative electrode layer 10 is made of lithium or a lithium alloy, i.e. a lithium battery, with a double battery case, i.e. double-layer housing and a stack temperature inside the battery remains at an operating temperature for a long period of time, i.e. low-temperature-resistance; a battery cover 23; and the double battery case, connected to the battery cover, wherein the double battery case comprises a cylindrical external battery case 4 made of stainless steel and a cylindrical internal battery case 1 made of stainless steel, the cylindrical external battery case is sleeved outside the cylindrical internal battery case, an outer edge of the cylindrical external battery case is connected to an outer edge of the cylindrical internal battery case, and a space layer 9 of the double battery case has been reduced to a vacuum (0001, pages 4-5 and 9), i.e. a vacuum interlayer is formed between an inner wall surface of the outer housing and an outer wall surface of the inner housing.
Further, given that Yamazaki et al. discloses the double battery case with a battery cavity, the battery cavity would inherently be configured for assembling a lithium battery assembly therein.
Regarding claim 2:
Yamazaki et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, shapes of respective cross-sections of the cylindrical external battery case and the cylindrical internal battery case are the same (0001).
Regarding claim 3:
Yamazaki et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, the respective cross-sections of the cylindrical external battery case and the cylindrical internal battery case are both circular (0001).
Regarding claim 4:
Yamazaki et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, an outer edge of the battery cover 23 is connected to the outer edge of the cylindrical internal battery case, and a starting terminal 17 and output terminals 20, 21 are provided on the battery cover (0001, pages 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 5:
Yamazaki et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, a true heat insulation layer 8, i.e. thermal insulation coating, is provided on the space layer side of the cylindrical internal battery case (0001, page 5), i.e. arranged on the inner wall surface of the outer housing and the outer wall surface of the inner housing.
Regarding claim 9:
Yamazaki et al. teaches a spacing between the double battery cases is 1.5 mm, and even including the thickness of both cases, it is 2.5 mm (0001, page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (JP H01197967 A) in view of Dong et al. (CN 110544809 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Dong et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 6:
Yamazaki et al. teaches a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above.
However, Yamazaki et al. does not teach a plurality of groove portions evenly arranged from top to bottom on each of the inner surface of the outer housing and the outer wall surface of the inner housing.
Dong et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, an inner peripheral side wall of a vacuum insulation cavity shell is provided with a groove 101 structure for filling an aerogel insulation layer 2, which greatly extends the heat transfer path of the shell material of the vacuum insulation cavity 1. In addition, the aerogel insulation layer filled in the groove 101 can suppress gas convection heat transfer and has low solid thermal conductivity, further improving the insulation effect, while also reducing the rise of the surface temperature of the thermal battery (0036).
In light of the motivation for using a groove structure disclosed by Dong et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a groove structure in the low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing of Yamazaki et al. in order to improve the insulation effect and reduce the rise of the surface temperature of the thermal battery.
Given that Dong et al. teaches a groove structure as set forth above, a plurality of groove portions would necessarily be evenly arranged from top to bottom on each of the inner wall surface of the cylindrical external battery case and the outer wall surface of the cylindrical internal battery case.
Regarding claim 7:
Yamazaki et al. in view of Dong et al. teaches a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above.
Given that Yamazaki et al. in view of Dong et al. teaches a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above, each of the groove structures on the cylindrical external battery case and an adjacent one of groove structures on the cylindrical internal battery case would necessarily be at the same height or different heights.
Regarding claim 8:
Yamazaki et al. in view of Dong et al. teaches a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above.
Given that Yamazaki et al. in view of Dong et al. teaches a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above, a plurality of groove portions would necessarily be evenly arranged from top to bottom on each of the inner wall surface of the cylindrical external battery case or the outer wall surface of the cylindrical internal battery case.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (JP H01197967 A) in view of Kitakata et al. (JP H09115497 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Kitakata et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included with this action.
Regarding claim 11-12:
Yamazaki et al. teaches a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above.
Further, Yamazaki et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, the respective cross-sections of the cylindrical external battery case and the cylindrical internal battery case are both circular (0001), and therefore the cover would necessarily be circular.
However, Yamazaki et al. does not teach an explosion-proof notch is provided on a bottom surface or an outer surface of the cover.
Kitakata et al. teaches in Figure 3 above, since a grooved thin-walled portion 16 is provided only on half (a semicircular portion) of the bottom 4a of a battery case, i.e. a bottom surface or an outer surface of the cover, and the grooved thin-walled portion is in a shape of a semi- circle concentric with the cover. rupture does not occur on the other half. Therefore, when the grooved thin-walled portion 16 ruptures, a central part of an electrode group 11 will not pop out in a bamboo shoot shape, and thus there is no risk of the contents of the negative electrode can 4 scattering out and contaminating the surrounding area (0015, 0023).
In light of the motivation for using a grooved thin-walled portion in the shape of a semi-circle on half of the bottom of the battery case disclosed by Dong et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a grooved thin-walled portion in the shape of a semi-circle on half of the bottom of the battery case of the low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing of Yamazaki et al. in order to avoid the risk of the contents of the negative electrode can 4 scattering out and contaminating the surrounding area.
Regarding claim 13:
Yamazaki et al. in view of Kitakata et al. teach a low-temperature-resistant stainless steel lithium battery housing as set forth above.
Further, Kitakata et al. teaches in Figure 2 above, the grooved thin-walled portion 16 comprises a first slope, a second slope opposite to the first slope, and a groove bottom connecting the first slope and the second slope, and an angle between the first slope and the second slope is 120°.
However, Yamazaki et al. in view of Kitakata et al. do not disclose an opening of the explosion-proof notch has a width ranging from 0.02 mm to 0.3 mm, and a depth ranging from 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm, and a distance between the groove bottom and the outer surface of the cover ranges from 0.02 mm to 0.08 mm.
Kitakata et al. discloses when the grooved thin-walled portion 16 ruptures, a central part of an electrode group 11 will not pop out in a bamboo shoot shape, and thus there is no risk of the contents of the negative electrode can 4 scattering out and contaminating the surrounding area (0015, 0023).
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the grooved thin-walled portion width and depth, and the distance between the groove bottom and the outer surface of the cover is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the range of contamination is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the size of the grooved thin-walled portion and the distance between the groove bottom and the outer surface of the cover, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the size of the grooved thin-walled portion and the distance between the groove bottom and the outer surface of the cover in Kitakata et al. to sizes and distance, including that presently claimed, in order to obtain the desired range of contamination (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787